1. #12861
    Epic! lockblock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    wisconsin .. I mean greymane
    Posts
    1,508


    Haven't updated the rig in a while but I did upgrade my G15 orange to GN72013.
    Included both dirty and tidy desk shots to go with the new theme.
    Lastly don't ask why the htpc is sitting on top my desktop.
    Current Computers: Gaming Rig, HTPC

    Some of my Photoshops

  2. #12862
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,666
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    Atrociously bad macro-keys to be honest. I wound up purchasing the Corsair K70 with American layout.
    That's not even really my issue, though it is annoying, but also the fact that the esc and function keys are all non-mechanical.

    Plus that one firmware glitch that sometimes makes it where you press a key down and it doesn't register as you only pressed it once and just goes like eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee but really the key was up and you had to press another. Annoying. -.- Otherwise I like it, the wrist-rest could be better.
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  3. #12863
    Quote Originally Posted by lockblock View Post
    Haven't updated the rig in a while but I did upgrade my G15 orange to GN72013.
    Included both dirty and tidy desk shots to go with the new theme.
    Lastly don't ask why the htpc is sitting on top my desktop.
    Which keyboard is that? The model number in your post doesn't return anything in google.
    i7-4770k - GTX 780 Ti - 16GB DDR3 Ripjaws - (2) HyperX 120s / Vertex 3 120
    ASRock Extreme3 - Sennheiser Momentums - Xonar DG - EVGA Supernova 650G - Corsair H80i

    build pics

  4. #12864
    Epic! lockblock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    wisconsin .. I mean greymane
    Posts
    1,508
    Quote Originally Posted by glo View Post
    Which keyboard is that? The model number in your post doesn't return anything in google.
    It's a joke. (G15 + nexus7 on top of it)
    Current Computers: Gaming Rig, HTPC

    Some of my Photoshops

  5. #12865
    Quote Originally Posted by lockblock View Post
    It's a joke. (G15 + nexus7 on top of it)
    Heh, I feel dumb. I thought it was a keyboard with some kind of dock on it. Which would be pretty useful. :P
    i7-4770k - GTX 780 Ti - 16GB DDR3 Ripjaws - (2) HyperX 120s / Vertex 3 120
    ASRock Extreme3 - Sennheiser Momentums - Xonar DG - EVGA Supernova 650G - Corsair H80i

    build pics

  6. #12866
    The Patient
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    320
    Hey guys, I've taken some pictures of the case! http://imgur.com/a/21lby





















    It's just the case barebone but with some imagination you can imagine how it will turn out!
    Quote Originally Posted by overcaffeinated View Post
    I don't get why people like you feel they need to chime in and tell the OP how useless his post was. If it was that useless why did you spend your 2 minutes to craft a response instead of 2 seconds to hit your "back" button?
    I7-4770K, ASUS Maximus VI Formula, SLI EVGA GTX780Ti, AX1200, Kingston V300 240GB, watercooled!

  7. #12867
    Pit Lord theWocky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    2,342
    ★ twitter @WockyCCyou-tube: Wocky GAMING
    I suck at YouTube...
    Two (2) years of gaming videos, 500k views...
    one RL incident, 3.5 million views in less than a month!
    CLICK HERE: ★ My Girlfriend Shoots at Home Intruders


  8. #12868
    Quote Originally Posted by theWocky View Post
    Pretty nice setup. Also subscribed to your channel.
    "Those mortal shells that we call bodies, are not ours to keep. The body is a gift of earth that must, one day, be returned from whence it came"

  9. #12869
    Scarab Lord Djinni's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Guildford, Surrey, UK
    Posts
    4,199
    Thought I'd post an update now I've managed to get my hands on a few cable ties and a "new" graphics card





    And because there's always something left over...


    Few more up here:
    http://blog.refreshprojects.com/new-graphics-card/


    And this is the last time I ever buy a non-modular PSU.
    Last edited by Djinni; 2014-02-18 at 01:12 AM.
    Current Project :::: Virtual Private Server hosting and Modded Minecraft admin :::: http://www.refreshprojects.com/
    CASE: Fractal Design Define R4 || CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.8GHz || Cooler: Thermaltake Frio Pull/Push || RAM: 12GB G.Skill Ripjaws-X || MB: GigaByte Z97X-UD5H-BK || SSD: Samsung 850 Pro 1TB || HDD: 2x 3TB WD Red, 4x 4TB WD Red, 2x 1TB Samsung SpinPoint F3 || GPU: MSI GTX 970 || VDU(s): Samsung S34E790C, LG IPS236V-PN, Samsung 46 F6320

  10. #12870
    Epic! lockblock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    wisconsin .. I mean greymane
    Posts
    1,508
    Quote Originally Posted by Djinni View Post
    Thought I'd post an update now I've managed to get my hands on a few cable ties and a "new" graphics card

    http://imgur.com/DFC2LTZ

    http://imgur.com/zCyAUKq
    http://imgur.com/xlcHY6C
    And because there's always something left over...
    http://imgur.com/578Musd
    http://imgur.com/oP1A6ka
    Few more up here:
    http://blog.refreshprojects.com/new-graphics-card/


    And this is the last time I ever buy a non-modular PSU.
    No offense but that wiring still looks awful. You could have likely got the 8pin cpu power behind the board if you had positioned the psu fan-side down.
    Bending sata cables at extreme angles can cause data corruption or outright failure of the cable. (specifically the ones under the hdds)
    Lastly I would say that your case also makes for a bad wiring job simply by having the 3.5" bays facing the graphic cards.
    Last edited by lockblock; 2014-02-18 at 06:02 AM.
    Current Computers: Gaming Rig, HTPC

    Some of my Photoshops

  11. #12871
    Scarab Lord Djinni's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Guildford, Surrey, UK
    Posts
    4,199
    No offence taken, isn't that the point? If you have a suggestion with a way to do it I couldn't see, feel free to make it.
    But it is a terrible case, and a terrible PSU for wiring, neither of which I will be using again. I've thought many times of switching out the case and PSU just because of that, but when it comes to spending ~£300 to make it look pretty, I find it hard to justify to myself.

    Unfortunately I cant get the 8pin to go anywhere, its barely long enough to go the way it has. there's no way to get it behind the board. There's also some fan cables at the top that do basically the same, they're way too short to do anything with.

    Interesting point about the sata cables, didn't really occur to me that it was that bad.

    At some point if it bugs me enough, I'll probably end up buying some extensions for stuff that like, but for now, its only a blight when posting up here.
    Last edited by Djinni; 2014-02-18 at 07:16 AM.
    Current Project :::: Virtual Private Server hosting and Modded Minecraft admin :::: http://www.refreshprojects.com/
    CASE: Fractal Design Define R4 || CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.8GHz || Cooler: Thermaltake Frio Pull/Push || RAM: 12GB G.Skill Ripjaws-X || MB: GigaByte Z97X-UD5H-BK || SSD: Samsung 850 Pro 1TB || HDD: 2x 3TB WD Red, 4x 4TB WD Red, 2x 1TB Samsung SpinPoint F3 || GPU: MSI GTX 970 || VDU(s): Samsung S34E790C, LG IPS236V-PN, Samsung 46 F6320

  12. #12872
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,104
    This is one of those few cases where I'd suggest flipping the powersupply fan down, since that would put the 8pin much closer to any grommet you have.

  13. #12873
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by Djinni View Post
    ...
    Apart from the obvious wiring, there seems to be an issue with your airflow.
    The amount of dust makes me think you don't have positive pressure in the case ...

  14. #12874
    Scarab Lord Djinni's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Guildford, Surrey, UK
    Posts
    4,199
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    This is one of those few cases where I'd suggest flipping the powersupply fan down, since that would put the 8pin much closer to any grommet you have.
    The only other problem with this, is there is no "vent" at the bottom of the case. the fan on the PSU would be useless. Also, there is no cable access point near the 8pin on the mobo, so it wouldn't actually make any difference, a cable extension would still be required.
    Current Project :::: Virtual Private Server hosting and Modded Minecraft admin :::: http://www.refreshprojects.com/
    CASE: Fractal Design Define R4 || CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.8GHz || Cooler: Thermaltake Frio Pull/Push || RAM: 12GB G.Skill Ripjaws-X || MB: GigaByte Z97X-UD5H-BK || SSD: Samsung 850 Pro 1TB || HDD: 2x 3TB WD Red, 4x 4TB WD Red, 2x 1TB Samsung SpinPoint F3 || GPU: MSI GTX 970 || VDU(s): Samsung S34E790C, LG IPS236V-PN, Samsung 46 F6320

  15. #12875
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,104
    Quote Originally Posted by Djinni View Post
    The only other problem with this, is there is no "vent" at the bottom of the case. the fan on the PSU would be useless. Also, there is no cable access point near the 8pin on the mobo, so it wouldn't actually make any difference, a cable extension would still be required.
    Ah, well you're fucked then huh.

  16. #12876
    Scarab Lord Djinni's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Guildford, Surrey, UK
    Posts
    4,199
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    Ah, well you're fucked then huh.
    I've been looking at the Corsair 600T and the 650D and coupling it with a new modular PSU, but its a lot of money to spend on a machine that actually I want to replace pretty soon anyway.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    Apart from the obvious wiring, there seems to be an issue with your airflow.
    The amount of dust makes me think you don't have positive pressure in the case ...
    I experimented a lot with this, (you may recall a few posts back when I first built it) the only way to make it positive pressure is to have ALL the fans as intake fans. The problem is that this doesn't actually help because you can only put dust filters on the two front fans without some case mods.

    But certainly the cabling could be better, it looked alright at nearly midnight when I did it Might have another crack at it at the weekend when I get my compressor out. Had to use a cheap brush to dust everything off last night.
    Last edited by Djinni; 2014-02-18 at 06:23 PM.
    Current Project :::: Virtual Private Server hosting and Modded Minecraft admin :::: http://www.refreshprojects.com/
    CASE: Fractal Design Define R4 || CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.8GHz || Cooler: Thermaltake Frio Pull/Push || RAM: 12GB G.Skill Ripjaws-X || MB: GigaByte Z97X-UD5H-BK || SSD: Samsung 850 Pro 1TB || HDD: 2x 3TB WD Red, 4x 4TB WD Red, 2x 1TB Samsung SpinPoint F3 || GPU: MSI GTX 970 || VDU(s): Samsung S34E790C, LG IPS236V-PN, Samsung 46 F6320

  17. #12877
    Warchief Ghâzh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    2,208
    Quote Originally Posted by Djinni View Post
    I've been looking at the Corsair 600T and the 650D and coupling it with a new modular PSU, but its a lot of money to spend on a machine that actually I want to replace pretty soon anyway.
    What are you gonna replace it with then? Since good case and PSU are like the most future proof pieces you can get, unless you are going for something entirely different like htpc.

  18. #12878
    http://i.imgur.com/wqxaO9U.jpg?1

    http://imgur.com/tHCc9g5

    PC Specs:
    Processor: AMD FX 6300 six core
    GPU: Nvidia Geforce 650 Ti Boost
    HDD:1tb Western Digital HDD
    250g Samsung Evo ssd
    Ram: 16g corsair vengeance
    Mobo: Asrock 970 extreme 3

    Peripherals (updated since pic)
    Keyboard: corsair k95
    Headset: Siberia V2 Illuminated
    Mouse: wow legendary gaming mouse

  19. #12879
    Dreadlord Ripox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
    Posts
    839
    Quote Originally Posted by shamanele View Post
    http://i.imgur.com/wqxaO9U.jpg?1

    http://imgur.com/tHCc9g5

    PC Specs:
    Processor: AMD FX 6300 six core
    GPU: Nvidia Geforce 650 Ti Boost
    HDD:1tb Western Digital HDD
    250g Samsung Evo ssd
    Ram: 16g corsair vengeance
    Mobo: Asrock 970 extreme 3

    Peripherals (updated since pic)
    Keyboard: corsair k95
    Headset: Siberia V2 Illuminated
    Mouse: wow legendary gaming mouse
    IDK how I'd feel having a keyboard that costs more than the CPU or is about the same price as the GPU :/

    Excessive RAM, SSD, and peripherals. Money could've better gone to better cpu/gpu
    Gaming Rig: CPU: i7-3770k @ 4.5Ghz | CPU Cooler: H100i | Motherboard: GA-Z77X-D3H | RAM: 2x4GB 1600MHz |GPU: GTX 780 | PSU: Corsair TX750M | Case: Cooler Master Storm Stryker | SSD1 (Boot drive): 120GB Kingston | SSD2: 250GB Samsung 840 EVO | HDD: 1TB 7200RPM Seagate Barracuda | Keyboard: Corsair K70 (Black) | Mouse: Razer Naga 2014 | Audio: Razer Tiamat 7.1 | Monitor: LG IPS234 (1920x1080)

  20. #12880
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,666
    Quote Originally Posted by Ripox View Post
    IDK how I'd feel having a keyboard that costs more than the CPU or is about the same price as the GPU :/

    Excessive RAM, SSD, and peripherals. Money could've better gone to better cpu/gpu
    You bring up a really good point about peripherals... people seem to go all out on them and forget how much extra money they are dropping on peripherals but cutting so short on the CPU/GPU, when those are what will deliver the actual game to you. While having peripherals that make you comfortable is important, it is also important to have hardware that can drive your games... While WoW isn't much to drive... it is in 20-25 man raids. Seriously, if shamanele had spent a little less on peripherals, maybe just gotten a 128GB SSD, and 8GB of RAM, they could have gotten an Intel Haswell i5 and GTX 760 or something similar, been able to overclock seriously, and get MUCH better performance.

    Such a shame people don't ask before impulse-buying.
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •