1. #11001
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,292
    very nice and very clean, +1 internets

    i7-4790K | Z97 Class. | 8GB DDR3-2133 | GTX-690 Quad SLI | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | AX1200 | RV05
    Dell U2711 | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Steelseries Sensei | Xonar Essence One | KRK RP8G2s

  2. #11002
    Grunt
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    very nice and very clean, +1 internets
    Cheers mate. Was going for a as little visible cables as possible. One thing that annoys me though is those damn USB and audio headers. When does case companies learn to sleeve the cables all the way?

    Also, I spend around 3 hours trying to get all the cables out of the way. In my previous case (600T), it just seemed so much easier.




  3. #11003
    Looks nice Tamari.

    I'd get a background that's made for triple monitors instead of repeating the same one 3 times
    No world! You put YOUR hands up!

  4. #11004
    Quote Originally Posted by Tamari View Post
    Awesomeness
    Absolutely stunning! Black and white builds are my favorite, you're making me want to go back to a mid-tower build so I can do something similar! Kudos.

  5. #11005
    Grunt
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by noteworthynerd View Post
    Absolutely stunning! Black and white builds are my favorite, you're making me want to go back to a mid-tower build so I can do something similar! Kudos.
    Thanks alot. Means alot coming from you guys. Spend a lot of time trying to get it perfect.

  6. #11006
    Quote Originally Posted by Tamari View Post
    Thanks alot. Means alot coming from you guys. Spend a lot of time trying to get it perfect.
    Do you manage the cables when they go into the slots in the back? Or do you do like I do and just shove them in there?
    No world! You put YOUR hands up!

  7. #11007
    Grunt
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by Electromatt View Post
    Do you manage the cables when they go into the slots in the back? Or do you do like I do and just shove them in there?
    I try as much as possible. The main reason why I mounted the HDD that way was to reduce the cable clutter. But one of the problems with the Storm Trooper and Stryker is the limited debth by the back panel.

  8. #11008
    Quote Originally Posted by Tamari View Post
    I try as much as possible. The main reason why I mounted the HDD that way was to reduce the cable clutter. But one of the problems with the Storm Trooper and Stryker is the limited debth by the back panel.
    Yeah, one of the biggest issues with cable management in my case is from the 4 drives I have. I have a HAF X so it's beefy enough to sorta handle just shoving in the cables behind the back panel. Not to mention the loads of excess power cables from my non-modular PSU....
    No world! You put YOUR hands up!

  9. #11009
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,045
    Waaaaagh, Corsair's sleeved kits make things too easy :S

  10. #11010
    Grunt
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    Waaaaagh, Corsair's sleeved kits make things too easy :S
    I must admit I really like them. Ofcourse sleeving the cables myself would look better, but I really don't have the time or expertise to do so.
    So I'll have to make due with these

  11. #11011
    my current rig sucks. Im getting a new one soon.


    My new PC is going to be a
    Case BitFenix Colossus
    Core i7 3770k
    RAM 16gb
    HDD 120g SSD and 1 TB Sata
    GFX Nvidia 680 gtx 2gb (would love a 690 but they are $1000 on its own... ouch!)


    Still saving up to get it

  12. #11012
    Herald of the Titans shroudster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,890
    updated rig
    the patient;

    the final abomination;


    to those wondering, yes my fans are placed by zip-ties due to mobo having a too big heatsink so my fans are +- 0,5 cm above the holes for the screws.
    however the result is worth it mid 70's as max load temps @ 5,0 Ghz/1,4Vcore, 1,352 after Vdroop

  13. #11013
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by shroudster View Post
    updated rig
    the patient;
    Nice, which method did you use? Exactoknife or tapping it on the bench?

  14. #11014
    Herald of the Titans shroudster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,890
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    Nice, which method did you use? Exactoknife or tapping it on the bench?
    tapping on the bench. (actually took way more force then i expected)
    knife option had no result at all. (even medical scalpel couldn't get inbetween )
    still waiting for some CLU to arrive might be able to knock off another few degrees. (using noctua NT-H1 for now)

  15. #11015
    Quote Originally Posted by shroudster View Post
    tapping on the bench. (actually took way more force then i expected)
    knife option had no result at all. (even medical scalpel couldn't get inbetween )
    still waiting for some CLU to arrive might be able to knock off another few degrees. (using noctua NT-H1 for now)
    Lol you made a johnny of that pc :P.. Ye use CLU for the die & for the ihs nt-h1 is fine.

  16. #11016
    Herald of the Titans shroudster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,890
    Quote Originally Posted by Faithh View Post
    Lol you made a johnny of that pc :P.. Ye use CLU for the die & for the ihs nt-h1 is fine.
    aye that was the plan for the TIM's , although the noctua one is like the second best TIM why settle for less (i know there's also the one use metal alloy but that seems kinda iffy tbh)
    as for looks of the rig , for a first rig im very pleased about it and have learned allot allong the way. (looking at you non modulair PSU!/ HAF case )

  17. #11017
    The Lightbringer Toffie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    3,761
    How did that improve across the cores Shroudster? My temps are like this : core 1 = 71 c max core 2 = 90 c max, would it help on even them out? I guess theres not much thermal paste across all cores?
    Steam Big Picture Mode - 4570 - GA-H87N - MSI R9-290 - 120 GB Samsung 840 EVO
    Corsair 250D - Philips 55 LED TV - Corsair RM 550 - Corsair Vengeance Pro 8GB

    4770K - EVGA 780 Ti SC- Corsair 350D - V700 - Gryphon Z87
    Corsair Vengeance Pro 8GB - Samsung 840 250GB - H60

  18. #11018
    Herald of the Titans shroudster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,890
    Quote Originally Posted by Toffie View Post
    How did that improve across the cores Shroudster? My temps are like this : core 1 = 71 c max core 2 = 90 c max, would it help on even them out? I guess theres not much thermal paste across all cores?
    there is actually quite allot of crappy intel paste once delidded.
    first attempt my temps were improving but still big core difference, turned out i missed a small spot which caused my 2nd core to run way hotter.
    so far my understanding of it is that you need just the right amount of paste. (however too much isn't that bad either, saw a ridiculious example of a full tube of noctua paste only gave a +5 degrees result vs good application)
    if core temps are still not more equal then it is time for lapping. (only did it a little due to not having fine enough sanding paper)

  19. #11019
    It's nice to see someone else ballsy enough for such mods to their hardware.
    Shamalaman
    The best stat for Ele is resto.
    I7 3930k @ 4.8GHz | MSI 680GTX Lightningx2 SLI | ASUS Rampage IV Formula | 16GB G.Skill TridentX 2400MHz | Agility 3 128GB(OS) Samsung 840 500GB(Games) | Seasonic 860W Platinum | Nanoxia DS1 |

  20. #11020
    Pandaren Monk Maruka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    1,904
    Here is prolly the last pic ill post of mine, made some changes and they should be the last ones. Got a new asus soundcard, put my platinum ram in and just worked on tidying things up a bit more.




    edit:
    gtx 680
    3570k @ 4.6 w/ h100i
    gigabyte sniper mobo
    asus xonar st
    corsair 600t case
    16 gb dominator platinum ram @ 1800
    fans are nf-f12s
    Last edited by Maruka; 2013-05-02 at 04:20 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •