1. #3881
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,146
    Case brands only really surprise you once. As you build more computers you really get into the business pretty damn fast.

    I mean, my method of building the computer goes like this now:

    a. Bring out the case.
    b. Put in powersupply.
    c. Plot, place and feed the 8pin connector. (NZXT Phantom has one revision where this is really hard to do after mounting mobo.)
    d. Mount everything you need on the motherboard prior to mounting in case. (Unless you need the motherboard in the case to do so.)

    That's like the ruleset of building a computer. After that there's no particular order in my book anymore.

  2. #3882
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    Case brands only really surprise you once. As you build more computers you really get into the business pretty damn fast.

    I mean, my method of building the computer goes like this now:

    a. Bring out the case.
    b. Put in powersupply.
    c. Plot, place and feed the 8pin connector. (NZXT Phantom has one revision where this is really hard to do after mounting mobo.)
    d. Mount everything you need on the motherboard prior to mounting in case. (Unless you need the motherboard in the case to do so.)

    That's like the ruleset of building a computer. After that there's no particular order in my book anymore.
    That's true, I suppose. A better way of phrasing it would be to say that all of my first impressions with the brands have been fantastic. After having built what must be one hundred computers in my lifetime, it's pretty hard to surprise me with anything. I've made my fair share of blood sacrifices to the case gods, that's for sure.

  3. #3883
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,146
    Cut yourself on the case too now, have you? Did that just the other day right on the spot where the two last bones of my right hand's middle finger connect.

  4. #3884
    Ouch. I've gotten myself in between fingers a few times before. Not being able to move my hand properly for a few days is a bit of a pain, to be sure. I really don't miss the days of razor sharp metal edges in my case.

  5. #3885
    The Lightbringer Uggorthaholy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Granbury, TX
    Posts
    3,152
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    Case brands only really surprise you once. As you build more computers you really get into the business pretty damn fast.

    I mean, my method of building the computer goes like this now:

    a. Bring out the case.
    b. Put in powersupply.
    c. Plot, place and feed the 8pin connector. (NZXT Phantom has one revision where this is really hard to do after mounting mobo.)
    d. Mount everything you need on the motherboard prior to mounting in case. (Unless you need the motherboard in the case to do so.)

    That's like the ruleset of building a computer. After that there's no particular order in my book anymore.
    I go with -

    strip case down
    install backplate on mobo if there is one
    place mobo in case
    mount cpu, ram, heatsink, gpu (in that order)
    Run wiring as I see fit.

    I'm really visual, so planning wires beforehand is hard for me. I have to see everything in place in front of me.

  6. #3886
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,146
    I'm mostly mentioning the 8pin because, as it turns out, the NZXT Phantom wouldn't let me pull the cable through its' slot because the motherboard was in the way.

    So I've avoided that bullet henceforth by placing it beforehand.

  7. #3887
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,518
    Quote Originally Posted by Synthaxx View Post
    Later on, when they release the 3980X or 3990X 8-core, i'll probably end up getting that, but that's quite a long time away.
    pretty much what i'll be waiting on, i also wanna go with new 8gb sticks for a 8x8 setup, and have a 48gb ramdisk and 16gb usable ram

    i7-6700K | Z170 Class. K | 16GB DDR4-3200 | GTX-980ti | Samsung 950 Pro RAID0 | SuperNOVA 1Kw P2 | Lian Li PC-07S
    ROG Swift PG348Q | Ducky DSX | Zowie ZA11 | Xonar Essence One | Tannoy Reveal 402

  8. #3888
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,795
    I had to one-up Marest, my 560 Ti is now at 980MHz/1960MHz.

    I'm running out of things to do/tweak on this computer without having a safe money-pool to back me up just in the extreme cases. Pff.
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  9. #3889
    Fluffy Kitten Marest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    4,252
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    I had to one-up Marest, my 560 Ti is now at 980MHz/1960MHz.
    I've heard people getting the 560 Ti to 1050Mhz and beyond. Unfortunately for me, my card is not so easy to clock. I'm having hard times keeping it stable at 975Mhz in some titles. I've tried to get 980, 985 and 990Mhz stable but to no avail. I usually run it at 970Mhz just to save me some trouble, but for some titles (e.g. GTA IV) I need to clock it down to 910Mhz to avoid crashes.

  10. #3890
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,795
    Quote Originally Posted by Marest View Post
    I've heard people getting the 560 Ti to 1050Mhz and beyond. Unfortunately for me, my card is not so easy to clock. I'm having hard times keeping it stable at 975Mhz in some titles. I've tried to get 980, 985 and 990Mhz stable but to no avail. I usually run it at 970Mhz just to save me some trouble, but for some titles (e.g. GTA IV) I need to clock it down to 910Mhz to avoid crashes.
    Yeah my screen went black for a couple seconds in SC2 but it was mostly fine. Going to test out in Rift now.
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  11. #3891
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,620
    I've been even more hands-on with the HAF-cases now, especially the 912plus.

    Do. Not. Like. Flimsy, blocky, ugly, disco. Without a top-mounted fan, pressing the fan-grills creates a very awkward flex.

    As for the topic of motherboard cutouts, it was fine on my FD Define. Was able to unequip my previous cooler and attach the NH-D14 with no issues whatsoever.

  12. #3892
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,146
    Aye, cut-outs may be good, but I think from now on I'll still mount the backplate before mounting the motherboard. :P

  13. #3893
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,795
    And this is why I want to find a new job, so I can fix these issues. I think I see either an Elysium or Design Define XL in my future.

    ---------- Post added 2011-10-12 at 10:37 AM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    I had to one-up Marest, my 560 Ti is now at 980MHz/1960MHz.

    I'm running out of things to do/tweak on this computer without having a safe money-pool to back me up just in the extreme cases. Pff.
    Yeah that OC was short-lived-as-fuck.

    Even at 960MHz after a few minutes of stability my screen blacked out and the card reverted back to the factory OC from MSI of 880MHz.

    I guess I'll just stick with the proven-to-work 950MHz.
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  14. #3894
    The Lightbringer Platinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    3,009
    I just have a quick question, not worth making a thread about; Is a Corsair CX V2 500W enough to power a GTX 560Ti?
    (Already bought the PSU. Was planning to buy a 6870 but changed plans.)

    [email protected] | GeForce GTX 760 | 8GB DDR3-1600MHz | Samsung 840 120GB SSD | 1+2TB HDD | Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3 | Corsair CX V2 500W
    NZXT Phantom | 2x 24" 1920x1080, 1x 22" 1920x1080 | Audio Technica ATH-M50x with ModMic | Qpad MK-80 MX Blue | Logitech G600

  15. #3895
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,795
    I would not have personally gone for the CX series as it seems a bit cheaper and not so much for gamers, but it should be fine for one 560 Ti.
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  16. #3896
    I just have a quick question, not worth making a thread about; Is a Corsair CX V2 500W enough to power a GTX 560Ti?
    Should be OK if it is 80+. Nvidia recommends 500W or more for 560Ti, and personally i have a 550W running this card and [email protected] with a bunch of peripherals (4SATA devices). Runs cool and quiet.

  17. #3897
    The Lightbringer Platinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    3,009
    Quote Originally Posted by anb View Post
    Should be OK if it is 80+. Nvidia recommends 500W or more for 560Ti, and personally i have a 550W running this card and [email protected] with a bunch of peripherals (4SATA devices). Runs cool and quiet.
    Yep. It's 80+ Bronze.

    [email protected] | GeForce GTX 760 | 8GB DDR3-1600MHz | Samsung 840 120GB SSD | 1+2TB HDD | Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3 | Corsair CX V2 500W
    NZXT Phantom | 2x 24" 1920x1080, 1x 22" 1920x1080 | Audio Technica ATH-M50x with ModMic | Qpad MK-80 MX Blue | Logitech G600

  18. #3898
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    This side of an imaginary line in the sand
    Posts
    3,743
    Quote Originally Posted by uggorthaholy View Post
    I go with -

    strip case down
    install backplate on mobo if there is one
    place mobo in case
    mount cpu, ram, heatsink, gpu (in that order)
    Run wiring as I see fit.

    I'm really visual, so planning wires beforehand is hard for me. I have to see everything in place in front of me.
    I do:

    - Strip case (remove panels, drive trays, etc).
    - Arrange case fans (omitting any that might get in the way of motherboard installation, which was only the top rear slot on my Define R3).
    - Install RAM, CPU and HSF on motherboard outside of case (omitting the fans on the HSF for now).
    - Place standoffs, install motherboard.
    - Wire front panel cables and some fan cables.
    - Install PSU, wire as I see fit (including SATA cables to the soon to be filled drive bays, and necessary cables to soon to be installed GPU).
    - Install HDD's, tweak wiring if necessary.
    - Stick on CPU HSF fans.
    - Install expansion cards.
    - Replace case panels.
    red panda red panda red panda!

  19. #3899
    Mechagnome Adappy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    711
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    And this is why I want to find a new job, so I can fix these issues. I think I see either an Elysium or Design Define XL in my future.

    ---------- Post added 2011-10-12 at 10:37 AM ----------



    Yeah that OC was short-lived-as-fuck.

    Even at 960MHz after a few minutes of stability my screen blacked out and the card reverted back to the factory OC from MSI of 880MHz.

    I guess I'll just stick with the proven-to-work 950MHz.
    At least it didn't do what my GTX 580 did while experimenting with running the fan at full speed (well, 85%, the highest I can set it through MSI Afterburner) with a 900MHz overclock (previously I ran it at 800MHz) to see how hot the GPU got while playing the BF3 beta... game crashed, MSI afterburner charts all spiked down to 0 then returned to their normal spots, with the clock speeds reset to stock speeds... and any time any load was put on the card it would do it again and again... until I rebooted. Even leaving it at stock speeds wouldn't work... for a while I thought I might have killed my card
    (is it bad that my first thought at the time was "it'd give me an excuse to get a Twin Frozr/DirectCUII card for a replacement?" ...although if I was going to upgrade/replace anything, I'd probably get two 2GB 6950's and see how things are on the AMD side of things these days)

  20. #3900
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,620
    Quote Originally Posted by Platinus View Post
    I just have a quick question, not worth making a thread about; Is a Corsair CX V2 500W enough to power a GTX 560Ti?
    (Already bought the PSU. Was planning to buy a 6870 but changed plans.)
    Although it's a 408w PSU, its 34 amps on the 12v rail should be enough to power the GTX 560 Ti without worries.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •