1. #12021
    Legendary! Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    6,864
    Those look sexy.
    ||i5 3570k @ 4.4GHz||H100 push/pull||AsRock Z77 Extreme4||16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1600MHz||HD6970/HD6950 crossfire|| Coolermaster Storm Trooper||Corsair TX850 Enthusiast Series||Samsung 840 Pro 128gb(boot drive)||3x 1tb Western Digital HDD||

    Bdk Nagrand / Astae Nagrand
    Pokemon X FC: 4656-7679-2545/Trainer Name: Keno

  2. #12022
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,561
    As I'm writing on one right now (blues), I can say that they are.

  3. #12023
    Mechagnome Punisher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Québec
    Posts
    569
    The tenkeyless version is sexy too! =P
    My first build:
    Storage: Kingston SSD Now V200+ 120G and WD Caviar Blue HDD 500 G
    Processing Units: i5-3570k @ 3.8 Ghz cooled by 212 Evo and MSI Twin Frozr 3, R7850 @ 900, 1200
    Mobo, Ram, PSU Gigabyte Z77-D3H and G.Skill ripjaw 2x 4G with XFX 550w
    If I am unreadable, its not because I hate grammar, its because Im french-canadian

  4. #12024
    Bloodsail Admiral Biernot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,226
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Come a time I have the cashflow, those will be one of the purchases I've most looked forward to. Heard them at Sam Ash and just fell in love.

    I currently have the much cheaper, though still great sounding, Samson MediaONE 3a studio monitors, but thinking of bumping up to the 4s or 5s for slightly higher levels of bass and volume.
    I am also in that exact spot. I am still using an old Technics Mini Hifi Set from 20 years ago, which is ok, but on the other hand a bit lacking compared to what decent speakers are capable of. But as long as it continues to work, i just can't justify a replacement.

    My first target would be Samson Media One 5a or Behringer MS40.
    On the other hand i would also be fine with a separate amp + passive speakers. But smaller amps (with a footprint of less than a letter sized sheet of paper) are either rubbish or way to expensive.

  5. #12025
    Bloodsail Admiral looz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,106
    Bumping with a minor upgrade - got my Xonar DX-XD back from a friend so I decided to ensure my GPU won't get cooled properly by blocking its airflow with it. Shame, that the motherboard heatsink prevents seating the cound card, and for some reason the 16x slot doesn't work either.

    And of course, click to enlarge.
    i5 4690k ♦ Z97-A ♦ GTX 760 SLI ♦ 8 GB ♦ 120Gb + 1Tb + 4Tb ♦ Define R4

  6. #12026
    Mechagnome Naer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    <Intent>
    Posts
    620
    http://postimg.org/image/utebd61o3/

    Sorry for the below par camera quality, the phone is picky.

    The insides:
    Home built

    AMD FX-8350 OC'd to 4.6GHz
    Closed Loop Water Cooled
    32 gb of Ripjaws ram
    GTX 770
    2 320 Kingston SSD
    1 1TB HD
    Tons of 120mm Fans

    The left monitor is actually a 42'' TV.

  7. #12027
    Bloodsail Admiral looz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,106
    Liking the Horde emblem.

    Mind me asking why 32GB?
    i5 4690k ♦ Z97-A ♦ GTX 760 SLI ♦ 8 GB ♦ 120Gb + 1Tb + 4Tb ♦ Define R4

  8. #12028
    Mechagnome Naer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    <Intent>
    Posts
    620
    I got some for my work ( I generally never use more than 20, actually, so yes it's a waste), and it was cheap at the time I bought it. I got it off local craiglist, tested it (maybe a year or so back now) and I figured, hey, 32gb for $80?

    I'd be a fool not to. Newegg has the same stuff up for $329, and so ... I'd never go out of my way to get 32gb.

    I don't really think more than 16gb is needed for a home machine (most of the time, depending on it's uses). Maybe someday I'll hand off half the memory to the bf when he does his build.
    Last edited by Naer; 2013-10-01 at 05:00 PM. Reason: Edited to clarify.

  9. #12029
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,561
    Depends what one does with a home-machine, of course.
    More RAM is useful when doing VM's, rendering or using RAM-disks.

  10. #12030
    Mechagnome Naer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    <Intent>
    Posts
    620
    That's very true. I expected that some of the simulations I would run would require it, as well as some of the hefty Excel projects. I've never maxed out the entity of 32gb.

    I should clarify, for a gaming dedicated machine, it's unlikely that you'll need more than 32gb of RAM. But, if a large portion of RAM falls into your lap like it did mine... don't fret over having too much of a good thing.

  11. #12031
    Stood in the Fire
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    418
    Quote Originally Posted by Naer View Post
    That's very true. I expected that some of the simulations I would run would require it, as well as some of the hefty Excel projects. I've never maxed out the entity of 32gb.

    I should clarify, for a gaming dedicated machine, it's unlikely that you'll need more than 32gb of RAM. But, if a large portion of RAM falls into your lap like it did mine... don't fret over having too much of a good thing.
    Good resell value to as RAM prices are crazy high currently.

  12. #12032
    Mechagnome Naer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    <Intent>
    Posts
    620
    Yeah it's just nuts. I'm not willing to part with it, but it is going to cut the cost of the boyfriend's future build significantly as I also have an extra video card laying around for him that I've decided not to use (I upgraded).

    I tend to hang onto parts for a few years so I can get a budget build out of them for a friend too.

  13. #12033
    Bloodsail Admiral looz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,106
    I see, a very good reason for the ram then.
    i5 4690k ♦ Z97-A ♦ GTX 760 SLI ♦ 8 GB ♦ 120Gb + 1Tb + 4Tb ♦ Define R4

  14. #12034
    Quote Originally Posted by looz View Post
    And of course, click to enlarge.
    Those headphones are....filthy.
    What happens in the 16x slot error or just nothing?

  15. #12035
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,561
    Quote Originally Posted by lockedout View Post
    What happens in the 16x slot error or just nothing?
    Looking at its age, I'm going to say that the motherboard has its USB3.0 ports (if any) and additional s-ATA ports running off of the PCI-e lanes, which is what happens today as well, although now it's chipset PCI-E rather than CPU PCI-E.
    Changing that around in BIOS should make it work.

    Or, again looking at its age, it's simply not functioning anymore.

  16. #12036
    http://img198.imageshack.us/img198/365/2su2.jpg

    < holy mother of use thumbnails! >
    Last edited by llDemonll; 2013-10-02 at 06:04 AM.

  17. #12037
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,031
    Quote Originally Posted by waterise View Post
    http://img198.imageshack.us/img198/365/2su2.jpg

    < holy mother of use thumbnails! >
    You'd need an awfully tall chair to use the keyboard+mouse with that setup, plus there's nowhere to put your legs. How do you manage?

  18. #12038
    Bloodsail Admiral looz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,106
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    Looking at its age, I'm going to say that the motherboard has its USB3.0 ports (if any) and additional s-ATA ports running off of the PCI-e lanes, which is what happens today as well, although now it's chipset PCI-E rather than CPU PCI-E.
    Changing that around in BIOS should make it work.

    Or, again looking at its age, it's simply not functioning anymore.
    I might look into that, but then again the GPU stays cool regardless. And when I first installed that sound card the mobo was almost new.

    Quote Originally Posted by lockedout View Post
    Those headphones are....filthy.
    What happens in the 16x slot error or just nothing?
    Filthy? No they're not, must be an illusion due to the flash.

    Nothing happens if I use the 16x.
    i5 4690k ♦ Z97-A ♦ GTX 760 SLI ♦ 8 GB ♦ 120Gb + 1Tb + 4Tb ♦ Define R4

  19. #12039
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by waterise View Post
    http://img198.imageshack.us/img198/365/2su2.jpg

    < holy mother of use thumbnails! >
    D:

    /10char

  20. #12040
    Best Kitten Simca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    9,411
    Quote Originally Posted by waterise View Post
    Oh dear god, I feel your pain.
    Global Moderator | Forum Guidelines

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •