1. #5741
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    I have to be quite plain: Even after reading the tooltip of the features that are apparently on the non-k model I find myself only barely more aware of what the hell the damned feature does.
    Hehehe, well - it does nothing for gaming whatsoever (vpro is largely business deployment facing, and testing [or using, in a deployment scenario] Trusted Execution is only for specific scenarios which again - don't involve gamers), so perhaps I shouldn't have even bothered mentioning it to folks here. Now we've got half a page with largely boring information. :P

    More system specs!

    EDIT:
    ...wait, isn't Trusted Execution Technology just a frigging sandbox?
    Roughly speaking, largely, yes! A hardware based sandbox which is un-interceptible by the PC, including using the PRNG on the ATM which lets the TPM produce private keys for said sand-boxed applications which can't be read by the user. Ie, hardware-based DRM on-chip.

    To expand, it's lets you write software which is locked to a particular PC at the CPU level. Even the data produced by the software can be locked down in this way, so there's no threat of the data being removed from the premises on a USB stick, etc. As long as the PC is secure, so is your software/data - depending on which is more important to you (or both!).
    Last edited by Janaa; 2012-01-23 at 11:42 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by DSRilk View Post
    The true measure of a person is how they act when they know they won't get caught.

  2. #5742
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    This side of an imaginary line in the sand
    Posts
    3,743
    Almost right, except for the part about there being no difference. There are a multitude of differences between the chips and technologies available on them. Quite right that the 2600k has unlocked multipliers. This is widely considered the only difference as it is the only difference that matters to the majority of home users, but it's not the sole difference between the chips.

    For comparison:
    i7-2600 - http://ark.intel.com/products/52213
    i7-2600k - http://ark.intel.com/products/52214

    Edit: Also, the 2600 only has the IntelHD 2000 graphics for accelerated 2D (if you're not using a video card). The 2600k has the IntelHD 3000 graphics chipset instead.
    I think the biggest buzzkill for enthusiasts on a budget is the lack of VT-d on K series CPUs.
    red panda red panda red panda!

  3. #5743
    Quote Originally Posted by Asera View Post
    I think the biggest buzzkill for enthusiasts on a budget is the lack of VT-d on K series CPUs.
    HAHAHA - i detect sarcasm?
    Quote Originally Posted by DSRilk View Post
    The true measure of a person is how they act when they know they won't get caught.

  4. #5744
    Quote Originally Posted by Janaa View Post
    Etc,
    Boring information? I find it quite interesting. Except I discovered at least one of the features are clearly meant for a very specific industry given the unfamiliar terminology.

  5. #5745
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    17,300
    Quote Originally Posted by Notarget View Post
    Nothing too special just something I put together, on a small budget, that will work until I move within then next year or so.

    MB: ASUS P8H61-M PRO
    SSD: Crucial m4 64GB
    Too bad that motherboard doesn't support SATA III. Poor bottlenecked SSD! I do hope in the future you plan to get an H67 (at least) chipset motherboard so you can use the SSD to its full functions, otherwise that looks like a nice clean rig!
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  6. #5746
    Epic! Skelly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Haligonia, NS, Canada
    Posts
    1,676
    Quote Originally Posted by Janaa View Post
    it lets you write software which is locked to a particular PC at the CPU level. Even the data produced by the software can be locked down in this way, so there's no threat of the data being removed from the premises on a USB stick, etc. As long as the PC is secure, so is your software/data - depending on which is more important to you (or both!).
    That is SOOOO cool!! (actually)
    i7 930 @ 4.0Ghz | Sapphire HD5970 w/ Accelero Xtreme | ASUS P6X58D Premium | 32GB Kingston DDR3-1600
    Xonar Essence STX | 128GB Vertex 4 | AX750 | Xigmatek Elysium
    Laing D5 | XSPC RX 360mm | Koolance RP-452X2 | EK-Supreme HF
    Dell 3007WFP-HC | Samsung BX2350 | Das Keyboard Model S Ultimate | Razer Naga Molten | Sennheiser HD650

  7. #5747
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,526
    Quote Originally Posted by Skelly View Post
    That is SOOOO cool!! (actually)
    TPM based encryption does the same thing

    i7-6700K | Z170 Class. K | 16GB DDR4-3200 | GTX-980ti | Samsung 950 Pro RAID0 | SuperNOVA 1Kw P2 | Lian Li PC-07S
    ROG Swift PG348Q | Ducky DSX | Zowie ZA11 | Xonar Essence One | Tannoy Reveal 402

  8. #5748
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    This side of an imaginary line in the sand
    Posts
    3,743
    Quote Originally Posted by Janaa View Post
    HAHAHA - i detect sarcasm?
    No. I actually hate not having I/O virtualization extensions on my 2500K. >:|
    red panda red panda red panda!

  9. #5749
    The Patient Azome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    290
    Here's mine guys

    CPU: Intelcore 2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz

    RAM: 3 GB DDR2-SDRAM

    Graphic card: MSI Twin Frozer II

    MotherBoard: IPIBL-LA(Berkeley)

    PSU: Corsair AX850

    HDD: WD 320 GB

    CASE: Corsair Graphite 600T white

    Ok some of you are going to scream "OVERKILL" or maybe just "wtf just happen"

    Well the deal here is that some time ago i started to read this section of the forum and realized how easy it was to build a computer myself

    Did quite amount of research especially the about cases and I just felt in love with the Corsair graphite 600T white.

    Then one day on my way home from school i thought I'd swing by the local hardware store and they had it on sale for a "good price" the salesman told me, well it was a combo with the AX850, ye right everything is cheaper online so after a fair amount of time talking to this guy i went home and went online and found it. He didn't lie it was cheap well for the combo it was cheap so the next day i went back with the intention of buy the lot. I walked in and the same guy came up to me and i told him that i wanted to buy the combo. He looked like a bit sad and told me that it was no longer for sale as a combo and the price tag was way higher now for either of them. I was a bit disappointed and just started talking to him again and after yet another fair amount of time his boss comes up to us and i told him my situation, he looked at me and smiled "guess we can extend that combo for just one day" i was so happy!!

    So now you got the story about overkill PSU but what about the GPU? well i would have bought everything else at once as one is suppose to but.

    One of my class mate bought a really nice rig just before xmas and he got the parts just in time for him to look at it and then go away for the holiday, kinda sad to have everything ready to build but don't have the opportunity to put it together. The rig had a 560 TI and long story short his parents wanted to surprise him and gave him a GTX 590, ended up buying it from him for half the price. again happy me

    So what i need now is a new MoBo, CPU, RAM, CPU, cpu cooler and maybe a SSD.


    Sry for bad light in this pic :/







    Hope you enjoy this and expect a followup at some point.
    Last edited by Azome; 2012-01-24 at 10:37 PM.

  10. #5750
    Elemental Lord
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    America's Hat
    Posts
    8,735
    I have a 780 watt Thermaltake Comet PSU, and I doubt I will need to replace it unless I did a Crossfire of two HD7970's or something similar.

    Congrats to the 8 fools who made the ignore list, your ignorance knows no bounds, bravo!

  11. #5751
    Woohoo! My waterblock and the watercooling setup have shipped! However, the case was set back by a week now. Got the mail earlier today. Motherf-...

  12. #5752
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    17,300
    Quote Originally Posted by Azome View Post
    Graphic card: MSI Twin Frozer II
    PSU: Corsair AX850
    What is the GPU? The actual chip? =S Like GTX 560 Ti/AMD Radeon 6950... etc.

    Probably more wattage than you need, but eh. :P
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  13. #5753
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    What is the GPU? The actual chip? =S Like GTX 560 Ti/AMD Radeon 6950... etc.

    Probably more wattage than you need, but eh. :P
    He said it in the story at the end. He bought a 560ti from his buddy for half price.

  14. #5754
    Elemental Lord Notarget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    8,417
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Too bad that motherboard doesn't support SATA III. Poor bottlenecked SSD! I do hope in the future you plan to get an H67 (at least) chipset motherboard so you can use the SSD to its full functions, otherwise that looks like a nice clean rig!
    Last time I checked my SSD is connected through a SATA 6Gb/s connector and cable, unless I'm missing something? My board should come with 2 x SATA 6Gb/s and 4 x SATA 3Gb/s.

    CPU: Intel i7-4790k 4.7GHz MB: ASUS Z97 Pro Gamer
    GPU: Gigabyte GTX 970 G1-Gaming 1519MHz Boost RAM: Corsair Pro 16GB 1866MHz
    SSD: Samsung 850-EVO 500GB PSU: Corsair RM550 CASE: Phanteks Enthoo Pro Monitor: 1440p Dell U2515H 1080p LG 237L-BN IPS
    Current build! (not updated) ||Old Build || Antivirus + Security 10 || AV-TEST 2016

  15. #5755
    I am Murloc! Fuzzykins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    5,219
    Update your Firmware. Though in hindsight, those are really good speeds. o.o

    NVM, didn't read. Yeah, that's past SATA II bottleneck.

  16. #5756
    Elemental Lord Notarget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    8,417
    Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzykins View Post
    Update your Firmware. Though in hindsight, those are really good speeds. o.o

    NVM, didn't read. Yeah, that's past SATA II bottleneck.
    Thanks didn't notice the firmware update until you said something. Sorry I'm confused, are you saying there is a bottleneck occurring or not?
    CPU: Intel i7-4790k 4.7GHz MB: ASUS Z97 Pro Gamer
    GPU: Gigabyte GTX 970 G1-Gaming 1519MHz Boost RAM: Corsair Pro 16GB 1866MHz
    SSD: Samsung 850-EVO 500GB PSU: Corsair RM550 CASE: Phanteks Enthoo Pro Monitor: 1440p Dell U2515H 1080p LG 237L-BN IPS
    Current build! (not updated) ||Old Build || Antivirus + Security 10 || AV-TEST 2016

  17. #5757
    I am Murloc! Fuzzykins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    5,219
    Quote Originally Posted by Notarget View Post
    Thanks didn't notice the firmware update until you said something. Sorry I'm confused, are you saying there is a bottleneck occurring or not?
    You're not being bottlenecked, no.

  18. #5758
    Elemental Lord Notarget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    8,417
    Thanks, at least I can thank Deltru (and you) for making sure and get my firmware updated

    Silly question maybe but can you update the firmware through a mounted image (Daemon) ?

    ---------- Post added 2012-01-25 at 02:46 AM ----------

    I figured since it's a builds thread it's okay to post this, if not a mod can delete it it is a builds thread after all, right.

    Swifty's new PC, funny to see what people with money but not too much computer knowledge gets, Speaking of RAM overkill (Epic Mealtime "ripoff"):

    Last edited by Notarget; 2012-01-25 at 01:46 AM.
    CPU: Intel i7-4790k 4.7GHz MB: ASUS Z97 Pro Gamer
    GPU: Gigabyte GTX 970 G1-Gaming 1519MHz Boost RAM: Corsair Pro 16GB 1866MHz
    SSD: Samsung 850-EVO 500GB PSU: Corsair RM550 CASE: Phanteks Enthoo Pro Monitor: 1440p Dell U2515H 1080p LG 237L-BN IPS
    Current build! (not updated) ||Old Build || Antivirus + Security 10 || AV-TEST 2016

  19. #5759
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,526
    a PSU, is only too much or a waste when you are on a budget, there is technically nothing wrong with using a 1500w PSU in a 200w HTPC, whats wrong is when you are on a budget and you can spend less on a PSU and more elsewhere, then you have overkill

    i7-6700K | Z170 Class. K | 16GB DDR4-3200 | GTX-980ti | Samsung 950 Pro RAID0 | SuperNOVA 1Kw P2 | Lian Li PC-07S
    ROG Swift PG348Q | Ducky DSX | Zowie ZA11 | Xonar Essence One | Tannoy Reveal 402

  20. #5760
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,663
    That I will personally never agree with. A suitable PSU is always better, in my book.
    However, while I don't agree with your opinion, I'd fight to the death for your right to express it. :P

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •