1. #1
    The Patient Aloodanis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    In The Mountains
    Posts
    226

    Is it normal to get 10 FPS on this computer?

    Currently, I am getting an average 10-15 FPS and a latency of ~160Ms on my new computer. I would like to know if this is normal for the settings I have on wow and for the computer. (Note: I am no computer expert -.- Please let me know if I'm missing information)
    It has the following settings in-game:
    -Resolution:1776x1000
    -Windowed (Full screen)
    -Multisampling: 1X
    -Vertical Sync Enabled.
    -Texture Resolution: "High"
    -Trilinear Texture filtering
    -Projected Textures Enabled
    -Shadow quality: Low
    -Liquid detail: Fair
    -Sunshafts: Low
    -Particle Density: Ultra
    -View distance: Ultra
    Enviroment detail: Ultra
    Ground Clutter: Fair
    Triple Buffering and "Reduce input lag" are both disabled.

    The computer itself:
    HP-model "p6604f"
    AMD Athlon II X2 220 processor 2.80GHz
    5.75 GB of usable Ram
    Windows 7 64-bit Operating System

  2. #2
    Dreadlord sweepdeepsPL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Shireshireshireton, shireville, the shire
    Posts
    778
    I believe you forgot the graphics card model, although I'll feel like an idiot if you have integrated graphics.
    Quote Originally Posted by perix View Post
    there are people that think war is like cod.
    That covers just about every twelve year old in America.

  3. #3
    Stood in the Fire
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    England, that's as close as I'm letting you guys know ;)
    Posts
    444
    for a start lower your resolution a bit before doing anything else. start on something like 800x600 (depending what your desktop settings are) and see if that highers the fps Try unmaximizing the window so its just the size its set to, stretching it out of its default size can cause quite large fps drops.
    Irage Gaming.
    Battlefield 3 and CS:GO gaming community!

  4. #4
    The Patient Aloodanis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    In The Mountains
    Posts
    226
    "ATI Radeon HD 4200"
    "Total memory2940 MB"
    Should have mentioned earlier that I am currently running two moniters....

  5. #5
    Mechagnome muCephei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Canadaland
    Posts
    526
    AND there we go
    WAY too small a GPU for two monitors and those settings
    Last edited by muCephei; 2011-01-06 at 12:10 AM.

  6. #6
    The Patient Aloodanis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    In The Mountains
    Posts
    226
    Quote Originally Posted by potentmage View Post
    for a start lower your resolution a bit before doing anything else. start on something like 800x600 (depending what your desktop settings are) and see if that highers the fps Try unmaximizing the window so its just the size its set to, stretching it out of its default size can cause quite large fps drops.
    Thank you, I will try this.

    ---------- Post added 2011-01-05 at 04:55 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by muCephei View Post
    AND there we go
    WAY too small a GPU for two monitors
    Ah, I see. Thank you/.

  7. #7
    Yes, your framerate is totally normal. Can't expect to run 3D games smoothly at that price. Just turn few more of those "ultra" settings down until it's playable. Start from environment detail and particle density.
    Never going to log into this garbage forum again as long as calling obvious troll obvious troll is the easiest way to get banned.
    Trolling should be.

  8. #8
    Field Marshal
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Where I am right now.
    Posts
    86
    Also its worth mentioning that the processor you're using may be able to handle just the game, but if you are running anything else in the background or running addons it can easily effect the frame rate. I do think with your setup you can bump up the resolution higher than 800x600, but also, i would lower the draw distance quite a bit, out in the world that can be very taxing.

  9. #9
    The Patient Aldrashan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    326
    I think that the viewing distance on ultra is a bit overkill - Turn V-sync off as it gives way lower framerates than it's supposed to - Turn off windowed mode for maximum amount of framerates
    Specs: I5 3570K - GTX 670 - 8 gb ram
    My youtube page: https://www.youtube.com/user/aldrashan

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •