1. #5681
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,141
    Well, even if it was budget I would have spent time trying to find a Phenom II instead. o_o; But that's not always possible anymore. Honestly, I'd say that even budget folks should look to the i3 2100 now if the Phenom II are unavailable or just expensive, given how rubbish the Fx series are.
    Last edited by Drunkenvalley; 2012-01-22 at 10:08 PM.

  2. #5682
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,349
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    what you do with 32GB of ram when you are bored:
    That is sweet.

    Might acturally try it someday XD
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | EVGA GTX 980 | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ Sennheiser HD8

  3. #5683
    Elemental Lord
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    America's Hat
    Posts
    8,205
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    If you have $40 lying around then get some more RAM. It's so damn cheap nowadays it's like chump change. :P
    Get modules on sale, usually pairings are on sale on Newegg and NCIX every single week, though single sticks are still pretty expensive at 60-100 bucks a pop for 1600Mhz memory.

    i5 [email protected], R9 290 Windforce, 16GB DDR3 1600, HAF XB Evo, Dark Rock Pro 3 Cooler

  4. #5684
    CPU : Amd quad core Zambezi auto-OC'd to 4.5 Ghz
    Cooler: stock (amazingly i dont go above 50 c load)
    GPU : xfx 2gb 6870
    Memory : 8gb g.skill sniper 1600
    Sound : Onboard
    Monitor : LG 23" HD Monitor
    Mouse : LG G5
    Keyboard : Razor Lycosa
    Motherboard : Asus sabertooth 990fx
    Case : Nzxt Phantom +1 200mm fan
    Power Supply : 600w Corsair psu
    Hard Drives : 320gb

  5. #5685

  6. #5686
    Yeh I went for it as budget, the I5-2500k is almost double the price fyi......and the I3 afaik isn't as good as the FX4100. I am aware that Bulldozer wasnt what it was expected to be, but I like AMD and it cant be that bad......all I want is budget that will perform well and be fairly future proof.

    Halatosis

  7. #5687
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,800
    Quote Originally Posted by Rennadrel View Post
    Get modules on sale, usually pairings are on sale on Newegg and NCIX every single week, though single sticks are still pretty expensive at 60-100 bucks a pop for 1600Mhz memory.
    I need to have a real steady income again before I even start to plan it. That should give 8GB modules some time to drop in price, anyways.

    ---------- Post added 2012-01-22 at 10:44 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzykins View Post
    ROFL holy hell, $3,000!!! XD
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  8. #5688
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,141
    Quote Originally Posted by Halatosis View Post
    Yeh I went for it as budget, the I5-2500k is almost double the price fyi......and the I3 afaik isn't as good as the FX4100. I am aware that Bulldozer wasnt what it was expected to be, but I like AMD and it cant be that bad......all I want is budget that will perform well and be fairly future proof.

    Halatosis
    The i3 2100 features a sharply better per core performance. The differences particularly showed in WoW, where it was running circles around the AMD ones. (With possible exception of the 1100T? I don't recall particularly.) And that was the Phenom II series. The Fx series were worse than the Phenom II, particularly in per-core performance.

    In other words, for WoW in particular? The item you've ordered is absolute waste of space imo. >>;

  9. #5689
    http://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu.php?...4100+Quad-Core

    According to this, its not far off those which are a hell of a lot more expensive......

  10. #5690
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,800
    The FX series also uses a lot more power than the i5-2500K for instance, and when you overclock it, it only gets worse. On top of that, where the FX4100 is more or less a fake quad core, (2 mini-cores don't equal 2 real cores, especially when they can together hardly do what a single Intel core can do) the i5-2500K is a true quad core and behaves as such, plus is also a better overclocker last I checked. Yes so the FX4100 is higher on the priceerformance chart, however the 2500K on the other chart is not far from twice the CPU Passmark scores of the FX4100.... So in essence, I would call the FX4100 a dual core, as fellow dual core (or fake quad cores like the i3-2100) are the only CPUs it can honestly compete with on the charts for actual performance.

    Honestly instead of paying $110 for a FX4100, I would have shelled out the extra $15 for one of these:

    Phenom II x4 955 BE

    and considering your older motherboard probably supports the Phenom II, you could have gone for an even higher ranked Phenom II...
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  11. #5691
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,141
    Passmark's network of sites is hardly much to look at. There's no uniformity to the testing devices. While one could've possibly argued that it weights itself out in the end there's easily possibility for ridiculous bias, or for products to land far down despite clearly not belonging there.

    As an example, they don't have HD 7970 listed at all here. Worse yet, the GTX 580 there has a higher score than the GTX 590? What the f-?

  12. #5692
    Elemental Lord
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    America's Hat
    Posts
    8,205
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    I need to have a real steady income again before I even start to plan it. That should give 8GB modules some time to drop in price, anyways.

    ---------- Post added 2012-01-22 at 10:44 PM ----------



    ROFL holy hell, $3,000!!! XD
    Yeah, but you also need a motherboard with 8 RAM slots to use that, which seems rather pointless since no one is ever going optimize that amount of memories.

    i5 [email protected], R9 290 Windforce, 16GB DDR3 1600, HAF XB Evo, Dark Rock Pro 3 Cooler

  13. #5693
    So basically, I'm waking up early in the morning and cancelling the processor before its picked and despatched, lol.

    http://www.scan.co.uk/shop/computer-...s-am3)-x6-core

    How do any of these fair up to the AMD x4 955 BE?

    Halatosis

    ---------- Post added 2012-01-22 at 11:55 PM ----------

    Oh, and Im getting the new MB anyways, cz Im downsizing the case and need one with a working PCI-e slot xD.

  14. #5694
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,800
    Quote Originally Posted by Rennadrel View Post
    Yeah, but you also need a motherboard with 8 RAM slots to use that, which seems rather pointless since no one is ever going optimize that amount of memories.
    ... I was talking about 4x8GB RAM modules. I was just laughing at the link Fuzzykins gave to Cyanotical....

    ---------- Post added 2012-01-23 at 12:07 AM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by Halatosis View Post
    So basically, I'm waking up early in the morning and cancelling the processor before its picked and despatched, lol.

    http://www.scan.co.uk/shop/computer-...s-am3)-x6-core

    How do any of these fair up to the AMD x4 955 BE?

    Halatosis

    ---------- Post added 2012-01-22 at 11:55 PM ----------

    Oh, and Im getting the new MB anyways, cz Im downsizing the case and need one with a working PCI-e slot xD.
    If you can I'd definitely suggest getting a Phenom II x6.
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  15. #5695
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,141
    http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/147

    Just go through that and find what you consider satisfying. Realize the numbers are done in a fairly boring environment though. The benches can't hold a candle to a 25man raid after all. The link above says 63.8 fps, but on the other hand the i3 2100 says 94.1 fps. o_O;

    ---------- Post added 2012-01-23 at 01:43 AM ----------

    That said, I think we drifted offtopic from your question. O_o;

    Personally, the cooler you get with the CPU is fair enough for the time being, imo. It'd be a bigger deal to get a worthwhile graphics card. What are you planning to use the computer for anyway, and what sort of budget are you on, etc?

  16. #5696
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,518
    Quote Originally Posted by Rennadrel View Post
    Yeah, but you also need a motherboard with 8 RAM slots to use that, which seems rather pointless since no one is ever going optimize that amount of memories.
    you can put 4x 8gb in a 1155 board for 32gb total, i would not advise it though, as you would need a non home edition win7, and most 1155 boards are not certified for more then 16gb of ram

    and i was seriously looking at that 64gb kit, but 32 is enough to ramdisk WoW, which means its enough fro just about any other game, and even most large video files, and even makes a good spot to store files to encrypt them, but 32gb was $380, versus, $3000 for 64gb, and personally im a little biased towards mushkin

    the only reason i would see needing more then 32gb is if you want a fully decked out SR-X with 96GB, but from what ive been reading on the E5 xeons, only the most hevily threaded applications will show an improvement on them, unlike the SR-2/dual 5690's which matched the x58/990x in games, i dont think the SR-X with dual E5's will be able to match even a 2500k for gaming, let alone a 3960x, meaning that the dual socket boards are no longer the king of computers,

    but you could make a dual 8core computer at 3Ghz with 96GB of ram, (which is close in spec to the VMware servers i build) and have a 64GB ramdisk, with 4 SSD's in RAID0 for saving and loading into the ramdisk, with 32 threads available, and 32GB of usable ram, it would make a monster workstation, but fall behind in gaming

    i7-6700K | Z170 Class. K | 16GB DDR4-3200 | GTX-980ti | Samsung 950 Pro RAID0 | SuperNOVA 1Kw P2 | Lian Li PC-07S
    ROG Swift PG348Q | Ducky DSX | Zowie ZA11 | Xonar Essence One | Tannoy Reveal 402

  17. #5697
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,800
    Cyanotical should read all posts! ^_^ I got a lot of free software from Microsoft now due to my college courses, one being 7 Professional 64 bit, and I believe the 1155 boards can support 8GB modules. :P
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  18. #5698
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,518
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Cyanotical should read all posts! ^_^ I got a lot of free software from Microsoft now due to my college courses, one being 7 Professional 64 bit, and I believe the 1155 boards can support 8GB modules. :P
    i saw the thing about the software, i get the same thing for being an adviser for cyberpatriot,

    and i know they can support 8gb dimms, but there is a difference between certified and capable, most if not all p67's and z68's are capable of running 8gb dimms, but not all of them are certified for it

    i7-6700K | Z170 Class. K | 16GB DDR4-3200 | GTX-980ti | Samsung 950 Pro RAID0 | SuperNOVA 1Kw P2 | Lian Li PC-07S
    ROG Swift PG348Q | Ducky DSX | Zowie ZA11 | Xonar Essence One | Tannoy Reveal 402

  19. #5699
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,800
    I'll have to look into it.... I think my box at least says something about 8GB modules either being capable/certified or will be....

    ---------- Post added 2012-01-23 at 01:09 AM ----------

    Asus will update QVL once the DIMMs are available on the market... I take it that's a BIOS update of some sort.
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  20. #5700
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,518
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    I'll have to look into it.... I think my box at least says something about 8GB modules either being capable/certified or will be....
    its not a huge deal, more of a double check thing, if it says it supports 8gb dimms then you are fine, if not, it will still probably support them, but you do run the risk of them not working

    i7-6700K | Z170 Class. K | 16GB DDR4-3200 | GTX-980ti | Samsung 950 Pro RAID0 | SuperNOVA 1Kw P2 | Lian Li PC-07S
    ROG Swift PG348Q | Ducky DSX | Zowie ZA11 | Xonar Essence One | Tannoy Reveal 402

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •