Page 1 of 2
LastLast

New (and first) built computer, worth it?

Hello everyone,

I am going to build my first computer very soon. I have the parts i would need planned out however i am still an amateur with most hardware so i still have my doubts and i would like to see if any of you could give me advice with my concerns.

First off, I am a major gamer and i am trying to build a computer that could run any game i want very smooth. The main games i am/will be playing is battlefield 3, diablo 3, WoW, and guild wars 2. [There are many others but i think that gives you some idea of what i am trying to achieve here.] I have about 400-500 dollars to work with which i would be very happy with not reaching that max price.

I already have some parts for the computer which are:

-Corsair 650w gameseries PSU
    - XFX Radeon HD 6790 GPU
    - 750GB HDD
    - Optical drive [ Its from my current computer, i dont have the specs right now but i am confident it is fine to use]
    - SuperMulti 16X DVD(+/-)R/RW 12X RAM (+/-)R DL LightScribe SATA drive

This is what i have came up with so far with the build: http://i625.photobucket.com/albums/t...tbuildcomp.jpg

So what i am wondering is if the motherboard or processor are at a decent price? I really do not know what to really look for in a motherboard or processor, i simply found these through a recommendation. Would this set up allow me to run what i want? Would it last for a while? (before i would have to upgrade the parts)
    Should i invest in a larger, higher quality case?

10+ Year Old Account
    Everything looks great. Do not go AMD right now, they are very far behind. The i5 2500k is the best for the buck, overclock it it 4.5ghz easily. Get a aftermarket cooler for it. For motherboards, I like Asus's, but go for anything you want. Look at how many pci-e slots you need, and just the regular specs of the motherboard. The i5 is very very very good. Also, case is pretty much up to you.