1. #10961
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    Probably performs quite good, but.. Looks quite bad, tbqh.
    Watercooling CPU only with that amount of radiator-space, bent tubing, non-effort in cable management, PSU upside down, HDD loose in a HDD slot, a random fan in the middle of it all.
    You've got some work to do, but it can turn out really nicely!
    While I agree with you on most of it but... the PSU is upside down? Seriously? You're basis for this suggestion is looks and you're recommending that he shows the data plate instead? Or are you concerned about some extra heat mounting the PSU this way would generate? (hope not)

    @Sweetleader: That first hose towards the front (guessing from the pump to the rad) is somewhat kinked. I'm no WC novice, but even I know that's never a good thing do just "deal with".
    WoW - Windrunner: Snozzberries, Googs, Boryndon, Corndizzle, Kaylin, Georgejetson, Lentis, Knerd, Durlen, Marlevon


  2. #10962
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    You mean an excuse I gotta agree with Tetris, it looks really messy, especially considering the amount of money that went into it.
    Method... excuse. Whatever word you want to pick the "mess" doesn't effect the preformance and that's really all I care about.

    Also yes sleeved cables imo are a waste of money as they provide no preformance benefit to anything. You could argue the same for the Formula but the Sabertooth was giving me a lot of problems and it's takes over a month for a single RMA. Ain't nobody got time forthat.

    But I still appreciate the feedback . I took the liberty of moving the gpu cables behind the motherboard which helped clean it up a tad. But really everything else is just part of the build.
    i7 3930k @ 4.6GHz | 2xEVGA ACX SC+ 980ti | ASUS Rampage IV Formula | 16GB G.Skill TridentX 2400MHz | Crucial MX100 512GB(OS) Samsung 840 500GB(Games) | Seasonic 1250W Gold | Corsair 750D |

  3. #10963

    Check Signature for Proper CPU Clocks.

    NVIDIA GPUs Run Hot as Hell, They Said.
    Wooden Screws & Exploding Fermi, They Said.
    Last edited by ShadowBerry; 2013-04-19 at 12:12 AM.
    CPU: INTEL CORE I7 3930K @ 4.60 GHZ | 46 X 100 MHZ | L2: 6 X 256K
    RAM: 16384 MB DDR3-SDRAM @ 933.4MHZ (9-10-9-27) | CORSAIR
    MB: ASUS | SABERTOOTH X79 | INTEL SANDY BRIDGE-E
    GPU: GeForce GTX 680 | 4096MB | PNY

  4. #10964
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,153
    Quote Originally Posted by ShadowBerry View Post

    NVIDIA GPUs Run Hot as Hell, They Said.
    Wooden Screws & Exploding Fermi, They Said.
    That was Fermi, especially first-gen Fermi

  5. #10965
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    That was Fermi, especially first-gen Fermi
    This is my first NVIDIA card, after sticking with ATI for a long time.
    Couldn't be happier with this card.
    CPU: INTEL CORE I7 3930K @ 4.60 GHZ | 46 X 100 MHZ | L2: 6 X 256K
    RAM: 16384 MB DDR3-SDRAM @ 933.4MHZ (9-10-9-27) | CORSAIR
    MB: ASUS | SABERTOOTH X79 | INTEL SANDY BRIDGE-E
    GPU: GeForce GTX 680 | 4096MB | PNY

  6. #10966
    Quote Originally Posted by ShadowBerry View Post
    NVIDIA GPUs Run Hot as Hell, They Said.
    Wooden Screws & Exploding Fermi, They Said.
    Given that you could cook on a GTX 480... By the way, your 680 is a KEPLER card.
    Intel i7 5820K (4.5 GHz) | MSI X99A MPower | 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury 2666MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Samsung 951PRO nVME 512GB | Crucial M550 256GB | Crucial MX200 1TB | Western Digital Caviar Black 2000GB | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Noctua NH-D15 | Fractal Define R5 | Seasonic X850

    Former author of the TankSpot.com Protection Paladin guide

  7. #10967
    Quote Originally Posted by Butler Log View Post
    Given that you could cook on a GTX 480... By the way, your 680 is a KEPLER card.
    Yes, i know, but being an avid visitor of 4chan.. *cough*
    I was also referring to NVIDIA, not my card. :]
    CPU: INTEL CORE I7 3930K @ 4.60 GHZ | 46 X 100 MHZ | L2: 6 X 256K
    RAM: 16384 MB DDR3-SDRAM @ 933.4MHZ (9-10-9-27) | CORSAIR
    MB: ASUS | SABERTOOTH X79 | INTEL SANDY BRIDGE-E
    GPU: GeForce GTX 680 | 4096MB | PNY

  8. #10968
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    17,300
    Quote Originally Posted by Sweetleader View Post
    Method... excuse. Whatever word you want to pick the "mess" doesn't effect the preformance and that's really all I care about.

    Also yes sleeved cables imo are a waste of money as they provide no preformance benefit to anything. You could argue the same for the Formula but the Sabertooth was giving me a lot of problems and it's takes over a month for a single RMA. Ain't nobody got time forthat.

    But I still appreciate the feedback . I took the liberty of moving the gpu cables behind the motherboard which helped clean it up a tad. But really everything else is just part of the build.
    Wait... what is this... over a month for an RMA? >_>

    My P8P67 is in at ASUS for an RMA right now...
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  9. #10969
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Wait... what is this... over a month for an RMA? >_>

    My P8P67 is in at ASUS for an RMA right now...
    I'm in South Korea which means 2-3 weeks of total delivery time. On top of $27 to ship it there.
    i7 3930k @ 4.6GHz | 2xEVGA ACX SC+ 980ti | ASUS Rampage IV Formula | 16GB G.Skill TridentX 2400MHz | Crucial MX100 512GB(OS) Samsung 840 500GB(Games) | Seasonic 1250W Gold | Corsair 750D |

  10. #10970
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    17,300
    Rofl... thank God. Thought you were from America and meant like they took that long to fix crap! XD I live in Illinois and the RMA address is in Indiana lol so was going to say. >_<
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  11. #10971
    Quote Originally Posted by Sweetleader View Post
    Method... excuse. Whatever word you want to pick the "mess" doesn't effect the preformance and that's really all I care about.

    Also yes sleeved cables imo are a waste of money as they provide no preformance benefit to anything. You could argue the same for the Formula but the Sabertooth was giving me a lot of problems and it's takes over a month for a single RMA. Ain't nobody got time forthat.

    But I still appreciate the feedback . I took the liberty of moving the gpu cables behind the motherboard which helped clean it up a tad. But really everything else is just part of the build.
    I think what Tetris means is that first off, you've spent a few bucks on the loop, why not have compression fittings instead of that rear mounted rad? You doubled the amount of hose stretches right there and you will see maybe, maybe 0.1C difference. I would also not have a bay res/pump like that if it meant I couldn't fit my HDD's and I get a 45CM hose stretched right across the case. That was the first thing I noticed and my palm almost broke my nose lol....

    No, but seriously, the loop performs well, I can see what you mean but you have alot of potential there if you're willing to reconfigure the loop abit. My motto for WC is: Don't just take a hose and start connecting, sit down, draw up, measure, think, go to sleep, check next day if you still like what you have drawn. And, do something with the cable management. Otherwise, it probably cools very nicely

  12. #10972
    Quote Originally Posted by Lemmiwink View Post
    I think what Tetris means is that first off, you've spent a few bucks on the loop, why not have compression fittings instead of that rear mounted rad? You doubled the amount of hose stretches right there and you will see maybe, maybe 0.1C difference. I would also not have a bay res/pump like that if it meant I couldn't fit my HDD's and I get a 45CM hose stretched right across the case. That was the first thing I noticed and my palm almost broke my nose lol....

    No, but seriously, the loop performs well, I can see what you mean but you have alot of potential there if you're willing to reconfigure the loop abit. My motto for WC is: Don't just take a hose and start connecting, sit down, draw up, measure, think, go to sleep, check next day if you still like what you have drawn. And, do something with the cable management. Otherwise, it probably cools very nicely
    I really don't understand what you are saying. You are talking about compression fittings and the radiator in the back in the same sentence like one effects the other. If you mean use compression fittings over barbs then I would point out compressions are 3x the cost and at 14 barbs in the original loop plus a couple spares you're talking probably $100 plus extra just in little pieces of metal.

    I had a cage in the bottom of the case originally but at the time I had two 3.5" drives and 3 SSDs so I had to use it. Now I have 1 HDD and 2 SSDs (which I velcroed inside the case) which left 1 3.5" drive. I could have just put all 3 inside the cage but it was honestly more of a pain in the ass because the cage sits almost right beside the PSU.

    The loop order is about efficient as it's going to get. A tube HAS to cross the case no matter how I do this particular loop. Well that or right over the CPU block which will just get in the way when I need to take it off. I already acknowledged I could cut an inch or so off two of the hoses but it's not worth the effort of: draining-unscrewing-cutting-screwing-refilling-bleeding-leak testing
    just so I can make it look a bit better. And I still don't understand the cable management Literally every cable but the obnoxiously long GPU cables (which I've since routed behind as mentioned in a previous post) were behind the motherboard or tucked out of the way.
    i7 3930k @ 4.6GHz | 2xEVGA ACX SC+ 980ti | ASUS Rampage IV Formula | 16GB G.Skill TridentX 2400MHz | Crucial MX100 512GB(OS) Samsung 840 500GB(Games) | Seasonic 1250W Gold | Corsair 750D |

  13. #10973
    I sort of understand what happened, but I do agree with Tetris that the tubing from frontres to top rad isn't very pretty, and cables are a bit of a mess. I'm not going to claim to know how it turned out this way though, and it's still a very respectable build one way or the other.

    The cable routing might look better in person, but it looks like a weird mess from the view shown in the pictures.

  14. #10974
    100% complete. New Graphics card is in place and I have had much fun playing everything on ultra Went with a Gigabyte windforce3 Ghz edition







    Ignore the sellotape on the flightstick, its a cheap horrid one, with no weigh. Sudden movements and I accidentally throw the thing at a wall :/ Quite messy inside, but I've done the best I can. No USB3.0 header on mobo, so I have a PCI card added in, Hence the molex going across the back of my GPU Unfortunate but not that big a problem.
    Last edited by thunterman; 2013-04-21 at 11:31 AM.

  15. #10975
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,663
    Congratulations to your new GPU! Must feel fantastic!
    I would still consider watching a guide on cable management, but you're likely fine as-is.

  16. #10976
    http://kuvaton.com/k/YEIM.jpg

    Thumbnails please.
    Last edited by noteworthynerd; 2013-04-21 at 06:00 PM.
    CPU: INTEL CORE I7 3930K @ 4.60 GHZ | 46 X 100 MHZ | L2: 6 X 256K
    RAM: 16384 MB DDR3-SDRAM @ 933.4MHZ (9-10-9-27) | CORSAIR
    MB: ASUS | SABERTOOTH X79 | INTEL SANDY BRIDGE-E
    GPU: GeForce GTX 680 | 4096MB | PNY

  17. #10977
    moved house recently and this is my new setup. it's pretty much complete apart from a couple of small changes. Firstly I need some longer monitor cables so that they can run round the back of my desk and up through the gap behind them. The problem is that I've bought 4+ 3/4m DVI cables now and none of them have actually worked. They either show no picture, or the picture flickers. That's why I have the cable going underneath my keyboard and straight to the second monitor. It looks really crappy but I haven't been able to get it to work any other way.

    Second thing I need to try and sort out is the extra table leg. I couldn't find a 'proper' corner desk to fit my dimensions so I just bought two vika amon desks from Ikea and put them at a right angle - that means I have a random table leg sticking out which you can see in the picture. The good thing is that it doesn't really get in the way in the position I use my computer at, so it's not a major issue. I could use some under brackets to secure the two tables together and remove the leg but I don't think it will be sturdy enough to bother doing it. I'd rather have a sturdy desk and a slightly annoying leg than no leg and weak table.





    Computer specs are currently an Asus z77 plus LE mobo, 3570k @ 4.5ghz, 16gb 2133mhz RAM, R6870 graphics card, Noctua NHD14, Corsair 650 watt psu and it's in a Corsair 600t. I'm hoping to upgrade the graphics card soon, along with a modular power supply and possibly a new case. The monitor stands are Ikea Galant table extensions with the Capita kitchen legs screwed into the bottom. They're really quite great!
    Last edited by crazypearce; 2013-04-23 at 11:04 AM. Reason: images

  18. #10978
    Stood in the Fire Loyrl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    438
    Coolermaster HAF 932
    Intel 3770K - 4.2ghz
    Asrock Z77 Extreme4
    Gigabyte GTX 570
    8gb 1600 OCZ Ram
    Asus Xonar STX Sound Card
    Yamasaki Catleap 27" 2560x1440 IPS Monitor - OC 120hz
    Yamasaki Catleap 27" 2560x1440 IPS Monitor - 60hz
    G510 Keyboard
    G9 Mouse
    Sennheiser HD 380 pro headphones
    GemStoneIII (Mud) (ongoing) > SubSpace/Continuum > EQ1-Kunark-PoP > aRO > FFXI > WoW > Rift > WoW > FFXIV > SWToR > Tera > GW2 > Wushu > ESO > W* > EQ1p99 > WoW > ???
    FFXIVARR Profile
    D3 Profile

  19. #10979
    Herald of the Titans shroudster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,889
    Quote Originally Posted by Loyrl View Post
    Coolermaster HAF 932
    Intel 3770K - 4.2ghz
    Asrock Z77 Extreme4
    Gigabyte GTX 570
    8gb 1600 OCZ Ram
    Asus Xonar STX Sound Card
    Yamasaki Catleap 27" 2560x1440 IPS Monitor - OC 120hz
    Yamasaki Catleap 27" 2560x1440 IPS Monitor - 60hz
    G510 Keyboard
    G9 Mouse
    Sennheiser HD 380 pro headphones
    pictures?
    also how are things working with 1440p + 120Hz with a single 570?

  20. #10980
    Dreadlord Sunnydruid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Oceanside, California
    Posts
    852
    Quote Originally Posted by crazypearce View Post
    moved house recently and this is my new setup. it's pretty much complete apart from a couple of small changes. Firstly I need some longer monitor cables so that they can run round the back of my desk and up through the gap behind them. The problem is that I've bought 4+ 3/4m DVI cables now and none of them have actually worked. They either show no picture, or the picture flickers. That's why I have the cable going underneath my keyboard and straight to the second monitor. It looks really crappy but I haven't been able to get it to work any other way.

    Second thing I need to try and sort out is the extra table leg. I couldn't find a 'proper' corner desk to fit my dimensions so I just bought two vika amon desks from Ikea and put them at a right angle - that means I have a random table leg sticking out which you can see in the picture. The good thing is that it doesn't really get in the way in the position I use my computer at, so it's not a major issue. I could use some under brackets to secure the two tables together and remove the leg but I don't think it will be sturdy enough to bother doing it. I'd rather have a sturdy desk and a slightly annoying leg than no leg and weak table.


    Computer specs are currently an Asus z77 plus LE mobo, 3570k @ 4.5ghz, 16gb 2133mhz RAM, R6870 graphics card, Noctua NHD14, Corsair 650 watt psu and it's in a Corsair 600t. I'm hoping to upgrade the graphics card soon, along with a modular power supply and possibly a new case. The monitor stands are Ikea Galant table extensions with the Capita kitchen legs screwed into the bottom. They're really quite great!
    I freaking love your case man, looks great! Seems like a small area to game but it looks cozy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •