1. #9001
    Epic! Ghâzh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    1,589
    What if you drop it on your way to the drawer? SSD could take it.. And last just as long if kept in a drawer.
    Originally Posted by Blizzard (Blue Tracker / Official Forums)
    WoW has been a CPU-bound game for much of its lifetime.

  2. #9002
    3 major things need to happen before SSDs replace mechanical drives:

    1. Cost per GB needs to be equal or close to it. Everyone's storage requirements simply can't shrink to accommodate a full transition.
    2. Reliability improvements. Currently, SSDs are only more reliable in theory, not practice. Firmware issues (and in turn drive failures) are way, way above the MTBF of a mechanical.
    3. OS and hardware support need to be massively improved. Currently there's a lot more hoops that one has to jump through to get an SSD running optimally both in the OS and on a hardware level. Using the correct SATA port / controller on the mobo, setting AHCI and disabling a handful of Window's features via the registry editor and buried advanced settings dialogues are all things that the average consumer would be completely lost in doing.
    i7-4770k - GTX 780 Ti - 16GB DDR3 Ripjaws - (2) HyperX 120s / Vertex 3 120
    ASRock Extreme3 - Sennheiser Momentums - Xonar DG - EVGA Supernova 650G - Corsair H80i

    build pics

  3. #9003
    Legendary! Evolixe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    In the Shadows
    Posts
    6,829
    Quote Originally Posted by glo View Post
    3 major things need to happen before SSDs replace mechanical drives:

    1. Cost per GB needs to be equal or close to it. Everyone's storage requirements simply can't shrink to accommodate a full transition.
    2. Reliability improvements. Currently, SSDs are only more reliable in theory, not practice. Firmware issues (and in turn drive failures) are way, way above the MTBF of a mechanical.
    3. OS and hardware support need to be massively improved. Currently there's a lot more hoops that one has to jump through to get an SSD running optimally both in the OS and on a hardware level. Using the correct SATA port / controller on the mobo, setting AHCI and disabling a handful of Window's features via the registry editor and buried advanced settings dialogues are all things that the average consumer would be completely lost in doing.
    Most people don't install their own computers. And the people that do know about this stuff. Honestly i don't think it's that big of a deal.

    i7-5820k @ 4.4GHz|16GB DDR4 2400MHz|EVGA GTX 670 FTW x2 SLI|Samsung 830 128GB SSD

  4. #9004
    Quote Originally Posted by Holo View Post
    Most people don't install their own computers. And the people that do know about this stuff. Honestly i don't think it's that big of a deal.
    There's a very large group of people that don't build them, but upgrade them as time goes on. Shrugging off the fact that an SSD installation requires an extra 10 steps through the bios, registry editor and so on as "not a big deal" is pretty ignorant. It obviously needs to be improved vastly regardless.
    i7-4770k - GTX 780 Ti - 16GB DDR3 Ripjaws - (2) HyperX 120s / Vertex 3 120
    ASRock Extreme3 - Sennheiser Momentums - Xonar DG - EVGA Supernova 650G - Corsair H80i

    build pics

  5. #9005
    Legendary! Evolixe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    In the Shadows
    Posts
    6,829
    Quote Originally Posted by glo View Post
    There's a very large group of people that don't build them, but upgrade them as time goes on.
    I'm not so sure of that. I don't know anybody who has done that. They all just buy a whole new system as it gets old. Which is also the best option with medium end hardware anyway.

    And 10 steps through the bios? What? My SSD didn't require any Bios setting :/

    i7-5820k @ 4.4GHz|16GB DDR4 2400MHz|EVGA GTX 670 FTW x2 SLI|Samsung 830 128GB SSD

  6. #9006
    Quote Originally Posted by Holo View Post
    I'm not so sure of that. I don't know anybody who has done that. They all just buy a whole new system as it gets old. Which is also the best option with medium end hardware anyway.

    And 10 steps through the bios? What? My SSD didn't require any Bios setting :/
    He's talking about AHCI, which is set in BIOS. Only the Z77 UEFI has by default been set to AHCI.

    Beyond that, SSDs need to be simplified on OS level next. The extra 10 steps are an unnecessary addition for users to have to take care about, and any sort of "well people know how to do it" is a ridiculous approach to things. If that was the stance people should take we'd still be using console. >.>

    Simplifying the process is a step that everyone benefits from, and so not doing it is stupid.

  7. #9007
    Legendary! Evolixe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    In the Shadows
    Posts
    6,829
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    He's talking about AHCI, which is set in BIOS. Only the Z77 UEFI has by default been set to AHCI.

    Beyond that, SSDs need to be simplified on OS level next. The extra 10 steps are an unnecessary addition for users to have to take care about, and any sort of "well people know how to do it" is a ridiculous approach to things. If that was the stance people should take we'd still be using console. >.>

    Simplifying the process is a step that everyone benefits from, and so not doing it is stupid.
    I'm not saying it shouldn't be done. Don't take me wrong. But i don't think the deal is that big personally :X

    I guess it's microsoft/apple/whoever has control of linux is on the ball now for better recognizing SSD's and turning the appropriate settings.

    I already had my defrag turned off. But there were indeed a few missing links, still.

    i7-5820k @ 4.4GHz|16GB DDR4 2400MHz|EVGA GTX 670 FTW x2 SLI|Samsung 830 128GB SSD

  8. #9008
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    Were they used internally, or were they in a drawer sometime? If the first, my point still stand.
    Location is irrelevant. Moving a drive around puts physical wear on it and you run the risk of damaging the motor or PCB if it's outside of a housing. If the drive is constantly spinning inside your computer due to use, that is putting wear on the motor. Yes, I am aware that motors have a tendency to last a long ass time in hard drives, but for me, I am not someone who encodes videos and things of that nature that uses hundreds of GB's of space at a time. My computer is for gaming, I don't really need mechanical drives since I don't even have more then 500GB of games yet.
    Last edited by Rennadrel; 2012-09-29 at 04:42 PM.

    i5 [email protected], R9 290 Windforce, 16GB DDR3 1600, HAF XB Evo, Dark Rock Pro 3 Cooler

  9. #9009
    Brewmaster
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,264
    I'm ashamed of my current "rig". Soon to be 8 year old laptop bought a couple months before the release of World of Warcraft. It's an Acer 5920G with Intel Core 2 Duo processor (T7300), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT (1024 MB), 2 GB DDR2, 160 GB HDD and that's pretty much it Working fine for World of Warcraft, GW2 and such, but I can clearly say that I'm unable to play BF3. COD is on the other hand possible! Which amazed me.

  10. #9010
    Legendary! Evolixe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    In the Shadows
    Posts
    6,829
    Quote Originally Posted by Pancha View Post
    I'm ashamed of my current "rig". Soon to be 8 year old laptop bought a couple months before the release of World of Warcraft. It's an Acer 5920G with Intel Core 2 Duo processor (T7300), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT (1024 MB), 2 GB DDR2, 160 GB HDD and that's pretty much it Working fine for World of Warcraft, GW2 and such, but I can clearly say that I'm unable to play BF3. COD is on the other hand possible! Which amazed me.
    That must have been a monster of a laptop for it's time D:

    i7-5820k @ 4.4GHz|16GB DDR4 2400MHz|EVGA GTX 670 FTW x2 SLI|Samsung 830 128GB SSD

  11. #9011
    Quote Originally Posted by Pancha View Post
    I'm ashamed of my current "rig". Soon to be 8 year old laptop bought a couple months before the release of World of Warcraft. It's an Acer 5920G with Intel Core 2 Duo processor (T7300), NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT (1024 MB), 2 GB DDR2, 160 GB HDD and that's pretty much it Working fine for World of Warcraft, GW2 and such, but I can clearly say that I'm unable to play BF3. COD is on the other hand possible! Which amazed me.
    I am surprised it has lasted this long, Acer laptops are generally pretty bad for quality imo

    i5 [email protected], R9 290 Windforce, 16GB DDR3 1600, HAF XB Evo, Dark Rock Pro 3 Cooler

  12. #9012
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,368
    This is why I have this bookmarked..... it's great to reference for folks who need it.

    http://lifehacker.com/5802838/how-to...fe-of-your-ssd

    <snip>

    * Mod warning: Stop backseat moderating.

    Then why not act like a moderator yourself? You tell people to stay on-topic in here all the time, then do so yourself, otherwise you're a hypocrite.
    Last edited by DeltrusDisc; 2012-10-01 at 12:24 AM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  13. #9013
    Legendary! Evolixe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    In the Shadows
    Posts
    6,829
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    This is why I have this bookmarked..... it's great to reference for folks who need it.

    http://lifehacker.com/5802838/how-to...fe-of-your-ssd

    And really guys, how about making a thread discussing SSDs and how to optimize them and their future rather than doing it in Post Your Gaming Setup? :P Honestly surprised this has been going for a good page or more...
    We are starting to go offtopic really far, but i just feel like adding this one detail to the thread before putting it back on the rails:

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1156654/s...-for-ssds-hdds

    Basically it's got everything your guide has, but also everything for normal HDD's. And how to maximize your windows installation in general.

    i7-5820k @ 4.4GHz|16GB DDR4 2400MHz|EVGA GTX 670 FTW x2 SLI|Samsung 830 128GB SSD

  14. #9014
    Folks, this thread is slightly (and by slightly, I mean really, extremely, distantly) off-topic. It's purpose is to post builds and then talk directly about those builds. If you have questions or want to make general comments, make a new thread or use the chat-thread. Also, please don't backseat moderate, if you think something/someone is breaking the rules, report and move on.

    ^_^
    Last edited by noteworthynerd; 2012-09-29 at 10:55 PM.

  15. #9015
    Less talk, more pics!

    *not my setup, just a pic of quad crossfire 7970 i found to help bring topic back on track*

  16. #9016
    Quote Originally Posted by glo View Post
    There's a very large group of people that don't build them, but upgrade them as time goes on. Shrugging off the fact that an SSD installation requires an extra 10 steps through the bios, registry editor and so on as "not a big deal" is pretty ignorant. It obviously needs to be improved vastly regardless.
    Is it different for storage drives, than the one you install windows on. My motherboard picked up the ssd fine and even automatically set trim support in the bios. I was confused at first cause cause I was for sure i was going to have to do something.. I'm considering another ssd for games storage to keep most stuff off the OS drive.. If I ever messed with videos I'd get a large hdd but I dont.

    Edit:
    Directly related to my current build two pages back.. Figured I'd edit to clear that up so I don't get moderator spankings :P

    Edit#2:
    Apparently I was too late.
    Last edited by Tonyctattoo; 2012-10-01 at 03:07 AM.

  17. #9017
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,582
    Please leave that thread of the discussion be. Create an own thread if you wish to know or discuss further.

  18. #9018
    Last edited by noteworthynerd; 2012-10-05 at 02:38 PM.

  19. #9019
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,368
    Your panoramic is stretched.
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  20. #9020
    Herald of the Titans kailtas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    2,958
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Your panoramic is stretched.
    It is because the width of the shot is almost 3.1 times the size of a normal 1920x1080 monitor. So the height of the pic is approx 1/3 of the original screenshot in order for the width to be 3 times wider compared to 1920x1080.

    It's either that or the pixels will have to be stretched.
    Your greed, your foolishness has brought you to this end.

    - Prince Malchezaar

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •