1. #10721
    Quote Originally Posted by Maemae View Post
    is that the galant desk from ikea? how do u like it? i need more desk room but still deciding.
    I have a Galant desk and it's fantastic; there's so much space and there's extensions for each end.
    3930K . RIVE . 2x 7970 . Cosmos II . AX1200 . 3x Dell U2312hm
    Computer Setup / DH / huntard

  2. #10722
    Brewmaster Sarithus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,253
    Quote Originally Posted by Maemae View Post
    is that the galant desk from ikea? how do u like it? i need more desk room but still deciding.
    Yeah, indeed it is. It's a fairly good desk. I bought it for the height adjustment at the time. Well I think this is probably one of the smallest desks you can get, so I wouldn't recommend it if you're needing space. Other than that, it's very sturdy.
    My Warrior
    Arms Proving Grounds Guide
    When you walk among the Black Forest...you will see.

  3. #10723
    Elemental Lord Notarget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    8,374
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Haha fair enough! I couldn't be sure what your mouse and keyboard are from this far away. Tell us, what are your peripherals? I see the whole computer setup itself in your sig, but your mouse, keyboard, headset/phones, mic, monitor! And what are the posters?
    Sidewinder X4 and Logitech G400 I think? rest I'm not sure about.

    @Sarithus

    Looking good, glad it all turned out good and you're welcome!
    CPU: Intel i7-4790k 4.7GHz MB: ASUS Z97 Pro Gamer
    GPU: Gigabyte GTX 970 G1-Gaming 1519MHz Boost RAM: Corsair Pro 16GB 1866MHz
    SSD: Samsung 850-EVO 500GB PSU: Corsair RM550 CASE: Phanteks Enthoo Pro Monitor: 1440p Dell U2515H 1080p LG 237L-BN IPS
    Current build! (not updated) ||Old Build || Antivirus + Security 10 || AV-TEST 2016

  4. #10724
    Quote Originally Posted by Sarithus View Post
    Well I think this is probably one of the smallest desks you can get, so I wouldn't recommend it if you're needing space. Other than that, it's very sturdy.
    Just get one with a bigger table :P I also got one and i got plenty of space. Id say, geussing from your pic mine is about 1.5x as long

  5. #10725
    Brewmaster Sarithus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,253
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Haha fair enough! I couldn't be sure what your mouse and keyboard are from this far away. Tell us, what are your peripherals? I see the whole computer setup itself in your sig, but your mouse, keyboard, headset/phones, mic, monitor! And what are the posters?
    Notarget got them. Mouse is Logitech G400 and the Keyboard is a Sidewinder x4. Headset is incredibly old, and I've had like 8 pairs of them just because I'm familiar with the sound: Creative fatality. I like my cheap peripherals, they do they job. ;P Mic is a Samson CO1U condenser mic and the monitor is Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM.

    Posters are of Walter from Breaking Bad, 2 LoTR ones and the other is from the Dark Knight rises. Crap movie, I just like Bane, lol.
    My Warrior
    Arms Proving Grounds Guide
    When you walk among the Black Forest...you will see.

  6. #10726
    Immortal Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    7,002
    I feel like I need to do a proper post about my setup like all you guys haha.
    ||i5 3570k @ 4.4GHz||H100 push/pull||AsRock Z77 Extreme4||16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1600MHz||Gigabyte Windforce GTX 970|| Coolermaster Storm Trooper||Corsair TX850 Enthusiast Series||Samsung 840 Pro 128gb(boot drive)||1TB WD HDD, 2x 3TB WD HDD, 2TB WD HDD||

    Bdk Nagrand / Astae Nagrand
    Pokemon X FC: 4656-7679-2545/Trainer Name: Keno

  7. #10727
    Thought I was gonna test my phone camera and upload a few pictures of my main rig before I install my Titan and get my RMA replacement for my H100i. Cable management is so so atm due to taking the H100i out temporarily. The cooler that is in there now is a H60.




    Last edited by Lemmiwink; 2013-03-20 at 10:01 PM. Reason: Incoming, need to scale down pictures.

  8. #10728
    hey guys, finally able to post up my setup, now, got a few pics, not a simple set up mind you












    now for the back of the case


    yes you are seeing hard drives there

    my set up
    case : Silverstone raven 3 RV03 with usb3 internal header model
    mobo : Asus P8Z77-LX
    CPU : Intel 3570 k clocked at 4.2 GHZ at stock volts
    CPU cooler : Zalman CNPS10X performa with stock fan without resistors
    Ram : teamgroup 2x4GB 1600 mhz
    GPU : sapphire 5770
    PSU : Corsair TX 650 watts
    soundcard : Asus xonar DG
    1 seagate 500 GB HDD as boot drive
    1 WD 1 TB blue for storage + games
    2x corsair SP fans for front intakes
    1 sharkoon 120mm fan for rear exhaust

    sorry for so many photos, wanted to get the most out the of case, simply due to its design nature
    Last edited by Thorianrage; 2013-03-20 at 11:40 PM.

  9. #10729
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,100
    Neat build. Are you planning a big GPU upgrade soon, or just don't game that much?

  10. #10730
    thank you, yep , I was aiming to possibly in a month or 2 time get a 7970 or 680 (price depending really), also noticed I havent got a decent shot of my internals, looked better at the time I guess, will try get a better photo at some point, I do game a lot, was aiming to actually buy the GPU once I got that built up, but the urge to go skiing was too much :P
    I will be doing an updated shot of this, gonna repaint those gold 'stripes' on the front, it can be taken off mind you, really really dont like the gold, but was the cheapest variation oddly enough

  11. #10731
    **** Today was my backup-day!



    I use those 2 Lindy copy/clone stations with USB3.0. I use this solution for my PC and I really like the USB 3.0 speed and the cloning method HDD1->HDD2 without a connected PC a lot. A fast way for external backups but ugly as hell.

    For my macbook I still use the very good integrated TimeMachine (Software) -> TimeCapsule (NAS, 2TB) + Safe Capsule (TimeCapsule Backup via USB). The only bad thing is the transfer speed, ist just sooooooooooooooooo slow.


    What solution are you guys using to backup?
    Last edited by Ange; 2013-03-22 at 01:26 PM.

  12. #10732
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,513
    Quote Originally Posted by Ange View Post
    What solution are you guys using to backup?
    Praying to God.

    =X
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  13. #10733
    Immortal Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    7,002
    So I discovered that my G19 was having some sort of weird issue where the lcd screen would continually blink on and off and make everything but the basic keys unusable so I had to open it up and check out what was happening. Turns out that the wires that connect to the LCD aren't properly insulated and that was causing the problem, so I just wrapped them in some insulation tape and it seems to have fixed it. Cant believe this sort of thing is overlooked so easily, people are having problems left, right and centre and logitech insists that it has nothing to do with them or their hardware and that it's a motherboard issue. So for the next few days my keyboard will be a G19 just to see if it's working properly.

    The wires in question


    Sloppy job but I couldn't really do much short of pulling the pcb out because it's so cramped.




    ||i5 3570k @ 4.4GHz||H100 push/pull||AsRock Z77 Extreme4||16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1600MHz||Gigabyte Windforce GTX 970|| Coolermaster Storm Trooper||Corsair TX850 Enthusiast Series||Samsung 840 Pro 128gb(boot drive)||1TB WD HDD, 2x 3TB WD HDD, 2TB WD HDD||

    Bdk Nagrand / Astae Nagrand
    Pokemon X FC: 4656-7679-2545/Trainer Name: Keno

  14. #10734
    Legendary! Evolixe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    In the Shadows
    Posts
    6,966
    Quote Originally Posted by Ange View Post
    What solution are you guys using to backup?
    I don't backup.

    My data is worth nothing to me. If my harddrives die tomorrow, i'm just going to get a new one and download stuff again. No problem.
    Rogue Inquiries: Evolixe#2290 [EU only]
    i7-5820k @ 4.4GHz|16GB DDR4 2400MHz|EVGA GTX 670 FTW x2 SLI|Samsung 830 128GB SSD

  15. #10735
    Quote Originally Posted by Ange View Post
    What solution are you guys using to backup?
    Quote Originally Posted by Holo View Post
    I don't backup. My data is worth nothing to me. If my harddrives die tomorrow, i'm just going to get a new one and download stuff again. No problem.
    Same here. I don't keep anything on my gaming PC that is critical (my resume and work related stuff is stored on the cloud). If one of my SSDs died, I'd order a new one and spend an afternoon installing games.

  16. #10736
    Quote Originally Posted by Ange View Post
    What solution are you guys using to backup?
    I use the windows 7 backup thing that comes with the OS, and do weekly incremental back ups on to my 1.5TB Western Digital Elements usb 2 external. Takes about 45-60 min IIRC. Best part of it: it does it automatically with no need for me to do anything.
    Intel i7 5820K (4.5 GHz) | MSI X99A MPower | 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury 2666MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Samsung 951PRO nVME 512GB | Crucial M550 256GB | Crucial MX200 1TB | Western Digital Caviar Black 2000GB | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Noctua NH-D15 | Fractal Define R5 | Seasonic X850

    Former author of the TankSpot.com Protection Paladin guide

  17. #10737
    Cloud Backups wont work for me, I have many RAW/JPG pictures from photography and with all those files + the edited versions etc. it is a huge amount of data to backup.

    @Marest
    I just saw the pictures from your "Project Red Piranha" and the clean build with all those hidden cables just looks outstanding esp. with the red/black theme.

    In comparison my own gaming PC was put together in 60 mins and all I did was to make sure everything is well connected. The inside is full of loose cables, oversized cooler for CPU/GPU for a silent system and nothing more. Maybe I should spend more buildtime for my next gaming pc.

  18. #10738
    Quote Originally Posted by Maemae View Post
    is that the galant desk from ikea? how do u like it? i need more desk room but still deciding.
    Get the expedit shelf (2x8) and grab the ''table/desk'' addon its amazing I Ve got two side by side

    ---------- Post added 2013-03-22 at 10:34 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Praying to God.

    =X
    same here lol

  19. #10739
    Quote Originally Posted by Ange View Post
    What solution are you guys using to backup?
    Cobian and Drive Bender, both on my server. I back up practically everything, including stuff like games from my main rig, which are easily replaceable, but only because I have the storage space. I'll start making sacrifices once I get a bit closer to running out, but as of now I'm at 1.17/5.91TB free. I also selectively use Crashplan for irreplaceable files (music, photos, books), as a secondary remote backup solution.

    I keep my documents, photos and other images like wallpapers, avatars and such on Dropbox.
    Last edited by Berserker Cronus; 2013-03-23 at 04:28 AM.

  20. #10740
    For backup I have everything going to a 3TB Time Capsule (Windows just mounts it as a network share and use the built in software, the macs use Time Machine).
    In the garage I have a drobo that stores media connected to an airport extreme. Every night the Time Capsule gets backed up to the drobo (using rsync). If a hard disk dies I can restore from the Time Capsule, if a house fire happens then my garage will probably survive because it's not attached to my house: I can restore from the backups there losing < 24 hours of data.

    Roughly ever 4-6 weeks I backup the drobo drives using one of those 'hard disk toaster' things (made by nextar, nexar, something like that). The total is 12 TB so I have to manually swap disks roughly once every 4 hours as the USB transfer speed is horribly slow. The backup disks are kept at my parents house about 50km out of town. If there's ever a regional disaster like a flood that destroys my neighborhood then I'll have a copy I can get from them. Most of the drobo data is media but it would take forever to redownload the music from itunes and I'm sure as hell not re-ripping the documentaries/movies: I don't even have most of the discs any more. Even if I could get it all from pirate websites it would still take a month or more to download several terabytes of data so it's worth the few hundred bucks to have a good quality back.

    For anything super important like work I keep a copy or two on USB disk and a copy stored on AWS S3 (50gb is only ~ $50/year)
    A new UI series for 5.2Steal my old UILearn about WeakAuras • Nobody to raid with right now so no PVE videos.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •