1. #8241
    Brewmaster Fierae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Northampton, UK
    Posts
    1,332
    http://i826.photobucket.com/albums/z...603_150246.jpg

    Added the 4GB Jetstream 680 to my system now. Sitting at around 11,450 3DMark11 score!

    Screenshots/pictures of SW scaled down

    http://i826.photobucket.com/albums/z...iplescreen.png

    http://i826.photobucket.com/albums/z...3_173830-1.jpg
    Digital Rumination
    Plays: Burning Legion EU - Fieran (Feral/Guardian) | Elite Dangerous (NoMercy)
    Played: EVE - 37mil SP | Rift Mage | Guild Wars 2 - Mesmer | SW:TOR Sage | BF4 | Smite | LoL | Skyrim
    i7 3930K - 16GB Corsair Vengeance - GTX Titan SLI - Samsung 750GB 840 EVO - Corsair 540 - Full WC - Triple 1440p Monitors

  2. #8242
    Quote Originally Posted by Fierae View Post
    http://i826.photobucket.com/albums/z...603_150246.jpg

    Added the 4GB Jetstream 680 to my system now. Sitting at around 11,450 3DMark11 score!

    Screenshots/pictures of SW scaled down

    http://i826.photobucket.com/albums/z...iplescreen.png

    http://i826.photobucket.com/albums/z...3_173830-1.jpg
    that is a nice build what monitors are you using?

    Intel i7 2600k | NZXT Havik 140 | Asrock Z77 Extreme4 | 3x Liyama E2407HDS(5760x1080) | Intel 520 Series 120GB
    2x EVGA GTX 690 SC Signature 2048MB in SLI | 16GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 2133 | CoolMaster HAF X

  3. #8243
    Brewmaster Fierae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Northampton, UK
    Posts
    1,332
    Iiyama ProLite E2473HDS (x3), from personal preference, as I sit straight on, I don't get the viewing angle fallbacks of TN, but for me IPS show too much ghosting as I'm very sensitive to it and don't like it at all. Most other people don't pick up on it.

    They are great monitors though.
    Digital Rumination
    Plays: Burning Legion EU - Fieran (Feral/Guardian) | Elite Dangerous (NoMercy)
    Played: EVE - 37mil SP | Rift Mage | Guild Wars 2 - Mesmer | SW:TOR Sage | BF4 | Smite | LoL | Skyrim
    i7 3930K - 16GB Corsair Vengeance - GTX Titan SLI - Samsung 750GB 840 EVO - Corsair 540 - Full WC - Triple 1440p Monitors

  4. #8244
    oooo i thought they look familiar they look like mine i got basicly the same setup as u and i love my monitors and i cannot find fault with them

    Last edited by Dudejoss; 2012-08-07 at 12:27 PM.

    Intel i7 2600k | NZXT Havik 140 | Asrock Z77 Extreme4 | 3x Liyama E2407HDS(5760x1080) | Intel 520 Series 120GB
    2x EVGA GTX 690 SC Signature 2048MB in SLI | 16GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 2133 | CoolMaster HAF X

  5. #8245
    I bought some new components and did some swapping around with the old ones. It's taken me about seven months, but I've managed to replace my gaming rig, down to every case fan, leaving the Caviar Black as the only remnant of my old one. Not only that, but I managed to utilize the old parts in a server build, with only about $70 spent on the two parts that were missing.

    For my main rig:
    Case: Fractal Design Define R3 (Titanium Grey)
    Mobo: Gigabyte 870A-UD3 ---> ASRock Extreme4 Z77
    SSD: Crucial C300 64GB ---> Crucial M4 128GB
    HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB
    CPU: AMD Phenom II 965BE @ 4.0GHz ---> Intel i5 3570k @ 4.5GHz
    CPU Heatsink: Xigmatek Gaia ---> CoolerMaster Hyper 212+
    GPU: Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448
    GPU Heatsink: Gelid IcyVision Rev. 2
    RAM: 8GB (4x2GB) Kingston HyperX 1600MHz DDR3
    PSU: Corsair 550VX

    And the new(ish) server:
    Case: BitFenix Merc Beta
    Mobo: Gigabyte 870A-UD3
    SSD: Crucial C300 64GB
    HDD1: WD Caviar Blue 500GB
    HDD2: WD Caviar Green 2TB
    HDD3: WD Caviar Green 2TB
    HDD4: WD Caviar Green 1TB
    CPU: AMD Phenom II 965BE @ 3.4GHz (Stock)
    CPU Heatsink: Xigmatek Gaia (Really need to find a lower profile one, it only exhausts vertically and mostly obscures my only outtake case fan.)
    RAM: 4GB (2x2GB) Mushkin Essentials 1333MHz DDR3
    PSU: Antec EarthWatts 380D

  6. #8246
    The Lightbringer nocturnus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Rome, Italy
    Posts
    3,649
    Quote Originally Posted by Endonyx View Post
    I will go with epeen lol there is nothing that requires you too have SLI 690 atm
    Yep, dual GTX 690 will run anything effortless, on max with frame rates of 60+ on three screens at 5760*1080.

  7. #8247
    Quote Originally Posted by nocturnus View Post
    Yep, dual GTX 690 will run anything effortless, on max with frame rates of 60+ on three screens at 5760*1080.
    well my 2 gtx680's do that

    Intel i7 2600k | NZXT Havik 140 | Asrock Z77 Extreme4 | 3x Liyama E2407HDS(5760x1080) | Intel 520 Series 120GB
    2x EVGA GTX 690 SC Signature 2048MB in SLI | 16GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 2133 | CoolMaster HAF X

  8. #8248
    Brewmaster Fierae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Northampton, UK
    Posts
    1,332
    Quote Originally Posted by nocturnus View Post
    Yep, dual GTX 690 will run anything effortless, on max with frame rates of 60+ on three screens at 5760*1080.
    Don't understand the people SLI'ing 690's, not to mention a single 690 can run games just fine, two of them together will run into massive VRAM confinements before the cores become an issue. Unlike the 4GB 680 I picked up, which will run into core issues before the VRAM is anywhere close to be filled (and can just be remedied by adding more core power - as in another 4GB 680), the dual 690's will have to be swapped out completely at that stage as you can't upgrade VRAM no matter how many cards you have!

    Of course - if you only play a select few games, I'm sure that's not an issue, but my Skyrim can reach 2.6GB VRAM usage on its own,that's almost 3GB of memory usage just on the GPU!
    Digital Rumination
    Plays: Burning Legion EU - Fieran (Feral/Guardian) | Elite Dangerous (NoMercy)
    Played: EVE - 37mil SP | Rift Mage | Guild Wars 2 - Mesmer | SW:TOR Sage | BF4 | Smite | LoL | Skyrim
    i7 3930K - 16GB Corsair Vengeance - GTX Titan SLI - Samsung 750GB 840 EVO - Corsair 540 - Full WC - Triple 1440p Monitors

  9. #8249
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,622
    Just because it doesn't conform to your uses, doesn't mean everyone use their computers the same way you do. Keep an open mind.

  10. #8250
    Immortal Evolixe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    In the Shadows
    Posts
    7,089
    Quote Originally Posted by nocturnus View Post
    Yep, dual GTX 690 will run anything effortless, on max with frame rates of 60+ on three screens at 5760*1080.
    You can probebly add 3 more schreens and have no problem at all.. Maybe the VRAM though.. So in that sense 4x 4GB 680 might be better.
    i7-5820k @ 4.4GHz|16GB DDR4 2667MHz OC|EVGA GTX 670 FTW|Samsung 830 128GB SSD

  11. #8251
    Brewmaster Fierae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Northampton, UK
    Posts
    1,332
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    Just because it doesn't conform to your uses, doesn't mean everyone use their computers the same way you do. Keep an open mind.
    I understand that, hence the statement at the end, you do bite sometimes don't you

    I'm merely stating facts. The facts are that in the case of SLI 690, you will run short on VRAM before core power (unless of course the drivers are particularly bad). Something that cannot be upgraded and therefore requiring you to swap out both cards.
    Digital Rumination
    Plays: Burning Legion EU - Fieran (Feral/Guardian) | Elite Dangerous (NoMercy)
    Played: EVE - 37mil SP | Rift Mage | Guild Wars 2 - Mesmer | SW:TOR Sage | BF4 | Smite | LoL | Skyrim
    i7 3930K - 16GB Corsair Vengeance - GTX Titan SLI - Samsung 750GB 840 EVO - Corsair 540 - Full WC - Triple 1440p Monitors

  12. #8252
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,971
    Quote Originally Posted by Holo View Post
    You can probebly add 3 more schreens and have no problem at all.. Maybe the VRAM though.. So in that sense 4x 4GB 680 might be better.
    You won't be able to use all of that VRAM if the GPUs are in SLI, which mind you, 690s are.
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  13. #8253
    Brewmaster Fierae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Northampton, UK
    Posts
    1,332
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    You won't be able to use all of that VRAM if the GPUs are in SLI, which mind you, 690s are.
    It would effectively be quad SLI with 2x 690's. I do wish they'd have made them with the 4GB each, can imagine it's a lot to fit on a card though.
    Digital Rumination
    Plays: Burning Legion EU - Fieran (Feral/Guardian) | Elite Dangerous (NoMercy)
    Played: EVE - 37mil SP | Rift Mage | Guild Wars 2 - Mesmer | SW:TOR Sage | BF4 | Smite | LoL | Skyrim
    i7 3930K - 16GB Corsair Vengeance - GTX Titan SLI - Samsung 750GB 840 EVO - Corsair 540 - Full WC - Triple 1440p Monitors

  14. #8254
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    You won't be able to use all of that VRAM if the GPUs are in SLI, which mind you, 690s are.
    Doesn't it still only add up to 2GB usable VRAM with dual 690s? And with four 680s wouldn't you have 4GB?

  15. #8255
    Brewmaster Fierae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Northampton, UK
    Posts
    1,332
    Quote Originally Posted by Crusader Cronus View Post
    Doesn't it still only add up to 2GB usable VRAM with dual 690s?
    It does indeed, they may state it as a '4GB' model, but each core can only access 2GB. Due to the multiple cores processing alternate frames, each core must then store almost a complete replicate of the other core's memory.
    Digital Rumination
    Plays: Burning Legion EU - Fieran (Feral/Guardian) | Elite Dangerous (NoMercy)
    Played: EVE - 37mil SP | Rift Mage | Guild Wars 2 - Mesmer | SW:TOR Sage | BF4 | Smite | LoL | Skyrim
    i7 3930K - 16GB Corsair Vengeance - GTX Titan SLI - Samsung 750GB 840 EVO - Corsair 540 - Full WC - Triple 1440p Monitors

  16. #8256
    Blademaster
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    49
    My Machince
    CPU: Intel core i5 2500k
    Heatsink: Corsair h60 liquid cooling
    Mobo: Asus p8z77-v
    Case:Cooler master haf 912
    PSU: Corsair 750TX
    Ram;16gb Corsair vengence ddr3
    Graphics card: EVGA 560 ti 2gb
    HDD: 1tb western digital
    SSD: OCZ vertex 3 120gb

  17. #8257
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,174
    Quote Originally Posted by Fierae View Post
    It does indeed, they may state it as a '4GB' model, but each core can only access 2GB. Due to the multiple cores processing alternate frames, each core must then store almost a complete replicate of the other core's memory.
    There are apparently exceptions to the rule, but then it's no longer being used in any conventional way, lol.

  18. #8258
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,971
    Quote Originally Posted by Crusader Cronus View Post
    Doesn't it still only add up to 2GB usable VRAM with dual 690s? And with four 680s wouldn't you have 4GB?
    It all depends on what the main card has. If you have 2GB VRAM 680s, then you'll get a total of 2GB of VRAM, even if you have 3 680s backing it up. If it has 4GB, then you'll have 4GB.

    Same thing with the 690s however instead of it being all the VRAM on the PCB itself, it's only the amount they give per 680 chip on the PCB, thus if a 690 is listed as 4GB, you should do some digging, it is probably 2GB per chip, thus effectively 2GB of VRAM total.

    Yes, it is very shady and I don't like it.
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  19. #8259
    Brewmaster Fierae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Northampton, UK
    Posts
    1,332
    Quote Originally Posted by Alwayzdead View Post
    My Machince
    CPU: Intel core i5 2500k
    Heatsink: Corsair h60 liquid cooling
    Mobo: Asus p8z77-v
    Case:Cooler master haf 912
    PSU: Corsair 750TX
    Ram;16gb Corsair vengence ddr3
    Graphics card: EVGA 560 ti 2gb
    HDD: 1tb western digital
    SSD: OCZ vertex 3 120gb
    Nice setup, I am particularly fond of the 2GB 560Ti's, think they are a fantastic card.

    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Yes, it is very shady and I don't like it.
    Indeed, it can be very misleading.
    Digital Rumination
    Plays: Burning Legion EU - Fieran (Feral/Guardian) | Elite Dangerous (NoMercy)
    Played: EVE - 37mil SP | Rift Mage | Guild Wars 2 - Mesmer | SW:TOR Sage | BF4 | Smite | LoL | Skyrim
    i7 3930K - 16GB Corsair Vengeance - GTX Titan SLI - Samsung 750GB 840 EVO - Corsair 540 - Full WC - Triple 1440p Monitors

  20. #8260
    I guess dual-GPU cards are so uncommonly produced and niche that there really isn't enough dissatisfaction to fuel any sort of campaign against it. Well, that and the fact that the people dropping $1000 on a GPU are probably knowledgeable enough on the topic to know exactly what they'll be getting.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •