1. #1
    The Patient PotatoCoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Almere-Poort, The Netherlands
    Posts
    338

    Failure obtaining ip address of interface eth1

    I keep d/cing a few times a day no internet for about 30 to 60 seconds. I checked my router logs this time while i had no internet and it gave me this error.

    Sep 4 18:17:26 (none) local6.err upnpd[3202]: Failure obtaining ip address of interface eth1

    Does any1 know what it means?

  2. #2
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,312
    your ethernet nic is looking for a IP address from teh DHCP server (usually your router)
    try assigning a static address:

    ip: 192.168.1.55
    subnet: 255.255.255.0
    gateway: 192.168.1.1

    primary dns: 192.168.1.1
    alt dns: 8.8.8.8

    oh, you may want to check that your router actually uses the 192.168.1.x addressing scheme first

    i7-4790K | Z97 Class. | 8GB DDR3-2133 | GTX-690 Quad SLI | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | AX1200 | RV05
    Dell U2711 | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Steelseries Sensei | Xonar Essence One | KRK RP8G2s

  3. #3
    Banned Doirdyn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,042
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    your ethernet nic is looking for a IP address from teh DHCP server (usually your router)
    try assigning a static address:

    ip: 192.168.1.55
    subnet: 255.255.255.0
    gateway: 192.168.1.1

    primary dns: 192.168.1.1
    alt dns: 8.8.8.8

    oh, you may want to check that your router actually uses the 192.168.1.x addressing scheme first
    Completely offtopic, but FOUR GTX590s!? What could you possibly be doing o_O

    OT: Run nslookup on command line and see what DNS servers your PC is using, might want to manually assign them on your PC. Also check that your router has a static address, might want to leave your PC on auto

  4. #4
    Fluffy Kitten Tribunal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    notonthisplanetanymore.jpg
    Posts
    1,617
    I found one thread where a guy had a similar error (among many others) and he replaced his router/apparently dying modem and fixed it.

    Is the router fairly new? Might try exchanging it to test it out if you rent, should be fairly simple.

    I get similar disconnects (although not as frequently and mine are only on one computer) and my ISP says everything is fine on their end while everything they and others have told me to test on my end is fine as well. I hope you have better luck than I did getting yours fixed.

  5. #5
    Sounds like a driver issue honestly. Try updating your nic drivers/wireless drivers. Whichever you are using. Then reset your router and modem. See if that fixes the issue for you.

  6. #6
    The Patient PotatoCoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Almere-Poort, The Netherlands
    Posts
    338
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    your ethernet nic is looking for a IP address from teh DHCP server (usually your router)
    try assigning a static address:

    ip: 192.168.1.55
    subnet: 255.255.255.0
    gateway: 192.168.1.1

    primary dns: 192.168.1.1
    alt dns: 8.8.8.8

    oh, you may want to check that your router actually uses the 192.168.1.x addressing scheme first
    My router is using 192.168.0.1 to logon and 192.168.0.x x=2 or higher

    So does that mean i need to change your settings with the ip i got selected?

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by PotatoCoffee View Post
    My router is using 192.168.0.1 to logon and 192.168.0.x x=2 or higher

    So does that mean i need to change your settings with the ip i got selected?
    What's probably happening is your dynamic IP lease times out and it just take a while to get a new one. So yea set your IP manually to 192.168.0.5 (no specific reason I chose 5) and change your subnet mask to 255.255.255.0 and your default gateway to 192.168.0.1
    Quote Originally Posted by Traknel View Post
    Yes it is. In fact, the next expansion is going to be called "Mists of Metzen" and is just going to be various mobs with his face stuck on them.

  8. #8
    The Patient PotatoCoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Almere-Poort, The Netherlands
    Posts
    338
    Quote Originally Posted by Calibar View Post
    What's probably happening is your dynamic IP lease times out and it just take a while to get a new one. So yea set your IP manually to 192.168.0.5 (no specific reason I chose 5) and change your subnet mask to 255.255.255.0 and your default gateway to 192.168.0.1
    Just done that still got internet so thats fine will see how it goes.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •