Deleted

Why I Will Play Rift

There are a lot of threads about the upcoming MMO game Rift where people are suggesting to others that they play this game. People don't take kindly to being told what to do. So instead, im going to give the WoW loyalist a bit of honest perspective and say why I have pre-ordered it and will play it.

This is my WoW character: eu.battle.net/wow/en/character/aerie-peak/adelbern/simple (add http to the start, i can't add full links yet).

Im not hardcore by any means, but by my achievement points you can tell I've played my fair share of WoW. The reason I will play Rift is because it is FUN. I have not had so much pure, undistilled fun in an MMO since the first time I started playing WoW back in late 2006. Guild Wars first time through was great. Guild Wars 2 is marketing so hard, something doesn't feel right. It feels like they're trying to achieve too much, and striving so hard to 'change' the MMO genre. Grand plans. But the best laid plans of Mice and Men..

I grinded through Aion because my girlfriend persuaded me to try it. I got to the point I could do Kromede's Trial (around level 30? can't remember) and I told her I just couldn't stand playing anymore. She stopped soon after. I even recently tried DCUniverse but frankly, the pandering to console market in the controls and gameplay ruined it for me.

I heard about Rift via these very forums. I thought, 'Oh here we go, another WoW killer lulz'. I went on Curse.com and got a trial-key for a laugh. Thanks to my uber-fast broadband I had it installed and running in 30 minutes. The graphics card requirement is quite high but I got it running with 30-40fps on mostly high settings with my older nVidia GTS250.