1. #9221
    Dreadlord Stravs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Uk Cumbrian Lake District
    Posts
    793
    Isn't Sherwood a side spin on Kenwood? Just looks very similar to something I had years ago.....can't beat the old stuff

    I would keep it tbh m8 my buddy still roll's with a Pioneer amp and little Tannoy bookshelf speakers
    Last edited by Stravs; 2012-10-25 at 09:15 PM.
    i5 2500k @ 4.2ghz-Asus Sabertooth P67 B3 8gb Corsair XMS-3
    EVGA GTX 670 4tw 4gb
    CreativeX-Fi Titanium Pro paired with (Corsair SP2500)
    Corsair HX850
    250gb Samsung 840 ssd
    Silverstone Raven 3

  2. #9222
    Brewmaster Biernot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,330
    So it's been a while since i last posted my gaming setup. And since then there where some major changes. But they happened bit by bit, so didn't really feel compelled to post, but now with a new case, it's update time!

    My old rig about 2 years ago was the following:

    Case: Lian Li PC-07FN
    PSU: Tagan Piperock 500W
    CPU: Intel i5-750
    RAM: 2x2GB Kingston DDR3-1333
    MB: Asus P7P55D
    VGA: MSI Hawk 5770
    DVD: LG GH-22NS70
    SSD: 120GB OCZ Vertex2
    HDD1: Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB 7200rpm
    HDD2: WD Caviar Green 1TB 5400rpm

    TFT: Samsung SyncMaster 2443BW
    Speakers: Technics HD50 Mini Hifi System
    Headset: Sennheiser PC-150
    Mouse: Logitech G9x
    Keyboard: Cherry G83 standard keyboard


    Now i am sitting with the following:


    Image links to an album with several images

    Case: Fractal Design Define R4
    PSU: Be Quiet Straight Power E9 480W 80+Gold modular
    CPU: Intel i5-3570k
    Heatsink: Scythe Mugen 3
    RAM: 2x4GB DDR3-1333 Silicon Power
    MB: Asus P8Z77-V LX
    VGA: Sapphire Radeon 7850 2GB OC
    DVD: LG GH-22NS90
    SSD: Crucial m4 128GB
    HDD1: 1TB WD Caviar Green
    HDD2: 2x2TB Samsung SpinPoint F4 Eco Green in Raid1

    Peripherals like before, except:
    Keyboard: DasKeyboard Model S silent professional
    Headset: Plantronics GameCom 380
    Mousemat: Roccat Taito


    In case you are wondering, why i swapped from Sennheiser to Plantronics: My Brother killled the Mic on my Sennheiser and i just needed a cheap headset for Vent/TS. The Plantronics is very comfortable to wear, and while the sound quality isn't on par with Sennheiser, it's perfectly fine for voice chat. (i don't hear music over headphones)


    P.S.
    My new case vibrates a little bit and causes the plastic front to rattle. Very annoying. I need to check if there is something not quite tightly screwed or similar...

    Edit:
    I think i found the culprit: The upper hdd cage (the removable one) wasn't screwed in tight. Blissful silence!

  3. #9223
    Warchief Prixie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Oostende, Belgium
    Posts
    2,024
    Lol Xuvial dude, were you really considering dumping that for some DAC and mini amp and studio monitors? Shame on you
    \\ My signature got removed because it was 21,12 Kb over the limitation \\

  4. #9224
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,110
    Quote Originally Posted by Biernot View Post
    Now i am sitting with the following:

    <snip>
    Image links to an album with several images

    Case: Fractal Design Define R4
    PSU: Be Quiet Straight Power E9 480W 80+Gold modular
    CPU: Intel i5-3570k
    Heatsink: Scythe Mugen 3
    RAM: 2x4GB DDR3-1333 Silicon Power
    MB: Asus P8Z77-V LX
    VGA: Sapphire Radeon 7850 2GB OC
    DVD: LG GH-22NS90
    SSD: Crucial m4 128GB
    HDD1: 1TB WD Caviar Green
    HDD2: 2x2TB Samsung SpinPoint F4 Eco Green in Raid1

    Peripherals like before, except:
    Keyboard: DasKeyboard Model S silent professional
    Headset: Plantronics GameCom 380
    Mousemat: Roccat Taito


    In case you are wondering, why i swapped from Sennheiser to Plantronics: My Brother killled the Mic on my Sennheiser and i just needed a cheap headset for Vent/TS. The Plantronics is very comfortable to wear, and while the sound quality isn't on par with Sennheiser, it's perfectly fine for voice chat. (i don't hear music over headphones)


    P.S.
    My new case vibrates a little bit and causes the plastic front to rattle. Very annoying. I need to check if there is something not quite tightly screwed or similar...

    Edit:
    I think i found the culprit: The upper hdd cage (the removable one) wasn't screwed in tight. Blissful silence!
    You sir, get at least 9/10 from me for cable management considering how many drives you're running. I'd put all the drives in the top cage and remove the bottom cage for slightly better airflow (or the other way around if you can put that SSD somewhere). Great build ^_^

    Quote Originally Posted by Prixie View Post
    Lol Xuvial dude, were you really considering dumping that for some DAC and mini amp and studio monitors? Shame on you
    Ouch, hammer of judgement
    FYI that exact amp sold on ebay for $19 back in 2001. As big and feature-rich as it looks, ancient tech is still ancient...borderline junk probably.
    I may still end up not using that (I won't DUMP it, but it'll gather dust in the garage) because MicroLab Solo7C's don't need any such huge amplifier, they connect directly to the laptop via 3.5mm jacks like regular speakers.




  5. #9225
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,183
    Click image for full size. o_o



    I finally got the backplates for my cards. I immediately replaced the waterblock on the old card (which had the CSQ variant previously). However, after installing the card into the PC for some test-fitting I realized: My 1/2" ID 3/4" OD fittings are simply too fucking fat to fit on the top side of the cards! So I can't connect the cards lol.

    Hopefully it'll only take a few weeks for Crystal Links to come in.

  6. #9226
    Brewmaster Biernot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,330
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    You sir, get at least 9/10 from me for cable management considering how many drives you're running. I'd put all the drives in the top cage and remove the bottom cage for slightly better airflow (or the other way around if you can put that SSD somewhere). Great build ^_^
    I think, you can either remove the top one or both, but not the bottom one.
    With this case, i actually could put the SSD somewhere else: http://i.imgur.com/T9sla.jpg notice the holes below the cpu cutout, that don't quite fit the normal ATX standoff holes? They are actually spaced, so you can bolt in 2.5" drives there. But the downside is, that you have to remove the motherboard to access them, which doesn't seem worth the hassle for me.
    I am actually not really worried about airflow, because the parts i have in there are fairly low grade in terms of heat. I am more worried, that my hdds might get too hot when they are packed too tight. (currently i don't have a fan in the lower front position)

    As for the cable management:
    The psu i am using is extremely convenient in that regard, as it has one cable with 4x SATA (using this for the hdds) and one with 2x SATA / 2x Molex (for dvd and the fan controller). Also the PCIe cable only has a single 6+2p connector, making it more tidy than if i had a spare hanging around (also the +2p is conveniently on the backside of the plug on the video card, with enough space that it doesn't need to get bend away). And las but not least, the case has a lot of room on the backside to stow away excess cables.

  7. #9227
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,183
    Quick picture of the old waterblock. Not the one I'm using now though.


  8. #9228
    Is that a reference 680 waterblock, and do you still have it?

    Just got rid of my GTX470 for a 680, and don't yet have a block for it.

  9. #9229
    Pit Lord Ghâzh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    2,273
    Quote Originally Posted by FlawlessSoul View Post
    Is that a reference 680 waterblock, and do you still have it?
    Just got rid of my GTX470 for a 680, and don't yet have a block for it.
    Shall that not be the 680, just ask Drunkenvalley and he'll have one, no problem. ;P He's like a walking mini sized hardware store.

  10. #9230
    Hi guys, here is my set up

    3570k, stock (had a OC nightmare with my old rig) hyper 212 cooler, eventually I'll get some balls and OC
    8g crucial ram 1333mhz
    gigabyte 7870 ghz edition
    750 antec PSU
    96 GB SSD kingston sata II (old)
    128 GB Agility 4 SSD sata III
    500 gb WD






    I'm kind of a neat freak when it comes to my PC station. I wish I could have my tower on the table, but the noise annoys me.

    Funny story, I originally wanted to get my first high end card, a 7950. Micro center is an hours drive and I was so excited to get that card I didn't pay attention to my gas tank, when I got there I was on E and I didn't have enough gas to get back home, so I had to get a 7870 (before the price drop, 300$ -_-) so I could have enough to full up maybe next generation


    P.S. I dunno how you guys have such neat cable management, it took me 4 hours just to get it the way it is now, it was much worst!

  11. #9231
    The Patient at05gt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Its called America, not 'Murica.
    Posts
    326
    Quote Originally Posted by Nireyo View Post
    P.S. I dunno how you guys have such neat cable management, it took me 4 hours just to get it the way it is now, it was much worst!
    Most of the time in aftermarket cases there is an area either behind the hard drive tower or motherboard tray for cable management, you route the cables there and use extensions if needed.
    Quote Originally Posted by noteworthynerd View Post
    But hey, we're just strangers on the Internet with decades of combined IT and computer building experience, what do we know?

  12. #9232
    Brewmaster Biernot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,330
    Quote Originally Posted by Nireyo View Post
    P.S. I dunno how you guys have such neat cable management, it took me 4 hours just to get it the way it is now, it was much worst!
    There are a few things you need for good cable management:

    Case: Your case needs to support it. Nearly all cases above $50 should have some form of cable management behind the motherboard tray, with cutouts to allow only short visible sections of the cables. See my rig: http://imgur.com/a/dHx7B#5 The trick is to let the cables disappear as fast as fossible. If they are out of sight, it doesn't matter how crooked or messy they are. Here is how my build looks from the back: http://imgur.com/a/dHx7B#10

    Cable Ties: You need some form of cable ties to either bunch some together or hold them in place. You can use either zip-ties or twist-ties. Advantage of zip-ties is the strength: you can zip them tight and they stay that way (but you need to cut them open if you need to re-do the cables).

    Modular Power Supply: Not a necessity, but a great help. Don't attach cables that you don't need -> less cables you need to hide.

    A Plan in your Head: Think about, how you want to route the cables in advance. If your case doesn't allow for the cables to go behind the motherboard tray, then most of the time the best looking idea is, to bunch them together as a thick strand that goes up the right side of your motherboard and branch of the cables as needed. Even if your case doesn't have room behind the motherboard, most of the time the space behind the hard drive area is a good place to stow excess cables.

    P.S.
    Just found a nice example: http://www.pc-pad.com/img/before-after.jpg

  13. #9233
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,183
    Quote Originally Posted by FlawlessSoul View Post
    Is that a reference 680 waterblock, and do you still have it?

    Just got rid of my GTX470 for a 680, and don't yet have a block for it.
    That's a reference GTX 680 (and ergo so is the waterblock), yes. And I do indeed still have the waterblock.

  14. #9234
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    That's a reference GTX 680 (and ergo so is the waterblock), yes. And I do indeed still have the waterblock.
    It looks like the EK FC680+ Nickel/Acrylic - are you going to be selling it or keeping it for a second card?

    What's your new one? The non-plus block?

  15. #9235
    OS: Windows 7 Home Premium
    CPU: i5 3570k @ 4.5 Ghz
    Motherboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
    Power Supply: Corsair 750W TX
    Case: Cooler Master HAF 912
    Case Fans: Cooler Master 200mm x2, Cooler Master 120mm x2
    Graphics: GTX 560 w/ 2GB RAM
    RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws 8GB
    SSD: OCZ Vertex 4 128gb (WoW, TF2, EVE, LoL)
    HDD: Western Digital 1 TB (DVDs for streaming and other files)
    Optical: ASUS 24x DVD-RW
    Mouse: RAZER Deathadder
    Keyboard: RAZER BlackWidow Mechanical
    Monitor: ASUS VS228H-P 21.5in. LED Monitor
    Headset: Turtle Beach Z11 Gaming Headset

    Average 75 fps in Raids, 115 average questing with everything at Ultra.

    Overall one of the best computers I've ever owned.
    Last edited by Samej; 2012-10-28 at 05:15 AM.

  16. #9236
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,183
    Quote Originally Posted by FlawlessSoul View Post
    It looks like the EK FC680+ Nickel/Acrylic - are you going to be selling it or keeping it for a second card?

    What's your new one? The non-plus block?
    I don't know what they call them technically. Generally they're just dubbed CSQ after the CSQ design. The new blocks are the original non-CSQ ones, because I don't like the new blocks' bridge system (because they only have ports on one side...).

    My old block (CSQ one) is acrylic and copper, not nickel (that's my new non-CSQ ones). I don't have any use for it myself anymore, so I might sell it if someone appears interested. /shrug

  17. #9237
    Quote Originally Posted by Samej View Post
    OS: Windows 7 Home Premium
    CPU: i5 3570k @ 4.5 Ghz
    Motherboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
    Power Supply: Corsair 750W TX
    Case: Cooler Master HAF 912
    Case Fans: Cooler Master 200mm x2, Cooler Master 120mm x2
    Graphics: GTX 560 w/ 2GB RAM
    RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws 8GB
    SSD: OCZ Vertex 4 128gb (WoW, TF2, EVE, LoL)
    HDD: Western Digital 1 TB (DVDs for streaming and other files)
    Optical: ASUS 24x DVD-RW
    Mouse: RAZER Deathadder
    Keyboard: RAZER BlackWidow Mechanical
    Monitor: ASUS VS228H-P 21.5in. LED Monitor
    Headset: Turtle Beach Z11 Gaming Headset

    Average 75 fps in Raids, 115 average questing with everything at Ultra.

    Overall one of the best computers I've ever owned.
    Nice computer, post needs more PICTURES! It doesn't matter if you only have a crappy mobile phone camera either
    Intel i7 5820K (4.5 GHz) | MSI X99A MPower | 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury 2666MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Samsung 951PRO nVME 512GB | Crucial M550 256GB | Crucial MX200 1TB | Western Digital Caviar Black 2000GB | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Noctua NH-D15 | Fractal Define R5 | Seasonic X850

    Former author of the TankSpot.com Protection Paladin guide

  18. #9238
    Immortal Evolixe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    In the Shadows
    Posts
    7,124
    My Iphone is being delivered this tuesday, i guess i should be able to shoot some decent pictures with that
    i7-5820k @ 4.4GHz|16GB DDR4 2667MHz OC|EVGA GTX 670 FTW|Samsung 830 128GB SSD

  19. #9239
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    I don't know what they call them technically. Generally they're just dubbed CSQ after the CSQ design. The new blocks are the original non-CSQ ones, because I don't like the new blocks' bridge system (because they only have ports on one side...).

    My old block (CSQ one) is acrylic and copper, not nickel (that's my new non-CSQ ones). I don't have any use for it myself anymore, so I might sell it if someone appears interested. /shrug
    Yeah, I'm not a huge fan of the CSQ design, but depending on how much you want for it I may be interested in the block.

  20. #9240
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,110
    Well they're here...MicroLab Solo7C.



    They sound better than what they were priced at...not as pristine as SP2500's but will get the job done for the TV. It would seem I will need some sort of cheap amp (no I'm not using my damn 1999 amp) because the laptop headphone jack can't seem to drive them very well.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •