1. #3681
    Dreadlord Vanthem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ol US of A
    Posts
    755
    Man, I like the Noctua, but fuck, those fans are an eyesore!

  2. #3682
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,159
    So I OC'd my GTX 560 Ti to 950 MHz Core clock, 1900 MHz Shader clock, and 4400MHz memory clock. Essentially it's just a bit better than a Hawk now. ^_^

    Would it be worth it to try and get the Core clock to 1GHz? Any GPU pros about here at this hour?
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  3. #3683
    What voltage are you using to reach that? I've been doing 970mhz and 2200 (4400) memory at 1.075v. Would just like someone to compare.

  4. #3684
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,159
    The voltage is on automatic - so probably not far off from you.
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  5. #3685
    Warchief Prixie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Oostende, Belgium
    Posts
    2,010
    Mortalis71, is that just your camera or is the screen brightness really low?
    \\ My signature got removed because it was 21,12 Kb over the limitation \\

  6. #3686
    Quote Originally Posted by Affiniti View Post

    3456x1680 resolution. Yes, 2 feet tall by 3 feet wide. 22" screens in Portrait mode.
    The glare isn't there. I got free upgrades to the 2209 which fixes that.
    needs more bezel! i could never play that way. *shudder*

    on topic:
    "default" system. i5-2500k, 570gtx superclocked, 27" tft, 16gb ram, ocz vertex3 ssd.

  7. #3687
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,032
    Quote Originally Posted by LegitHunter View Post
    Had to wait extra 2 weeks to save the money to get a 80gold corsair 850w modular power supply. Great investment
    I was gonna suggest a Seasonic X-850 but christ that thing is expensive...

  8. #3688
    Herald of the Titans Platinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    2,991
    Why do you all have so small desks!? Mine's 2 meters wide!

    It's full of crap tho..

    1 monitor, 1 laptop, 2 keyboards, Nordea bank card reader, plates, one of my brothers toy, a box of cables. YOU NAME IT!

    [email protected] | GeForce GTX 760 | 8GB DDR3-1600MHz | Samsung 840 120GB SSD | 1+2TB HDD | Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3 | Corsair CX V2 500W | NZXT Phantom | 2x 24" 1920x1080 | Qpad MK-80 MX Blue | Logitech G600

  9. #3689
    CPU - I7 2600K - OVERCLOCKED 4.8 GIG

    MOTHERBOARD - P8P67 DELUXE

    RAM - RIPJAW X 1600 MZ 8 GIGABYTE

    COOLER - NOCTUA DH14 WITH CUSTOM FANS

    GFX CARD - GTX 580 EVGA SUPERCLOCKED

    GFX CARD - GTX 580 EVGA SUPERCLOCKED yep 2

    PSU - CORSAIR HX 850 MODULAR

    PRIMARY HDD - 600GB VELOCIRAPTOR 10,000 RPM 6GB A SECOND

    DATA DRIVE - 1 TERA BYTE 7200 RPM SAMSUNG SPIN POINT F3

    SOUND CARD - BLUETOOTH AUDIO HD 7.1 SURROUND SOUND

    CASE - HAF X COOLMASTER - ALL FANS REPLACED + MORE ADDED

    MONITOR - 25 INCH WIDESCREEN FLATRON FULL HD MONITOR

    KEYBOARD - SAITEK CYBORG V7

    MOUSE - STEEL SERIES MMO GAMING MOUSE

    FRONT PANEL - NZXT SENTRY 2 FAN CONTROLLER / USB 3.0 / E SATA / BLUETOOTH ADAPTER

    ALL FANS ARE BLUE LED COOLMASTER 1500 RPM FANS

    FRONT FAN IS ORIGNAL HAF X FAN AS THERE IS NO REPLACABLE FAN IN SAME SIZE MADE

    TOP BAY - EXTERAL HDD COOLER FOR PORTABLE HDD'S

    HEADSET - TURTLE BEACH X11

    do have alo of pics of the pc but not aloud to post pics yet.

    <Mod Warning: Keep CAPS usage to a minimum in the future. Thank you.>
    Limit the usage of CAPS (capital letters), color, and special fonts.
    Last edited by Marest; 2011-10-02 at 03:38 PM.

  10. #3690
    Mechagnome Adappy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    711
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    The voltage is on automatic - so probably not far off from you.
    What are you using to overclock? Assuming you're using MSI Afterburner... afaik "automatic" should mean stock voltages.... in which case you should be able to hit 1GHz. Try getting a voltage readout (might have to select "unlock voltage monitoring", or use GPU-Z) to see how much headroom you have.

    Either way, I'm jelly of your card's overclockability. My 580's poor reference cooler gets louder than I'd like when I overclock my GPU over 800Mhz (maybe I should slap on an aftermarket cooler /chinscratch)
    Last edited by Adappy; 2011-10-02 at 12:25 PM.

  11. #3691
    Immortal Notarget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    7,431
    Quote Originally Posted by kowon View Post
    CPU - I7 2600K - OVERCLOCKED 4.8 GIG

    MOTHERBOARD - P8P67 DELUXE


    do have alo of pics of the pc but not aloud to post pics yet.
    And caps locked for EASIER reading

    I'm still saving and waiting until I move, so I'll have something new build in March, can't wait.

  12. #3692
    Mechagnome Deeyar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    563
    Quote Originally Posted by Vanthem View Post
    Man, I like the Noctua, but fuck, those fans are an eyesore!
    I like how they look
    Quote Originally Posted by Prixie View Post
    Mortalis71, is that just your camera or is the screen brightness really low?
    It's the camera(bad camera, I have to put flash or I can't see anything even with alot of light)

  13. #3693
    The Patient Ash773's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    243
    Quote Originally Posted by kowon View Post
    <snip>

    HEADSET - TURTLE BEACH X11

    do have alo of pics of the pc but not aloud to post pics yet.
    I'd love to see some pics of your setup

    <Mod Edit: Don't quote huge posts just to add one line of text to it.>
    Last edited by tetrisGOAT; 2011-10-02 at 08:58 PM.

  14. #3694
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,694
    Quote Originally Posted by Vanthem View Post
    Man, I like the Noctua, but fuck, those fans are an eyesore!
    What. You people and your crazy tastes. The Noctua fans are goodlooking, and the only reason I still have them on my NH-D14 (they are loud​).
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    I was gonna suggest a Seasonic X-850 but christ that thing is expensive...
    "Why so power?" - Bad memes aside, it's a bit much for two 6870s.
    I put together a build (ie, shopping list) for a friends' friend (and step-by-step logs of the build will appear in pictures on the forums when I build it together), and I intend to run two GTX 560 Ti's on a 650w PSU.

  15. #3695
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,159
    Quote Originally Posted by Adappy View Post
    What are you using to overclock? Assuming you're using MSI Afterburner... afaik "automatic" should mean stock voltages.... in which case you should be able to hit 1GHz. Try getting a voltage readout (might have to select "unlock voltage monitoring", or use GPU-Z) to see how much headroom you have.

    Either way, I'm jelly of your card's overclockability. My 580's poor reference cooler gets louder than I'd like when I overclock my GPU over 800Mhz (maybe I should slap on an aftermarket cooler /chinscratch)
    Ick, reference! :P Yes, slap on something else. And yeah, it's ridiculous, the 560 Ti stock Core clock is 800MHz.... I've practically OC'd it 20% already. 1GHz would be about 25%.

    ---------- Post added 2011-10-02 at 09:03 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    What. You people and your crazy tastes. The Noctua fans are goodlooking, and the only reason I still have them on my NH-D14 (they are loud​).
    "Why so power?" - Bad memes aside, it's a bit much for two 6870s.
    I put together a build (ie, shopping list) for a friends' friend (and step-by-step logs of the build will appear in pictures on the forums when I build it together), and I intend to run two GTX 560 Ti's on a 650w PSU.
    Yeah, I'm planning to get probably the Corsair AX 650 Watt (since tigerdirect.com doesn't have seasonic, and I have a $30 gift card for that site still lying around) and that power supply will probably power a couple 560 Ti's in SLI later on down the road.
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  16. #3696
    Pit Lord conqq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    2,422
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    "Why so power?" - Bad memes aside, it's a bit much for two 6870s.
    I put together a build (ie, shopping list) for a friends' friend (and step-by-step logs of the build will appear in pictures on the forums when I build it together), and I intend to run two GTX 560 Ti's on a 650w PSU.
    But SLI 560ti's have like 415W power draw with load alone.

  17. #3697
    HP Pavilion dv5-1060ew <- nuff said ;p
    Come and see my YouTube channel:
    http://www.youtube.com/user/MrXaryon

    Like it, subscribe it, leave a comment - everything will be appreciated


  18. #3698
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,694
    Quote Originally Posted by conqq View Post
    But SLI 560ti's have like 415W power draw with load alone.
    The whole build will draw 501w.
    Each GTX 560 Ti draws 'round 170w. That's 340w together. Where would the other 75w come from?
    So I took 650w to have overclocking headroom and for "future considerations!".
    There's no reason to go crazy. "More is not always better."

  19. #3699
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,159
    What is the easier way to check how much wattage my computer is pulling out of the wall, anyways? I mean with the OC'ing the 560 Ti and if I were to ever get a second, I really wonder how much more it is drawing.
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  20. #3700
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,694
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    What is the easier way to check how much wattage my computer is pulling out of the wall, anyways? I mean with the OC'ing the 560 Ti and if I were to ever get a second, I really wonder how much more it is drawing.
    Why do you want to know how much it pulls off of the wall?
    Just curious.
    All PSUs are built to handle (using 650w as an example) 650w from the PSU itself, then if it's a goldrated PSU it draws 722w from the wall at 650w.
    Meaning that the 650w labelling is what's drawn on the internal side, not the external.
    EDIT: But if you want to check, you can buy a special something-something (English, blah!) reader that just shows you in an LCD-display how much watt is running through it. You then plug your psu directly into that small reader that you in turn put into the wallsocket.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •