1. #9601
    Bloodsail Admiral Biernot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,219
    Quote Originally Posted by LolretKJ View Post
    [IMG]http://i.imgur.com/ddwN4l.jpg?1
    Your order for they day: Cleaning time!
    But seriously, all that dust in/on the radiator isn't good, it blocks cooling. And i don't want to know how the graphics cards look.

  2. #9602
    Mechagnome LolretKJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    639
    Quote Originally Posted by Biernot View Post
    Your order for they day: Cleaning time!
    But seriously, all that dust in/on the radiator isn't good, it blocks cooling. And i don't want to know how the graphics cards look.
    How would I do so without damaging shit
    Quote Originally Posted by Proberly View Post
    Oh would you now? It truly is amazing how many heroic people we have wasting their time on internet.

  3. #9603
    Bloodsail Admiral Biernot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,219
    Quote Originally Posted by LolretKJ View Post
    How would I do so without damaging shit
    Pressurized Air works best. Vacuum is not good.

    If you are not going to do it often, then canned air is probably the cheapest solution: http://www.amazon.com/Innovera-51505...dp/B000U08SYK/
    But if you plan on doing such things regularly, then you might consider this little toy: http://www.amazon.com/Metro-Vacuum-E...dp/B001J4ZOAW/

  4. #9604
    Mechagnome LolretKJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    639
    Quote Originally Posted by Biernot View Post
    Pressurized Air works best. Vacuum is not good.

    If you are not going to do it often, then canned air is probably the cheapest solution: http://www.amazon.com/Innovera-51505...dp/B000U08SYK/
    But if you plan on doing such things regularly, then you might consider this little toy: http://www.amazon.com/Metro-Vacuum-E...dp/B001J4ZOAW/
    Cool, I'll get on that.
    Quote Originally Posted by Proberly View Post
    Oh would you now? It truly is amazing how many heroic people we have wasting their time on internet.

  5. #9605
    My brother's Cosmos II as it looks right now. We don't have compressed air or anything on hand, so it's dusty as hell, lol.



    Cosmos II
    AX 850
    Asus P9X79 Deluxe
    Corsair Dominator 4x8GB, 1600MHz @ 1.5v
    Intel i7 3930k
    GTX 680
    Corsair Force 3 240GB... x2

    Thinking of doing some changes to the watercooling, heh. Think a freestanding res and pump (it's currently an Alphacool 5.25" mounted solution) would look good in here?

  6. #9606
    A vertical standing tube res with a white led strip behind it (maybe cover the LED strip in thin black cloth (muslin, tights that kind of thing) to make it merely lit up and not have the LEDs reflecting all over the place) next to the HDD cage could look quite good.
    Intel i5 2500K (4.5 GHz) | Asus Z77 Sabertooth | 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Crucial M4 128GB | Asus Xonar DGX | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB | Noctua NH-U12P SE2 | Fractal Design Arc Midi | Corsair HX650

    Tanking with the Blessing of Kings - The TankSpot Guide to the Protection Paladin - Updated for Patch 5.4!

  7. #9607
    I'm frankly not a fan of LEDs, so that's not happening. Especially with my brother, who doesn't even fancy aesthetics at all. However, we agreed that the bay-mounted reservoir is a PITA to work with and is more hassle than it's worth, so we want to replace it.

  8. #9608
    Welcome to the jungle(click me).

    AsRock Z77 Pro4
    I5-3570K(with Thermalright True Spirit 120 Rev)
    Corsair Vengeance 8Gb Kit DDR3 1600MHz
    MSI Radeon HD7850 OC Twin Frozr II
    Corsair GS600 Gamer edition

    Also have Sidewinder x4 keyboard and Logitech G600 MMO mouse.
    Last edited by Doril; 2012-12-26 at 03:14 PM. Reason: including specs would be a good idea..

  9. #9609
    Field Marshal
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Fort McMurray AB
    Posts
    80
    Just ordered me a pair of AKG Q701 Quincy Jones Specials to replace my tiamat. Epic sound upgrade inc!

  10. #9610
    Immortal Notarget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    7,118
    Quote Originally Posted by EllishaPally View Post
    Just ordered me a pair of AKG Q701 Quincy Jones Specials to replace my tiamat. Epic sound upgrade inc!
    Those are really nice, hope you have something good to drive them with
    CPU: Intel i5-3570k (4.5GHz) MB: ASUS Z77 Sabertooth (uefi 2003)
    GPU: Asus 280X TOP (1080MHz/1700MHz) RAM: Corsair LP/LV white 8GB 1600MHz
    SSD: Samsung 840Pro 256GB + Crucial m4 128GB (040H) PSU: Seasonic 620M CASE: Corsair 500R (White/Black) Monitor: LG 237L-BN IPS
    Current build! ||Old Build || Bitdefender Total Security 2014 || AV-TEST Jan/Feb 2013

  11. #9611
    Field Marshal
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Fort McMurray AB
    Posts
    80
    Quote Originally Posted by Notarget View Post
    Those are really nice, hope you have something good to drive them with
    I've got a phoebus and from what people say on head-fi that should be enough to drive them well. Otherwise i'll be picking up a fiios e09k (or whatever the model number is)

  12. #9612
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,459
    Remember to kill image-tags when quoting images, please!


    Yeah, the Phoebus provides more than enough amplification for a pair of 62 Ω headphones. They're nice audio quality, but I don't prefer its sound signature.

  13. #9613
    Immortal Notarget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    7,118
    Quote Originally Posted by EllishaPally View Post
    I've got a phoebus and from what people say on head-fi that should be enough to drive them well. Otherwise i'll be picking up a fiios e09k (or whatever the model number is)
    Definitely, enjoy!
    CPU: Intel i5-3570k (4.5GHz) MB: ASUS Z77 Sabertooth (uefi 2003)
    GPU: Asus 280X TOP (1080MHz/1700MHz) RAM: Corsair LP/LV white 8GB 1600MHz
    SSD: Samsung 840Pro 256GB + Crucial m4 128GB (040H) PSU: Seasonic 620M CASE: Corsair 500R (White/Black) Monitor: LG 237L-BN IPS
    Current build! ||Old Build || Bitdefender Total Security 2014 || AV-TEST Jan/Feb 2013

  14. #9614
    Bloodsail Admiral Biernot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,219
    Quote Originally Posted by Doril View Post
    Welcome to the jungle(click me).

    AsRock Z77 Pro4
    I5-3570K(with Thermalright True Spirit 120 Rev)
    Corsair Vengeance 8Gb Kit DDR3 1600MHz
    MSI Radeon HD7850 OC Twin Frozr II
    Corsair GS600 Gamer edition

    Also have Sidewinder x4 keyboard and Logitech G600 MMO mouse.
    Just as a small tip: put the snake pit behind the hdd's, there is enough room.
    Also, why on earth are you using those Molex -> PCIe adapters, when your psu has PCIe connectors?

  15. #9615
    Herald of the Titans shroudster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,890
    Quote Originally Posted by Biernot View Post
    Just as a small tip: put the snake pit behind the hdd's, there is enough room.
    Also, why on earth are you using those Molex -> PCIe adapters, when your psu has PCIe connectors?
    same problem, bigger jungle in my rig due to 800 GS version but just keep them tie wrapped as low as possible. (also hiding behind hdd cage is hard due to length and route of certain wires)

  16. #9616
    Quote Originally Posted by Biernot View Post
    Just as a small tip: put the snake pit behind the hdd's, there is enough room.
    Also, why on earth are you using those Molex -> PCIe adapters, when your psu has PCIe connectors?
    If you mean the cables towards the front panel, then that's a no-go. I have 2x 120mm fans in there as you can see from the pic.

    As for the Molex -> PCIe adapter thing. I'll quote your sig: "Why do something simple, when there is a complicated way?" (the day i installed the new parts was a low sleep/super tired day. I grabbed the molex from my old GPU, and installed it to my new GPU. So that's my bad! )

  17. #9617
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,004
    Quote Originally Posted by LolretKJ View Post



    Alienware Aurora R3, got it as a gift 3 years ago, still runs amazingly well.

    Specs:
    CPU: Intel Core i7-2600k, 4.1 MHz
    Mobo: Stock Alienware Aurora R3 Mobo
    Doubt it.

    i7-2600K got released less than 2 years ago. Also it is 4.1GHz. :P MHz would be so obnoxiously slow. XD

    What I bet you were given was a LGA socket 1156 based system, with either a first-gen i5 or 800 series i7, because as I recall those i7s were also on 1156.

    Definitely not an i7-2600K though, sorry.

  18. #9618
    Herald of the Titans Saithes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Mun
    Posts
    2,609
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Doubt it.

    i7-2600K got released less than 2 years ago. Also it is 4.1GHz. :P MHz would be so obnoxiously slow. XD

    What I bet you were given was a LGA socket 1156 based system, with either a first-gen i5 or 800 series i7, because as I recall those i7s were also on 1156.

    Definitely not an i7-2600K though, sorry.
    http://www.amazon.com/Alienware-Auro.../dp/B005DSS5U6

    It could be an i7 2600K :P His motherboard looks exactly like the LGA 1155 I just linked on Amazon. His timeframe is likely just off.
    Last edited by Saithes; 2012-12-27 at 12:27 AM.

  19. #9619
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,004
    Quote Originally Posted by Saithes View Post
    http://www.amazon.com/Alienware-Auro.../dp/B005DSS5U6

    It could be an i7 2600K :P His motherboard looks exactly like the LGA 1155 I just linked on Amazon. His timeframe is likely just off.
    Yeah, that's why I bolded that part too. :P

    3 years though... is just very off. >_>

  20. #9620
    The Patient jholdaway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    296

    my near complete setup

    Thermaltake V9 Black Edition Gaming Case
    AMD FX-6100 Zambezi processer, (OC to 4.2Ghz)
    Cooler Master Hyper TX3 CPU Cooler
    16 GB Dual Channel DDR3 1600 Corsair Vengeance
    MSI 990XA-GD55 MoBo
    OCZ 180GB Agility 3
    2T Seagate HDD
    XFX ATI Radeon HD 5770 1gb(upgrading to a EVGA GeForce GTX 660 SIGNATURE2 2048MB GDDR5 tomorrow
    32 inch VIzio HD TV 1920X1080 Resolution(Main)
    I-INC iH252 25 inch (Secondary)
    Razer DeathStalker Keyboard
    Razer DeathAdder 3.5g mouse,(Dragonage 2 edition)
    Razer Carcharias Gaming Headset
    Razer Goliathus Alpha L-Speed (Fragged) mouse pad

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •