1. #1

    wait command for macros

    Is there any kind of "wait" command for macros? like /cast divine shield wait 0.1 sec and cancelaura divine shield?

  2. #2
    Legendary! Ryme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    In a field, somewhere
    Posts
    6,240
    No.

    There exists the /in function, which will wait a certain time then perform something like a say command or an emote, but no legal macro will allow you do to anything beyond a cosmetic level in terms of waiting.

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Cursedfate View Post
    Is there any kind of "wait" command for macros? like /cast divine shield wait 0.1 sec and cancelaura divine shield?
    The /in was used to avoid res sickness before, but I am not sure if it works like that anymore, and that was definitely more than cosmetic.

  4. #4
    Best Kitten Simca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    9,422
    You may be able to do a /in 0.1 /cancelaura Divine Shield.

    I'm not sure.
    Global Moderator | Forum Guidelines

  5. #5
    The Lightbringer Gaiwyn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by Shadowdream View Post
    No.

    There exists the /in function, which will wait a certain time then perform something like a say command or an emote, but no legal macro will allow you do to anything beyond a cosmetic level in terms of waiting.
    I just discovered this command the other night, accidentally. Almost six years of playing and I had no idea you could do delayed text.

    If you want to wait a second between commands, use a castsequence macro. In this case, you could set it so that if you cast Divine Shield it pops up, but if you press the button again within any set amount of time, that it will cancel it.

    #showtooltip Divine Shield
    /castsequence reset=120 Divine Shield
    /cancelaura Divine Shield

    Not sure if it would work with two separate commands like that, though. No way to test it.

  6. #6
    Blademaster Ilario's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    My Mind.
    Posts
    37
    You could can make a macro that cancels Divine Shield when you click it twice.
    /cancelaura Divine Shield
    /cast Divine Shield

  7. #7
    The /in command is not provided by the default UI but I believe by the Ace Library.
    That is why you did not discover it sooner, since it is being provided via one of your addons.
    It can only do a very limited amount after a delay, with a message being the usual choice due to restrictions to prevent too much automation.

  8. #8
    Scarab Lord Taryble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    4,038
    In fact, /in is part of the Ace2 library, and once those are no longer in use (due to the development team focusing on Ace3) it'll likely go the way of the dodo, afaik.

    Limitations on /in is that it can't be used to cast a spell or do an action on a delay - it's mostly just useful for delaying text notices (a friend of mine uses it for a Pulling in 3.. 2... 1..." macro).
    We have done the impossible, and that makes us mighty. - Sgt. Malcolm "Mal" Reynolds, Battle of Serenity Valley

  9. #9
    they used to have this kinda thing back in vanilla but realized that it would be way to easy to "macro bot" via it.

  10. #10
    /in cannot be used to do any non-automationable action (protected or h-req).
    UI & AddOns expert | Interface & Macros moderator - My work

  11. #11
    The Lightbringer Elunedra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    3,345
    this might be posable.

    as canceling a buff is not a protected action in the ui atleast i think now

    so it have tobe something whit delayed lua function witch has tobe inside an addon and it does not fit in a single marco
    TREE DURID IS 4 PEE

  12. #12
    Cancelling a buff is protected since 4.0.1.
    UI & AddOns expert | Interface & Macros moderator - My work

  13. #13
    What all these guys said, the macrosystem does not have a 'wait' command anymore, this is done so that it's impossible to truly macro up your rotation/utility so good that it is basically cheating.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •