1. #11781
    Quote Originally Posted by TZM View Post
    I had to cancel my order coz of not geting the ssd i wanted, so iam actually am back to start of building it again.
    Be glad you canceled it. Was the pre-built?

  2. #11782
    just used the samsung software, using rapid mode, has the results for both the 250 GD ssd and my HDD for the lulz



    take the ssd results with a grain of salt, I dont have any software at the mo that can benchmark the SSD, unless someone can suggest an easy to get one

    - - - Updated - - -



    see if people can see this better

    - - - Updated - - -



    for a better image of the HDD itself results

  3. #11783
    Legendary! Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    6,937
    Some nice setups as of late in this threads. As for me, no changes 'yet' but a planned upgrade is either a 9950 or 9970 as it's released and a 1440p monitor not long after that, will keep you guys updated.
    ||i5 3570k @ 4.4GHz||H100 push/pull||AsRock Z77 Extreme4||16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1600MHz||Gigabyte Windforce GTX 970|| Coolermaster Storm Trooper||Corsair TX850 Enthusiast Series||Samsung 840 Pro 128gb(boot drive)||1TB WD HDD, 2x 3TB WD HDD, 2TB WD HDD||

    Bdk Nagrand / Astae Nagrand
    Pokemon X FC: 4656-7679-2545/Trainer Name: Keno

  4. #11784
    The Patient Nedda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    280
    Quote Originally Posted by Thorianrage View Post
    just used the samsung software, using rapid mode, has the results for both the 250 GD ssd and my HDD for the lulz
    take the ssd results with a grain of salt, I dont have any software at the mo that can benchmark the SSD, unless someone can suggest an easy to get one
    Could you please test the EVO with "Anvil's Storage Utilities" with both 1GB and 16/32GB? Would be very interested in the results. Maybe post them in the EVO thread though since that doesn't really belong here.

  5. #11785
    will do, give a bit though, only posted in here as was asked

  6. #11786
    Since my last post Here, I took another stab at getting a second 1440x900 monitor, different seller on Ebay this time and a little under €60 again, this is the result.





    I am kind of shocked at just how much difference going from 4080x768 to 4320x900 made, I was expecting some improvement, but just subjectively looking at it, it's a lot better than I was expecting (not sure how well it will show up in the images).

    As an added bonus the stand it came with can do this, which I'm sure I'll find a use for.........eventually.


    I also took a shot at making a UI in WoW suitable for use with 3 monitors, this was my attempt.


    It was fairly sweet playing like that for a while, I probably use it more if I could find some way to save entire UI presets to swap between this and my normal UI quickly (already have swapping between 3 separate monitors and eyefinity hotkeyed to control + alt + F9/F10).
    Last edited by BattleHawk; 2013-08-21 at 04:06 PM.
    i5-4670k 4.2Ghz | Asus Sabertooth Z87 | CM Hyper 212 EVO | Patriot 16GB DDR3 | Sapphire 290 Tri-X | Corsair RM850 | Samsung 840 250GB | X3 HDD 5TB total | Corsair 750D | Main monitor: Qnix QX2710 Evolution II LED PLS 2560x1440 | Keyboard: Microsoft Sidewinder X4 | Mouse: Logitech G602 | Headset: Steelseries Siberia V2

  7. #11787
    To save UI presets I suggest you to look into Reflux as long as your addons have profile support. How's the 6850 performing on triple monitors?
    Fluorescent - Fluo - currently retired, playing other stuff

    i5-4670k @ 4.5 / Thermalright Silver Arrow Extreme / Gigabyte Z87X-D3H / 8GB DDR3-1600 RAM / Gigabyte GTX 760

  8. #11788
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by BattleHawk View Post
    I also took a shot at making a UI in WoW suitable for use with 3 monitors, this was my attempt.
    http://i.imgur.com/rXmTFwi.jpg
    Argh i hate that boss, never gave me my trinket ><

  9. #11789
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,042
    Quote Originally Posted by Fluorescent0 View Post
    How's the 6850 performing on triple monitors?
    Yeah that's what I'm wondering. It's only got 1gb vRAM to work with o_O

  10. #11790
    Fluffy Kitten Marest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    4,229
    It's only a few more pixels than 1440p (albeit with a stretched image). I can see a 1GB vRAM card performing acceptable at that pixel count - especially in less demanding games (older titles, console-ports or games that have been developed with consoles in mind, etc). I think the bigger issue is that the 6850 simply can't deliver the horsepower needed for an almost 4Mpix resolution.

  11. #11791
    Quote Originally Posted by Fluorescent0 View Post
    To save UI presets I suggest you to look into Reflux as long as your addons have profile support.
    Thanks, I'll have a look at that.

    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    Argh i hate that boss, never gave me my trinket ><
    Had to cancel one of our raid nights recently due to too many people unable to make it, ended up doing a run for transmog gear/achievements instead of just disbanding the group for the day. I too remember wanting that trinket, it dropped on that run.

    Quote Originally Posted by Fluorescent0 View Post
    How's the 6850 performing on triple monitors?
    Quote Originally Posted by Marest View Post
    It's only a few more pixels than 1440p (albeit with a stretched image). I can see a 1GB vRAM card performing acceptable at that pixel count - especially in less demanding games (older titles, console-ports or games that have been developed with consoles in mind, etc). I think the bigger issue is that the 6850 simply can't deliver the horsepower needed for an almost 4Mpix resolution.
    I installed fraps so I could take a few frame rate benchmarks, Boarderlands 2 and Crysis 2 are running at close to max settings (without the high rez texture pack), the rest are running at a mid level setting.



    I didn't do WoW as I get the same fps in one monitor as I do 3, 7-12 open world, 30-40 in 5/10 man CPU/RAM are the limiting factors not the card.

    Subjectively they all seem to run well with the occasional frame rate dip in dishonored and crysis 2.

    All benchmarks were taken during normal game play, in combat etc.

    So far the only game I have tried this with and supports it, but I can not maintain a playable frame rate with is Saints Row the Third.
    Last edited by BattleHawk; 2013-08-22 at 01:17 AM.
    i5-4670k 4.2Ghz | Asus Sabertooth Z87 | CM Hyper 212 EVO | Patriot 16GB DDR3 | Sapphire 290 Tri-X | Corsair RM850 | Samsung 840 250GB | X3 HDD 5TB total | Corsair 750D | Main monitor: Qnix QX2710 Evolution II LED PLS 2560x1440 | Keyboard: Microsoft Sidewinder X4 | Mouse: Logitech G602 | Headset: Steelseries Siberia V2

  12. #11792
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,334
    New chairs, as promised

    Ikea Malkolm Beige

    It's an old picture, it's become much tidier since then. Just haven't been able take a new picture during daylight, as I'm busy with 8 hours of school then followed by 6 hours of work 4 days a week



    pretty fly for a wifi
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | EVGA GTX 980 | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ Sennheiser HD8

  13. #11793
    Pandaren Monk Maruka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    1,885
    i just got a malcom black chair, dunno the exact spelling but its really comfortable. i also just scored a gallant desk for 140 dollars off the internet with 2 side attachments! all really great!

  14. #11794
    Stood in the Fire Loyrl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    408
    fixed some stuff

    Windows 8
    Cooler Master HAF 932
    Antec HCG 900
    ASRock z77 Extreme 4
    Intel i7 3700k @ 4.4ghz
    Mega Nehalem heatsink
    Samsung 840 Pro 520 SSD
    8 GB G.Skill 1600
    EVGA GTX 780 SLI @ 1109
    Yamasaki Catleap q270 x2, 1@100hz
    Asus Xonar STX
    Last edited by Loyrl; 2013-08-22 at 01:28 PM. Reason: Fixed my large post.
    GemStoneIII (Mud) (ongoing) > SubSpace/Continuum > EQ1-Kunark-PoP > aRO > FFXI > WoW > Rift > WoW > FFXIV > SWToR > Tera > GW2 > Wushu > ESO > W* > EQ1p99 > AA > WoW...
    D3 & PoE:HC > Ongoing
    FFXIVARR Profile
    D3 Profile

  15. #11795
    Loyrl, could you take a clear picture of the chair? The one next to the 2 monitors. Would also appreciate it if you included the name of the chair and where I could get one. It looks very comfortable and I could use a new chair to be honest.

    Pretty nice setup, by the way.
    "Those mortal shells that we call bodies, are not ours to keep. The body is a gift of earth that must, one day, be returned from whence it came"

  16. #11796
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,858
    As a general reminder, please remember to check the opening post before you contribute. :)

  17. #11797
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by BattleHawk View Post
    Subjectively they all seem to run well with the occasional framerate dip in dishonored and crysis 2.
    Ehh... they all run at 20/30 fps. I'd not label that as "run well", but i guess that depends on your expectations.

  18. #11798
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    Ehh... they all run at 20/30 fps. I'd not label that as "run well", but i guess that depends on your expectations.
    Well dishonoured and deus ex seem to be capped at 30 and I probably should turn the settings down a bit on crysis 2 and borderlands 2 a bit.

    But I am fine with 30 fps, I've never really noticed a difference between 30 and 60 fps (that said I never looked too hard for one either), it generally isn't until things start to drop below 20-25 that I start to see problems. (probably getting off topic now, might continue this elsewhere).

    --Edit-- (Just made a new thread on the subject here.)
    Last edited by BattleHawk; 2013-08-22 at 12:38 PM.
    i5-4670k 4.2Ghz | Asus Sabertooth Z87 | CM Hyper 212 EVO | Patriot 16GB DDR3 | Sapphire 290 Tri-X | Corsair RM850 | Samsung 840 250GB | X3 HDD 5TB total | Corsair 750D | Main monitor: Qnix QX2710 Evolution II LED PLS 2560x1440 | Keyboard: Microsoft Sidewinder X4 | Mouse: Logitech G602 | Headset: Steelseries Siberia V2

  19. #11799
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Turn off vsync. That 30cap sounds like vsync to me.

  20. #11800
    Stood in the Fire Loyrl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    408
    I got the chair for Christmas about 7 years ago, I'm not sure the name, but I'm pretty sure they got it at Costco. I don't think they sell it anymore.
    GemStoneIII (Mud) (ongoing) > SubSpace/Continuum > EQ1-Kunark-PoP > aRO > FFXI > WoW > Rift > WoW > FFXIV > SWToR > Tera > GW2 > Wushu > ESO > W* > EQ1p99 > AA > WoW...
    D3 & PoE:HC > Ongoing
    FFXIVARR Profile
    D3 Profile

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •