Page 1 of 6
... LastLast

Tanks should never stack stam in Cataclysm. (Actually, it's a question.)

Before i begin, I should post a bit of background--

My main is a priest healer, not a tank. My priest is currently pre-raid geared (with an equipped average ilevel of 348). I've healed every heroic dungeon multiple times successfully.

I have two alts that are level 80+, both tanks--a paladin (lvl 84) and a DK (still 80). I tanked AND healed everything in ICC10 except heroic LK during WOTLK. ...I have been playing WoW for a grand total of 8 months, so I have no real experience with BC or Vanilla, but I progressed very quickly from a total noob to an experienced raider in WotLK (and, beyond the first 6 normal mode in ICC, I was raid leading even as I learned the fights -- for my guild, it was progression.)

That said, I have a very simple statement that is really more a question.

Simply this: Tanks should never stack stam in Cataclysm.

These are the SURVIVABILITY stats for tanks: Stamina, Dodge, Parry (for plate tanks), Block (For warriors/pallies), Mastery, Armor
    These are the purposes of those stats:
    Stamina - Provide a "cushion" to absorb damage (This is the "safety margin"). Basically, it extends the health bar so the healer has time to refill it.
    Armor - Mitigation, reduce incoming damage total
    Block - Mitigation, reduce incoming damage total
    Parry - Avoidance, reduce incoming damage total
    Dodge - Avoidance, reduce incoming damage total
    Mastery - Varies, but usually mitigation/avoidance