Page 21 of 57 FirstFirst ...
11
19
20
21
22
23
31
... LastLast
  1. #401
    Pit Lord Wries's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    2,379
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Oh so update, I think I properly installed the SMP client.... it is doing a 50,000 fold unit thing or w.e. x_x I watched as it downloaded some enormous amount of bytes. Guessing it downloaded it all straight to the RAM, not to the drive, thank God.
    It is probably not doing that. Do remember that for example a megabyte is "an anormous amount of bytes", so that the console shows its numbers in bytes will result in quite a lot of digits though the package may be small.
    My main drive being my poor SSD which is down to 11GB. :<
    Put the FaH client on a HDD then ;o It's directly bad for the SSD to have FaH doing its I/O on it.
    Obsidian 350D | Intel Core i7 2700K @ 4.8GHz | ASUS Maximus V Gene Z77 | 32GB RAM | Nvidia Geforce GTX Titan 6GB | 500GB SSD | 4TB Stripe

  2. #402
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,243
    Quote Originally Posted by Wries View Post
    It is probably not doing that. Do remember that for example a megabyte is "an anormous amount of bytes", so that the console shows its numbers in bytes will result in quite a lot of digits though the package may be small. Put the FaH client on a HDD then ;o It's directly bad for the SSD to have FaH doing its I/O on it.
    Yeah it looked more like 3GB that had been downloaded. No way I want to move and redo all that crap now to my HDD. XD Unless, how bad is it? >_>

    ---------- Post added 2011-09-01 at 03:16 AM ----------

    "Cyanotical - 349 WU's"

    lolwut? Cyanotical Cyanotical he's our man, if he can't do it, then Synthaxx probably can!
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  3. #403
    Rank 2469! gogo MMO-Champ! Although cyanotical is carrying most of us!!

  4. #404
    Iv stopped folding for now, my room just gets to hot with cpu and gpu at 100% all the time, i will start again when its not summer

  5. #405
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    This side of an imaginary line in the sand
    Posts
    3,739
    Quote Originally Posted by georgevonfranken View Post
    Iv stopped folding for now, my room just gets to hot with cpu and gpu at 100% all the time, i will start again when its not summer
    Yeah the only thing I have going at home now is the PS3 because of that.

    Still got a 2500K, i3 540 and GTS250 going near nonstop at work though.
    Node 304 | i7 3770 | H77N WIFI | 2x4GiB HyperX 1600 | 2x512GB MX100 | MSI GTX970 4GiB | U2711 | 6GV2 | Naga Hex Wrath | Yamaha RX-V550 | Win8.1 Pro
    15" Retina MBP | i7 4960HQ | 16GiB 1600 | 512GB PCIe SSD | IRIS Pro + GT750M | G700S | OSX 10.10

  6. #406
    I've got my CPU downclocked for the rest of the summer, but I'm joining on in this! Got the SMP client and just letting it go. Thinking about enabling HyperThreading to really get through some of this stuff.

    I would use the GPU client, it doesn't support 6XXX series GPUs
    Last edited by Cantii; 2011-09-01 at 05:39 PM.
    Intel Core i7 950 @ 4GHz, 1.34v | ASUS Sabertooth X58 | MSI R6870 HAWK | 12GB G.SKILL Sniper @ 1600MHz 8-7-8-20-1T | Acer S211HLbd | Noctua NH-D14
    Corsair Graphite 600T SE | Corsair HX750 750W PSU


  7. #407
    Legendary! Asmekiel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Maybe over there
    Posts
    6,494
    Quote Originally Posted by Cantii View Post
    I would use the GPU client, it doesn't support 6XXX series GPUs
    Oh, yes it does. My 6950 took about 3 hours per WU, I believe.. I stopped it already because my room was heating up too much.

  8. #408
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,243
    So I can run two clients, correct? One for GPU and one for CPU? Which GPU one should I download if that is the case?
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  9. #409
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    So I can run two clients, correct? One for GPU and one for CPU? Which GPU one should I download if that is the case?
    If you have the v7 client it does both cpu and gpu

  10. #410
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,243
    Quote Originally Posted by georgevonfranken View Post
    If you have the v7 client it does both cpu and gpu
    I believe I installed that 6.3 one or something. x_x

    Link to v7? <3

    And do I have to go through all that crap again to install it? ._.
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  11. #411
    Legendary! Asmekiel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Maybe over there
    Posts
    6,494
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    I believe I installed that 6.3 one or something. x_x

    Link to v7? <3

    And do I have to go through all that crap again to install it? ._.
    Clicky!
    Uhm.. probably. Don't know exactly, only used it for the GPU.

  12. #412
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,243
    Quote Originally Posted by Asmekiel View Post
    Clicky!
    Uhm.. probably. Don't know exactly, only used it for the GPU.
    So they're suggesting "if you have Windows the 32bit version is probably a safe bet".... I have 64 bit, should I still get the 32 version? O.o
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  13. #413
    Do i need a beast for folding or i can do it with my browser computer?

  14. #414
    Legendary! Asmekiel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Maybe over there
    Posts
    6,494
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    So they're suggesting "if you have Windows the 32bit version is probably a safe bet".... I have 64 bit, should I still get the 32 version? O.o
    I never used a 64bit folding client. Should be fine :P

    Quote Originally Posted by charleybwoy View Post
    Do i need a beast for folding or i can do it with my browser computer?
    Even my laptop, with a C2D T9600 is folding XD

  15. #415
    @Asmekiel ;Alright! many thanks for the answer, im startin tonight

  16. #416
    Legendary! Asmekiel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Maybe over there
    Posts
    6,494
    Quote Originally Posted by charleybwoy View Post
    @Asmekiel ;Alright! many thanks for the answer, im startin tonight
    It's not the fastest though, takes about 24hours for 1 SMP WU to finish :P

  17. #417
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,243
    Aww v7 isn't a hot Command Prompt version where you can easily view the progress. :<
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  18. #418
    Legendary! Asmekiel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Maybe over there
    Posts
    6,494
    Meh, percentages are more than enough to see your progress.

  19. #419
    Woot I'm in the top 40! Go little Core2Duo go!!

  20. #420
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,243
    Should I stop the folding in v6.3?

    ---------- Post added 2011-09-02 at 02:45 AM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Should I stop the folding in v6.3?
    (For installing v7 client...)

    ---------- Post added 2011-09-02 at 03:38 AM ----------

    So how fast is my computer folding if in the SMP client folded a 750,000 step thing in about 4 hours and 45 minutes?
    Last edited by DeltrusDisc; 2011-09-02 at 04:03 AM.
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •