1. #10821
    Ah, I love it! I won't be buying a Desktop from there for example (I'd just rather not) but sometimes a decent mouse, keyboard, USB/power-hub(!) or an external hard-drive.
    It's not the best selection, but well.. Sometimes it's worth it!

    It it worth the update? I think it is..
    Got myself a new keyboard! I've heard interesting and good things about it, so.. I'm ready to experience that myself.
    http://oi48.tinypic.com/22xoz.jpg
    I no longer use the standard-Dell keyboard, yaay.

    Thumbnails please! (Sorry, thought it wouldn't be too big)
    Last edited by Gereorth666; 2013-04-03 at 01:33 PM.

  2. #10822
    I don't want to offend anyone but its interesting how many people with great gaming rigs surround it with terrible furniture and a messy look altogether with thousands of cables lying/hanging around.
    I guess I'm not enough gamer for that.

  3. #10823
    Quote Originally Posted by Xzes View Post
    I don't want to offend anyone but its interesting how many people with great gaming rigs surround it with terrible furniture and a messy look altogether with thousands of cables lying/hanging around.
    I guess I'm not enough gamer for that.
    Try having a wife, a 2 year old kid and about 90 sq.meters available and see how much room your computer gets... It's not much.

  4. #10824
    Quote Originally Posted by Xzes View Post
    I don't want to offend anyone but its interesting how many people with great gaming rigs surround it with terrible furniture and a messy look altogether with thousands of cables lying/hanging around.
    I guess I'm not enough gamer for that.
    I feel like it's also meant at me, because well.. My desk is a mess, and not the best furniture (with my chair being the best).
    Well, I guess it's just for how much it actualy bothers the person itself. I have the space I need, the cables don't bother me too much and I'm comfy here! What else do I need?
    ...
    Oh, wait, it's not meant at me.. I don't have a great rig. ;D

  5. #10825
    High Overlord Guruftw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    197
    Quote Originally Posted by Lemmiwink View Post
    - Full frontal nudity.
    Really nice Lemmi )
    Case: Bitfenix Prodigy (White) | MB: ASUS P8Z77-I DELUXE | CPU: i7 3770K (4.5GHz) | CPU Cooling: Corsair H60 (v2)
    PSU: Corsair AX 760i 80+ Platinum | GPU: EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified 6GB | SSD1: 256GB Samsung 840 Pro
    SSD2: 1TB Samsung 850 Pro | RAM: 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1866Mhz | Monitor: Asus 27" VG278H 120Hz

  6. #10826
    So spent a few hours cleaning out my PC today and making some minor modifications.....

    Full specs:

    Intel Core i5-2500K 3.30GHz (Sandybridge) Socket LGA1155 Processor - Retail @ 4.3
    Asus P8P67 Intel P67 (Socket 1155) DDR3 Motherboard ** B3 REVISION **
    G.Skill RipJawsX 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C9 1600MHz Dual Channel Kit (F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL )
    COOLERMASTER HYPER 212 PLUS CPU COOLER - Push/Pull with 2x Colermaster Beast Master fans
    Corsair TX 650
    Antec 600

    So before my clean up.....




    Quite high temps, and very messy case, terrible cable management and poor airflow.



    My new stuff!
    2x Coolermaster Beastmaster up to 2000rpm fans
    1x Antec TriColool fan
    Bitfenex Recon Fan controller
    Some crap for cleaning




    Everything out and cleaned ready to go back in!



    Cm Hyper 212+ Plus taking up most of the space I have with it's 2 new fans on!




    Finished article! (ish) I'm waiting on some fan dust filters to arrive so haven't cable tied all the cables yet, will try and sort them a little bit once the filters arrive.
    Also added the tri cool fan to the side of the case to increase incoming airflow. Set the intake fans to high speed and outtake to medium. I actually left out the fan controller but had to plug the 2nd fan on the Hyper 212 into the cha_fan slot but it seems to work fine. Running 17c cooler under full load without maxxing out the fans so no complaints from me there. I also removed some HDMI card or something to clear out some space between CPU and GPU. Also moved from having my ssd in one cage and HDD in another, both in the middle slots to having them both in the same one so that the cage all the cables are in has slightly better airflow. Don't think there is too much more I can do with the case too improve the set up.

  7. #10827
    High Overlord
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    115
    Quote Originally Posted by Fluffygong View Post
    snip
    Wow that is one hell of dusty case I thought I was bad at remembering to clean

  8. #10828
    Warchief Prixie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Oostende, Belgium
    Posts
    2,023
    How could it possibly have gotten THAT dusty?
    \\ My signature got removed because it was 21,12 Kb over the limitation \\

  9. #10829
    Quote Originally Posted by Prixie View Post
    How could it possibly have gotten THAT dusty?
    1 and a half years without cleaning, negative pressure and piss poor cable management and airflow.

  10. #10830
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by Fluffygong View Post
    Daaaamn, that's allot of dust there. ><
    I would advise against letting that happen again. This is really bad for your hardware, no matter how hard you clean it afterwards.
    Last edited by Majesticii; 2013-04-03 at 08:24 PM.

  11. #10831
    most of my case is filtered but i still get dust inside.

  12. #10832
    Quote Originally Posted by Fluffygong View Post
    -snip-
    A few hours cleaning it? Looks like you took 5mins and called it quits. And why not take the extra time to run cables behind the mobo tray and have it looking nice and all. I mean, you spend the money on it you would think you'd want it to look nice and everything or am I missing something here?

  13. #10833
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,100
    Quote Originally Posted by Bryce View Post
    A few hours cleaning it? Looks like you took 5mins and called it quits. And why not take the extra time to run cables behind the mobo tray and have it looking nice and all. I mean, you spend the money on it you would think you'd want it to look nice and everything or am I missing something here?
    As far as I know Antec 600 has jack-all cable management room behind the mobo tray, the most people can fit are front usb/audio headers and stata cables, that's it. Thick PSU cables (cpu and mobo) are borderline impossible unless it's a PSU with very thin/flexible cables or sleeved stuff. Don't be harsh -_-

  14. #10834
    How often is it nesescary to fully clean the inside? I sometimes vacuum it (don't worry, it's a plastic tube) but that doesn't happen THAT often.
    I do take a look inside sometimes, to see if everything is still alright. But never looks too dusty.

  15. #10835
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,100
    Quote Originally Posted by Gereorth666 View Post
    How often is it nesescary to fully clean the inside? I sometimes vacuum it (don't worry, it's a plastic tube) but that doesn't happen THAT often.
    I do take a look inside sometimes, to see if everything is still alright. But never looks too dusty.
    There is no "golden rule" with cleaning because it can MASSIVELY vary with the environment the PC is placed it, whether it sits on a carpet or up on a desk, how much airflow is going through the thing, dust filtering, etc etc.

    So far I've cleaned my dust filters and interior only ONCE and I've owned this PC since early 2011, if even that because it sits up on a desk and while not in operation I keep the top covered with a cloth. The dust factor where I live is almost non-existent, it's borderline rural and I keep the room fairly clean. I've only got one 120mm intake fan (rest exhaust) and all are kept on minimum speeds for quietness, so there you go.

    Someone living in an urban apartment (e.g. city) is going to have to clean a lot more often, there's a lot more dust/pollution floating around. I would recommend positive pressure for people living in more dusty areas, otherwise that PC is going to suck up everything from all it's little vents/holes.

    What you did is the best way - just take a look inside! If there's a coat of dust (even a thin layer) then it's time to clean. E.g. if it reached the state of Fluffy's PC then I would go as far as taking the GPU apart (shroud/fans off) and give the heatsink a good scrubbing with a brush and probably take the PSU apart as well.
    Last edited by Xuvial; 2013-04-04 at 03:14 AM.

  16. #10836
    Quote Originally Posted by Gereorth666 View Post
    I sometimes vacuum it (don't worry, it's a plastic tube)
    Vacuuming your PC is an extremely bad idea! Air rushing past a plastic nozzle will build up static. Static discharging onto PC components means dead components. I always cringe when I hear that people use a vacuum cleaner to clean out their PC, use a can of air duster spray its a much safer way of cleaning.

  17. #10837
    Dreadlord ItsRedd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    868
    Quote Originally Posted by Maglore View Post
    Vacuuming your PC is an extremely bad idea! Air rushing past a plastic nozzle will build up static. Static discharging onto PC components means dead components. I always cringe when I hear that people use a vacuum cleaner to clean out their PC, use a can of air duster spray its a much safer way of cleaning.
    Or buy one of those two-dollar extensions for it. I have an extension for my vacuum which is basically a rubber hose getting smaller and smaller. Higher pressure, and no plastic static charge issue.

    Although, I'm not actually sure if rubber is completely safe for that. Worked for me the last few years anyway.

    Looks like this, although the black part is complete rubber on mine.

  18. #10838
    Quote Originally Posted by Bryce View Post
    A few hours cleaning it? Looks like you took 5mins and called it quits. And why not take the extra time to run cables behind the mobo tray and have it looking nice and all. I mean, you spend the money on it you would think you'd want it to look nice and everything or am I missing something here?
    I'm sure you could cable manage this case perfectly behind the mobo tray, but for me it felt kinda impossible.



    Thanks for your constructive and useful feedback

  19. #10839
    Good tip for that case is to remove the sleevingbag around the biggest cables and separate the wires as much as possible. If you get a bag of strips you could easily cable manage that case if you spend about 1 hour doing it. Do you have access to a Dremel multitool or similar?

  20. #10840
    yep mini tight sleeves are a great way when it comes to cable management my case is pretty horrid when it comes to stock cable management (there's 2 placed next to the hdd hotswap bay and while they can hold a nice bunch they're in a bit of an annoying place when it comes to the upper compartment)
    Case: Modded Chieftec Dragon remake(Full tower)(currently Blue) | MB: Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3 | CPU: i7 2600K
    CPU Cooling: Noctua Nh-D14 | PSU: Corsair AX 1200 | GPU: EVGA GTX 680 Superclocked Signature 2GB
    Network: Bigfoot Networks Killer 2100 | RAM: 8GB Kingston HyperX 1600mhz | Screen: Samsung Syncmaster P2770 27" x2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •