1. #13961
    Herald of the Titans Jakexe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,991
    Next round of parts picked up. Now I have to wait for water cooling parts from the US.



    i7 4790k
    z97 hero
    32gb corsair vengence pro 2133
    xspc D5 photon 270 pump/res combo
    i7 4790K @ 4.7GHz 1.35V || Asus Z97 Hero VII || EVGA GTX 980 Sli (x2) 1455Mhz || 16GB Corsair Vengence 2133mhz || 128GB+500GB SSD (PRO/EVO) || 2TB+4TB WD Blacks || Corsair HX-850W || Custom Water Cooling - xspc ex140 w/ noctua NF-A14 - xspc rx360 - xspc photon 270 w/ D5 - primochill acrylic tubing & ghost fittings -
    Corsair 900D || ASUS ROG Swift || Roccat Ryos MK Pro || Cyborg RAT7/Logitech G700s || BitFenix Recon Fan Controller

  2. #13962
    What's the difference between a basic z97 mobo and some of the more high end ones?

  3. #13963
    The basic motherboard is supposed to be a weaker overclocker usually, typically requiring higher voltage and the likes, and as you go higher-end it's supposed to scale. That said, once you're somewhere in the middle of the pack any gains have pretty much vanished usually.

    Beyond that it's mostly feature based. There's a point where they drop off much of the legacy features, and as you go up in price you start seeing M.2, the occasional PLX chip (for giving more than two cards in 16x slots enough PCIe lanes), Wifi, gimmicks like the plastic cover on the Sabertooth, the (rather unnecessary but cool looking) metal backplate on the Maximus VII, etc.

    That said, decide what you want from the board. You'll probably find boards fulfilling your needs in the middle of the pack.

  4. #13964
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,582
    Quote Originally Posted by jimmy valmer View Post
    What's the difference between a basic z97 mobo and some of the more high end ones?
    Features. Basically.
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    The basic motherboard is supposed to be a weaker overclocker usually, typically requiring higher voltage and the likes, and as you go higher-end it's supposed to scale. That said, once you're somewhere in the middle of the pack any gains have pretty much vanished usually.
    In theory, yes. But even that is only features. The VRM is moved onto the chip itself, so there's not much differences, if at all, in voltage. The cheapest AsRock z97 and the most blinged ASUS ROG board overclocks basically the same.
    Which is good for the consumer, at least short-term.

  5. #13965
    Epic! Ghâzh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    1,575
    It's 90% looks and branding and probably 10% features though.
    Originally Posted by Blizzard (Blue Tracker / Official Forums)
    WoW has been a CPU-bound game for much of its lifetime.

  6. #13966
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    In theory, yes. But even that is only features. The VRM is moved onto the chip itself, so there's not much differences, if at all, in voltage. The cheapest AsRock z97 and the most blinged ASUS ROG board overclocks basically the same.
    Which is good for the consumer, at least short-term.
    Yeah, hence why I put emphasis on "supposed to be". There's some difference still, but honestly you'll probably hit your CPU's limits before anything else, so the differences that do exist won't do much, if anything.

  7. #13967
    Dreadlord Joeygiggles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    958
    So I am going to be building a new PC. Preferably for Gaming and Streaming, minor editing for YT vids. I have a few things already like SSDs, HDD, PSU. I do have a case but its pretty huge and bulky so thats why I added a new one here. I would love some input from you guys


    http://pcpartpicker.com/p/g4kYRB
    Thank god this game isn't just for Rym, we'd have a pretty shitty time - Me

  8. #13968
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,582
    Quote Originally Posted by Joeygiggles View Post
    So I am going to be building a new PC. Preferably for Gaming and Streaming, minor editing for YT vids. I have a few things already like SSDs, HDD, PSU. I do have a case but its pretty huge and bulky so thats why I added a new one here. I would love some input from you guys


    http://pcpartpicker.com/p/g4kYRB
    There's a whole forum section for this, I recommend that you post there!

  9. #13969
    Elemental Lord Notarget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    8,357
    Quote Originally Posted by Joeygiggles View Post
    So I am going to be building a new PC. Preferably for Gaming and Streaming, minor editing for YT vids. I have a few things already like SSDs, HDD, PSU. I do have a case but its pretty huge and bulky so thats why I added a new one here. I would love some input from you guys


    http://pcpartpicker.com/p/g4kYRB
    Create a new thread here and answer the questions from this post.

    Edit: What Tetris said
    CPU: Intel i7-4790k 4.7GHz MB: ASUS Z97 Pro Gamer
    GPU: Gigabyte GTX 970 G1-Gaming 1519MHz Boost RAM: Corsair Pro 16GB 1866MHz
    SSD: Samsung 850-EVO 500GB PSU: Corsair RM550 CASE: Phanteks Enthoo Pro Monitor: 1440p Dell U2515H 1080p LG 237L-BN IPS
    Current build! ||Old Build || Bitdefender Total Security 2015 || AV-TEST 2014

  10. #13970
    Dreadlord Joeygiggles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    958
    Quote Originally Posted by Notarget View Post
    Create a new thread here and answer the questions from this post.

    Edit: What Tetris said
    Ha sorry bout that, Thanks guys
    Thank god this game isn't just for Rym, we'd have a pretty shitty time - Me

  11. #13971
    Warchief Vomlix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North of the (Berlin) Wall
    Posts
    2,091
    A quick question, can you overclock a locked CPU via your motherboard, or is it strictly the unlocked ones?

  12. #13972
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,510
    Quote Originally Posted by Vomlix View Post
    A quick question, can you overclock a locked CPU via your motherboard, or is it strictly the unlocked ones?
    yes and no, you can fiddle with the BCLK, but anything more than 1-2% deviation pretty much crashes the whole system, otherwise it's strictly K and X sku CPUs

    i7-4790K | Z97 Class. | 16GB DDR3-2400 | GTX-980 | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | SuperNOVA 1Kw P2 | RV05
    Dell U3415w | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Zowie ZA11 | Xonar Essence One | Tannoy Reveal 402

  13. #13973
    This is my latest build (August 30) - thanks to the members (especially notarget) for helping build. For Blizzard games + Video encoding/editing.

    PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

    CPU: Intel Core i3-4150 3.5GHz Dual-Core Processor ($116.99 @ Amazon)
    Motherboard: MSI Z97 PC MATE ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($89.99 @ Newegg)
    Memory: Team Dark Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($79.98 @ OutletPC)
    Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($71.75 @ Amazon)
    Video Card: XFX Radeon R9 270 2GB Core Edition Video Card ($154.99 @ NCIX US)
    Case: Antec One ATX Mid Tower Case ($39.99 @ NCIX US)
    Power Supply: EVGA 500W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($34.99 @ Newegg)
    Total: $588.68
    Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available
    Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-08-29 16:16 EDT-0400

    Storage, case and other prep.s are from past build.

    currently running pretty smooth - we'll see what happens over the next week.

    I'm thinking storage will be next upgrade, then case - hopefully then CPU in a year or so.

    let me know what you think of that upgrade series.
    Last edited by Amgyn; 2014-08-29 at 08:23 PM.
    It's just a game.

  14. #13974
    Epic! Ghâzh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    1,575
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    yes and no, you can fiddle with the BCLK, but anything more than 1-2% deviation pretty much crashes the whole system, otherwise it's strictly K and X sku CPUs
    Linus got his Xeon E5-2697 up to 113 BCLK pretty nicely. So in essence about 25% overclock with a supposedly "locked" CPU.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=khDs...E6Xw-yeJA0Tunw
    Originally Posted by Blizzard (Blue Tracker / Official Forums)
    WoW has been a CPU-bound game for much of its lifetime.

  15. #13975
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,510
    Quote Originally Posted by Ghâzh View Post
    Linus got his Xeon E5-2697 up to 113 BCLK pretty nicely. So in essence about 25% overclock with a supposedly "locked" CPU.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=khDs...E6Xw-yeJA0Tunw
    you mean a 13% overclock

    i7-4790K | Z97 Class. | 16GB DDR3-2400 | GTX-980 | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | SuperNOVA 1Kw P2 | RV05
    Dell U3415w | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Zowie ZA11 | Xonar Essence One | Tannoy Reveal 402

  16. #13976
    I am Murloc! Fuzzykins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    5,219
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    you mean a 13% overclock
    Erm, I don't think it works like that. I don't think the math works like Ghazh is saying either though.

    If you overclock a BCLK from 100 to 110 and your multiplier is 44, instead of 4.4 you're at... 4.84

  17. #13977
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,582
    Quote Originally Posted by M0cha View Post
    Erm, I don't think it works like that. I don't think the math works like Ghazh is saying either though.

    If you overclock a BCLK from 100 to 110 and your multiplier is 44, instead of 4.4 you're at... 4.84
    You can regard them as separate, multiplicative, multipliers.
    One is 44, one is 10 in your specific scenario.

    If you boost the multiplier to 113 from 100, the end result will be 13% higher, no matter the multiplier - assuming you could attain the same one. In modern locked multipliers, that's a given.
    This is how overclocking worked in the past and for AMD now, min/maxing BCLK and multi.

  18. #13978
    I was cringing the entire time watching Linus go on about how awesome his Xeon OC is. I mean, for a workstation it doesn't make sense. That 13% BCLK overclock isn't going to mean much when it eventually becomes unstable and leads to typical BCLK data corruption, losing hours and hours of work along with your Windows installation.
    i7-4770k - GTX 780 Ti - 16GB DDR3 Ripjaws - (2) HyperX 120s / Vertex 3 120
    ASRock Extreme3 - Sennheiser Momentums - Xonar DG - EVGA Supernova 650G - Corsair H80i

    build pics

  19. #13979
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,510
    Quote Originally Posted by M0cha View Post
    Erm, I don't think it works like that. I don't think the math works like Ghazh is saying either though.

    If you overclock a BCLK from 100 to 110 and your multiplier is 44, instead of 4.4 you're at... 4.84
    assuming a 113 BCLK:
    113*44=4972

    4400
    4972 = 1.13 or +13%

    i7-4790K | Z97 Class. | 16GB DDR3-2400 | GTX-980 | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | SuperNOVA 1Kw P2 | RV05
    Dell U3415w | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Zowie ZA11 | Xonar Essence One | Tannoy Reveal 402

  20. #13980
    I am Murloc! Fuzzykins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    5,219
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    assuming a 113 BCLK:
    113*44=4972

    4400
    4972 = 1.13 or +13%
    :< This is awkward.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •