1. #6241
    cpu:i5-2500k
    ram:16gb gskill ripjaws(dunno which)
    graphic:hd6950
    mainboard:asus p8 67
    mouse:g5
    monitor:asus27"+samsung22"+samsung32"

  2. #6242
    Field Marshal pootispencer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Water Temple.
    Posts
    53

    Post

    Nothing special here , only 1gb of ram , 128 mb video card and a weak processor (1.1 GHZ).
    P.S it's 9 years old
    It's not that bad , really , I can still do heroics and stuff, but not raids.

  3. #6243
    Warchief Kivimetsan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    A fascistic nightmare...
    Posts
    2,188
    Oh you're all gonna be mirin my setup

    Core 2 duo 3.0 ghz, 2gb ddr2 ram, amd 4800 (got a 4850 that I might chuck in my pc to bump up its shitness)

    Biggest piece of crap, I can barely play BF3 and playing wow is even dodgy especially high pop realms.

    Gonna upgrade to i7, probably spend around $900-$1100 cos I hav peripherals and stuff.

    Oh also you wanna know my peripherals? Dell mouse and keyboard from early 2000s and a 24"" Asus HDMI (no idea what its called). Its the best part of my setup hahahah....

    Accepting donations

  4. #6244
    Quote Originally Posted by Kivimetsan View Post
    Gonna upgrade to i7, probably spend around $900-$1100 cos I hav peripherals and stuff.
    No point in the I7 if all you do is game... go with the 2500K
    WoW - Windrunner: Snozzberries, Googs, Boryndon, Corndizzle, Kaylin, Georgejetson, Lentis, Knerd, Durlen, Marlevon


  5. #6245
    Stood in the Fire bumrush's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Between the third and fourth circle of hell
    Posts
    411

    Cool

    My setup is starting to age a bit, but I am waiting for Ivy Bridge before I do any more upgrading.

    Desktop:
    AMD Phenom II 955 Black Edition (overclocked to 3.8GHz on liquid cooling)
    16 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
    Dual Nvidia GTX470s in SLI
    Western Digital Velociraptor 300GB (with several 1TB storage drives)
    Corsair 1250W Power Supply
    42" LG LCD display
    Logitech G15 (gen 1) keyboard
    Razer Naga with Razer Goliathus mousepad.

    Laptops:
    Alienware M11x R2: Core i5, 4GB DDR3 1333, Nvidia GTS 335m
    Sager NP8170 17.3": Core i7 2670qm (2.2GHz), 8GB DDR3 1333, 2GB Radeon 6990M <- work laptop... believe it or not.

    I also have a 100Mb down, 7Mb up internet connection

    http://i174.photobucket.com/albums/w...2-08224725.jpg
    http://i174.photobucket.com/albums/w...2-08224615.jpg

    note: that giant grey thing is my center speaker.

    < use thumbnails! > But then how do I make people with slow connections cry? j/k
    Last edited by bumrush; 2012-02-25 at 01:04 AM.

    Desktop: AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition @ 3.8GHz, 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, Dual Nvidia GTX 470 SLI
    Laptop: 2.2GHz Core i7, 8GB DDR3 1333, 2GB Radeon HD 6990

  6. #6246
    Brewmaster Ghâzh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    1,298
    That looks like the most unconfortable configuration ever Not only is the screen too big but also above your eye-level. Chair looks nice though.
    Originally Posted by Blizzard (Blue Tracker / Official Forums)
    WoW has been a CPU-bound game for much of its lifetime.

  7. #6247
    Stood in the Fire bumrush's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Between the third and fourth circle of hell
    Posts
    411
    Quote Originally Posted by Ghâzh View Post
    That looks like the most unconfortable configuration ever Not only is the screen too big but also above your eye-level. Chair looks nice though.
    Good catch, the 42" just replaced a 24" monitor that worked fine like this.

    It is okay if I recline, but you are correct about this. It is a temporary situation though. I have some crazyness I am doing this weekend and will post it. It involves a reclining leather sofa, a coffee table that has a surface that elevates to a sort of desk-top and then i am putting this bastard at eye level with a TV stand.

    But yeah, the chair is more comfortable then my bed.

    Desktop: AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition @ 3.8GHz, 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, Dual Nvidia GTX 470 SLI
    Laptop: 2.2GHz Core i7, 8GB DDR3 1333, 2GB Radeon HD 6990

  8. #6248
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,297
    Your center speaker is way too close to you to have the desired effect, tbqh.
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  9. #6249
    Stood in the Fire
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Redding,Ca
    Posts
    407
    Finally I can put some pictures up, you'll have to excuse the lack of cable management.

    Case: HAF 932
    MoBo: ASUS P8Z68-V/ Gen 3
    CPU: i7-2600k(currently at 4.4ghz per core, just used the optimal button in UEFI)
    Cooler: Noctua NH-D14
    Memory: 2x4gb G. Skill Ripjaw
    GPU: MSI Twin Frozr II 2gb GTX 560
    PSU: OCZ ModXStream - Pro 700w Modular
    HDD: Western Digital 1TB Green Caviar
    Optical Drive: Sony Optiarc 24x
    Secondary HDD: Western Digital 750gb External Hard Drive

    Monitor: HP w2338h
    Keyboard: Logitech G110
    Mouse: Razer Naga
    Headset: Turtle Beach P1(which is currently not working due to the front audio ports not being recognized, not huge issue atm)

    http://i913.photobucket.com/albums/a...wRenoBuild.jpg

    http://i913.photobucket.com/albums/a...ctuaCooler.jpg

    [http://i913.photobucket.com/albums/a...0/CaseShot.jpg

    My apologies if the pics are too large, I did click the thumbnail button.

    Next time try using imgur, generally has better thumbnailing. ~Uggor
    Last edited by Uggorthaholy; 2012-02-25 at 02:43 AM.

  10. #6250
    here is a build i did for my boss's son for his birthday

    case - haf 922
    mobo - ga-z68
    cpu - i5 2500k @ 4.0
    cpu cooler - hyper 212 evo
    ram - 8gigs gskill ripjaws 1600mhz
    gpu - hd 6870
    hdd - 500g caviar blue
    psu - ocz 600 modular 80+









  11. #6251
    You did so well with the cables, but why didn't you bother with the 24 pin and that molex?
    WoW - Windrunner: Snozzberries, Googs, Boryndon, Corndizzle, Kaylin, Georgejetson, Lentis, Knerd, Durlen, Marlevon


  12. #6252
    because i didnt have enough lol

    that cable sleeving is extra i had left from a project im working on so i used what i had on his *only buy mdpc-x cable sleeving its the best!*

    plus he didnt pay me anything i built it for him to help him as he was going to buy a dell from bestbuy LOL and cable sleeving is time envolved

  13. #6253
    err... actually the 6 pins... didn't click, only saw the thumbnails
    WoW - Windrunner: Snozzberries, Googs, Boryndon, Corndizzle, Kaylin, Georgejetson, Lentis, Knerd, Durlen, Marlevon


  14. #6254
    yea i didnt do any single cable braiding i only had sata cable size left so i did the fans and 1 of the sata cables didnt bother with the rest really

    if your talking about running the 2 pci-e 6 pins behind the tray its because there was no easy way to route them and come out the side that looked good and its only temp since he is getting a 2nd 6870

    when i put the 2nd 6870 in for him in 2 months ill route all 4 of the 6pins around somewhere

    as far as the molex for the lights they were a after thought and something he asked for last min that i tossed in before snapping pictures =)

    thought u were talking about sleeving not management
    Last edited by Flcrewpolo; 2012-02-25 at 04:59 AM.

  15. #6255
    Epic! Iamanerd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    1,746
    Well finally built my first computer with the help of my friend!
    Specs:
    Case: Cooler Master HAF 912
    PSU: Seasonic X series X650 gold (650W)(modular is simply amazing for wiring!)
    MoBo: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe LGA 1155 Intel P67
    CPU: Intel Core i5 2500k@ 3.3GHz (just built today but i'm going to OC it soon)
    CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-U9B
    GPU: GIGABYTE 1GB radeon HD 6950
    RAM: G.SKILL Sniper series 2x 4GB DDR3 2133mHz
    SSD: Crucial M4 128GB
    BD: Pioneer Blue ray burner
    HDD: WD Caviar Black 500GB 7200 RPM(on its way was delayed for some reason)
    HDD is in now!
    pics:


    Last edited by Iamanerd; 2012-02-26 at 06:37 PM.
    Intel I5-2500k @4.8Ghz| Noctua NH-U9B | Asus P67 Deluxe | 16GB G.SKILL Ares 2133Mhz
    Samsung 840 EVO 500GB/1TB | 512GB MX100 | 1TB WD Black x2 | 2TB WD Black |3TB WD Green NAS x2
    MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G | SeasonicX 650 | NXZT H440 | Asus PB278Q | Razor Naga Molten Edition | CM Quick Fire Rapid TK
    Asus Xonar Essense STX | Presonus E5 x2 | Takstar HiFi 2050's

  16. #6256
    doesnt look bad for your first build and parts list is pretty decent i would consider cleaning up the cable management a little
    start with flipping the hard drive around the other way so you can route the cables in the back =)

  17. #6257
    Just bought one of these bad boys:

    http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820220624

    174.99 for a 120GB SandForce based SATA III SSD. Plus it has a 40 dollar Mail In Rebate.

  18. #6258
    My rig, 2,5 years old now:
    i7 920 running at stock 2,67 ghz, cooled with a Mugen3
    Foxconn Flamingblade motherboard
    6gb DDR3
    HD6870 (replaced my 4890 last december)
    2x 1TB + 2x 2TB hdd's (last two bought about 2 weeks before the flooding, thankfully, so only 60 euro's / piece)

    This all fitted in a Coolermaster HAF912plus.
    Periphals: Hansol 17inch CRT + LG 42inch fullhd-LCD tv, Logitech G15, Logitech M500 + Microsoft Wireless 7000, Brother HL2030 + Canon MP140, US Blaster 2.1 + Logitech Clear Chat headset.

    Now, I've always wanted to overclock my CPU, esp since my CPU is what limits me in WoW (or else: it would be the only thing I think would limit it, running on a mere 30fps in raids on high/ultra (120 in the less busy parts of Stormwind) )
    In order to ocerclok, I had to replace the stock cooler, which required a new casing. So last summer I bought the Mugen3 and the HAF912. Temperatures after applying these two have dropped considerably. Running on stock speed, the temperatures (in celcius) are 20-30 (CPU) 45-50 (GPU), in load, both go up about 10-15.
    I've always had problems with my motherboard, it was delivered with an overclocking app that never ran on the 64bit OS that you would expect to run on an i7 920, and Foxconn stopped updating anything after 2009.
    I looked up, read and printed several guides for overclocking, and every single one of them told me I should easily be able to get to 3.2 ghz without upping the voltage, 3.5 should also be within reach. I tried, and got as far as 3.2. I then upped the voltage a little bit (far below the max voltage given by Intel for my CPU) and managed to get it to run on 3.4, however, when trying to get it to go on 3.5, something went wrong. My windows refused to boot and my bios bugged out constantly. I had to reinstall my windows, and for the first 3 weeks had to reset and reconfigure my BIOS every time I booted. This last part seems to have ceased, however, there are still some strange bugs in my windows. Like a weekly jump in time. Both minutes and seconds remain accurate, but on the night of saturday on sunday, the hours shifts from 22/23 to 15/16. Strange too is the instability of programs that use the internet (excluding games). Windows Live Messenger and all the browsers that I have installed (Chrome, Explorer and Opera) are incredibly unstable and can hang at any give moment. I've checked my drivers, checked my temps, checked my memory (a night long windows memory integrety check resulted in nothing), checked my CPU (a night and a day long under full load in Prime95, again no errors), nothing seems to be wrong, so I'm currently looking at my Motherboard for the cause of my troubles (this also would explain the time issue)

    Sorry for such a long story, but I felt it needed to explain why my CPU was still running on stock.

    I do however enjoy my keyboard, mice and audio devices. The US blaster 2.1 set is about 8 years old now but still produces crystal clear and rich sounds, the Brother HL2030 is the best printer I've ever had, lasting 3 heavy-duty university years with one toner and 2 drums (6.000 prints, still 3.000 to go) and fast as hell. The only thing that saddens me is my own promise, not to buy a new monitor until my old CRT has died. It is currently more than 10 years old, and I don't think it will die in the near future, if ever at all. Damn you sturdy old computer parts!

    edit: Looking up pictures now, should have some\
    Edit 2: Can't provide images right now because I just fucking dropped my Transformer tablet on the ground deforming the power-plug, I hate my clumsyness and it might just have cost me a hell of a lot of money to repair it
    Edit 3: found a pic:

    This was before I bought the two 2TB's, which are located on top of the HDD's you see on this pic (removable HDD cages ftw) and before I bought my new GPU, so the red thing you see is my old 4890
    Last edited by Tripl; 2012-02-26 at 05:25 PM.
    Originally Posted by Bashiok (Blue Tracker)
    Psshhh. Like I would actually bother reading a thread.

  19. #6259
    Herald of the Titans Platinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    2,995
    Bought a 6750 off a friend today to get rid of the stupid Intel HD 3000. I was originally going to get a 560Ti but then I got some economical issues.

    Processor: Intel Core i5-2500k Overclocked from 3.3Ghz to 4.0Ghz
    Graphics Card: Radeon HD 6750
    RAM: Corsair 4GB @1600Hz
    Harddrive: Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
    Power Supply: Corsair CX V2 500W
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3
    Case: NZXT Phantom




    Btw, would it help if I overclocked the GPU?

  20. #6260
    Fluffy Kitten Marest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    4,232
    Just got myself a new monitor, the Dell U2711.



    I went to the store yesterday to pick it up, but when I brought it home I found out that it was defect; the screen wouldn't turn on at all. So early today I drove back to the store to have it replaced. I thought it would go smoothly as it was obviously DOA and I had been in the same store talking with the same guy less than 24 hours ago. I was wrong. "Sorry sir, I can't exchange a DOA unit without my supervisor's permission". Seriously? His suggested solution to me was basically to take the damn package back home (mind, it weights 15 Kg and due to its size isn't exactly easy to carry) and come back tomorrow. This had me a bit aggravated as I knew there was one more unit in stock (not to mention that his view on customer service was a bit... sub-par). But, with strong will-power and a bit of swearing one can accomplish almost anything, and after a bit of back-and-forth I walked out of there with a functioning monitor. Then I had some problems with the parking meter, but that's another story.
    Last edited by Marest; 2012-02-26 at 05:30 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •