1. #4741
    Quote Originally Posted by Aiur View Post
    What sort of PSU are you both using then? Mine reaches fine and even with cable to spare..
    I currently use a Corsair HX750 and I checked it last week and it will go reach up to the top hole in the case but then won't have enough to bend down and plug in.

  2. #4742
    Quote Originally Posted by Adorada View Post
    I currently use a Corsair HX750 and I checked it last week and it will go reach up to the top hole in the case but then won't have enough to bend down and plug in.
    Doesn't the HAF X have an extension for this? o_O

  3. #4743
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    Doesn't the HAF X have an extension for this? o_O
    At work right now, but last time I checked, there wasn't any extension cable/cord for it.

    EDIT: I'm braindead, the case does indeed have an extension cable for it.
    Last edited by Adorada; 2011-11-28 at 09:51 PM.

  4. #4744
    Mechagnome dabros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Detroit, MI USA
    Posts
    514
    Quote Originally Posted by Aiur View Post
    Surely that 6/8 pin will go behind the motherboard?!
    if you are talking about the 4+4 pin CPU power, then no, it's just about 2 inches short, if that.

    if you were talking about the 6/8 pin pci-e connectors, then yes! just moved them now, i think i was just in a hurry to finish and forgot about them.
    psu is ocz tech xstream, few years old

    ---------- Post added 2011-11-28 at 04:49 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by Adorada View Post
    I currently use a Corsair HX750 and I checked it last week and it will go reach up to the top hole in the case but then won't have enough to bend down and plug in.
    lol basically the same for me

  5. #4745
    Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe you can safely put the CPU power cable between the motherboard and the tray, thus saving you a few inches (you don't have to go over to the hole and back this way). You'd probably have to pull the MB out to do it though.
    Last edited by PJSand; 2011-11-28 at 09:58 PM.

  6. #4746
    High Overlord Aiur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    England!
    Posts
    108
    What PJSand said? It will surely reach if you trail it under the motherboard.

  7. #4747
    Blademaster
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Iceland
    Posts
    25
    Case: Antec P193
    PSU: Antec CP-1000
    CPU: [email protected]
    MB: Asus P8P87pro
    RAM: 16gb Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600(4x4gb)
    HDD: 2x 1tb WD Black Series Sata3 / 2x 2tb WD Green Series Sata3
    GPU: PowerColor Radeon HD 6870X2 2GB
    Mouse: Logitech G5
    Keyboard: Logitech Classic Keyboard 200
    Screen: 24" BenQ V2410T LED
    Sound: HarmanKardon - AVR365 / Jamo S608 / Sennheiser HD380 Pro
    i7 2600k@5ghz - Asus P8p67pro - 16gb Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600mhz(4x4gb) - 2xPowerColor Radeon HD 7950 3gb 1200/6300 - Antec CP-1000w PSU - Antec P193 Case

  8. #4748
    Quote Originally Posted by Adorada View Post
    EDIT: I'm braindead, the case does indeed have an extension cable for it.
    And with it, the cable still does not reach? O_O

  9. #4749
    If you put it between the motherboard and the motherboard tray, it'll probably cause problems. Behind the motherboard tray, if the case allows for it, is best, and some alrger cases come with extensions for that.

  10. #4750
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,028
    Quote Originally Posted by FlawlessSoul View Post
    If you put it between the motherboard and the motherboard tray, it'll probably cause problems. Behind the motherboard tray, if the case allows for it, is best, and some alrger cases come with extensions for that.
    Tis where I've had mine, no problems thus far!

  11. #4751
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Aurora, Co
    Posts
    5,036
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    I hate you guys. All that was on for sale on Black Friday and within affordable range for me was Corsair Vengeance (full-heatsink versions). ;A;
    I use vengeance, its good ram, not the all out best performer, but very reliable

    unless you need low form factor.....

    i7-4790K | Z97 Class. | 8GB DDR3-2133 | GTX-690 Quad SLI | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | AX1200 | FT02
    Dell U2711 | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Steelseries Sensei Wireless | Xonar Essence One | KRK RP8G2s

  12. #4752
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    unless you need low form factor.....
    My NH-D14 does. I could have been able to fit them in the far right slots though, but I'm not really keen on the hassle.

    Though, what I'd do with 16GB RAM, again, is beyond me.

  13. #4753
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,478
    Like I always say, on the brink of boring people by now, more RAM is only ever useful if you otherwise would've run out. (.. or want to do a large RAMdisk)

  14. #4754
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ceti Alpha V
    Posts
    3,662
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    Like I always say, on the brink of boring people by now, more RAM is only ever useful if you otherwise would've run out. (.. or want to do a large RAMdisk)
    I ran out at home due to Virtual Machines. :|
    Statism: Total bliss is just one more regulation away.

  15. #4755
    quick question, do you guys think upgrading from 4gb ram to 8gb will improve my laptop's performance in bf3? Or is it just being limited by the graphics card? I've got an HP Envy with an i5, 5650m graphics card in it and getting a lot of lag in 64 player conquest on low settings ) :
    Maybe I will just lower my resolution....

  16. #4756
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,028
    Quote Originally Posted by dkimxd View Post
    quick question, do you guys think upgrading from 4gb ram to 8gb will improve my laptop's performance in bf3? Or is it just being limited by the graphics card? I've got an HP Envy with an i5, 5650m graphics card in it and getting a lot of lag in 64 player conquest on low settings ) :
    Maybe I will just lower my resolution....
    Expanding RAM will do next to nothing, the 5650m is the primary bottleneck.

  17. #4757
    Titan Synthaxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Rotherham, England/UK
    Posts
    12,991
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    ^Look at this guy showing off his read/write speeds. >_< I haaaate him soooooooooooo much!
    I wasn't intending to show off, just to try to explain the situation with HDTune
    Coder, Gamer - Thoughtcloud | NEW SITE: IOCube| Node.js Monkey | #Error418MasterRace
    Knows: Node.js, JS, JQuery, HTML, CSS, Object Pascal, PHP, WQL/SQL, Ruby

    PC: 750D / 16GB / 256GB + 750GB / GTX780 / 4670K / Z87X-UD4H | Laptop: 8GB / 120GB + 480GB / GTX765M / 4700MQ

  18. #4758
    Just ordered this friday, what do you think?

    CASE: Raidmax Helios Gaming Mid-Tower
    CPU: Intel(R) Core™ i7-2600K
    FAN: Asetek 510LC Liquid Cooling System 120MM Radiator & Fan
    HDD: 120 GB OCZ Agility 3 SSD
    MEMORY: 16GB (4GBx4) DDR3/1600MHz Corsair Vengeance
    MOTHERBOARD: GigaByte Z68AP-D3
    VIDEO: AMD Radeon HD 6950 2GB

    I got all of this plus a $99 corsair h1 headset, a tt esports challenger pro keyboard, and a corsair vengeance mouse for about $1150. I had planned on buying components and building it myself but cyberpower just seemed to have such sweet deals and I didn't think I could build it for cheaper by very much. The liquid cooling was free, and i got double memory upgrade for no additional cost.

    I'm a bit worried about the Agility 3 SSD as i've read some bad reviews on them, although some good reviews too though. Also i've had bad luck with Gigabyte mobos in the past and this isn't the nicest you can buy so i'm a little worried on that too.

    I am planning on overclocking the 2600k , haven't decided on whether or not to OC the gpu with just the stock fans on it. I do plan on adding a second 6950 as soon as I can afford to.

  19. #4759
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,028
    Quote Originally Posted by pjdell View Post
    Just ordered this friday, what do you think?

    CASE: Raidmax Helios Gaming Mid-Tower
    CPU: Intel(R) Core™ i7-2600K
    FAN: Asetek 510LC Liquid Cooling System 120MM Radiator & Fan
    HDD: 120 GB OCZ Agility 3 SSD
    MEMORY: 16GB (4GBx4) DDR3/1600MHz Corsair Vengeance
    MOTHERBOARD: GigaByte Z68AP-D3
    VIDEO: AMD Radeon HD 6950 2GB

    I got all of this plus a $99 corsair h1 headset, a tt esports challenger pro keyboard, and a corsair vengeance mouse for about $1150. I had planned on buying components and building it myself but cyberpower just seemed to have such sweet deals and I didn't think I could build it for cheaper by very much. The liquid cooling was free, and i got double memory upgrade for no additional cost.

    I'm a bit worried about the Agility 3 SSD as i've read some bad reviews on them, although some good reviews too though. Also i've had bad luck with Gigabyte mobos in the past and this isn't the nicest you can buy so i'm a little worried on that too.

    I am planning on overclocking the 2600k , haven't decided on whether or not to OC the gpu with just the stock fans on it. I do plan on adding a second 6950 as soon as I can afford to.
    'Tis good, nice build.

    That Gigabyte mishap should be a one-off, them and Asus make fairly reliable boards.
    But the Agility 3 is a point of concern. I hate making people more worried and I really hope it doesn't die/bug on you - if it does, replace it with a Crucial, Corsair or Kingston SSD as soon as you can :S

  20. #4760
    Arctic Power 700watt power supply
    ASUS P5QL PRO iP43 Socket 775 8 channel audio ATX Motherboard
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 2.5GHz Socket 775 1333FSB 4MB L2 Cach
    Sapphire HD 5750 Vapor-X Edition 1GB GDDR5 Dual DVI HDMI DisplayPort PCI-E Graphics Card
    Corsair 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 800MHz/PC2-6400 XMS2 Memory
    Samsung HD103SJ Spinpoint F3 1TB Hard Drive SATAII 7200rpm 32MB Cache
    Samsung Syncmaster SM2033SW 20" TFT Monitor 1600x900 15000:1 300cd/m2 5ms DVI/VGA Wall Mountable Glossy Black
    Microsoft Reclusa Gaming Keyboard Powered By Razer
    Logitech MX518 Optical Gaming Mouse
    Logitech Z323 2.1 Speaker System - 30W RMS with 360 Degree Sound

    Not the most impressive system I know but a good mid range option at the time of buying and it cant be to bad as I can play wow with no issues with everything on ultra.
    I am thinking of upgrading in the future though, looking at my spec above which pieces would you upgrade first?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •