1. #11001
    Quote Originally Posted by Tamari View Post
    I try as much as possible. The main reason why I mounted the HDD that way was to reduce the cable clutter. But one of the problems with the Storm Trooper and Stryker is the limited debth by the back panel.
    Yeah, one of the biggest issues with cable management in my case is from the 4 drives I have. I have a HAF X so it's beefy enough to sorta handle just shoving in the cables behind the back panel. Not to mention the loads of excess power cables from my non-modular PSU....
    No world! You put YOUR hands up!

  2. #11002
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,104
    Waaaaagh, Corsair's sleeved kits make things too easy :S

  3. #11003
    Grunt
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    Waaaaagh, Corsair's sleeved kits make things too easy :S
    I must admit I really like them. Ofcourse sleeving the cables myself would look better, but I really don't have the time or expertise to do so.
    So I'll have to make due with these

  4. #11004
    Brewmaster Nasriel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Gridania
    Posts
    1,437
    my current rig sucks. Im getting a new one soon.


    My new PC is going to be a
    Case BitFenix Colossus
    Core i7 3770k
    RAM 16gb
    HDD 120g SSD and 1 TB Sata
    GFX Nvidia 680 gtx 2gb (would love a 690 but they are $1000 on its own... ouch!)


    Still saving up to get it

  5. #11005
    Herald of the Titans shroudster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,890
    updated rig
    the patient;

    the final abomination;


    to those wondering, yes my fans are placed by zip-ties due to mobo having a too big heatsink so my fans are +- 0,5 cm above the holes for the screws.
    however the result is worth it mid 70's as max load temps @ 5,0 Ghz/1,4Vcore, 1,352 after Vdroop

  6. #11006
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by shroudster View Post
    updated rig
    the patient;
    Nice, which method did you use? Exactoknife or tapping it on the bench?

  7. #11007
    Herald of the Titans shroudster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,890
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    Nice, which method did you use? Exactoknife or tapping it on the bench?
    tapping on the bench. (actually took way more force then i expected)
    knife option had no result at all. (even medical scalpel couldn't get inbetween )
    still waiting for some CLU to arrive might be able to knock off another few degrees. (using noctua NT-H1 for now)

  8. #11008
    Quote Originally Posted by shroudster View Post
    tapping on the bench. (actually took way more force then i expected)
    knife option had no result at all. (even medical scalpel couldn't get inbetween )
    still waiting for some CLU to arrive might be able to knock off another few degrees. (using noctua NT-H1 for now)
    Lol you made a johnny of that pc :P.. Ye use CLU for the die & for the ihs nt-h1 is fine.

  9. #11009
    Herald of the Titans shroudster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,890
    Quote Originally Posted by Faithh View Post
    Lol you made a johnny of that pc :P.. Ye use CLU for the die & for the ihs nt-h1 is fine.
    aye that was the plan for the TIM's , although the noctua one is like the second best TIM why settle for less (i know there's also the one use metal alloy but that seems kinda iffy tbh)
    as for looks of the rig , for a first rig im very pleased about it and have learned allot allong the way. (looking at you non modulair PSU!/ HAF case )

  10. #11010
    The Lightbringer Toffie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    3,770
    How did that improve across the cores Shroudster? My temps are like this : core 1 = 71 c max core 2 = 90 c max, would it help on even them out? I guess theres not much thermal paste across all cores?
    Skylake & Pascal gaming build 2016
    6700K | Noctua NH-D15 | Asus Z170 Pro Gaming | Corsair 400c | Corsair LPX 16GB | Inc GTX 1070 |
    S850 EVO 500GB | Corsair RM750x | Razer BW Chroma - Razer Deathadder Chroma | AOC 24 G-Sync 144Hz |

  11. #11011
    Herald of the Titans shroudster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,890
    Quote Originally Posted by Toffie View Post
    How did that improve across the cores Shroudster? My temps are like this : core 1 = 71 c max core 2 = 90 c max, would it help on even them out? I guess theres not much thermal paste across all cores?
    there is actually quite allot of crappy intel paste once delidded.
    first attempt my temps were improving but still big core difference, turned out i missed a small spot which caused my 2nd core to run way hotter.
    so far my understanding of it is that you need just the right amount of paste. (however too much isn't that bad either, saw a ridiculious example of a full tube of noctua paste only gave a +5 degrees result vs good application)
    if core temps are still not more equal then it is time for lapping. (only did it a little due to not having fine enough sanding paper)

  12. #11012
    It's nice to see someone else ballsy enough for such mods to their hardware.
    i7 3930k @ 4.6GHz | 2xEVGA ACX SC+ 980ti | ASUS Rampage IV Formula | 16GB G.Skill TridentX 2400MHz | Crucial MX100 512GB(OS) Samsung 840 500GB(Games) | Seasonic 1250W Gold | Corsair 750D |

  13. #11013
    Pandaren Monk Maruka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    1,974
    Here is prolly the last pic ill post of mine, made some changes and they should be the last ones. Got a new asus soundcard, put my platinum ram in and just worked on tidying things up a bit more.




    edit:
    gtx 680
    3570k @ 4.6 w/ h100i
    gigabyte sniper mobo
    asus xonar st
    corsair 600t case
    16 gb dominator platinum ram @ 1800
    fans are nf-f12s
    Last edited by Maruka; 2013-05-02 at 04:20 PM.

  14. #11014
    really nice and tidy build, however, are all the fans exhausts ?, if so, id have more fans being intakes then outtakes, less dust build up, even using filters, massive positive pressure is a must, keeps the insides cleaner for longer

  15. #11015
    Mechagnome deathtakes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Vancouver, B.C.
    Posts
    590
    Just got everything set up and I couldn't be more happy with it! I did the speaker wiring/drywall patching/painting my self but I still need to pick up a bunch of smaller HDMI cables to get everything a little more clean.


  16. #11016
    Pandaren Monk Maruka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    1,974
    Quote Originally Posted by Thorianrage View Post
    really nice and tidy build, however, are all the fans exhausts ?, if so, id have more fans being intakes then outtakes, less dust build up, even using filters, massive positive pressure is a must, keeps the insides cleaner for longer

    the ones on the front are intakes and i have a fan on the side that is off the case also pushing air in!

  17. #11017
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by deathtakes View Post
    ...
    Somebody wants to go for a walk.

  18. #11018
    Quote Originally Posted by Maruka View Post
    the ones on the front are intakes and i have a fan on the side that is off the case also pushing air in!
    They sure looks like exhausts...
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  19. #11019
    Epic! Idrinkwhiterussians's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    In a bar. Somewhere that carries Khalua, cream and Vodka
    Posts
    1,680
    Quote Originally Posted by n0cturnal View Post
    They sure looks like exhausts...
    I just looked at them a bit closer and this seems to be the truth... I would make sure you have them oriented the proper direction
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    anyone want doughnuts? i hear there is a great shop in Vancouver

  20. #11020
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by Maruka View Post
    the ones on the front are intakes and i have a fan on the side that is off the case also pushing air in!
    They are placed as exhausts.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •