1. #1
    Stood in the Fire Caiden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    474

    Firefox adress bar searches messed up

    So, I installed a youtube downloader which gave me a virus, I removed the virus with malwarebytes,

    but now im noticing that if I do a one word search in the address bar, it brings me to a site called urlseek,

    but if I do a two word search, it brings me to google as I wanted...Anyone have any suggestions?

    ive tried going in and changing keyword.url in about:config, and nothing changed, google searches haven't been helping,

    Thanks for any help.

    Edit: I took the lazy mans way out and switched to chrome, a mod can lock/delete this thread if they want
    Last edited by Caiden; 2011-07-31 at 02:53 PM.

  2. #2
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Aurora, Co
    Posts
    5,035
    where are people getting this virus infested youtube downloader, i pulled it straight from their site and had no issues with it

    oh, and uninstall firefox, including deleting user settings, run a registry cleaner, then install the latest version of firefox

    i7-4790K | Z97 Class. | 8GB DDR3-2133 | GTX-690 Quad SLI | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | AX1200 | FT02
    Dell U2711 | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Steelseries Sensei Wireless | Xonar Essence One | KRK RP8G2s

  3. #3
    you removed the virus...did you reinstall firefox? would probably be the easiest solution

  4. #4
    Stood in the Fire Caiden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    474
    Quote Originally Posted by hotdothot View Post
    you removed the virus...did you reinstall firefox? would probably be the easiest solution
    Somehow that didnt occur to me!

    Ill go do that now, thanks guys

    ---------- Post added 2011-07-31 at 10:41 AM ----------

    Okay, that didn't work somehow, same problem... any ideas? or should I just switch to chrome?

  5. #5
    What dns servers are you using? I use OpenDNS and it will give me its own "search" page (looks just like google so I don't care lol) when I do 1-word searches, but I get the firefox-configured one for anything larger. It's possible your dns servers were changed.
    If the radiance of a thousand suns were to burst at once into the sky, that would be like the splendor of the Mighty One... now I am become Death, the Destroyer of Worlds.

  6. #6
    That's strange, but as somebody said, try using a registry cleaner (although I don't really like those), or, simply switch your browser if you intended to do it anyway

  7. #7
    in about:config type

    browser.search.defaultenginename

    into the filter bar

    You should see a line with "Google" in the final position

    Then type

    browser.search.searchEnginesURL

    into the filter, the value at the end of the line should read

    https://addons.mozilla.org/%LOCALE%/%APP%/search-engines/

    This is for the search function in the Address Bar.

    Are these values the same as what you are seeing?

  8. #8
    Stood in the Fire Caiden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    474
    Quote Originally Posted by Butler Log View Post
    in about:config type

    browser.search.defaultenginename

    into the filter bar

    You should see a line with "Google" in the final position

    Then type

    browser.search.searchEnginesURL

    into the filter, the value at the end of the line should read

    https://addons.mozilla.org/%LOCALE%/...earch-engines/

    This is for the search function in the Address Bar.

    Are these values the same as what you are seeing?
    Yes that is all the same as mine.

  9. #9
    Scarab Lord
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Regina, Saskatchewan
    Posts
    4,303
    Sounds like you have a browser hijacker. If you look through the sticky on how to remove keyloggers at the top of this forum that will work for removing browser.hijackers also.

    To take it a step further though you want to also run these Microsoft Fix It Utilities:
    Internet Explorer Reset
    TCP/IP Reset
    WinSock Reset
    Windows Update Reset
    Hosts File Reset to Default

    Install and run each Microsoft Fix It utility. However do not restart the computer until you have ran the last utility. Each one will reset settings that browser hijackers have the capability to change.

  10. #10
    Stood in the Fire Caiden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    474
    Quote Originally Posted by Culadin View Post
    Sounds like you have a browser hijacker. If you look through the sticky on how to remove keyloggers at the top of this forum that will work for removing browser.hijackers also.

    To take it a step further though you want to also run these Microsoft Fix It Utilities:
    Internet Explorer Reset
    TCP/IP Reset
    WinSock Reset
    Windows Update Reset
    Hosts File Reset to Default

    Install and run each Microsoft Fix It utility. However do not restart the computer until you have ran the last utility. Each one will reset settings that browser hijackers have the capability to change.
    Tried all of that, problem remains, Im clueless on what to do here

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •