1. #1
    Field Marshal
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Olathe, KS
    Posts
    88

    Finally building new machine

    I posted in here a few months ago about building a new machine but never got around to doing it, so I am back again. Some of the parts I had picked out have been discontinued it looks like so I will post my new build to make sure everything is compatible. This build will be for either WoW or RIFT, whichever I choose to pick up in about a month.

    MOBO: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131402
    CPU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...0II%20X4%20965
    GPU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-565-_-Product
    RAM: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231277
    PSU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139005
    HDD: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...scrollFullInfo
    Optical Drive: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827135204
    Case: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811119197
    OS: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16832116754

    Note I won't be overclocking anything.
    Last edited by Khalan; 2011-02-04 at 07:13 PM.

  2. #2
    Fluffy Kitten llDemonll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    6,582
    all your links are broken
    "I'm glad you play better than you read/post on forums." -Ninety
    BF3 Profile | Steam Profile | Assemble a Computer in 9.75 Steps! | Video Rendering Done Right

  3. #3
    Field Marshal
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Olathe, KS
    Posts
    88
    Sorry I copied and pasted a few from the old thread. They are fixed now.

  4. #4
    The Patient
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    275
    Better power supply for this build and also has an awesome promo code making it a steal: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817371020

  5. #5
    iv NEVER hard of this ram brand :s go for good old kingston ?


  6. #6
    High Overlord Caldrumr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    113
    Quote Originally Posted by Chillstream View Post
    iv NEVER hard of this ram brand :s go for good old kingston ?
    G.Skill has been around for years. They make a lot of things (especially memory) for the enthusiast/overclocking market.

  7. #7
    The Patient
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    275
    iv NEVER hard of this ram brand :s go for good old kingston ?
    What? G.Skill is a well known manufacturer of high performance RAM, the OP made a good choice with it.

  8. #8
    Never head of them in the UK :P


  9. #9
    The Patient
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Up North, UK
    Posts
    334
    Gskill crop up a lot in the mag custompc, and on the cpc/bit-tech website (i'm uk aswell, i remember them having good old ddr's).

    According to the review on tomshardware they beat corsair, Mushkin Blackline, and a couple of others in most tests.

  10. #10
    Ram is fine, i'm running 8gb of G.Skill and nothing wrong with it. My concern is the video card.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814125348

    Go with that one. 80$ less and if you look up benchmark tests of the video card you want vs this one, your gonna get the same or even more FPS.

    Don't have the go with this exact one but the 6850 is just as good and cheaper.
    | HAF-X Case | MSI Z77 MPOWER | Intel 3770k Overclock to 4.2 | ADATA DDR3 1600 8GB |
    | MSI 970 Gaming | Corsair 1200AX | Triple Asus 242h 23.6" |
    | Razer Blackwidow Ultimate Keyboard | Razer Mamba Mouse |

  11. #11
    Field Marshal
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Olathe, KS
    Posts
    88
    Looking into options for video cards. There are lots!
    Last edited by Khalan; 2011-02-04 at 06:53 PM.

  12. #12
    Field Marshal
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Olathe, KS
    Posts
    88
    Updated the links in first post. Is there anything wrong with the MOBO I have selected? I realize it is el cheapo but do I need a better MOBO for my setup without overclocking anything?

  13. #13
    Fluffy Kitten llDemonll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    6,582
    without overclocking, no
    "I'm glad you play better than you read/post on forums." -Ninety
    BF3 Profile | Steam Profile | Assemble a Computer in 9.75 Steps! | Video Rendering Done Right

  14. #14
    If you have an extra 250.00, then I would recommend you picking up another GPU and possibly increasing the PSU you're purchasing as well. Though your MB is only crossfire capable.

  15. #15
    Fluffy Kitten llDemonll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    6,582
    A single GPU is more than enough for that setup (and more than enough for most setups)
    "I'm glad you play better than you read/post on forums." -Ninety
    BF3 Profile | Steam Profile | Assemble a Computer in 9.75 Steps! | Video Rendering Done Right

  16. #16
    Field Marshal
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Olathe, KS
    Posts
    88
    Thanks for the replies! I will be ordering the parts in two weeks if all goes well!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •