Thread: SSD boot times

  1. #1

    SSD boot times

    It takes one minute and seven seconds for my computer to boot with my Corsair SSD force 3... Not so impressive. I've installed windows on it and put it on boot priority in bios. What do?

  2. #2
    Epic! Skelly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Haligonia, NS, Canada
    Posts
    1,676
    One minute seven seconds.. Are you including your POST? Are you including all your programs loading? Did you do a fresh install of windows or just copy it? Are the rest of your programs on the SSD?
    i7 930 @ 4.0Ghz | Sapphire HD5970 w/ Accelero Xtreme | ASUS P6X58D Premium | 32GB Kingston DDR3-1600
    Xonar Essence STX | 128GB Vertex 4 | AX750 | Xigmatek Elysium
    Laing D5 | XSPC RX 360mm | Koolance RP-452X2 | EK-Supreme HF
    Dell 3007WFP-HC | Samsung BX2350 | Das Keyboard Model S Ultimate | Razer Naga Molten | Sennheiser HD650

  3. #3
    Bloodsail Admiral Koen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,091
    No clue what is wrong but it takes mine about 15seconds to completely start up.

  4. #4
    If you're waiting for other programs to load up before you declare that its fully running make sure those programs are also on you SSD. It could be that the programs are on your HDD and that only your OS is on the SSD that's why you feel that way.

  5. #5
    I have skype and steam but I don't think they are causing the problem

  6. #6
    Fluffy Kitten llDemonll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    6,581
    Just as a frame of reference, all of the Dell/Sony's that pass through my hands will do complete shutdown and restart in 30 seconds or less, so booting should be ~15-20 seconds on average

    "I'm glad you play better than you read/post on forums." -Ninety
    BF3 Profile | Steam Profile | Assemble a Computer in 9.75 Steps! | Video Rendering Done Right

  7. #7
    Titan Synthaxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Rotherham, England/UK
    Posts
    13,089
    If you're including POST in your boot times, that's where your issue lies. Pretty much, you can't really do anything to speed it up, other than disabling any less-used or unused disk controllers.

    What i've found is that since i moved from my old Gigabyte board to an Asus one a few months ago, the boot time to an SSD changed from the Windows boot logo not even finishing, to it being sat finished for another 5-10 seconds. Essentially, different motherboards, even using the same controller, can have quite a large effect on load times.

    Also, make sure you've NOT got Windows Backup enabled. I found that it would cause my boot sequence to pause for 30-60 seconds at the logo before continuing.
    Coder, Gamer - IOCube | #Error418MasterRace #ScottBrokeIt
    Knows: Node.js, JS + JQuery, HTML + CSS, Object Pascal, PHP, WQL/SQL

    PC: 750D / 16GB / 256GB + 750GB / GTX780 / 4670K / Z87X-UD4H | Laptop: 8GB / 120GB + 480GB / GTX765M / 4700MQ

  8. #8
    Eh? My computer boots on an SSD to the point of being able to launch WoW in 45 seconds.

  9. #9
    Basically the biggest timesink when I turn it on is when it says "loading operating system" it takes maybe 40 seconds, how do I turn off windows backup?

  10. #10
    Titan Synthaxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Rotherham, England/UK
    Posts
    13,089
    Quote Originally Posted by Sopperino View Post
    Basically the biggest timesink when I turn it on is when it says "loading operating system" it takes maybe 40 seconds, how do I turn off windows backup?
    By default, it should be disabled, but just in case something went haywire;
    Open the start menu and type "Backup and Restore", then press enter
    From here, simply follow the instructions to disable it.

    If it's not enabled, it'll say "Windows Backup has not been set up". Unfortunately, i've got my system setup so backup is forcibly disabled so i can't start it up to see exactly what it says when it is enabled, but if it is, it should be easy enough to disable.
    Coder, Gamer - IOCube | #Error418MasterRace #ScottBrokeIt
    Knows: Node.js, JS + JQuery, HTML + CSS, Object Pascal, PHP, WQL/SQL

    PC: 750D / 16GB / 256GB + 750GB / GTX780 / 4670K / Z87X-UD4H | Laptop: 8GB / 120GB + 480GB / GTX765M / 4700MQ

  11. #11
    High Overlord Motoma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    157
    I'm on around 19-23 seconds on a Vertex 2, something is definitely not right with yours.

  12. #12
    Epic! Skelly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Haligonia, NS, Canada
    Posts
    1,676
    Well on my X25-M, POST is like 20s, loading into desktop is like another 15s, and then programs take over a minute to fully load. Very rough estimates, maybe ill time it at some point.
    i7 930 @ 4.0Ghz | Sapphire HD5970 w/ Accelero Xtreme | ASUS P6X58D Premium | 32GB Kingston DDR3-1600
    Xonar Essence STX | 128GB Vertex 4 | AX750 | Xigmatek Elysium
    Laing D5 | XSPC RX 360mm | Koolance RP-452X2 | EK-Supreme HF
    Dell 3007WFP-HC | Samsung BX2350 | Das Keyboard Model S Ultimate | Razer Naga Molten | Sennheiser HD650

  13. #13
    The Patient -Atlass-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Mississippi - US
    Posts
    341
    Just clocked mine in at a little over a minute and 30 seconds. I work in IT and I for the life of me don't know why mine is so slow.

    I have 2 Intel 510 series (Elmcrest) SSD's in a RAID0 array. Given it's the basic software raid controller but honestly I think I am missing something.
    I ran a basic speed test on them and these are the results... something tells me it should be booting faster than it does.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •