1. #10081
    To be fair though, that MSI board probably cost twice as much as the Gigabyte one, Majesticii.
    Intel i5 2500K (4.5 GHz) | Asus Z77 Sabertooth | 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Crucial M4 128GB | Crucial M550 256GB | Asus Xonar DGX | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB | Noctua NH-U12P SE2 | Fractal Design Arc Midi | Corsair HX650

    Tanking with the Blessing of Kings - The TankSpot Guide to the Protection Paladin - Updated for Patch 5.4!

  2. #10082
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    Far from the truth. Performance loss is within 5%

    Here's a good read. http://hardocp.com/article/2010/08/2...16x16_vs_x8x8/
    I might be quick-glancing here. But i'm not reading anything about 16x4x mode.

  3. #10083
    Mechagnome Stravs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Uk Cumbrian Lake District
    Posts
    711
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    If you're not bothered with it, or have no constructive arguments, then i suggest you don't criticise.

    About the VRM cooling. You be the judge which gets you the best milage.
    http://images.bit-tech.net/content_i...gd80/gd802.jpg
    vs
    http://www.warcom.com.au/shop_image/...d8ea567c74.jpg
    Wow :/ .... Name me a scenario where I would see any *real* benefit from having 16x over 8x or any other? I ain't bothered at all matey you're the one getting all defensive I was just stating the obvious.


    Not getting into this good night
    i5 2500k @ 4.2ghz-Asus Sabertooth P67 B3 8gb Corsair XMS-3
    EVGA GTX 670 4tw 4gb
    CreativeX-Fi Titanium Pro paired with (Corsair SP2500)
    Corsair HX850
    250gb Samsung 840 ssd
    Silverstone Raven 3

  4. #10084
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,242
    Quote Originally Posted by Stravs View Post
    Wow :/ .... Name me a scenario where I would see any *real* benefit from having 16x over 8x or any other? I ain't bothered at all matey you're the one getting all defensive I was just stating the obvious.


    Not getting into this good night
    In terms of PCI-E 2.0, which is what you and I have, 16x is just under the amount required for a 690, by about 5%, so you wouldn't lose too much of the data, but PCI-E 2.0 is getting phased out for a reason.
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  5. #10085
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,847
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    I might be quick-glancing here. But i'm not reading anything about 16x4x mode.
    http://www.hardocp.com/article/2010/...x16x16_vs_x4x4 Wrong link. Confusing bookmarks.

    And we're off-topic now. I'll just pretend no one contributed, least of all me, and let's bring us back on track, shall we?

  6. #10086
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by Stravs View Post
    Wow :/ .... Name me a scenario where I would see any *real* benefit from having 16x over 8x or any other? I ain't bothered at all matey you're the one getting all defensive I was just stating the obvious.


    Not getting into this good night
    For the third time, i'm talking 16x4x mode on a SLI/CF system. There is a reason 16x4x boards only have CF. Because the nvidia SLI license isn't free like AMD's crossfire license. Because CF/SLI is shit on 16x4x boards, brands don't purchase the SLI license.

    Yeah i know Tetris, but it doesn't help when people don't read and i have to repeat myself. That causes the flooding.

    EDIT;
    Btw, the 5% is just too average. It varies on the game, and 16x4x can be really crippling at some games.
    I've tested it myself back when i had the P7P55D (hacked BIOS for SLI license), swapped to MSI P55-GD80.
    http://i.imgur.com/nw4aQRJ.jpg
    Last edited by Majesticii; 2013-02-02 at 10:26 PM.

  7. #10087
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    About the VRM cooling. You be the judge which gets you the best milage.
    http://images.bit-tech.net/content_i...gd80/gd802.jpg
    vs
    http://limages.vr-zone.net/body/1570...vlk_1.jpg.jpeg
    Yeah, I definitely see where I have made a bad choice on VRM cooling, might get a new mobo in a few paychecks, or I might just wait till haswell's benches and see if it's worth upgrading, and if it is, just sell my i7 and mobo

  8. #10088
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by Kevin38924 View Post
    Yeah, I definitely see where I have made a bad choice on VRM cooling, might get a new mobo in a few paychecks, or I might just wait till haswell's benches and see if it's worth upgrading, and if it is, just sell my i7 and mobo
    For now, stick with what you have. No point in replacing as long as it works. Just keep it in mind next time you buy.

  9. #10089
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Hell mine can only manage 16x1x. I wish I could just make it 8x8x instead. lol
    My board does PCI-e 3.0 x16 and PCI-e 2.0 x16 but in Crossfire the second slot only operates at x4.

  10. #10090
    Legendary! Holo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    In the Shadows
    Posts
    6,288
    The Z77-V LK does 8x8x 3.0 in CF/SLI.

    ---------- Post added 2013-02-03 at 12:30 AM ----------

    Not my setup, but just spot this on Facebook feature from BF3's Setup Saturday:

    https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.n...53499630_n.jpg

    Now, isn't that amazing? :O

    i5-3570k @ 4.4GHz|8GB DDR3 1600MHz|EVGA GTX 670 FTW x2 SLI|Samsung 830 128GB SSD

  11. #10091
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,242
    Quote Originally Posted by Holo View Post

    Not my setup, but just spot this on Facebook feature from BF3's Setup Saturday:

    https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.n...53499630_n.jpg

    Now, isn't that amazing? :O
    Not bad, but I imagine having that all in your lower-peripheral vision would be insanely distracting.
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  12. #10092
    Legendary! Holo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    In the Shadows
    Posts
    6,288
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Not bad, but I imagine having that all in your lower-peripheral vision would be insanely distracting.
    I reckon he can turn off the big lights

    i5-3570k @ 4.4GHz|8GB DDR3 1600MHz|EVGA GTX 670 FTW x2 SLI|Samsung 830 128GB SSD

  13. #10093
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,242
    Quote Originally Posted by Holo View Post
    I reckon he can turn off the big lights
    I suppose, but I'd probably end up covering a lot of it up. lol
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  14. #10094
    That'd just distract me.
    Intel i5 2500K (4.5 GHz) | Asus Z77 Sabertooth | 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Crucial M4 128GB | Crucial M550 256GB | Asus Xonar DGX | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB | Noctua NH-U12P SE2 | Fractal Design Arc Midi | Corsair HX650

    Tanking with the Blessing of Kings - The TankSpot Guide to the Protection Paladin - Updated for Patch 5.4!

  15. #10095
    Herald of the Titans shroudster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,890
    Quote Originally Posted by Holo View Post
    The Z77-V LK does 8x8x 3.0 in CF/SLI.

    ---------- Post added 2013-02-03 at 12:30 AM ----------

    Not my setup, but just spot this on Facebook feature from BF3's Setup Saturday:

    https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.n...53499630_n.jpg

    Now, isn't that amazing? :O
    isn't that the swordfish from scan 3xs? (looks very very similar to it else)

  16. #10096
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,242
    Quote Originally Posted by shroudster View Post
    isn't that the swordfish from scan 3xs? (looks very very similar to it else)
    I think it might be inspired by it or be an update.
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  17. #10097
    Quote Originally Posted by Rennadrel View Post
    My board does PCI-e 3.0 x16 and PCI-e 2.0 x16 but in Crossfire the second slot only operates at x4.
    So glad my motherboard does 8x / 8x PCIE 3.0 , I'm only running one card but, my Noctua DH14 is a bit too big, so I can't actually fit my GPU in the first slot.

    That said, it'd just be better if it had a little more space between the CPU socket and the first PCIE slot, an extra cm or 2 would be good.
    Kuroiwolf - 90 Brewmaster Monk
    Youtube Account Twitch TV
    Computer: Intel I7-3770k @ 4.5GHz | 16GB 1600MHz DDR3 RAM | AMD 7970 GHz @ 1200/1600 | ASUS Z77-V PRO Mobo|

  18. #10098
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,242
    Quote Originally Posted by Yohassakura View Post
    So glad my motherboard does 8x / 8x PCIE 3.0 , I'm only running one card but, my Noctua DH14 is a bit too big, so I can't actually fit my GPU in the first slot.

    That said, it'd just be better if it had a little more space between the CPU socket and the first PCIE slot, an extra cm or 2 would be good.
    Oh my. Please post a picture!
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  19. #10099
    Herald of the Titans shroudster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,890
    Quote Originally Posted by Yohassakura View Post
    So glad my motherboard does 8x / 8x PCIE 3.0 , I'm only running one card but, my Noctua DH14 is a bit too big, so I can't actually fit my GPU in the first slot.

    That said, it'd just be better if it had a little more space between the CPU socket and the first PCIE slot, an extra cm or 2 would be good.
    hmm thought distances between cpu socket and first PCIe slot were the same for every mobo pretty much?
    i managed to fit my 670 with backplate below my dh14. (there is perhaps 2-3mm between the gpu and cpu cooler )

    also how come your banner is still up?

  20. #10100
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,242
    Quote Originally Posted by shroudster View Post
    hmm thought distances between cpu socket and first PCIe slot were the same for every mobo pretty much?
    i managed to fit my 670 with backplate below my dh14. (there is perhaps 2-3mm between the gpu and cpu cooler )

    also how come your banner is still up?
    Since his isn't making Chrome flip out, I imagine the issue was fixed and you could fix your banner now, too.
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •