1. #7821
    why is everybody buying the gigabyte windforce 670 btw? from what i've seen the MSI twin frozr 4 power edition is cheaper, runs cooler, quieter and can be overclocked higher.

    gonna buy one for my rig in a week but don't wanna spend that much money on an inferior card.

  2. #7822
    CPU: Intel Core i7-3930K 3.2GHz with Corsair H100 cooler
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance 32GB
    GFX: 2 x Gainward GeForce GTX 680 Phantom 4096MB
    HDD: 2 x Seagate Barracuda XT 3TB
    SSD: 2 x Intel 520 Series Cherryville 240GB
    PSU: Corsair 850W

    Trying to find out of my motherboard supports 64GB RAM, if it does then I'll be running 64GB soon.

  3. #7823
    I actually used to have the modem and stuff in my room. Alas, for whatever reason the signal went bad somewhere between here and the ISP's "box" down in the backyard there. (Delivered via cable TV.)

    ---------- Post added 2012-07-24 at 08:36 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by Palmatum View Post
    Trying to find out of my motherboard supports 64GB RAM, if it does then I'll be running 64GB soon.
    You don't actually mention what motherboard it is lol. But it should be perfectly able to, although my brother only runs a 32GB kit of Corsair Dominator RAM.

  4. #7824
    Legendary! Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    6,993
    Quote Originally Posted by Palmatum View Post
    CPU: Intel Core i7-3930K 3.2GHz with Corsair H100 cooler
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance 32GB
    GFX: 2 x Gainward GeForce GTX 680 Phantom 4096MB
    HDD: 2 x Seagate Barracuda XT 3TB
    SSD: 2 x Intel 520 Series Cherryville 240GB
    PSU: Corsair 850W

    Trying to find out of my motherboard supports 64GB RAM, if it does then I'll be running 64GB soon.
    That kind of seems awfully overkill haha.

  5. #7825
    Quote Originally Posted by b0sanac View Post
    Etc.
    As far as H80 vs H100 goes, the H100 wins, although not by a mile exactly, but many cases can't fit it, while almost any case can fit an H80. Can you fit a dual rad in the roof or something?

  6. #7826
    Legendary! Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    6,993
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    As far as H80 vs H100 goes, the H100 wins, although not by a mile exactly, but many cases can't fit it, while almost any case can fit an H80. Can you fit a dual rad in the roof or something?
    Yep, I've got a Coolermaster Stormtrooper so I have plenty of space available. Guess I'll go for the H100 then, since the price difference is marginal at best and hey why not.

  7. #7827
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,376
    Quote Originally Posted by Palmatum View Post
    CPU: Intel Core i7-3930K 3.2GHz with Corsair H100 cooler
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance 32GB
    GFX: 2 x Gainward GeForce GTX 680 Phantom 4096MB
    HDD: 2 x Seagate Barracuda XT 3TB
    SSD: 2 x Intel 520 Series Cherryville 240GB
    PSU: Corsair 850W

    Trying to find out of my motherboard supports 64GB RAM, if it does then I'll be running 64GB soon.
    Which motherboard do you have? Can tell you in a moment if you know.
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Sennheiser HD598 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  8. #7828
    Quote Originally Posted by b0sanac View Post
    There are sometimes issues that prevent cabled connections to the modem. In my case, the room my computer is in has no phone socket and the closest one is on the other side of the house, well out of range for a 100ft cable, so I have to begrudgingly use wifi.
    CAT6 cables are good for 1000Base-T up to 100m (328ft)

    Quote Originally Posted by crazypearce View Post
    why is everybody buying the gigabyte windforce 670 btw? from what i've seen the MSI twin frozr 4 power edition is cheaper, runs cooler, quieter and can be overclocked higher.

    gonna buy one for my rig in a week but don't wanna spend that much money on an inferior card.
    Gigabyte is cooler
    Gigabyte is cheaper than MSI

  9. #7829
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,376
    Quote Originally Posted by n0cturnal View Post
    This seriously still amazes me. They put on an aftermarket cooler and do some overclocking (I think?) and all that, and still only charge reference cost. <3 Gigabyte.
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Sennheiser HD598 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  10. #7830
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    This seriously still amazes me. They put on an aftermarket cooler and do some overclocking (I think?) and all that, and still only charge reference cost. <3 Gigabyte.
    Don't forget that it comes with a GTX 680 PCB and not the tiny 670 PCB.

  11. #7831
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,376
    Quote Originally Posted by n0cturnal View Post
    Don't forget that it comes with a GTX 680 PCB and not the tiny 670 PCB.
    .... whaaaa?

    I didn't even know that! :O
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Sennheiser HD598 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  12. #7832
    Which is a complete non-issue lol. Well, provided coolingconfigurator even has it listed.
    EDIT: It does. But not under "GTX 670"; it's called GIGABYTE GV-N670OC-2GD rev.1.0

  13. #7833
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    .... whaaaa?

    I didn't even know that! :O
    http://hexus.net/tech/reviews/graphi...-windforce-3x/
    So for all those who asked, here it is, Gigabyte's take on NVIDIA's second-fastest single-GPU graphics card. Look familiar? It should, as it uses an identical design to the company's GeForce GTX 680.

    What you're looking at is essentially Gigabyte's GeForce GTX 680 OC with a different core; at the heart of this beast, the GTX 680 chip (GK104-400) has been replaced with the pin-compatible GTX 670 part (GK104-325).

    There's nothing inherently wrong with borrowing the GTX 680 PCB, but Gigabyte's card isn't well disguised. Look just above the PCIe interface and you'll see the sticker that's used to cover up the card's original 'GV-N680OC-2GD' branding. Applying a sticker is cheaper than creating a whole new PCB, but it can leave a sour taste in the mouth of the consumer and the sticker serves only to remind you of the top-end GTX 680 you could have bought.

  14. #7834
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    so i can order a second card and 830
    second card
    You're getting 2 690's??
    System Specs -
    CPU - i5 2500k @ 5ghz | CPU Cooler - RASA RX240 | Motherboard - Asus Maximus IV Gene-Z/Gen3| GPU - Nvidia GTX 590|
    SSD - Crucial M4 128GB | RAM - 8GB Corsair Vengeance | PSU - Corsair TX850M | Case - CoolerMaster HAF 922
    | Monitor - Crossover 27Q (2560x1440) | Sidewinder X4 Keyboard |


  15. #7835
    Legendary! Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    6,993
    Quote Originally Posted by Nab View Post
    You're getting 2 690's??
    2 690s, holy bejeesus thats insane.

  16. #7836
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,376
    Weellllll it's apparent you guys didn't know he had two 590s before.

    Plus he has a 3960X, upgraded from a 990X.

    Oh and an Asus Xonar Essence One. (USB DAC Amp.)

    We get used to Cyanotical.
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Sennheiser HD598 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  17. #7837
    Quote Originally Posted by b0sanac View Post
    That kind of seems awfully overkill haha.
    Video editing :P I was going to buy a 16 core system with 4 way sli, now that would have been overkill!

    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Which motherboard do you have? Can tell you in a moment if you know.
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme Intel X79
    Last edited by Palmatum; 2012-07-24 at 10:23 PM.

  18. #7838
    Legendary! Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    6,993
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Weellllll it's apparent you guys didn't know he had two 590s before.

    Plus he has a 3960X, upgraded from a 990X.

    Oh and an Asus Xonar Essence One. (USB DAC Amp.)

    We get used to Cyanotical.
    Well my excuse is that I'm new to this particular thread :P

    ---------- Post added 2012-07-24 at 10:19 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by Palmatum View Post
    Video editing :P



    Asus Rampage IV Extreme Intel X79
    Aha, in that case carry on :P

  19. #7839
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,376
    Quote Originally Posted by Palmatum View Post
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme Intel X79
    Well, it says right on sites like Newegg it supports up to 64GB of RAM.
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Sennheiser HD598 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  20. #7840
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Well, it says right on sites like Newegg it supports up to 64GB of RAM.
    Excellent. Suppose I'd better get that ordered then Thanks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •