1. #1
    I am Murloc! M0cha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    5,172

    Remote World of Warcraft




    Not very functional, the refresh rate and graphics are horrible, but I was able to quest on my iTouch from 50+ Miles away, today. <3
    Application is called TeamViewer. Available on both iPhone and Andriod. I think this is one of the coolest things I've stumbled upon-- ever.

  2. #2
    How, if I may ask, are you running addons on a phone?

    Heroic Recruitment -- Hersh's multi-PoV kill vids. -- Raids & Dungeons & Hunter kitty
    no one huntars like gaston

  3. #3
    I am Murloc! M0cha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    5,172
    Quote Originally Posted by Herecius View Post
    How, if I may ask, are you running addons on a phone?
    Hm? The addons running? I'm sure it's bogging my phone down quite a bit, but those are very low memory usage addons.

  4. #4
    World of Warcrack on mobile devices - I can see the headlines now: "Paragon scores world first Sinestra + 25 pedestrians kill"

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzykins View Post
    Hm? The addons running? I'm sure it's bogging my phone down quite a bit, but those are very low memory usage addons.
    I just didn't know there was support for addons to run on a phone.

    Heroic Recruitment -- Hersh's multi-PoV kill vids. -- Raids & Dungeons & Hunter kitty
    no one huntars like gaston

  6. #6
    I am Murloc! M0cha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    5,172
    Quote Originally Posted by Herecius View Post
    I just didn't know there was support for addons to run on a phone.
    It was actually running on my home computer. If you were sitting in front of my computer, you would have seen the mouse moving, the computer basically controlling it's self. >.> I bet that'd look creepy.

  7. #7
    Titan Synthaxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Rotherham, England/UK
    Posts
    13,100
    Haha whoa! Now i have a reason to get an iphone. I imagine controlling it is awkward though.
    Ex-coder, gamer - Stepped away from dev.
    Done/Planned: Leedsfest 2014, Mallory Knox (Nov 2014), Deaf Havana (Dec 2014) | Upcoming: Soundwave (Feb 2015)
    Awaiting UK/EU tour dates: Of Mice and Men, Jimmy Eat World, Architects (>Mar. 2015)
    Quote Originally Posted by George View Post
    If NSA is building my profile from tonight's "browsing habits", they're in for a treat: women with three breasts, men with two penises, fake nipples...

  8. #8
    I am Murloc! M0cha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    5,172
    Quote Originally Posted by Synthaxx View Post
    Haha whoa! Now i have a reason to get an iphone. I imagine controlling it is awkward though.
    A little. I enabled click to move, and if you look at the little black bar, the mouse icon is right click. So it was a little runescapey. I was able to do a few quests on my level 11. I can see myself getting in trouble with this at school...

  9. #9
    He's using an RDP program on his phone, logmein/teamviewer, been using it for AH for ages
    BO0ooOOooOOo0oooOO0OOooOO0ooo0OOOo0oOO0NEST0RM!

    http://us.battle.net/wow/en/characte...uttnikk/simple
    ^Deepz served here^

  10. #10
    Fluffy Kitten Marest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    4,228
    It doesn't RUN on the phone. The application is just showing the user what's on the computer. VNC did this like 2 years ago.

  11. #11
    Titan Synthaxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Rotherham, England/UK
    Posts
    13,100
    Quote Originally Posted by Marest View Post
    It doesn't RUN on the phone. The application is just showing the user what's on the computer. VNC did this like 2 years ago.
    I realise it's just a remote desktop application, but this is the first time i've seen someone mention using it with WoW (mainly because i've never looked for it specifically).
    Ex-coder, gamer - Stepped away from dev.
    Done/Planned: Leedsfest 2014, Mallory Knox (Nov 2014), Deaf Havana (Dec 2014) | Upcoming: Soundwave (Feb 2015)
    Awaiting UK/EU tour dates: Of Mice and Men, Jimmy Eat World, Architects (>Mar. 2015)
    Quote Originally Posted by George View Post
    If NSA is building my profile from tonight's "browsing habits", they're in for a treat: women with three breasts, men with two penises, fake nipples...

  12. #12
    More than 2 years ago actually, and still going. Some program won't forward non 2D, so you cannot play games on some. I used Portal when I had an iPhone, it's a VNC client though and I don't remember if it would transmit 3D. I know Remote Admin wouldn't when I used it a few years ago. Remote Admin is awesome btw, but not free.
    EVGA Classified SR-2 | Intel Xeon X5680 x 2 | Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 6 x 2GB | XFX HD5970 x 2
    Intel PRO/1000 PT Server NIC | ASUS Xonar DX | Corsair AX1200 | Corsair TX750
    OCZ Vertex2 60GB | WD Velociraptor 300GB x 2 | Samsung Spinpoint MP4 500GB
    EK-FB SR2 - Acetal+Nickel | EK-Supreme HF - Acetal x 2 | EK-FC5970 Acetal x 2
    Thermochill TA120.4 x 3 | Thermochill TA120.3 | Swiftech MCP655 x 2

  13. #13
    This can't end well. Lol

  14. #14
    Fluffy Kitten Marest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    4,228
    Even if you have a wifi-connection that can support streaming 1080p (or whatever resolution you are using) to a phone I don't think there is any device that can handle it. The best I've possibly reached using VNC is maybe 2-3 fps, which IMO isn't playable.
    Like someone above mentioned, this method of streaming your desktop to your phone works wonders for using the chat or checking AH - but not so much for actually playing.

    I'm curious though how this looks on an iPad 2, as it has much stronger processing power.

  15. #15
    Titan Synthaxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Rotherham, England/UK
    Posts
    13,100
    Quote Originally Posted by ispano View Post
    More than 2 years ago actually, and still going. Some program won't forward non 2D, so you cannot play games on some. I used Portal when I had an iPhone, it's a VNC client though and I don't remember if it would transmit 3D. I know Remote Admin wouldn't when I used it a few years ago. Remote Admin is awesome btw, but not free.
    Yeah, i remember we setup remote admin on some of the old machines in our IT block at college and caused some real havoc for a while (admittedly, we were in the same room as the other machines). Although the sysadmins weren't happy when they found out... and they didn't like us having any sort of applications on our flash drives in the first place. Actually also reminds of being at school, finding the one computer with an active USB port, and quickly getting an application onto the system to allow us to access my web-based phproxy. Seeing it spread out to 50 people in around an hour was surprising to say the least.
    Ex-coder, gamer - Stepped away from dev.
    Done/Planned: Leedsfest 2014, Mallory Knox (Nov 2014), Deaf Havana (Dec 2014) | Upcoming: Soundwave (Feb 2015)
    Awaiting UK/EU tour dates: Of Mice and Men, Jimmy Eat World, Architects (>Mar. 2015)
    Quote Originally Posted by George View Post
    If NSA is building my profile from tonight's "browsing habits", they're in for a treat: women with three breasts, men with two penises, fake nipples...

  16. #16
    Quote Originally Posted by Marest View Post
    Even if you have a wifi-connection that can support streaming 1080p (or whatever resolution you are using) to a phone I don't think there is any device that can handle it. The best I've possibly reached using VNC is maybe 2-3 fps, which IMO isn't playable.
    Like someone above mentioned, this method of streaming your desktop to your phone works wonders for using the chat or checking AH - but not so much for actually playing.

    I'm curious though how this looks on an iPad 2, as it has much stronger processing power.
    Processing Power has VERY little to do with it. It's more network limited, since it has to transmit the entire screen to you.
    EVGA Classified SR-2 | Intel Xeon X5680 x 2 | Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 6 x 2GB | XFX HD5970 x 2
    Intel PRO/1000 PT Server NIC | ASUS Xonar DX | Corsair AX1200 | Corsair TX750
    OCZ Vertex2 60GB | WD Velociraptor 300GB x 2 | Samsung Spinpoint MP4 500GB
    EK-FB SR2 - Acetal+Nickel | EK-Supreme HF - Acetal x 2 | EK-FC5970 Acetal x 2
    Thermochill TA120.4 x 3 | Thermochill TA120.3 | Swiftech MCP655 x 2

  17. #17
    Warchief Tikaru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    2,025
    You know you're a WoW addict when...

  18. #18
    Would other VNC clients work better? Maybe something like TightVNC for Android?

  19. #19
    Dreadlord Dilbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Savannah, GA
    Posts
    795
    I've used teamviewer for years, and I've used it on my iphone, but I've never run wow over it. Usually I can't see what's going on, but that's a decently clear picture.

  20. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by Synthaxx View Post
    Haha whoa! Now i have a reason to get an iphone. I imagine controlling it is awkward though.
    It doesn't require an iphone per se. VNC clients and such are available for many platforms.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •