1. #10321
    Thank you sir.

    I am gonna upload some more pictures of the case and what not in just a few but it is pretty basic from what you see online lol.
    | Intel 3770k | Asrock Z77 OC Formula | EVGA 690 GTX | Samsung 840 Pro 512GB | WD Black 2TB | 32GB Corsair | OCZ ZX 850W |

  2. #10322
    Quote Originally Posted by Rinji View Post
    Thank you sir.

    I am gonna upload some more pictures of the case and what not in just a few but it is pretty basic from what you see online lol.
    Why did you switch the MVE for an asrock?

  3. #10323
    Quote Originally Posted by Faithh View Post
    Why did you switch the MVE for an asrock?
    Alot of reasons but a few is that the QVL is impossible and just way to picky. They also are having issues with the OC key I tried the forums with the memory issue for it that I had with DIMMS A2 and B2 not functioning and got no luck. Even standard ddr3 @ 1600Mhz @ 1.5v wouldn't post with X.M.P. or with changing of the memory clock settings. I even moved it to 1333 and had no luck. Took the board back swapped it out and it did ok but started acting up as well so I finally just left the MVE all together. So far this Asrock I am loving and haven't had any issues with it other then when I first got it all setup I had to disable the IGPU in the bios or the board would just non stop reboot. However that was the only problem it reads all 32GB np on X.M.P.
    | Intel 3770k | Asrock Z77 OC Formula | EVGA 690 GTX | Samsung 840 Pro 512GB | WD Black 2TB | 32GB Corsair | OCZ ZX 850W |

  4. #10324
    Quote Originally Posted by Rinji View Post
    Alot of reasons but a few is that the QVL is impossible and just way to picky. They also are having issues with the OC key I tried the forums with the memory issue for it that I had with DIMMS A2 and B2 not functioning and got no luck. Even standard ddr3 @ 1600Mhz @ 1.5v wouldn't post with X.M.P. or with changing of the memory clock settings. I even moved it to 1333 and had no luck. Took the board back swapped it out and it did ok but started acting up as well so I finally just left the MVE all together. So far this Asrock I am loving and haven't had any issues with it other then when I first got it all setup I had to disable the IGPU in the bios or the board would just non stop reboot. However that was the only problem it reads all 32GB np on X.M.P.
    Well I have this board as well and the OC key/rog connect thingies are just totally useless to me. Did you try to rma the board?

  5. #10325
    Quote Originally Posted by Faithh View Post
    Well I have this board as well and the OC key/rog connect thingies are just totally useless to me. Did you try to rma the board?

    It was quicker to just return it to my local store for a new one rather then wait for the R.M.A.... I need my machine up and running lol.
    | Intel 3770k | Asrock Z77 OC Formula | EVGA 690 GTX | Samsung 840 Pro 512GB | WD Black 2TB | 32GB Corsair | OCZ ZX 850W |

  6. #10326
    Asus P6T Deluxe
    Core I7 920 @2,67Ghz (Can overclock without probs to 3.2Ghz)
    2 x Nvidia GTX 590
    12GB ram

    4 x monitors (3 x 22'' and 1 x 47'')

    CPU and Graphic cards are watercooled and i have about 2½ liters of demineralised water running through my system at all times.

    I'll maybe post pictures of the setup at a later time.
    "If everything is under control, you are going too slow."
    - Mario Andretti

  7. #10327
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    3.2ghz is a very marginal overclock, considering the custom loop.
    Seeing as i struggle saturating 1x670 on a 4.2ghz i5-760, i suspect some CPU bottlenecking on that system.

  8. #10328
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    3.2ghz is a very marginal overclock, considering the custom loop.
    Seeing as i struggle saturating 1x670 on a 4.2ghz i5-760, i suspect some CPU bottlenecking on that system.
    Well, the CPU is a 920, and ive tried overclocking it further, but it wont budge.

    My bottleneck is well, a combination.

    I forgot to mention, but i have SSD HDD aswell, for my OS and games, although it only uses SATA2 (due to my motherboard), and my motherboard also does not support newer sockets like the LGA2011 which i would really like,

    this is the problem with building a PC and then upgrading parts - bottlenecks! .

    When i first built my system i had my I7 920 and 2 x GTX260's and a non-SSD hdd, which by that time, was very fast .
    "If everything is under control, you are going too slow."
    - Mario Andretti

  9. #10329
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    3.2ghz max overclock? The board is 16+2 phases, i find that very hard to believe. Sure you're doing it right? :P

  10. #10330
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,195
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    3.2ghz max overclock? The board is 16+2 phases, i find that very hard to believe. Sure you're doing it right? :P
    does it really matter?

    i7-4790K | Z97 Class. | 8GB DDR3-2133 | GTX-690 Quad SLI | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | AX1200 | RV05
    Dell U2711 | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Steelseries Sensei | Xonar Essence One | KRK RP8G2s

  11. #10331
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    3.2ghz max overclock? The board is 16+2 phases, i find that very hard to believe. Sure you're doing it right? :P
    Well feel free to help me =), ihve had 2 ppl who know what they were doing try and play with it, that was what we could get it to stable, and where it wanted to boot .

    Problem with CPU's is that you could have 2 x 920's and one of them would be able to overclock more than the other . Due to small imperfections in every CPU.
    "If everything is under control, you are going too slow."
    - Mario Andretti

  12. #10332
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    does it really matter?
    To make use of the 590sli setup, kinda. As i said, i have a CPU from the same generation, and i struggle sometimes @ 4.2ghz.
    920 and 760 are compareable in games. Don't want to make a big deal out of it though, 3.2ghz just seems really low.

    About the help, unless you live in the Netherlands i can't help you there ^^

  13. #10333
    Quote Originally Posted by Pj4ever View Post
    Well, the CPU is a 920, and ive tried overclocking it further, but it wont budge.

    My bottleneck is well, a combination.

    I forgot to mention, but i have SSD HDD aswell, for my OS and games, although it only uses SATA2 (due to my motherboard), and my motherboard also does not support newer sockets like the LGA2011 which i would really like,

    this is the problem with building a PC and then upgrading parts - bottlenecks! .

    When i first built my system i had my I7 920 and 2 x GTX260's and a non-SSD hdd, which by that time, was very fast .
    Tweak the stuff like PPL, FSB, NB.. What kinda voltages are you throwing on the vcore?

  14. #10334
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,195
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    To make use of the 590sli setup, kinda. As i said, i have a CPU from the same generation, and i struggle sometimes @ 4.2ghz.
    920 and 760 are compareable in games. Don't want to make a big deal out of it though, 3.2ghz just seems really low.

    About the help, unless you live in the Netherlands i can't help you there ^^
    590s run fine on a 920, certainly not as good as they would on a hex core, but its not a huge performance drop

    i7-4790K | Z97 Class. | 8GB DDR3-2133 | GTX-690 Quad SLI | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | AX1200 | RV05
    Dell U2711 | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Steelseries Sensei | Xonar Essence One | KRK RP8G2s

  15. #10335
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    590s run fine on a 920, certainly not as good as they would on a hex core, but its not a huge performance drop
    What does a hex-core got to do with this, no disrespect. It's IPC speed is just lower than that of newer CPU's. Considering the amount of games that support >4core, i'd say 3.2ghz on a 920 is not always fast enough. Judging from my own experience with a i5-760.

  16. #10336
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,195
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    What does a hex-core got to do with this, no disrespect. It's IPC speed is just lower than that of newer CPU's. Considering the amount of games that support >4core, i'd say 3.2ghz on a 920 is not always fast enough. Judging from my own experience with a i5-760.
    the generally larger PCI bus and larger L3 cache gives more performance to SLI configurations than a quad core, but we're talking small levels of gain, 20 extra fps sounds nice until you realize that it's +20 to an already 300fps

    3.2 is fine, you can gain more by going up to 4.4, but its not really a difference in playability


    a bit more, here is a comparison using dual 590s

    the 3960x has a much better IPC rate than the 990x, but if you look at the graphics test, the gain in framerate is very minimal, overall score is higher, but that doesn't mean that the CPU IPC is a huge factor in framerate when dealing with the 590s
    Last edited by Cyanotical; 2013-02-21 at 06:52 PM.

    i7-4790K | Z97 Class. | 8GB DDR3-2133 | GTX-690 Quad SLI | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | AX1200 | RV05
    Dell U2711 | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Steelseries Sensei | Xonar Essence One | KRK RP8G2s

  17. #10337
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    What does a hex-core got to do with this, no disrespect. It's IPC speed is just lower than that of newer CPU's. Considering the amount of games that support >4core, i'd say 3.2ghz on a 920 is not always fast enough. Judging from my own experience with a i5-760.
    Because a 920 @ 3.2GHz is working his ass off to 80-90% doesn't mean it's bottlenecking. Getting a cpu load of lets say 85% in bf3 and a gpu load of 90% is more than fine. The extra 9% difference isn't going to make the difference like day & night unless you have a card with 30000 cuda cores.

  18. #10338
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,173
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    To make use of the 590sli setup, kinda. As i said, i have a CPU from the same generation, and i struggle sometimes @ 4.2ghz.
    920 and 760 are compareable in games. Don't want to make a big deal out of it though, 3.2ghz just seems really low.

    About the help, unless you live in the Netherlands i can't help you there ^^
    I doubt he was meaning physically help. You know, maybe he wanted your personal suggestions or a guide you would use for overclocking.
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  19. #10339
    High Overlord Vynrael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Hutto, Tx (US - Zulu'hed - Horde)
    Posts
    157
    Getting the build done took a lot longer than anticipated due to monetary issues around buying time. But I ended up getting some unused parts through a friend which made this build pretty cheap for me in the end. Needless to say, I'm proud of it.



    There was no winning with the lighting, so lights out with a flash it was. Still have to add blue LED strips, fans weren't bright enough.

    Specs-
    CPU- i7 - 3770k @ (OC TBA)
    Mobo - Gigabyte GA-Z77 D3H
    GPU - 3GB Gigabyte 7970 Ghz Edition
    RAM - Corsair Vengeance LP 16GB (8x2)
    SSD - Samsung 840 Pro Series 256GB
    HDD - WD Caviar Black 2TB
    Case - Corsair 650D
    CPU Cooler - Corsair H80i
    PSU - Corsair AX850 (with the blue sleeved cables )
    Main Rig:
    CPU: i7-3770k @ 4.6GHz w/ Corsiar H100i in push/pull
    Mobo: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H
    GPU: EVGA 780ti SC
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600 16GB (8x2)
    SSD/HDD: Samsung 840 Pro Series 256GB w/ WD Caviar Black 2TB

  20. #10340
    Quote Originally Posted by Vynrael View Post
    Getting the build done took a lot longer than anticipated due to monetary issues around buying time. But I ended up getting some unused parts through a friend which made this build pretty cheap for me in the end. Needless to say, I'm proud of it.

    [.IMG]http://i.imgur.com/yQj3Ozll.jpg[/IMG]

    There was no winning with the lighting, so lights out with a flash it was. Still have to add blue LED strips, fans weren't bright enough.

    Specs-
    CPU- i7 - 3770k @ (OC TBA)
    Mobo - Gigabyte GA-Z77 D3H
    GPU - 3GB Gigabyte 7970 Ghz Edition
    RAM - Corsair Vengeance LP 16GB (8x2)
    SSD - Samsung 840 Pro Series 256GB
    HDD - WD Caviar Black 2TB
    Case - Corsair 650D
    CPU Cooler - Corsair H80i
    PSU - Corsair AX850 (with the blue sleeved cables )
    That is a nice build, why did you opt to go with the 850W over something like 650W or 760W out of the AX series?
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •