Thread: halp-New PC

Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst
1
2
3
4
5
... LastLast
  1. #41
    Quote Originally Posted by Saykred View Post
    Ran it fine on Ultra with a $700 refurb system from Best Buy. I can't remember if that was before or after the new vid card. $850 if it was after.

    2.8GHz AMD Quad
    8GB Ram
    5770 Radeon
    Well you're probably going to get better value/buck by using a pre-cert system.

    ---------- Post added 2011-03-29 at 05:55 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzykins View Post
    http://www.cyberpowerpc.com/saved/1D4TXC

    Sandybridge build. I, personally, would go with the AMD build. But meh.
    What if you could milk a 2300 out of the budget?

  2. #42
    Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzykins View Post
    I still get bad sticks of RAM from Newegg and BestBuy, and I got two bad HardDrives in a row from TigerDirect. (The first one had a dented outer shell thingey. The other one was missing the magnetic arm thingey.)



    I'd never recommend an AMD card for a budget build. The second I see budget, I think "460". For better or for worse.
    460 is best card price/performance wise, but the 6950 is an amazing card as well. Chance on unlock and even pulling ahead of the 570 at higher resolutions. In CF/SLI the 6950 just crushes the 580 SLI even, which is insane, so if you're planning on going CF/SLI in the future and can get your hands on a cheap 6950 it's definitely worth it. But as mentioned earlier, Rift runs better on Nvidia and it does not like dual card setups.

    http://www.hardwareheaven.com/review...ty-vs-sli.html

  3. #43
    both the builds run up close to 850 for shipping to where i live so you figer both of those are better then the ones i posted from futureshop ? i know building is better but is it 150$+ better if i can just drive to the store and get it XD

  4. #44
    I am Murloc! M0cha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    5,202
    *Facedesk* Alright, I'll paste the same thing from iBuyPower... /sigh
    I got halfway through and gave up. It was about $50 more on iBuyPower for the SandyBridge platform.
    ...
    http://www.ibuypower.com/Store/Gamer...n_E710/w/62868

    Quote Originally Posted by ayako View Post
    Well you're probably going to get better value/buck by using a pre-cert system.

    ---------- Post added 2011-03-29 at 05:55 PM ----------



    What if you could milk a 2300 out of the budget?
    Hm, I'll dick with the CyberPower one. Not bothering with iBUYPOWER.

  5. #45
    If its only 50$ more I'm sure he could live with that :P

    http://slickdeals.net/permadeal/4916...ery-win-7-prem

    Just saw this, it looks good other than the crap screen it seems.

    # $300 off with code 8GHR80Q1PLLCF7
    # $100 off with code QFSNKXG0P1S1BK

    !!

    550 should ~ desktop 450 GTS

  6. #46
    ah haha k sory for all your trouble im just super newb at shit like this XD

  7. #47
    I am Murloc! M0cha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    5,202
    Quote Originally Posted by ayako View Post
    If its only 50$ more I'm sure he could live with that :P

    http://slickdeals.net/permadeal/4916...ery-win-7-prem

    Just saw this, it looks good other than the crap screen it seems.

    # $300 off with code 8GHR80Q1PLLCF7
    # $100 off with code QFSNKXG0P1S1BK

    !!

    550 should ~ desktop 450 GTS
    Holy deal batman! Does he want a laptop though? I hope I haven't been posting desktop setups just to have overlooked something...

    http://www.cyberpowerpc.com/saved/1D4TYE

    Anywhoo, that's with a 2300, I dropped back off the 460 because there is NO way that he's going to get both. The 450 isn't awful, I actually adore the little thing.

  8. #48
    and not interested in a laptop ayako

  9. #49
    Bloodsail Admiral DarkBlade6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Québec
    Posts
    1,178
    core i5 2500k
    gigabyte p67-ud3p
    corsair 4gb ddr3 vengeance
    antec 100
    antec truepower 650w
    gigabyte 6950 2gb (or 5870)
    scythe mugen rev.b
    640gb western digital caviar black

    thats about 1000$ at newegg.com
    but you will have to put the pieces together and get a OS

    will run Rift at 60fps with everything over ultra (shadow on, but probably not supersample)
    Core i5 3570k @ 4.7Ghz | Asus Gene Z77 | 16GB Ripjaws Z 2133Mhz | Asus GTX780 SLI
    Corsair 350D | Corsair H100i Push/Pull | RAID0 2X Corsair GT3 240GB | Corsair AX860i

  10. #50
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,858
    Still, I want to know what resolution he plays at. It might help...

  11. #51
    Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzykins View Post
    Holy deal batman! Does he want a laptop though? I hope I haven't been posting desktop setups just to have overlooked something...

    http://www.cyberpowerpc.com/saved/1D4TYE

    Anywhoo, that's with a 2300, I dropped back off the 460 because there is NO way that he's going to get both. The 450 isn't awful, I actually adore the little thing.
    Idk, I was browsing for cheap stuff and saw this. Figured a 1300 laptop for like 900 is a great deal. Screen is the only downer though. 1600x900 is pathetic.

  12. #52
    Quote Originally Posted by ayako View Post
    If its only 50$ more I'm sure he could live with that :P

    http://slickdeals.net/permadeal/4916...ery-win-7-prem

    Just saw this, it looks good other than the crap screen it seems.

    # $300 off with code 8GHR80Q1PLLCF7
    # $100 off with code QFSNKXG0P1S1BK

    !!

    550 should ~ desktop 450 GTS
    Horrible, horrible, horrible. The GPU is absolutely fail, the desktop 460 is a lot faster.

  13. #53
    I am Murloc! M0cha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    5,202
    Quote Originally Posted by mnm View Post
    core i5 2500k
    A 2300 would be a better deal on a budget. While I agree that this is an amazing CPU, it's not right for low budget builds.
    gigabyte p67-ud3p
    4gb ddr3 vengeance
    Overpriced RAM. Ugh.
    antec 100
    antec truepower 650w
    gigabyte 6950 2gb (or 5870)
    Dropping back on the GPU allows you to both lower the PSU and GPU cost. 460 is a better deal.
    scythe mugen rev.b
    I don't see him wanting a CPU cooler if he's not going to overclock. Realistically speaking, the stock heatsink will still do fine for no/minimal overclock.
    650gb western digital caviar black

    thats about 1000$ on at newegg.com

    will run Rift at 60fps with everything over ultra (shadow on, but probably not supersample)
    However, his budget isn't $1000, it's $700. Also, realistically speaking, he doesn't plan to overclock.

  14. #54
    The Patient Lypo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    225
    Not sure if they ship to Canada, but ecollegepc is pretty good too. Did a quick config on there (don't think I can post links yet...) AMD II X4 645, Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 mobo, 8GB RAM, 1TB HDD, GTX 460, 650W Antec Earthwatts PSU, comes out to around $749

  15. #55
    I am Murloc! M0cha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    5,202
    Quote Originally Posted by Stefy View Post
    Horrible, horrible, horrible. The GPU is absolutely fail, the desktop 460 is a lot faster.
    However, it's ~ equal to the desktop 450, as she said.

  16. #56
    Quote Originally Posted by Stefy View Post
    Horrible, horrible, horrible. The GPU is absolutely fail, the desktop 460 is a lot faster.
    Its a great deal, and will perform nearly as well as the AMD machines listed.

    Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzykins View Post
    However, it's ~ equal to the desktop 450, as she said.
    I'm ALMOST tempted to get one ^_^

  17. #57
    Quote Originally Posted by ayako View Post
    Idk, I was browsing for cheap stuff and saw this. Figured a 1300 laptop for like 900 is a great deal. Screen is the only downer though. 1600x900 is pathetic.
    It's not pathetic, it's above the usual standards. The GPU isn't capable of running most new games on high settings, let alone 1920x1080 res, it's only logical.

  18. #58
    @tetrisgoat i play on a laptop atm i have a 19inch monitor in a box lol so im not shure what resolution id be playing on

  19. #59
    Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzykins View Post
    However, it's ~ equal to the desktop 450, as she said.
    It's a slow card still, he's way better off with a desktop for the same price. That laptop won't even be able to compete. If you're to game on a laptop, at least get a 460m.

  20. #60
    hah just to clear this up i WILL NOT be getting a laptop

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •