10+ Year Old Account

Lightbulb [Guild] Casual and progression; How to find the right mix?

Hey guys,

I'm an officer in a casual, but progression oriented raiding guild.

We raid 3 nights a week. We basically have 2 types of guild members; Raiders and Members. Raiders are required to sign for 2 raids a week, members can also sign, but raiders will get first prio on picks. Raiders can be excused from 2 signs a week, but only if they make an afk post. We make raiders members if they consistently don't sign of afk post too much, which we track.

Here's the situation;
    We have always stressed that we are a casual progression raiding guild, we've always stressed that people learn and improve, we've always stressed that people know their roles in a group, and know what to do and not to do in a fight. We hope people figure out their class specific stuff, such as stat prio's and rotations.

However it feels like we're hitting a brick wall. A couple of us really read up on fights and their specific roles in a fight, try to improve themselves, and if they don't know how to improve themselves aren't afraid to ask for help. And then there's people who don't. And that last set of people seems to be pretty big, or at least to big for us to progress. However this group of people is there for the fun bit, and they are all very nice people.

We've tried chatting them up with other guildies who play the same class and perform much better. We've tried offering links that offer class specific info, such as this one. However on fights like Cho'gall and Nefarian they seem to always get stuck under the lava, or stack up corruption fast.

This is really starting to annoy others (like myself) who do know where to stand, what to attack, what to interrupt and how to communicate.

With firelands approaching, we're thinking about a progression oriented group and a fun based group, however I don't think we have enough people to pull it off.