1. #10981
    right 1 major update to my setup



    my old card next to the new card, just to show the size diff





    im quite happy :P

  2. #10982
    Stood in the Fire Loyrl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    438
    Quote Originally Posted by shroudster View Post
    pictures?
    also how are things working with 1440p + 120Hz with a single 570?
    When I get home I'll try to take a decent shot. I bought the OC version when it was cheap. I usually play D3/PoE/Age of Wushu atm and I have been getting around 80 FPS on D3 and 120 on PoE. I don't play with AA and I use medium settings which look fine to me on the IPS panels. I was going to update my card when I bought the monitor but something came up. I have the money now to update but then people are saying 7xx series coming next month I thought I would wait. Now with people saying the 7xx is not going to be very special I don't know what I'll update to.
    GemStoneIII (Mud) (ongoing) > SubSpace/Continuum > EQ1-Kunark-PoP > aRO > FFXI > WoW > Rift > WoW > FFXIV > SWToR > Tera > GW2 > Wushu > ESO > W* > EQ1p99 > WoW > ???
    FFXIVARR Profile
    D3 Profile

  3. #10983
    Finally decided I'm going to "mod" my old Antec 900 v1, will post pictures once I'm done.

    Rough idea of what I'm currently planning to do:

    Use a Hole Saw to add some cable management holes and route everything behind the board, now I have a fully modular PSU this should be completely possible.
    Considering covering the dull, grey mobo backboard with carbon fibre for a better look.
    Considering spraying the insides of the case, apart from the mobo tray in a gun metal grey colour.

    Nothing overly exciting but should clear up my case a bit and improve it's look!

  4. #10984
    Quote Originally Posted by Loyrl View Post
    When I get home I'll try to take a decent shot. I bought the OC version when it was cheap. I usually play D3/PoE/Age of Wushu atm and I have been getting around 80 FPS on D3 and 120 on PoE. I don't play with AA and I use medium settings which look fine to me on the IPS panels. I was going to update my card when I bought the monitor but something came up. I have the money now to update but then people are saying 7xx series coming next month I thought I would wait. Now with people saying the 7xx is not going to be very special I don't know what I'll update to.
    OT a bit but I like and dislike Age of Wushu its a little akward to figure out but the combat system is awesome.

  5. #10985
    update: bought a 670 ftw 2 edition.




    just need a modular power supply with blue braided cables and possibly a new case for my build to be complete.

  6. #10986
    Legendary! Nakloh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    6,037
    Make way for this beast of a bad boy, you don't want to get run over. /sarcasm

  7. #10987
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,640
    It's not really bad either. Clock the CPU up to 2.5, possibly 3.2 if you're super lucky and you have a decent replacement rig. I also see you have the 4:3 version of 1920x1200. Wish there was a 16:9.

  8. #10988
    Legendary! Nakloh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    6,037
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    It's not really bad either. Clock the CPU up to 2.5, possibly 3.2 if you're super lucky and you have a decent replacement rig. I also see you have the 4:3 version of 1920x1200. Wish there was a 16:9.
    Yeah, I have no clue how to, and if I break something I won't be getting a replacement all that soon.

  9. #10989
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    Congratulations to your new GPU! Must feel fantastic!
    I would still consider watching a guide on cable management, but you're likely fine as-is.
    It pretty much needs to be completely redone, I routed some cables through the wrong places e.t.c and i really cant be bothered to sort it all out some cables (like the fan cables you can see for E.G) just had too short a wire, and need an extension cable :P Airflow must be fine, even with OC's my peak temps are 60~65c that's with both at 100% load too, for 8 hours. thats an overnight furmark and Prime95 (at the same time) the 2500k happily sits at 80-90c and the GPU is good for 70-80 from what googles told me so i have no concerns.

    But yea, the GPU is AWESOME! going from low to Ultra on every game i have is just so pleasing. Even for £300 :P

  10. #10990
    Grunt
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    15

    Snow Storm

    I've been following this thread for quite some time know. Figured it might be time I contributed a bit. This is my current gaming rig.

    PARTS:
    CPU: Intel Core i5 3570k @ 4.4Ghz.
    CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i with Corsair SP120 Quiet Edition Fans.
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16GB 1600 Mhz 4x4 GB.
    GPU: Asus Direct CUII Radeon 7970 TOP Edition.
    Motherboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
    SSD: Samsung 840 120 GB.
    HDD: Western Digital Green 2 TB.
    PSU: Corsair AX850 with white sleeved cables.
    Fan controller: NZXT Sentry Mesh.
    Monitors: 3x BenQ GL2450HM.
    Misc: Corsair K90 keyboard and Vengeance 2000 headset.














    Loving this rig. The only thing auditble is the GPU when fans are at 50% or higher. (Which is practially never).
    Also using a NZXT White LED Strip, though the pictures really don't do it justice.

  11. #10991
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,526
    very nice and very clean, +1 internets

    i7-6700K | Z170 Class. K | 16GB DDR4-3200 | GTX-980ti | Samsung 950 Pro RAID0 | SuperNOVA 1Kw P2 | Lian Li PC-07S
    ROG Swift PG348Q | Ducky DSX | Zowie ZA11 | Xonar Essence One | Tannoy Reveal 402

  12. #10992
    Grunt
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    very nice and very clean, +1 internets
    Cheers mate. Was going for a as little visible cables as possible. One thing that annoys me though is those damn USB and audio headers. When does case companies learn to sleeve the cables all the way?

    Also, I spend around 3 hours trying to get all the cables out of the way. In my previous case (600T), it just seemed so much easier.




  13. #10993
    Looks nice Tamari.

    I'd get a background that's made for triple monitors instead of repeating the same one 3 times
    No world! You put YOUR hands up!

  14. #10994
    Quote Originally Posted by Tamari View Post
    Awesomeness
    Absolutely stunning! Black and white builds are my favorite, you're making me want to go back to a mid-tower build so I can do something similar! Kudos.

  15. #10995
    Grunt
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by noteworthynerd View Post
    Absolutely stunning! Black and white builds are my favorite, you're making me want to go back to a mid-tower build so I can do something similar! Kudos.
    Thanks alot. Means alot coming from you guys. Spend a lot of time trying to get it perfect.

  16. #10996
    Quote Originally Posted by Tamari View Post
    Thanks alot. Means alot coming from you guys. Spend a lot of time trying to get it perfect.
    Do you manage the cables when they go into the slots in the back? Or do you do like I do and just shove them in there?
    No world! You put YOUR hands up!

  17. #10997
    Grunt
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by Electromatt View Post
    Do you manage the cables when they go into the slots in the back? Or do you do like I do and just shove them in there?
    I try as much as possible. The main reason why I mounted the HDD that way was to reduce the cable clutter. But one of the problems with the Storm Trooper and Stryker is the limited debth by the back panel.

  18. #10998
    Quote Originally Posted by Tamari View Post
    I try as much as possible. The main reason why I mounted the HDD that way was to reduce the cable clutter. But one of the problems with the Storm Trooper and Stryker is the limited debth by the back panel.
    Yeah, one of the biggest issues with cable management in my case is from the 4 drives I have. I have a HAF X so it's beefy enough to sorta handle just shoving in the cables behind the back panel. Not to mention the loads of excess power cables from my non-modular PSU....
    No world! You put YOUR hands up!

  19. #10999
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,115
    Waaaaagh, Corsair's sleeved kits make things too easy :S

  20. #11000
    Grunt
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    Waaaaagh, Corsair's sleeved kits make things too easy :S
    I must admit I really like them. Ofcourse sleeving the cables myself would look better, but I really don't have the time or expertise to do so.
    So I'll have to make due with these

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •