1. #1

    Misdirection to "tank" role instead of focus?

    Just wondering, with the (somewhat) new role check system thats in the game, is it possible to setup a macro to target whoever has their role set to tank instead of having to manually setup that person as a focus?
    Im hunter on my main & have a misdirect macro that goes to focus first, then pet. But with some instances haveing vehicles that cancel ur focus & such, I was hoping there would be something to just target whoever was setup as the tank instead.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    bump. i want it too if possible

  3. #3
    The Patient
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    246
    /tar tanks name /cast misdirection then pew pew. That is if you know what tanks you have every time. Make 2-3 macros for different tanks. Then if new ones just edit it real fast.

    I just do it old school way.

  4. #4
    Not that i have worked out, but maybe set the person as main tank? That might not be cleared. I would like to just have one "MD Tank" Macro. Also, whats ur md focus ifnot pet macro? /cast [target= focus; Pet] MD ? or something like that?
    Quote Originally Posted by Boubouille
    If you can prove that all players are from Iowa, I will post about it.
    Quote Originally Posted by Boubouille
    You don't just buy a site that works just fine with a plan to change everything, it's not worth the hassle, the only major change we could do to boost the traffic is to offer Night Elf porn to the users, and I was told I can't do that.
    If i ever have a chance to fly to France, i will do so with my only intention being to find you Boub and give you a hug for being so awesome ^_^ <3

  5. #5
    really i just focus the tank and have a macro that MD's right to him. its not too much effort to set focus at start of run but hey thats just me. pst if you happen to find a good macro though could use a better way myself

  6. #6
    I posted a thread in Interface and Macros a bit ago about a Tricks of the Trade macro.

    What I got what a macro that targetted the target's target. It's working quite well.

  7. #7
    The Patient
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    246
    One MD tank macro can't work unless you only have one tank. If you have 2-3 tanks it wouldn't know which to select. I don't set focus on tanks ever. I only set focus on weird tanking situations where a dps needs to tank so I help their aggro out that way. The reason I don't set focus on tanks is because I know which macro is for which tank. I also normally set my focus on my boss target. So which one macro I target my tank, md him, then tar my focus. Also Targeting the targets target works sometimes. But if a tank doesn't have aggro and the boss is immune to taunts then it wouldn't help the OT get passed on threat etc. Granted that situation doesn't come up that often. But it has in the past.

  8. #8
    Brewmaster Rukah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,293
    just use a MD to target's target macro.. or a mouse over macro

  9. #9
    #showtooltip Misdirection
    /cast [target=mouseover, help] Misdirection
    /cast [target=focus, help] Misdirection
    /cast [target=focustarget, help] Misdirection
    /cast [target=targettarget, help] Misdirection
    /cast [target=pet] Misdirection

    Best MD macro ever. I have it MDing to my mouseover target before my focus because I tend to md things to the healer if i dont like the tank.

  10. #10
    Dreadlord Metian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    767
    Can't anything about a macro on the interwebz, but perhaps this can be useful.

    http://www.wowinterface.com/download...ankAssist.html

    And I would love to see a macro with something like

    #showtooltip Misdirection
    /cast [target=tank, help] Misdirection

    or something.
    ALTF4.

  11. #11
    macro works like a charm

  12. #12
    Dreadlord Metian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    767
    Quote Originally Posted by huvuh View Post
    macro works like a charm
    Which one ?
    ALTF4.

  13. #13
    I do it all a bit differently. I use clique (have that addon anyone for my healers) so I've just setup crtl-right mouse button to be MD. Might not be quite a quick as setting up a macro but it gives me a bit more flexibility to choose on the fly who I'm going to MD too.

  14. #14
    Stood in the Fire
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    480
    I use this:

    #showtooltip Misdirection
    /clearfocus [help]
    /focus [help]
    /stopmacro [help]
    /cast [@focus,help][@playerpet,exists] Misdirection

  15. #15
    This is what I'm currently using:

    #showtooltip Misdirection
    /cast [@focus,exists] Misdirection;[@pet,exists] Misdirection

    This will MD ur focus, & if none, MD ur pet, without having to set ur pet as Focus whenever outside of instances.
    Was just wondering if there was a way to set it up without marking someone as focus in instances but no big deal.

  16. #16
    I use the following in heroics.
    Code:
    /cast [@focus,help]Misdirection;[@focustarget,help]Misdirection;[@pet,nodead]Misdirection
    For raids I have another setup, but it varies by fight.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •