1. #701
    Bloodsail Admiral Chickensoup23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    egypt
    Posts
    1,193
    Quote Originally Posted by sarad View Post
    Intel Core 2 Duo (conroe series, 1.86GHz)
    I LOVE your CPU ♥

    *looks at my sig*


    *Yea. Mine's 1.86 GHz too but for some reason well...yea it kinda died. Semi.

  2. #702
    Titan Synthaxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Rotherham, England/UK
    Posts
    13,046
    Quote Originally Posted by spacechicken_bh View Post
    Ah, yeah I'll try that when I get home tonight. This is the product link for the RAM I purchased... the timings are adjusted to 7-7-7-20 so perhaps that may also be why I get the BSOD's if I try to kick up the speed.
    Ooh definately! Sandy Bridge is MASSIVE on clocks and not so big on timings. As it is, from my testing, i only saw a very small increase in throughput with tighter timings. I realise this is a massive increase in timings, but try 10-12-10-30. If it was an older, non-sandybridge setup, i'd advise against loosening timings so much, but on my 2600K, i actually found them to have almost no effect on throughput, if any at all. Essentially, timings are there just for stability now, as opposed to stability and speed.

    This 2600K saw something like 4GB/s throughput increase by going from 1866 to 2133. Admittedly, i did have to increase voltages beyond what i was previously comfortable with, but the gain is worth it.
    Coder, Gamer - IOCube | #Error418MasterRace #ScottBrokeIt
    Knows: Node.js, JS + JQuery, HTML + CSS, Object Pascal, PHP, WQL/SQL

    PC: 750D / 16GB / 256GB + 750GB / GTX780 / 4670K / Z87X-UD4H | Laptop: 8GB / 120GB + 480GB / GTX765M / 4700MQ

  3. #703
    my money pit:

    AMD Phenom II X4 840 3.2 Ghz, Asus M4A78LT-M Main Board, 4GB DDR3 RAM (Kingston 1333 2x2GB), Sapphire Radeon HD 6850 1GB RAM, 500GB Seagate HDD, Samsung 24x DVDRW w/ Lightscribe, Win7 64-bit, Cooler Master USP 100 Black/Red case, Enermax Naxn 750W PSU
    The Money-Pit 2011:
    MB: Asus M4A78LT-M CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 840 3.2Ghz RAM: Kingston 8GB (4x 2GB) DDR3 GPU: Sapphire Radeon HD 6850 1GB HDD: Seagate 500GB PSU: Antec TP-650 OS: Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit

  4. #704
    my comp blows all yours into the ground it pwns urs




    Mod Edit: Please don't derail the thread.
    Last edited by Magekid; 2011-04-30 at 02:31 PM.

  5. #705
    Quote Originally Posted by dragonx View Post
    my comp blows
    Edited for clarity.

  6. #706
    silence this would easily run crysis 2 on max settings while editing a video and playing wow in tol barad

    Mod Edit: Jokes are okay once in a while, however don't derail/troll the thread.
    Last edited by Magekid; 2011-04-30 at 02:32 PM.

  7. #707
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,098
    Quote Originally Posted by batkinson001 View Post
    my money pit:

    AMD Phenom II X4 840 3.2 Ghz, Asus M4A78LT-M Main Board, 4GB DDR3 RAM (Kingston 1333 2x2GB), Sapphire Radeon HD 6850 1GB RAM, 500GB Seagate HDD, Samsung 24x DVDRW w/ Lightscribe, Win7 64-bit, Cooler Master USP 100 Black/Red case, Enermax Naxn 750W PSU
    Please post a picture! Also, your avatar makes me reeeeeaaallyyyy happy!

  8. #708
    Quote Originally Posted by Synthaxx View Post
    Ooh definately! Sandy Bridge is MASSIVE on clocks and not so big on timings. As it is, from my testing, i only saw a very small increase in throughput with tighter timings. I realise this is a massive increase in timings, but try 10-12-10-30. If it was an older, non-sandybridge setup, i'd advise against loosening timings so much, but on my 2600K, i actually found them to have almost no effect on throughput, if any at all. Essentially, timings are there just for stability now, as opposed to stability and speed.

    This 2600K saw something like 4GB/s throughput increase by going from 1866 to 2133. Admittedly, i did have to increase voltages beyond what i was previously comfortable with, but the gain is worth it.
    I played around with the voltage and timings, and even updated the BIOS to 1303 on that ASUS board and couldn't get it to not BSOD. On top of which, it would disable some other motherboard components like the LAN and USB 3.0 ports for example. Kind of weird, but anyway, I decided that I'll probably order the G.Skill Ripjaws X 2200 off NewEgg (wish the 15% off memory coupon still worked) and return these memory modules back to Microcenter. Hey, maybe the perfect excuse to upgrade with the store credit to a Vertex 3 SSD...

    /crackhead
    Last edited by spacechicken_bh; 2011-04-30 at 03:43 AM.

    Proud Officer of Gwen Stefani on the Blackhand-US Realm

  9. #709
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,031
    Which Asus mobo did you get spacechicken?

  10. #710
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Aurora, Co
    Posts
    5,124
    New Rig:
    CPU: Intel i7 Extreme 990x
    MB: Asus Rampage III Formula
    RAM: 24GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600
    GPU: 2 EVGA GTX-590's in quad SLI
    Sound: Asus Xonar Xense Sennheiser edition
    Power: Corsair AX1200
    Cooling: Koolance full system cooling (1400 Watts total effective)
    Storage: Quad RAID0 Sata II Vraptors; dual RAID0 Caviar Blues




    Last edited by Cyanotical; 2011-06-12 at 04:20 AM.

    i7-4790K | Z97 Class. | 8GB DDR3-2133 | GTX-690 Quad SLI | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | AX1200 | FT02
    Dell U2711 | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Steelseries Sensei Wireless | Xonar Essence One | KRK RP8G2s

  11. #711
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    Which Asus mobo did you get spacechicken?
    This one here. It lists DDR3-2000 on that description, but there is no option in BIOS for it nor mention of it on ASUS's own product page.

    ---------- Post added 2011-04-30 at 12:08 AM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    New Rig:
    CPU: Intel i7 Extreme 990x
    MB: Asus Rampage III Formula
    RAM: 24GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600
    GPU: 2 EVGA GTX-590's in quad SLI
    Sound: Asus Xonar Xense Sennheiser edition
    Power: Corsair AX1200
    Cooling: Koolance full system cooling (1400 Watts total effective)
    Storage: Quad RAID0 Sata II

    *snip*
    Very nice! I see that you're also using the Corsair 800D case. Is that Helix-looking cylinder in the 2nd pic part of the water kit? Also, I'd be curious to see your Quad-SLI benchmarks. You've obviously dropped an insane amount into that rig. I bet you'll be testing it out all weekend.

    Proud Officer of Gwen Stefani on the Blackhand-US Realm

  12. #712
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,098
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    New Rig:
    CPU: Intel i7 Extreme 990x
    MB: Asus Rampage III Formula
    RAM: 24GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600
    GPU: 2 EVGA GTX-590's in quad SLI
    Sound: Asus Xonar Xense Sennheiser edition
    Power: Corsair AX1200
    Cooling: Koolance full system cooling (1400 Watts total effective)
    Storage: Quad RAID0 Sata II



    wwwwwwwwwwwoooooooooooooooooooooowwwwwwwwwwwwwwww I want your bank account!
    What is the PCI(e?) card in between your lovely 590s?

  13. #713
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Aurora, Co
    Posts
    5,124
    Quote Originally Posted by spacechicken_bh View Post
    Very nice! I see that you're also using the Corsair 800D case. Is that Helix-looking cylinder in the 2nd pic part of the water kit? Also, I'd be curious to see your Quad-SLI benchmarks. You've obviously dropped an insane amount into that rig. I bet you'll be testing it out all weekend.
    Stock Clocks:
    Heaven 2.5 default settings: 4114@1440x900, and 2200ish@4320x900
    Crysis 2, 4320x900, extreme, DX11: 120-130fps
    WoW, Ultra, DX11, 4320x900 in BWD: 250+ fps

    and the double helix reservior is from FrozenQ PC Mods

    ---------- Post added 2011-04-29 at 11:16 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    wwwwwwwwwwwoooooooooooooooooooooowwwwwwwwwwwwwwww I want your bank account!
    What is the PCI(e?) card in between your lovely 590s?
    no you don't, account is empty now

    and the card is the Xonar Xense sound card

    i7-4790K | Z97 Class. | 8GB DDR3-2133 | GTX-690 Quad SLI | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | AX1200 | FT02
    Dell U2711 | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Steelseries Sensei Wireless | Xonar Essence One | KRK RP8G2s

  14. #714
    Stood in the Fire Rosh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Norway / Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    456
    [QUOTE=SingleCellOrganism;10272447]

    Donald Trump's office right there. The real one.

  15. #715
    Mechagnome Adappy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    711
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    New Rig:
    CPU: Intel i7 Extreme 990x
    MB: Asus Rampage III Formula
    RAM: 24GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600
    GPU: 2 EVGA GTX-590's in quad SLI
    Sound: Asus Xonar Xense Sennheiser edition
    Power: Corsair AX1200
    Cooling: Koolance full system cooling (1400 Watts total effective)
    Storage: Quad RAID0 Sata II

    *images*
    Very nice... making me want to start on my planned water cooling setup right now... if only I had the money
    Also, what is the loop order on that thing out of curiosity? The plumbing looks like a bunch of spaghetti

  16. #716
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,031
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    wwwwwwwwwwwoooooooooooooooooooooowwwwwwwwwwwwwwww I want your bank account!
    Please don't quote entire images -_-

    Very nice build for folding 24/7 though.
    It's not really a matter of being able to afford it, many people could buy and build something like that if they wanted to. It's just they don't feel the need for something like that
    Last edited by Xuvial; 2011-04-30 at 07:49 AM.

  17. #717
    CPU: AMD 1090t 6 core @ 4.1ghz
    RAM: G.Skill Ripjaw 8gb DDR3 1600mhz (2 x 4gb)
    Case: Corsair HAF X
    GPU: AMD 6990 (coming monday >_<)
    MB: Asus USB3/Sata3 790GX chipset
    PSU: Corsair 950w

    500gb windows/games drive, 1tb storage drive. Hope to get an SSD big enough for windows and WoW, use the 500gb for the rest of the games soon.

  18. #718
    Quote Originally Posted by pansertjald View Post
    how i just love all these fake setup`s by users who has no ider of what goes together
    you are running a Intel Core i7 980x OCèd to 4,3 Ghz, plus 2x5970, plus a rampage III Extrame, plus 8 Gb RAM, plus a h-50 watercooler and you run that on a 850W PSU........ riiiight
    you have 4x4 Gb RAM on the board?......... you are running a x58 board = tri-channel and you are running dual channel......... guys if you are going to make all these fake systems, atleast read up on hardwave first, before posting
    Ovbiously don't know a lot about PSU's

  19. #719
    Quote Originally Posted by Dataplague View Post
    Ovbiously don't know a lot about PSU's
    Ovbiously you don`t know any thing about PSU.
    running that system for half a year will kill that PSU in the end. yes a PSU can handle more watt then what is on the box, BUT not for ever. and that system he posted uses about 950-1000W, meening a 850W PSU will die quickly, running that system.

    never go under your system watt. allways go over your system watt
    Intel i5 2500K: Asus Masimux IV Extreme: Palit GTX 680 Jetstream: Chieftec Nitro Series 1200W:Corsair H-100 Hydro:
    8Gb Corsair Vengeance 1600 Mhz CL8: Crucial M4 128Gb+256Gb: Creative Sound Blaster Z: Corsair Obsidian 800D: Plextor PX-880SA

  20. #720
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    New Rig:
    CPU: Intel i7 Extreme 990x
    MB: Asus Rampage III Formula
    RAM: 24GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600
    GPU: 2 EVGA GTX-590's in quad SLI
    Sound: Asus Xonar Xense Sennheiser edition
    Power: Corsair AX1200
    Cooling: Koolance full system cooling (1400 Watts total effective)
    Storage: Quad RAID0 Sata II
    I have to ask about that soundcard, because Im a sucker for in game sound. Assuming you're running WIN 7 64. what games are you seeing use that sound card to the fullest? (assuming you're using in game sound)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •