Page 51 of 57 FirstFirst ...
41
49
50
51
52
53
... LastLast
  1. #1001
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    is it a high pitch wine?
    yes but it is on for roughly one second and off for one second. and when the case is closed it can barely be heard over my case fans on medium rpms.

  2. #1002
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,452
    Sounds like coil whine to me.
    It originates from capacitators from your GPUs PCB.

  3. #1003
    [QUOTE=tetrisGOAT;15389719]Sounds like coil whine to me.
    It originates from capacitators from your GPUs PCB.[/QUOTE
    is it anything to be worried about?

  4. #1004
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,452
    It's not anything dangerous, it's just the annoying noise.

  5. #1005
    thanks just wanted to make sure before i broke something

  6. #1006
    Mechagnome Adappy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    711
    So apparently in 1.9 days we're gonna beat France

    Thought that was funny for some reason

  7. #1007
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ceti Alpha V
    Posts
    3,643
    Quote Originally Posted by J-Wallz View Post
    ok so i have a question for you guys. after about 1min of folding i start to hear a faint squeak/beep coming from my computer. sounds like from the mobo/gpu region but cannot tell. i fold on my gtx560 and 2500k @ 4.5GHz. my only concern is it would be a warning beep but i dont know where it would be comming from. using my fan controller i was able to eliminate all my case fans and gpu fans from the eqauation. so far i havent heard it before comming from my computer.

    Also my temps while everything is folding are all under 60 C for all cores and GPU

    thought?

    my setup
    t started as a CM HAF 912
    i5 2500k OC @4.5ghz
    CM hyper 212 cooler
    gigabyte OC gtx 560 core clock 2 915mhz
    WD caviar black 1tb
    nzxt senturl lx fan control
    8gb ddr3 1330
    msi p67a-c43 (b3)
    Speaking from personal esperience, it's most likely this:

    msi p67a-c43 (b3)
    I used to use this board before swapping it for a Z68 board. It had pretty apparent coil whine when under heavy load when overclocked. It's an el cheapo board for a reason.
    Statism: Total bliss is just one more regulation away.

  8. #1008
    thanks asera but tetris was right it is the GPU because when i change my core clock on my gpu the pitch of the whine changes which makes sense to me.

  9. #1009
    Titan DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    14,860
    Back in business as of tonight!

    My machine will likely be folding constantly for the next... oh... say 24 hours plus? Got college all day tomorrow and when I come home I'll likely go to bed pretty quick. So massive F@H points to announce Deltrus' return! >

    ---------- Post added 2012-02-23 at 03:42 PM ----------

    Well idk what happened but apparently the F@H server didn't like my GPU's folding results, so it stopped the GPU tagged with "failed" and has not started back up at all. I even tried right-clicking the GPU to tell it to fold - nothing.

    Had to pause everything just now to get the GPU to work... if it fails again then idk what I'll do. =/

  10. #1010
    Mechagnome Adappy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    711
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Well idk what happened but apparently the F@H server didn't like my GPU's folding results, so it stopped the GPU tagged with "failed" and has not started back up at all. I even tried right-clicking the GPU to tell it to fold - nothing.

    Had to pause everything just now to get the GPU to work... if it fails again then idk what I'll do. =/
    Means your GPU isn't stable... turn down the overclock If it does fail you can go into the data folder (wherever F@H got installed) and delete the data entry.. not 100% sure how or what to delete, but I'm sure there's info somewhere on the interwebs.

  11. #1011
    Titan DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    14,860
    Quote Originally Posted by Adappy View Post
    Means your GPU isn't stable... turn down the overclock If it does fail you can go into the data folder (wherever F@H got installed) and delete the data entry.. not 100% sure how or what to delete, but I'm sure there's info somewhere on the interwebs.
    Guh.

    This overclock isssss stable though! Hell I used to fold with a 985MHz Core clock, now it's only 950MHz. =/

  12. #1012
    Scarab Lord Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Aurora, Co
    Posts
    4,907
    Quote Originally Posted by Adappy View Post
    Means your GPU isn't stable... turn down the overclock If it does fail you can go into the data folder (wherever F@H got installed) and delete the data entry.. not 100% sure how or what to delete, but I'm sure there's info somewhere on the interwebs.
    idk, i've been getting alot of "failed" on some my GPUs, using the latest drivers, and latest v7 client, not sure which is bad, but my money is on the nvidia drivers

    i7-4930K | RIVE | 32GB DDR3-2133 | GTX-690 Quad SLI | Xonar Xense | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | AX1200 | FT02
    Dell U2711 | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Steelseries Sensei Wireless | Xonar Essence One | KRK RP8G2s

  13. #1013

  14. #1014
    The computer I'm running it on is in another building in another city, and I haven't checked it for some weeks. Hope it's still running. ><

    edit: Yep, appears so: http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/...username=Janaa
    Aww.. 75th in the team. Oh well, can't expect much more from a $600 Dell workstation. ^^

    On a side note, is "some weeks" a record for a Vista machine staying up?
    Last edited by Janaa; 2012-02-24 at 01:38 AM.
    Quote Originally Posted by DSRilk
    The true measure of a person is how they act when they know they won't get caught.

  15. #1015
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    WOOOOOO!!!!

    1,000,000 Folding@Home points achieved!
    So.... Close.....

  16. #1016
    Titan DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    14,860
    Quote Originally Posted by mojo6912 View Post
    So.... Close.....
    I stopped folding until I hear of some fix for the NVidia bug, plus with my computer still having artifacting problems after a few days of being on, I'm just shutting it off when not in use.

  17. #1017
    Folding at home is also on the PS3 if you with the system care. Right now my PS3 is doing it and it's almost done I think about 900 units, although i've had to redownload the software a few times so its' truly done about 1300 - 1500 Work Units. Some people have dedicated PS3 and computers to folding, now THAT'S distributed and dedication.

  18. #1018
    So just tried to set up the F@H stuff today, and just had a few questions as I don't really have a clue how it works.

    Does it use both the CPU & GPU at the same time? (On the same project? Different one?)

    In the ss below, it says my GPU load is 0%. Is that normal? The clocks aren't sitting on idle and the temps are increasing so I'm guessing it's doing something.


    My 'go power' seems to be really changing a lot too. When I first started, the PPD was on like 6000-7000, then I paused and came back and turned it on a again. PPD was sitting on 600-700 (on 3000 now), and the current project has jumped from 9 hours -> 6 hours -> 1 1/2 hours now over about 15mins, without any of the usage changing.
    Is this just the randomness of the project, or something else maybe?

    Is there any setting I should be changing from the default they come as?



    Thanks for any help!
    Intel i5 2500K | ASRock z77 Extreme4 | 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP | Gigabyte Windforcex3 GTX 680 OC | Crucial M4 128GB
    Western Digital Caviar Black 1.5TB | H100 | NZXT Hale90 850w | Arc Midi
    Filco Ninja Majestouch-2 (Browns)

  19. #1019
    Titan DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    14,860
    @Resinderate - They work on different WUs but in terms of the GPU, it is likely just getting started. In regards to the PPD, the i5-2500K is not the best at folding, to be fair. Trust me, it took me a good 6 months or so to reach 1,000,000 points where Cyanotical on the other hand was waaaaay ahead.

  20. #1020
    At the moment I have 2 units in the work queue, one for the GPU and one for the CPU. But the GPU one isn't progressing at all and the CPU one just keeps finishing, and then getting the next Work Unit to work on. So I'm guessing it's not normal that the GPU basically isn't folding at all?

    Should I try making a new slot or something to refresh it recognising the GPU, or could it be GPU drivers or something? (I'll have to go take a look if I've got the latest now!)
    Intel i5 2500K | ASRock z77 Extreme4 | 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP | Gigabyte Windforcex3 GTX 680 OC | Crucial M4 128GB
    Western Digital Caviar Black 1.5TB | H100 | NZXT Hale90 850w | Arc Midi
    Filco Ninja Majestouch-2 (Browns)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •