1. #11961
    alot better, dcII is like a jet turbine and not so effective quick edit: the cooler on HD7870 DCII was alot better than on 7970

  2. #11962
    Dreadlord Ripox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
    Posts
    837
    That looks beautiful, Voryon. Inspiring my next build/upgrade cycle
    Gaming Rig: CPU: i7-3770k @ 4.5Ghz | CPU Cooler: H100i | Motherboard: GA-Z77X-D3H | RAM: 2x4GB 1600MHz |GPU: GTX 780 | PSU: Corsair TX750M | Case: Cooler Master Storm Stryker | SSD1 (Boot drive): 120GB Kingston | SSD2: 250GB Samsung 840 EVO | HDD: 1TB 7200RPM Seagate Barracuda | Keyboard: Corsair K70 (Black) | Mouse: Razer Naga 2014 | Audio: Razer Tiamat 7.1 | Monitor: LG IPS234 (1920x1080)

  3. #11963
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,334
    Dat cooler O_o

    Looks very nice though, good cable management, tidy.

    I own the GTX 670 DCUII and it's whisper quiet, even at load
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | EVGA GTX 980 | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ Sennheiser HD8

  4. #11964
    Quote Originally Posted by CheezusCrust View Post
    I own the GTX 670 DCUII and it's whisper quiet, even at load
    That 7970 is a powerhungry card though. The 3 slot cooler got a poor fan profile compared to their 2 slots and also a very thin heatsink for a 3 slot card. It was doing a fine job on a gtx 680 never seen the fan passing above 30% but that was just because the card was never exceeding 80% TDP. The 3 slots were just basically like this: 20% quiet 30% quiet 40% audible 50% way too loud. Their 670's aren't even audible at 50%.

  5. #11965
    Grunt 2r4w's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    In The Walls of Chicago City
    Posts
    13
    Last edited by tetrisGOAT; 2013-09-15 at 09:21 PM.

  6. #11966
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,255
    is that an m4a78?

    i7-4790K | Z97 Class. | 8GB DDR3-2133 | GTX-690 Quad SLI | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | AX1200 | RV05
    Dell U2711 | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Steelseries Sensei | Xonar Essence One | KRK RP8G2s

  7. #11967
    Grunt 2r4w's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    In The Walls of Chicago City
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    is that an m4a78?
    Its a M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3 (AM3)

    - - - Updated - - -

    Operating System
    MS Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1
    CPU
    AMD Phenom II X4 955
    Deneb 45nm Technology
    RAM
    8.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 720MHz (9-9-9-24)
    Motherboard
    ASUSTeK Computer INC. M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3 (AM3) 58 °C
    Graphics
    SAMSUNG (1360x768@60Hz)
    W2040 (1360x768@60Hz)
    1024MB GeForce GTX 560 (ASUStek Computer Inc) 53 °C
    Hard Drives
    1465GB Hitachi Hitachi HDS723015BLA642 ATA Device (SATA) 29 °C
    Optical Drives
    ASUS DRW-24B1ST a ATA Device
    DTSOFT Virtual CdRom Device
    Audio
    Realtek High Definition Audio
    Last edited by 2r4w; 2013-09-15 at 09:03 PM. Reason: This is an old set up... Soon to upgrade... Still decent...

  8. #11968
    OS
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64x

    i7 [email protected]

    16GB Gskill Ripjaws 1600

    ASROCK Z77 Extreme 4(I'll be upgrading this to a Gigabyte soon)

    Cosair TX850M Modular PSU

    GTX 670 @1200MHZ Windforce edition

    Corsair 830 256GB SSD(840 soon)

    LG Optical drive

    2x2TB Seagate Barracuda@7200RPM

    HAF 932 (with full window side panel ordered from Cooler Masters Website)

    I'll post pictures soonish, as some of the parts aren't actually here yet.

  9. #11969
    Immortal Notarget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    7,500
    Quote Originally Posted by Dragonling View Post
    ASROCK Z77 Extreme 4(I'll be upgrading this to a Gigabyte soon)

    Corsair 830 256GB SSD(840 soon)
    Upgrading? What do you need from the Gigabyte board that you're not getting from the Asrock?

    830 to 840, getting a bigger drive to replace or or just need more SSD capacity?
    CPU: Intel i5-3570k (4.5GHz) MB: ASUS Z77 Sabertooth (uefi 2003)
    GPU: Asus 280X TOP (1130MHz/1750MHz) RAM: Corsair LP/LV white 8GB 1600MHz
    SSD: Samsung 840Pro 256GB + Crucial m4 128GB (040H) PSU: Seasonic 620M CASE: Corsair 500R (White/Black) Monitor: LG 237L-BN IPS
    Current build! ||Old Build || Bitdefender Total Security 2015 || AV-TEST 2014

  10. #11970
    Quote Originally Posted by Notarget View Post
    Upgrading? What do you need from the Gigabyte board that you're not getting from the Asrock?

    830 to 840, getting a bigger drive to replace or or just need more SSD capacity?
    Its not really an upgrade per say, I'm just redoing the way everything looks, and the ASROCK doesn't suit my needs, for it, I'm getting the Gigabyte from a friend for like 60 bucks, so I figured why not, and I'm upgrading the 830 to a 840 512Gig.

    I'll post pictures later this month once I get everything in it, with proper cable management.
    Last edited by Dragonling; 2013-09-16 at 04:55 AM.

  11. #11971
    The Lightbringer Mister K's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Under your desk
    Posts
    3,904
    Quote Originally Posted by voryon View Post
    wow that looks awesome man!

    ______

    Here is an update: No custom wcling, as dissapointed as I am by not going custom, it saved me money/time and possible failure. RIP Raystorm block (

    • Added the H100i to the system and bought Primoflex tube and "red" coil to wrap arround it.
    • Issue: Tube was too small so its only covering half the water pipe, although mostly you won't notice the non-covered one. The coil was rather tight as well (in diameter).
    • When the coil arrived, it was rather pink then red so what I had left from my spraing I used on the coil.

    Here is a pic yo:



    PS: Instagram takes shitty pics, il take proper one later. Oh by the way, the blue fan will get replaced (need to sort out sleeves, side panel window and fans next, oh front IO too).

  12. #11972
    Bloodsail Admiral looz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,159
    I tidied up my cabling a bit and changed my thermal paste... This case still isn't much of a looker.







    At least the temperatures are very reasonable, I neither my GPU or CPU goes beyond 60c while gaming.
    i5 4690k ♦ Z97-A ♦ GTX 760 SLI ♦ 8 GB ♦ 120Gb + 1Tb + 4Tb ♦ Define R4

  13. #11973
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,239
    @looz, you should really replace that case whenever you get a chance, and try to get it off the floor! >_<
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  14. #11974
    Herald of the Titans shroudster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,890
    always fun , the last thing ordered arrives first. (with the exception of not being able to order my waterblocks yet for the gpu )

    time for grocies and cooking first after that lets hope i can make a decent gallery of the part swap and product ofc
    and to those wondering why 1250W , when going for maximum overclock those classifieds can be very very hungry. (as in 400-550W each gpu)

  15. #11975
    Bloodsail Admiral looz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,159
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    @looz, you should really replace that case whenever you get a chance, and try to get it off the floor! >_<
    True, I'm thinking of Define R4 bundled with Akasa Pax Mate 2 noise dampening kit and a new CPU cooler. Probably Scythe Mugen 4.

    But why should I take it off the floor? It does have dust filtering, and air is cooler on the floor level, especially since I tend to keep window open.
    i5 4690k ♦ Z97-A ♦ GTX 760 SLI ♦ 8 GB ♦ 120Gb + 1Tb + 4Tb ♦ Define R4

  16. #11976
    Stood in the Fire
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    422
    Quote Originally Posted by shroudster View Post
    always fun , the last thing ordered arrives first. (with the exception of not being able to order my waterblocks yet for the gpu )
    time for grocies and cooking first after that lets hope i can make a decent gallery of the part swap and product ofc
    and to those wondering why 1250W , when going for maximum overclock those classifieds can be very very hungry. (as in 400-550W each gpu)
    You're going to love that PSU... I have an X-650W.

  17. #11977
    Quote Originally Posted by looz View Post
    But why should I take it off the floor? It does have dust filtering, and air is cooler on the floor level, especially since I tend to keep window open.
    No dust filter catches 100% of dust, and the floor is where most dust inevitably settles. Raising it even a few inches off the floor will reduce the amount of dust that ends up inside your PC.

  18. #11978
    Bloodsail Admiral looz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,159
    I find cleaning the heatsinks every now and then less of a hassle than having the case take up some of my rather limited desk space:

    (Click to enlarge)
    i5 4690k ♦ Z97-A ♦ GTX 760 SLI ♦ 8 GB ♦ 120Gb + 1Tb + 4Tb ♦ Define R4

  19. #11979
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,239
    A Define R4 would be spectacular. As for raising it off the floor... I had up till a few months ago a smaller desk than yours...

    However I now have a bigger desk, but am still using an old coffee table (made by my great grandfather) to hold my computer up.



    Also, do I spy two microphones in your picture? O.o
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  20. #11980
    Bloodsail Admiral looz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,159
    You do indeed! I have a pair of Singstar microphones. They work decently enough for voice chat, and that way they are readily available for some Ultrastar. :P
    i5 4690k ♦ Z97-A ♦ GTX 760 SLI ♦ 8 GB ♦ 120Gb + 1Tb + 4Tb ♦ Define R4

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •