1. #10101
    Titan DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    14,861
    Quote Originally Posted by shroudster View Post
    hmm thought distances between cpu socket and first PCIe slot were the same for every mobo pretty much?
    i managed to fit my 670 with backplate below my dh14. (there is perhaps 2-3mm between the gpu and cpu cooler )

    also how come your banner is still up?
    Since his isn't making Chrome flip out, I imagine the issue was fixed and you could fix your banner now, too.

  2. #10102
    Quote Originally Posted by n0cturnal View Post
    Nope, they took the worst aspects of the Logitch G13 and put them into the Orbweaver. Unless you have giant hands you can not reach all 4 rows of keys with out moving your hand. With your hand in a natural position your fingers will rest in the "WASD" position with your middle finger on the center button of the second row. In order to reach the 1st/top row of keys you have to move hand or unnaturally stretch your fingers to reach them. Especially the 01 or 05 keys.

    They also took away the d-pad/joy-stick combo and made it just a joy-stick. On the Nostromo you can remove the joy-stick and just use the d-pad as extra single press buttons. So it works for keybinds like any other key on the device does. Trying to use it as a joy-stick is almost impossible to be that precise with your thumb. You can never use it to replace your mouse.

    The G13 suffers from exactly those same problems. The Orbweaver is beyond pointless.

    Edit:
    They get credit for just one thing, they removed the useless wheel and just gave you a normal button.
    Last edited by Organoth; 2013-02-03 at 01:04 AM.
    Cooler Master HAF X : Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.4GHz : Corsair A70 cooler : 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Corsair Vengeance LP : ASUS P8Z68 V-PRO/Gen3 : EVGA GTX GTX 670 FTW SIG2

  3. #10103
    Pandaren Monk Prixie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Oostende, Belgium
    Posts
    1,994
    Quote Originally Posted by Organoth View Post
    Nope, they took the worst aspects of the Logitch G13 and put them into the Orbweaver. Unless you have giant hands you can not reach all 4 rows of keys with out moving your hand. With your hand in a natural position your fingers will rest in the "WASD" position with your middle finger on the center button of the second row. In order to reach the 1st/top row of keys you have to move hand or unnaturally stretch your fingers to reach them. Especially the 01 or 05 keys.

    They also took away the d-pad/joy-stick combo and made it just a joy-stick. On the Nostromo you can remove the joy-stick and just use the d-pad as extra single press buttons. So it works for keybinds like any other key on the device does. Trying to use it as a joy-stick is almost impossible to be that precise with your thumb. You can never use it to replace your mouse.

    The G13 suffers from exactly those same problems. The Orbweaver is beyond pointless.

    Edit:
    They get credit for just one thing, they removed the useless wheel and just gave you a normal button.
    I use the joystick on my G13 to move my toon in WoW and I've been doing so for 4 years of HC rading and PvP, haven't had a single issue with precision.

  4. #10104
    Quote Originally Posted by Prixie View Post
    I use the joystick on my G13 to move my toon in WoW and I've been doing so for 4 years of HC rading and PvP, haven't had a single issue with precision.
    That is because WoW does not requiring aiming of any kind. You either click or tab target and that's it. Go play an FPS, especially trying to snipe in a FPS, with that jokestick. Even attempting to use that jokestick will only further complicate things when trying to reach your top row of buttons because of how you have to stretch your hand to reach them.

    Compared with having the regular d-pad on my Nostromo the Orbweaver would only give me 2 total extra keybinds, but at the same time 5 of those total keys are in a position that makes them impractical to use.
    Cooler Master HAF X : Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.4GHz : Corsair A70 cooler : 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Corsair Vengeance LP : ASUS P8Z68 V-PRO/Gen3 : EVGA GTX GTX 670 FTW SIG2

  5. #10105
    Titan DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    14,861
    Quote Originally Posted by Organoth View Post
    That is because WoW does not requiring aiming of any kind. You either click or tab target and that's it. Go play an FPS, especially trying to snipe in a FPS, with that jokestick. Even attempting to use that jokestick will only further complicate things when trying to reach your top row of buttons because of how you have to stretch your hand to reach them.

    Compared with having the regular d-pad on my Nostromo the Orbweaver would only give me 2 total extra keybinds, but at the same time 5 of those total keys are in a position that makes them impractical to use.
    Hey man, just wanted to remind you that not everyone has the same size hands.

  6. #10106
    Pandaren Monk Prixie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Oostende, Belgium
    Posts
    1,994
    Quote Originally Posted by Organoth View Post
    That is because WoW does not requiring aiming of any kind. You either click or tab target and that's it. Go play an FPS, especially trying to snipe in a FPS, with that jokestick. Even attempting to use that jokestick will only further complicate things when trying to reach your top row of buttons because of how you have to stretch your hand to reach them.

    Compared with having the regular d-pad on my Nostromo the Orbweaver would only give me 2 total extra keybinds, but at the same time 5 of those total keys are in a position that makes them impractical to use.
    I usually don't respond to things like this, but really man?
    Define "stretching"



    Besides, who in their right mind would use the joystick to snipe with, that's just asking for trouble. It's made to run with. Bind WASD to the right directions of the joystick and you're fine.
    Last edited by Prixie; 2013-02-04 at 12:46 AM.

  7. #10107
    Legendary! Notarget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    6,602
    New stuff, Headphones are Bose AE2 and the SSD picture should be self explanatory.



    CPU: Intel i5-3570k (4.5GHz) MB: ASUS Z77 Sabertooth (uefi 2003)
    GPU: Asus 280X TOP (1080MHz/1700MHz) RAM: Corsair LP/LV white 8GB 1600MHz
    SSD: Samsung 840Pro 256GB + Crucial m4 128GB (040H) PSU: Seasonic 620M CASE: Corsair 500R (White/Black) Monitor: LG 237L-BN IPS
    Current build! ||Old Build || Bitdefender Windows 8 Security 2013 || AV-TEST Jan/Feb 2013

  8. #10108
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,349
    What was lacking @ M4 128GB? Memory size?

  9. #10109
    Legendary! Notarget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    6,602
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    What was lacking @ M4 128GB? Memory size?
    capacity and since I was getting a new one I figured I might as well get one of the best out there. The M4 is/was perfect I just needed more space, haven't decided what I'll do with it yet. We'll see when I get back home to EU.
    CPU: Intel i5-3570k (4.5GHz) MB: ASUS Z77 Sabertooth (uefi 2003)
    GPU: Asus 280X TOP (1080MHz/1700MHz) RAM: Corsair LP/LV white 8GB 1600MHz
    SSD: Samsung 840Pro 256GB + Crucial m4 128GB (040H) PSU: Seasonic 620M CASE: Corsair 500R (White/Black) Monitor: LG 237L-BN IPS
    Current build! ||Old Build || Bitdefender Windows 8 Security 2013 || AV-TEST Jan/Feb 2013

  10. #10110
    Quote Originally Posted by Notarget View Post
    capacity and since I was getting a new one I figured I might as well get one of the best out there. The M4 is/was perfect I just needed more space, haven't decided what I'll do with it yet. We'll see when I get back home to EU.
    Keep it in there? Unless of course you can use it for another pc :P

  11. #10111
    Legendary! Notarget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    6,602
    Quote Originally Posted by Zeara View Post
    Keep it in there? Unless of course you can use it for another pc :P
    Well yeah, I have a few options, perhaps I'll donate the drive for a good cause
    CPU: Intel i5-3570k (4.5GHz) MB: ASUS Z77 Sabertooth (uefi 2003)
    GPU: Asus 280X TOP (1080MHz/1700MHz) RAM: Corsair LP/LV white 8GB 1600MHz
    SSD: Samsung 840Pro 256GB + Crucial m4 128GB (040H) PSU: Seasonic 620M CASE: Corsair 500R (White/Black) Monitor: LG 237L-BN IPS
    Current build! ||Old Build || Bitdefender Windows 8 Security 2013 || AV-TEST Jan/Feb 2013

  12. #10112
    Quote Originally Posted by Notarget View Post
    Well yeah, I have a few options, perhaps I'll donate the drive for a good cause
    Like my quiet HTPC?

  13. #10113
    Well, since I can't figure out what is going on with my GPU's, I am going to RMA them both, sell the replacements and get a 7950.

  14. #10114
    Warchief Ron Burgundy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    In the mountains
    Posts
    2,124
    Quote Originally Posted by Notarget View Post

    you now have the fastest ssd on the market, grats
    Milk was a bad choice.

    2013 MMO-Champion User of the Year (2nd runner up)

  15. #10115
    Quote Originally Posted by Ron Burgundy View Post
    you now have the fastest ssd on the market, grats
    Only if you exclude PCI-E based drives it is.
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  16. #10116
    Mechagnome Punisher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Québec
    Posts
    569
    Quote Originally Posted by n0cturnal View Post
    Only if you exclude PCI-E based drives it is.
    this exist? nice
    My first build:
    Storage: Kingston SSD Now V200+ 120G and WD Caviar Blue HDD 500 G
    Processing Units: i5-3570k @ 3.8 Ghz cooled by 212 Evo and MSI Twin Frozr 3, R7850 @ 900, 1200
    Mobo, Ram, PSU Gigabyte Z77-D3H and G.Skill ripjaw 2x 4G with XFX 550w
    If I am unreadable, its not because I hate grammar, its because Im french-canadian

  17. #10117
    Quote Originally Posted by PunisherQc View Post
    this exist? nice
    Yes there are a few models, OCZ has the Revodrive which can be up to 4 times as fast as a normal SATA based SSD.
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  18. #10118
    High Overlord
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom.
    Posts
    129
    Quote Originally Posted by n0cturnal View Post
    Yes there are a few models, OCZ has the Revodrive which can be up to 4 times as fast as a normal SATA based SSD.
    But the price tag on that thing.... ouch!
    i5-3570k | ASUS 670DCii-TOP | ASUS-P8Z77 | 8GB corsair vengeance | 2TB WD Caviar black

  19. #10119
    Warchief Ron Burgundy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    In the mountains
    Posts
    2,124
    detri, u have a asus 670 dcii TOP? where did u get it?
    Milk was a bad choice.

    2013 MMO-Champion User of the Year (2nd runner up)

  20. #10120
    Scarab Lord Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Aurora, Co
    Posts
    4,913
    Quote Originally Posted by detri View Post
    But the price tag on that thing.... ouch!
    chump change cost and piss poor performance compared to what is out there

    i7-4930K | RIVE | 32GB DDR3-2133 | GTX-690 Quad SLI | Xonar Xense | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | AX1200 | FT02
    Dell U2711 | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Steelseries Sensei Wireless | Xonar Essence One | KRK RP8G2s

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •