1. #10321
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    3.2ghz is a very marginal overclock, considering the custom loop.
    Seeing as i struggle saturating 1x670 on a 4.2ghz i5-760, i suspect some CPU bottlenecking on that system.
    Well, the CPU is a 920, and ive tried overclocking it further, but it wont budge.

    My bottleneck is well, a combination.

    I forgot to mention, but i have SSD HDD aswell, for my OS and games, although it only uses SATA2 (due to my motherboard), and my motherboard also does not support newer sockets like the LGA2011 which i would really like,

    this is the problem with building a PC and then upgrading parts - bottlenecks! .

    When i first built my system i had my I7 920 and 2 x GTX260's and a non-SSD hdd, which by that time, was very fast .
    "If everything is under control, you are going too slow."
    - Mario Andretti

  2. #10322
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    3.2ghz max overclock? The board is 16+2 phases, i find that very hard to believe. Sure you're doing it right? :P

  3. #10323
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,526
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    3.2ghz max overclock? The board is 16+2 phases, i find that very hard to believe. Sure you're doing it right? :P
    does it really matter?

    i7-6700K | Z170 Class. K | 16GB DDR4-3200 | GTX-980ti | Samsung 950 Pro RAID0 | SuperNOVA 1Kw P2 | Lian Li PC-07S
    ROG Swift PG348Q | Ducky DSX | Zowie ZA11 | Xonar Essence One | Tannoy Reveal 402

  4. #10324
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    3.2ghz max overclock? The board is 16+2 phases, i find that very hard to believe. Sure you're doing it right? :P
    Well feel free to help me =), ihve had 2 ppl who know what they were doing try and play with it, that was what we could get it to stable, and where it wanted to boot .

    Problem with CPU's is that you could have 2 x 920's and one of them would be able to overclock more than the other . Due to small imperfections in every CPU.
    "If everything is under control, you are going too slow."
    - Mario Andretti

  5. #10325
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    does it really matter?
    To make use of the 590sli setup, kinda. As i said, i have a CPU from the same generation, and i struggle sometimes @ 4.2ghz.
    920 and 760 are compareable in games. Don't want to make a big deal out of it though, 3.2ghz just seems really low.

    About the help, unless you live in the Netherlands i can't help you there ^^

  6. #10326
    Quote Originally Posted by Pj4ever View Post
    Well, the CPU is a 920, and ive tried overclocking it further, but it wont budge.

    My bottleneck is well, a combination.

    I forgot to mention, but i have SSD HDD aswell, for my OS and games, although it only uses SATA2 (due to my motherboard), and my motherboard also does not support newer sockets like the LGA2011 which i would really like,

    this is the problem with building a PC and then upgrading parts - bottlenecks! .

    When i first built my system i had my I7 920 and 2 x GTX260's and a non-SSD hdd, which by that time, was very fast .
    Tweak the stuff like PPL, FSB, NB.. What kinda voltages are you throwing on the vcore?

  7. #10327
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,526
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    To make use of the 590sli setup, kinda. As i said, i have a CPU from the same generation, and i struggle sometimes @ 4.2ghz.
    920 and 760 are compareable in games. Don't want to make a big deal out of it though, 3.2ghz just seems really low.

    About the help, unless you live in the Netherlands i can't help you there ^^
    590s run fine on a 920, certainly not as good as they would on a hex core, but its not a huge performance drop

    i7-6700K | Z170 Class. K | 16GB DDR4-3200 | GTX-980ti | Samsung 950 Pro RAID0 | SuperNOVA 1Kw P2 | Lian Li PC-07S
    ROG Swift PG348Q | Ducky DSX | Zowie ZA11 | Xonar Essence One | Tannoy Reveal 402

  8. #10328
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    590s run fine on a 920, certainly not as good as they would on a hex core, but its not a huge performance drop
    What does a hex-core got to do with this, no disrespect. It's IPC speed is just lower than that of newer CPU's. Considering the amount of games that support >4core, i'd say 3.2ghz on a 920 is not always fast enough. Judging from my own experience with a i5-760.

  9. #10329
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,526
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    What does a hex-core got to do with this, no disrespect. It's IPC speed is just lower than that of newer CPU's. Considering the amount of games that support >4core, i'd say 3.2ghz on a 920 is not always fast enough. Judging from my own experience with a i5-760.
    the generally larger PCI bus and larger L3 cache gives more performance to SLI configurations than a quad core, but we're talking small levels of gain, 20 extra fps sounds nice until you realize that it's +20 to an already 300fps

    3.2 is fine, you can gain more by going up to 4.4, but its not really a difference in playability


    a bit more, here is a comparison using dual 590s

    the 3960x has a much better IPC rate than the 990x, but if you look at the graphics test, the gain in framerate is very minimal, overall score is higher, but that doesn't mean that the CPU IPC is a huge factor in framerate when dealing with the 590s
    Last edited by Cyanotical; 2013-02-21 at 06:52 PM.

    i7-6700K | Z170 Class. K | 16GB DDR4-3200 | GTX-980ti | Samsung 950 Pro RAID0 | SuperNOVA 1Kw P2 | Lian Li PC-07S
    ROG Swift PG348Q | Ducky DSX | Zowie ZA11 | Xonar Essence One | Tannoy Reveal 402

  10. #10330
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    What does a hex-core got to do with this, no disrespect. It's IPC speed is just lower than that of newer CPU's. Considering the amount of games that support >4core, i'd say 3.2ghz on a 920 is not always fast enough. Judging from my own experience with a i5-760.
    Because a 920 @ 3.2GHz is working his ass off to 80-90% doesn't mean it's bottlenecking. Getting a cpu load of lets say 85% in bf3 and a gpu load of 90% is more than fine. The extra 9% difference isn't going to make the difference like day & night unless you have a card with 30000 cuda cores.

  11. #10331
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    17,148
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    To make use of the 590sli setup, kinda. As i said, i have a CPU from the same generation, and i struggle sometimes @ 4.2ghz.
    920 and 760 are compareable in games. Don't want to make a big deal out of it though, 3.2ghz just seems really low.

    About the help, unless you live in the Netherlands i can't help you there ^^
    I doubt he was meaning physically help. You know, maybe he wanted your personal suggestions or a guide you would use for overclocking.
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  12. #10332
    High Overlord Vynrael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Hutto, Tx (US - Zulu'hed - Horde)
    Posts
    159
    Getting the build done took a lot longer than anticipated due to monetary issues around buying time. But I ended up getting some unused parts through a friend which made this build pretty cheap for me in the end. Needless to say, I'm proud of it.



    There was no winning with the lighting, so lights out with a flash it was. Still have to add blue LED strips, fans weren't bright enough.

    Specs-
    CPU- i7 - 3770k @ (OC TBA)
    Mobo - Gigabyte GA-Z77 D3H
    GPU - 3GB Gigabyte 7970 Ghz Edition
    RAM - Corsair Vengeance LP 16GB (8x2)
    SSD - Samsung 840 Pro Series 256GB
    HDD - WD Caviar Black 2TB
    Case - Corsair 650D
    CPU Cooler - Corsair H80i
    PSU - Corsair AX850 (with the blue sleeved cables )
    Main Rig:
    CPU: i7-3770k @ 4.6GHz w/ Corsiar H100i in push/pull
    Mobo: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H
    GPU: EVGA 780ti SC
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600 16GB (8x2)
    SSD/HDD: Samsung 840 Pro Series 256GB w/ WD Caviar Black 2TB

  13. #10333
    Quote Originally Posted by Vynrael View Post
    Getting the build done took a lot longer than anticipated due to monetary issues around buying time. But I ended up getting some unused parts through a friend which made this build pretty cheap for me in the end. Needless to say, I'm proud of it.

    [.IMG]http://i.imgur.com/yQj3Ozll.jpg[/IMG]

    There was no winning with the lighting, so lights out with a flash it was. Still have to add blue LED strips, fans weren't bright enough.

    Specs-
    CPU- i7 - 3770k @ (OC TBA)
    Mobo - Gigabyte GA-Z77 D3H
    GPU - 3GB Gigabyte 7970 Ghz Edition
    RAM - Corsair Vengeance LP 16GB (8x2)
    SSD - Samsung 840 Pro Series 256GB
    HDD - WD Caviar Black 2TB
    Case - Corsair 650D
    CPU Cooler - Corsair H80i
    PSU - Corsair AX850 (with the blue sleeved cables )
    That is a nice build, why did you opt to go with the 850W over something like 650W or 760W out of the AX series?
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  14. #10334
    High Overlord Vynrael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Hutto, Tx (US - Zulu'hed - Horde)
    Posts
    159
    In the near future I would like to crossfire with a second one, and add a couple more HDDs. I was just to impatient to wait :P

    So instead of buying a 650/750, spent the extra $20 or so to not have to upgrade further down the road.
    Main Rig:
    CPU: i7-3770k @ 4.6GHz w/ Corsiar H100i in push/pull
    Mobo: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H
    GPU: EVGA 780ti SC
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600 16GB (8x2)
    SSD/HDD: Samsung 840 Pro Series 256GB w/ WD Caviar Black 2TB

  15. #10335
    Epic! lockblock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    wisconsin .. I mean greymane
    Posts
    1,523
    Quote Originally Posted by Vynrael View Post
    Getting the build done took a lot longer than anticipated due to monetary issues around buying time. But I ended up getting some unused parts through a friend which made this build pretty cheap for me in the end. Needless to say, I'm proud of it.

    http://i.imgur.com/yQj3Ozll.jpg

    There was no winning with the lighting, so lights out with a flash it was. Still have to add blue LED strips, fans weren't bright enough.

    Specs-
    CPU- i7 - 3770k @ (OC TBA)
    Mobo - Gigabyte GA-Z77 D3H
    GPU - 3GB Gigabyte 7970 Ghz Edition
    RAM - Corsair Vengeance LP 16GB (8x2)
    SSD - Samsung 840 Pro Series 256GB
    HDD - WD Caviar Black 2TB
    Case - Corsair 650D
    CPU Cooler - Corsair H80i
    PSU - Corsair AX850 (with the blue sleeved cables )
    Why on earth is your gpu in a 4x pci-e slot?
    I wouldn't crossfire with that board.
    Last edited by lockblock; 2013-02-21 at 10:00 PM.
    Current Computers: Gaming Rig, HTPC

    Some of my Photoshops

  16. #10336
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    17,148
    Quote Originally Posted by Vynrael View Post
    In the near future I would like to crossfire with a second one, and add a couple more HDDs. I was just to impatient to wait :P

    So instead of buying a 650/750, spent the extra $20 or so to not have to upgrade further down the road.
    Unless you're pushing insane overclocks on your CPU/GPU... a 650/750 should more than suffice.

    http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/618

    Their highest power consumption there is 429 watts for the entire system, and I am pretty sure they use a serious CPU (aka LGA 1366 or 2011 i7) thus you won't even be pushing that much wattage.

    ---------- Post added 2013-02-21 at 10:21 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by lockblock View Post
    Why on earth is your gpu in a 4x pci-e slot?
    I wouldn't crossfire with that board.
    Because he actually has it in an x8 slot.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...Fag7MgodQ0oATA

    And there's no issue running XFire on that board. First lane is a PCI-E 3.0 x16 (so more than enough for any GPU) and the one his GPU is plugged into is PCI-E 2.0 x8, which will maybe bottleneck his current GPU by about 5%.

    Why he is running it down there... I haven't a clue.
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  17. #10337
    High Overlord Vynrael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Hutto, Tx (US - Zulu'hed - Horde)
    Posts
    159
    Well then oops :P I guess I was just trying to play it to safe.

    As for the GPU, I guess I should of paid more attention, my friend had pulled out the covers from that PCI slot, so I just put it in without thinking. I'll have to go back in and fix that tonight. >.>
    Main Rig:
    CPU: i7-3770k @ 4.6GHz w/ Corsiar H100i in push/pull
    Mobo: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H
    GPU: EVGA 780ti SC
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600 16GB (8x2)
    SSD/HDD: Samsung 840 Pro Series 256GB w/ WD Caviar Black 2TB

  18. #10338
    Quote Originally Posted by Vynrael View Post
    Well then oops :P I guess I was just trying to play it to safe.

    As for the GPU, I guess I should of paid more attention, my friend had pulled out the covers from that PCI slot, so I just put it in without thinking. I'll have to go back in and fix that tonight. >.>
    Hmm it will just run at x16 because you only used 1 card

  19. #10339
    Quote Originally Posted by Faithh View Post
    Hmm it will just run at x16 because you only used 1 card
    The slot he is using right now is only wired for x8. Doesn't matter if it is the only card he is using.
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  20. #10340
    Epic! lockblock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    wisconsin .. I mean greymane
    Posts
    1,523
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Because he actually has it in an x8 slot.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...Fag7MgodQ0oATA

    And there's no issue running XFire on that board. First lane is a PCI-E 3.0 x16 (so more than enough for any GPU) and the one his GPU is plugged into is PCI-E 2.0 x8, which will maybe bottleneck his current GPU by about 5%.

    Why he is running it down there... I haven't a clue.
    My bad blindly accepted it as the Ga Z77 D3H since they listed it as such when in fact it is the Ga Z77X D3H. Assuming it was the lesser model that would have been a bottleneck though.
    Current Computers: Gaming Rig, HTPC

    Some of my Photoshops

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •