1. #7821
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,129
    Quote Originally Posted by b0sanac View Post
    Etc.
    As far as H80 vs H100 goes, the H100 wins, although not by a mile exactly, but many cases can't fit it, while almost any case can fit an H80. Can you fit a dual rad in the roof or something?

  2. #7822
    Immortal Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    7,002
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    As far as H80 vs H100 goes, the H100 wins, although not by a mile exactly, but many cases can't fit it, while almost any case can fit an H80. Can you fit a dual rad in the roof or something?
    Yep, I've got a Coolermaster Stormtrooper so I have plenty of space available. Guess I'll go for the H100 then, since the price difference is marginal at best and hey why not.

  3. #7823
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,798
    Quote Originally Posted by Palmatum View Post
    CPU: Intel Core i7-3930K 3.2GHz with Corsair H100 cooler
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance 32GB
    GFX: 2 x Gainward GeForce GTX 680 Phantom 4096MB
    HDD: 2 x Seagate Barracuda XT 3TB
    SSD: 2 x Intel 520 Series Cherryville 240GB
    PSU: Corsair 850W

    Trying to find out of my motherboard supports 64GB RAM, if it does then I'll be running 64GB soon.
    Which motherboard do you have? Can tell you in a moment if you know.
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  4. #7824
    Quote Originally Posted by b0sanac View Post
    There are sometimes issues that prevent cabled connections to the modem. In my case, the room my computer is in has no phone socket and the closest one is on the other side of the house, well out of range for a 100ft cable, so I have to begrudgingly use wifi.
    CAT6 cables are good for 1000Base-T up to 100m (328ft)

    Quote Originally Posted by crazypearce View Post
    why is everybody buying the gigabyte windforce 670 btw? from what i've seen the MSI twin frozr 4 power edition is cheaper, runs cooler, quieter and can be overclocked higher.

    gonna buy one for my rig in a week but don't wanna spend that much money on an inferior card.
    Gigabyte is cooler
    Gigabyte is cheaper than MSI

  5. #7825
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,798
    Quote Originally Posted by n0cturnal View Post
    This seriously still amazes me. They put on an aftermarket cooler and do some overclocking (I think?) and all that, and still only charge reference cost. <3 Gigabyte.
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  6. #7826
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    This seriously still amazes me. They put on an aftermarket cooler and do some overclocking (I think?) and all that, and still only charge reference cost. <3 Gigabyte.
    Don't forget that it comes with a GTX 680 PCB and not the tiny 670 PCB.

  7. #7827
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,798
    Quote Originally Posted by n0cturnal View Post
    Don't forget that it comes with a GTX 680 PCB and not the tiny 670 PCB.
    .... whaaaa?

    I didn't even know that! :O
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  8. #7828
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,129
    Which is a complete non-issue lol. Well, provided coolingconfigurator even has it listed.
    EDIT: It does. But not under "GTX 670"; it's called GIGABYTE GV-N670OC-2GD rev.1.0

  9. #7829
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    .... whaaaa?

    I didn't even know that! :O
    http://hexus.net/tech/reviews/graphi...-windforce-3x/
    So for all those who asked, here it is, Gigabyte's take on NVIDIA's second-fastest single-GPU graphics card. Look familiar? It should, as it uses an identical design to the company's GeForce GTX 680.

    What you're looking at is essentially Gigabyte's GeForce GTX 680 OC with a different core; at the heart of this beast, the GTX 680 chip (GK104-400) has been replaced with the pin-compatible GTX 670 part (GK104-325).

    There's nothing inherently wrong with borrowing the GTX 680 PCB, but Gigabyte's card isn't well disguised. Look just above the PCIe interface and you'll see the sticker that's used to cover up the card's original 'GV-N680OC-2GD' branding. Applying a sticker is cheaper than creating a whole new PCB, but it can leave a sour taste in the mouth of the consumer and the sticker serves only to remind you of the top-end GTX 680 you could have bought.

  10. #7830
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    so i can order a second card and 830
    second card
    You're getting 2 690's??
    System Specs -
    CPU - i5 2500k @ 5ghz | CPU Cooler - RASA RX240 | Motherboard - Asus Maximus IV Gene-Z/Gen3| GPU - Nvidia GTX 590|
    SSD - Crucial M4 128GB | RAM - 8GB Corsair Vengeance | PSU - Corsair TX850M | Case - CoolerMaster HAF 922
    | Monitor - Crossover 27Q (2560x1440) | Sidewinder X4 Keyboard |


  11. #7831
    Immortal Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    7,002
    Quote Originally Posted by Nab View Post
    You're getting 2 690's??
    2 690s, holy bejeesus thats insane.

  12. #7832
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,798
    Weellllll it's apparent you guys didn't know he had two 590s before.

    Plus he has a 3960X, upgraded from a 990X.

    Oh and an Asus Xonar Essence One. (USB DAC Amp.)

    We get used to Cyanotical.
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  13. #7833
    Quote Originally Posted by b0sanac View Post
    That kind of seems awfully overkill haha.
    Video editing :P I was going to buy a 16 core system with 4 way sli, now that would have been overkill!

    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Which motherboard do you have? Can tell you in a moment if you know.
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme Intel X79
    Last edited by Palmatum; 2012-07-24 at 10:23 PM.

  14. #7834
    Immortal Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    7,002
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Weellllll it's apparent you guys didn't know he had two 590s before.

    Plus he has a 3960X, upgraded from a 990X.

    Oh and an Asus Xonar Essence One. (USB DAC Amp.)

    We get used to Cyanotical.
    Well my excuse is that I'm new to this particular thread :P

    ---------- Post added 2012-07-24 at 10:19 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by Palmatum View Post
    Video editing :P



    Asus Rampage IV Extreme Intel X79
    Aha, in that case carry on :P

  15. #7835
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,798
    Quote Originally Posted by Palmatum View Post
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme Intel X79
    Well, it says right on sites like Newegg it supports up to 64GB of RAM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  16. #7836
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Well, it says right on sites like Newegg it supports up to 64GB of RAM.
    Excellent. Suppose I'd better get that ordered then Thanks!

  17. #7837
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,798
    Quote Originally Posted by Palmatum View Post
    Excellent. Suppose I'd better get that ordered then Thanks!
    My only gripe with 8GB sticks is how expensive they still are, especially if you desire high frequency and perhaps low CAS latency RAM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  18. #7838
    Immortal Evolixe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    In the Shadows
    Posts
    7,079


    I could make a picture of my case but tbh, right now you can't really see anything on that.

    The keyboard is temporary, i've just run out of money for this month
    Last edited by Marest; 2012-07-24 at 11:01 PM.
    i7-5820k @ 4.4GHz|16GB DDR4 2667MHz OC|EVGA GTX 670 FTW|Samsung 830 128GB SSD

  19. #7839
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,798
    Quote Originally Posted by Holo View Post
    <snip big pic>

    I could make a picture of my case but tbh, right now you can't really see anything on that.

    The keyboard is temporary, i've just run out of money for this month
    omg a Rift mousepad! Where'd you get it? D:
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  20. #7840
    Quote Originally Posted by crazypearce View Post
    why is everybody buying the gigabyte windforce 670 btw? from what i've seen the MSI twin frozr 4 power edition is cheaper, runs cooler, quieter and can be overclocked higher.

    gonna buy one for my rig in a week but don't wanna spend that much money on an inferior card.
    Here is a little interesting read also N0cturnal linked me about a week ago http://www.overclock.net/t/1266940/w...o-the-stats/70
    Made my mind and grabbed the Gigabyte GTX 670 for my build.

    Building my new rig here by this Friday will have all the parts (finally). Pics to follow soon.

    CPU: i5-3570k
    Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V LK
    Case: Corsair 500R
    Ram: Corsair Vengeance 2x4GB
    HDD: WD Caviar Blue 500GB
    SSD: Samsung 830 128GB
    GPU: Gigabyte GTX 670
    PSU: Corsair AX650

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •