1. #7881
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    This side of an imaginary line in the sand
    Posts
    3,740
    Because my psu doesnt have enough power cables for the second card unfortunately.
    Ah. That's silly considering it's an 850W. xD

    What about using a couple of those dual molex to 6 pin PCIe adapters? Or is the 6970 an 8/6pin setup? I don't remember.
    red panda red panda red panda!

  2. #7882
    I think it is an 8+6 now I think about it.
    Intel i7 5820K (4.5 GHz) | MSI X99A MPower | 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury 2666MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Samsung 951PRO nVME 512GB | Crucial M550 256GB | Crucial MX200 1TB | Western Digital Caviar Black 2000GB | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Noctua NH-D15 | Fractal Define R5 | Seasonic X850

    Former author of the TankSpot.com Protection Paladin guide

  3. #7883
    Immortal Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    7,002
    Quote Originally Posted by Butler Log View Post
    Don't you have any molex to pci-e connectors?
    Not at the moment, which is why I had to drop it for the moment, the thing pissed me off to the point where I just wanted to throw it out the window lol.

    ---------- Post added 2012-07-26 at 12:56 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by Asera View Post
    Ah. That's silly considering it's an 850W. xD

    What about using a couple of those dual molex to 6 pin PCIe adapters? Or is the 6970 an 8/6pin setup? I don't remember.
    Its 8/6 yeah, didnt have any on hand at the time.

  4. #7884
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    This side of an imaginary line in the sand
    Posts
    3,740
    Wait, how did you have two cards before?
    red panda red panda red panda!

  5. #7885
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,608
    I honestly find the "upgrade" from Phenom II x6 to Ivy Bridge silly. It's your money, but it's an upgrade for the sake of upgrading rather than performance needed.
    Quote Originally Posted by Asera View Post
    Or is the 6970 an 8/6pin setup?
    The HD6970 has an 8pin/6pin layout, yes. My HD6970 comes with 8/8.

    Quote Originally Posted by b0sanac View Post
    Not at the moment, which is why I had to drop it for the moment, the thing pissed me off to the point where I just wanted to throw it out the window lol.
    What. How the heck can you buy such an awful PSU then? How can it possibly be 850w with only one setup of cables? :|
    That's bad.
    I suggest you bridge the old PSUs 24pin and route two of its PCIe-cables in through the external water cooling holes that are on every case.
    Or remove a PCIe-bracket from the back of your case to route its cables in and run it off of the external PSU.
    Last edited by tetrisGOAT; 2012-07-26 at 01:01 PM.

  6. #7886
    Immortal Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    7,002
    Quote Originally Posted by Asera View Post
    Wait, how did you have two cards before?
    Well, in my old setup I was able to use a 4pin cable for the 12v power, with this new mobo I've had to use 8, so I lost out on one 8pin connector. Complicated story lol.

    ---------- Post added 2012-07-26 at 01:04 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    I honestly find the "upgrade" from Phenom II x6 to Ivy Bridge silly. It's your money, but it's an upgrade for the sake of upgrading rather than performance needed.The HD6970 has an 8pin/6pin layout, yes. My HD6970 comes with 8/8.


    What. How the heck can you buy such an awful PSU then? How can it possibly be 850w with only one setup of cables? :|
    That's bad.
    I suggest you bridge the old PSUs 24pin and route two of its PCIe-cables in through the external water cooling holes that are on every case.
    Or remove a PCIe-bracket from the back of your case to route its cables in and run it off of the external PSU.
    Honestly I never would've thought of that lol. Also yeah its sort of a "pointless" upgrade but tbh I have noticed better fps and stuff while playing.

  7. #7887
    Can't live without Dual screen now.



    Cleaned it up, tried to keep wires out of the way on the back.


    ASUS P8P67
    i5-2500k @ 3.30GHz
    8GB RAM
    AMD HD6970
    Crucial M4 128GB

    Edit: Forgot the most important part, my PC is on the other side of the wall, so no noise at all, and I mean no noise! I just love it.
    Last edited by deef; 2012-07-26 at 02:03 PM.

  8. #7888
    Immortal Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    7,002
    Yep I hear ya, I love my dual screens haha. Also nice setup.

  9. #7889
    Quote Originally Posted by b0sanac View Post
    Because my psu doesnt have enough power cables for the second card unfortunately.
    http://www.antec.com/pdf/press/10150...ews_TPQ850.pdf
    Cables:
    The PSU comes with the following
    cables:
    • 1 x 20/24 Pin ATX
    Connector. (Non-Modular)
    • 1x 12v 8 Pin Connector.
    (Non-Modular)
    • 1x 12v 4 Pin Connector
    (Non-Modular)
    • 2x PCI-E 8Pin with 2
    detachable pins. (Non-
    Modular)
    • 2x Molex & Floppy Cable-3
    molex, 1 floppy per cable. (Modular)
    • 1x Molex Cable – 3 Molex. (Modular)
    • 1x S-ATA Cable – 3 S-ATA. (Modular)
    • 2x S-ATA cable – 4 S-ATA. (Modular)
    • 2x PCI-E cable – 1pci-e per cable. (Modular)
    You should have enough cables.

  10. #7890
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,788
    Quote Originally Posted by deef View Post
    ASUS P8P67
    i5-2500k @ 3.30GHz
    8GB RAM
    AMD HD6970
    Crucial M4 128GB
    I have this Motherboard. I hate it, with a passion. How is it treating you?
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  11. #7891
    Legendary! Bigbazz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Wales
    Posts
    6,426
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    All reference cards are loud, and they will continue to be.

    I have an HD6970, and I can easily say that it's the least noisy component of my build, wheras I cannot say the same about my Corsair PSU and Noctua NH-D14
    My HD6970 wasnt a reference model, it was a Powercolor, completely different cooler with a big ass copper pipes thing going on. Fans were still loud as hell though.

    - This thing - My old HD6970

    I think I also have a Noctua NH-D14 - Can't remember the exact model but it's a big ass heatsink with a big ass fan on both sides of it, and it's fairly silent. Infact my system since the new Windforce GTX670 upgrade is very quiet.
    Last edited by Bigbazz; 2012-07-26 at 01:33 PM.

  12. #7892
    Immortal Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    7,002
    Quote Originally Posted by n0cturnal View Post
    Semi-modular, all the cables that are plugged in are in use at the moment, which is why im missing some. Damn people need to stop reminding me of my fails >.< lol

  13. #7893
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,608
    Then the issue was the cooler, not the HD6970 in itself.

    Either way, the NH-D14 is still my loudest component.

    Quote Originally Posted by b0sanac View Post
    Semi-modular, all the cables that are plugged in are in use at the moment, which is why im missing some. Damn people need to stop reminding me of my fails >.< lol
    But it says there is a dedicated 8pin for the CPU, and there are two dedicated PCI-e cables whom both split into 8pins? What's the issue?

  14. #7894
    High Overlord animeguru08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Alone.
    Posts
    189

  15. #7895
    Legendary! Bigbazz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Wales
    Posts
    6,426
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    Then the issue was the cooler, not the HD6970 in itself.

    Either way, the NH-D14 is still my loudest component.

    But it says there is a dedicated 8pin for the CPU, and there are two dedicated PCI-e cables whom both split into 8pins? What's the issue?
    Having a check I actually have the "Noctua NH-U12P SE2" slightly different, I would not say it is my loudest component, but It's not like i've gone around measuring my components with a db meter, but the heatsink/fan is very very quiet in my computer and the graphics card is probably still the loudest part though it is very quiet.

  16. #7896
    Immortal Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    7,002
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    But it says there is a dedicated 8pin for the CPU, and there are two dedicated PCI-e cables whom both split into 8pins? What's the issue?
    Detachable, as it stands I only have one plugged in because I need other cables more. I suppose I could make room for it if I swap some things around, but thats an issue for another day.
    Last edited by Evil Inside; 2012-07-26 at 01:47 PM.

  17. #7897
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    I have this Motherboard. I hate it, with a passion. How is it treating you?
    It has it's small quirks or what you want to call them, but once you get/see past them I love it, it needs a little love, but once I get it working it's running strong. (I have the cheapest model, no pro or anything).

    Edit: It wouldn't let me update to latest firmware tho, and it took like freaking 4 hours to install Win7 Ultimate from a USB pen when I got the Crucial M4 SSD, hanging all the time.. But like I said, once it's running its treating me good.
    Last edited by deef; 2012-07-26 at 02:12 PM.

  18. #7898
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,788
    Quote Originally Posted by deef View Post
    It has it's small quirks or what you want to call them, but once you get/see past them I love it, it needs a little love, but once I get it working it's running strong. (I have the cheapest model, no pro or anything).

    Edit: It wouldn't let me update to latest firmware tho, and it took like freaking 4 hours to install Win7 Ultimate from a USB pen when I got the Crucial M4 SSD, hanging all the time.. But like I said, once it's running its treating me good.
    I meant I have the low end version too, just don't like it at all. For the $170-180 whatever I paid for it, it is very expensive, considering no SLI support and a crappy weak second PCIe lane.

    4 hours seems slow for sure, wonder why that was. What firmware do you have on your m4? I have the m4 too and you absolutely need to be on 0309 at least or a later one like 000F I believe it is.
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  19. #7899
    Elemental Lord Notarget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    8,389
    Quote Originally Posted by deef View Post
    It has it's small quirks or what you want to call them, but once you get/see past them I love it, it needs a little love, but once I get it working it's running strong. (I have the cheapest model, no pro or anything).

    Edit: It wouldn't let me update to latest firmware tho, and it took like freaking 4 hours to install Win7 Ultimate from a USB pen when I got the Crucial M4 SSD, hanging all the time.. But like I said, once it's running its treating me good.
    Actually I had the same issue a while back and when i looked up the issue it turned out it was a USB device making the install hang at a certain point. It could also be other devices but my fix was to unplug my mouse and keyboard. After that there was no issue.
    CPU: Intel i7-4790k 4.7GHz MB: ASUS Z97 Pro Gamer
    GPU: Gigabyte GTX 970 G1-Gaming 1519MHz Boost RAM: Corsair Pro 16GB 1866MHz
    SSD: Samsung 850-EVO 500GB PSU: Corsair RM550 CASE: Phanteks Enthoo Pro Monitor: 1440p Dell U2515H 1080p LG 237L-BN IPS
    Current build! (not updated) ||Old Build || Antivirus + Security 10 || AV-TEST 2016

  20. #7900
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,129
    I have to admit, I really do find the copper and shining silver-like color mixes quite well.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •