Page 14 of 57 FirstFirst ...
4
12
13
14
15
16
24
... LastLast
  1. #261
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,029
    Okay... so I just dragged the installed items onto my HDD from my SSD... let's just see what happens. :P

  2. #262
    Pit Lord Wries's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    2,320
    Cleaned up one of my GTX 460's at the breakfast table this morning :P

    Was at 85C at 100% fan speed while folding. Now it's in line with the other 460, 75C at 55% fan speed!

    Wish I would've done this sooner, darn it's quiet now (ehrm, by comparison)!
    Obsidian 350D | i7 2700K @ 4.8GHz | Corsair H110 | ASUS Maximus V Gene Z77 | 32GB RAM | Nvidia Geforce GTX Titan @ 1.1Ghz | 500GB SSD | 4TB Stripe

  3. #263
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,029
    Quote Originally Posted by Wries View Post
    Cleaned up one of my GTX 460's at the breakfast table this morning :P

    Was at 85C at 100% fan speed while folding. Now it's in line with the other 460, 75C at 55% fan speed!

    Wish I would've done this sooner, darn it's quiet now (ehrm, by comparison)!
    hot stuff dude!

    Though, is that... a reference cooler?! O_O

    ---------- Post added 2011-08-25 at 08:08 AM ----------

    man FFS, is there anyway to push the folding to use like 75% CPU? Or hell even 90%? All I'm doing is some very light internet browsing and I'd like to fold fasterrrrer! :/

  4. #264
    Pit Lord Wries's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    2,320
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    hot stuff dude!

    Though, is that... a reference cooler?!
    Nah it's not. It could've been. But the GTX 460 reference doesn't use a radial fan unlike most of the other reference GTXs. So it's not reference but performing as such.

    But radial fan and external exhaust is afaik something to prefer when you go SLI, since they blow out all the hot air through the back instead of leaving it inside the case.
    Last edited by Wries; 2011-08-25 at 08:16 AM.
    Obsidian 350D | i7 2700K @ 4.8GHz | Corsair H110 | ASUS Maximus V Gene Z77 | 32GB RAM | Nvidia Geforce GTX Titan @ 1.1Ghz | 500GB SSD | 4TB Stripe

  5. #265
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,029
    Yeah that's what I would want if I was to SLI... I think my Twin Frozr II does that automatically.

  6. #266
    Pit Lord Wries's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    2,320
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    man FFS, is there anyway to push the folding to use like 75% CPU? Or hell even 90%? All I'm doing is some very light internet browsing and I'd like to fold fasterrrrer! :/
    It's all up to receiving a work unit that requires SMP. Run the SMP client with -SMP tag, work packet big, possibly also -advmethods and you'll eventually get an A3 unit to fold.
    Obsidian 350D | i7 2700K @ 4.8GHz | Corsair H110 | ASUS Maximus V Gene Z77 | 32GB RAM | Nvidia Geforce GTX Titan @ 1.1Ghz | 500GB SSD | 4TB Stripe

  7. #267
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,029
    I'll be honest, a lot of that was gibberish to me. XD Still learning some stuff. =/

    Should I have downloaded the version for more advanced systems? I simply downloaded the version that was for Windows. =S

  8. #268
    Just as an update as to what's been happening with my available free space, it's now jumped up to 77GB of it's own accord just by leaving it on overnight again. Not that I'm complaining but it is pretty damned weird how it can fluctuate by such a large amount.

  9. #269
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,029
    Quote Originally Posted by jonny888 View Post
    Just as an update as to what's been happening with my available free space, it's now jumped up to 77GB of it's own accord just by leaving it on overnight again. Not that I'm complaining but it is pretty damned weird how it can fluctuate by such a large amount.
    Yeah I lost about 12 GB on my SSD.... freaked me out a good bit the other week. I now have it on my 1TB HDD.

  10. #270
    Mechagnome Adappy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    711
    Okay seems I have an issue. Whenever I pause or close the GPU thread within the V7 client after it's been running for a while... my GPU gets stuck in 405MHz mode... it will go into idle mode like normal, but won't go back up to full speed (currently 800MHz @1.013V) Not even applying a new clock speed within MSI Afterburner will bump it up (it usually jumps straight into full 3D mode for a moment when you change settings)

  11. #271
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ceti Alpha V
    Posts
    3,662
    Quote Originally Posted by Adappy View Post
    Okay seems I have an issue. Whenever I pause or close the GPU thread within the V7 client after it's been running for a while... my GPU gets stuck in 405MHz mode... it will go into idle mode like normal, but won't go back up to full speed (currently 800MHz @1.013V) Not even applying a new clock speed within MSI Afterburner will bump it up (it usually jumps straight into full 3D mode for a moment when you change settings)
    I get the same issue sometimes, requires a reboot. =/
    Statism: Total bliss is just one more regulation away.

  12. #272
    Mechagnome Adappy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    711
    Yeah rebooting it fixed it. Well that's inconvenient... at least my reboot speeds are fairly quick (yay SSDs! )

  13. #273
    Just to let you guys know, i joined the team! Have done this before, but decided to help mmo-c out :P

  14. #274
    Pit Lord Wries's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    2,320
    Same issue what with the 405MHz downclock here. Though not always, just _might_ happen after I've restarted the client for some reason. Using V6.41 console client.
    Obsidian 350D | i7 2700K @ 4.8GHz | Corsair H110 | ASUS Maximus V Gene Z77 | 32GB RAM | Nvidia Geforce GTX Titan @ 1.1Ghz | 500GB SSD | 4TB Stripe

  15. #275
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ceti Alpha V
    Posts
    3,662
    Oh Wries, now is your chance to catch up, I forgot to unsleep my machine and switch the clients on this morning. xD
    Statism: Total bliss is just one more regulation away.

  16. #276
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,029
    Quote Originally Posted by Asera View Post
    Oh Wries, now is your chance to catch up, I forgot to unsleep my machine and switch the clients on this morning. xD
    OWNED.

    /10char...

  17. #277
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ceti Alpha V
    Posts
    3,662
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    OWNED.

    /10char...
    How about you contribute to cancer curing more!
    Statism: Total bliss is just one more regulation away.

  18. #278
    Pit Lord Wries's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    2,320
    Quote Originally Posted by Asera View Post
    Oh Wries, now is your chance to catch up, I forgot to unsleep my machine and switch the clients on this morning. xD
    woo! I was very close earlier but all of a sudden you received about 4000 points so now I'm pretty far behind again ;o

    Though my bigadv unit will be done in less than 24h, bonus points or not it gotta give me a decent chunk of points!
    Obsidian 350D | i7 2700K @ 4.8GHz | Corsair H110 | ASUS Maximus V Gene Z77 | 32GB RAM | Nvidia Geforce GTX Titan @ 1.1Ghz | 500GB SSD | 4TB Stripe

  19. #279
    High Overlord Misen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    199
    lol is it bad if I leave our score page open when I go to bed and when I wake up open a new one to compare both :S
    looks like we had alot of people crunching overnight


    Ironically enough one of my close friends was just diagnosed with ovarian cancer... It pumps me up even more to want to do this.

  20. #280
    Pit Lord Wries's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    2,320
    Quote Originally Posted by Misen View Post
    lol is it bad if I leave our score page open when I go to bed and when I wake up open a new one to compare both :S
    I do this every hour!
    Obsidian 350D | i7 2700K @ 4.8GHz | Corsair H110 | ASUS Maximus V Gene Z77 | 32GB RAM | Nvidia Geforce GTX Titan @ 1.1Ghz | 500GB SSD | 4TB Stripe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •