Page 1 of 3
1
2
3
LastLast
  1. #1

    Beta stuck on "Updating Setup Files"

    so i really dont know whats causing this, i've re-downloaded it, restarted my comp etc. it wasnt doing this yesterday when i tried opening the beta to download it.

    has anyone else had this problem? i know theres been problems about being stuck while downloading the beta, but this is before even the launcher opens


    Mod edit: Solution here
    Last edited by chaud; 2012-04-07 at 06:08 AM.

  2. #2
    I had this happen, I just let it go for like an hour, maybe more, it finally finished.

  3. #3
    The Patient Hilde's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Norway, Draenor EU
    Posts
    340
    Mine got stuck at exactly that point. I restarted and all that, but what worked in the end was just waiting. When it got past that point it was like done immediately. Just wait it out, it's not how I'm used to installers working but beta is beta.

  4. #4
    I went out after posting this and just now got back home and its in the same exact spot..... Meh just gonna close it and hope it works tmw

  5. #5
    Delete the Battle.net folder with the Agent file in it. That should solve the problem. The Agent file has had issues before.
    Obelodalix
    "There will be a mount reward for killing Deathwing."
    http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:A...c3VvPCVHwc_kWA

  6. #6
    The Insane Aquamonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Universe
    Posts
    18,141
    At least from the Pre-download thread for people who haven't gotten into the beta yet, close the launcher and Agent.exe from your task manager. Delete (or rename) the Battle.net folder from your C:\ProgramData then start the beta launcher again.
    Originally Posted by Blizzard Entertainment
    ´So.. sorry to bring this up but..you know that .."thing" (Med'an).. is that "thing" cannon still?
    ...as much have some have wished otherwise, yes. (Loreology)

    RPG is non-canon by default. (MickyNeilson)

  7. #7

  8. #8
    Stood in the Fire Firen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    350
    Happened to me several times and what helped me (on a Mac though) was… I deleted "World of Warcraft.app" and "World of Warcraft Beta Launcher.app" (just moved it to the trash bin), then opened the "World of Warcraft Beta Setup.app" file (which you use to download). That then said something like "something went wrong, please install again bla bla", then it closed, I recovered the two files from the trash bin, then opened World of Warcraft Beta Launcher.app and the normal Launcher window came up and downloaded again.

    :3

    Greetings

  9. #9
    Start Menu > Run

    Write %programdata% and press Enter.

    Find Battle.net folder and open it.

    There should be three folders: Agent, Client and Setup. Now, delete all of them, completely.

    Restart the launcher again.

    Mine was fixed with this way.

    Good luck.

  10. #10
    Thanks Nelliel, that solved the issue for me! How do you guys come up with these solutions?

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by lekein View Post
    How do you guys come up with these solutions?
    Apart from the use of forum search and Google? Meditation under the cherry blossom tree.

  12. #12
    I am Murloc! MasterHamster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Land of the mighty moose, polar bears and fika.
    Posts
    5,982
    Had an Agent.exe issue as well, did as Aquamonkey said and renamed the Battle.net folder in ProgramData
    Then restarted the Beta Setup.
    Originally Posted by Blizzard Entertainment
    The biggest challenge of WoW is designing for the many different audiences that play the game.
    Yeah, you're trying to satisfy players who doesn't even enjoy playing RPGs, and thus you're alienating those who do.

  13. #13
    Deleted
    Quote Originally Posted by Nelliell View Post
    Start Menu > Run

    Write %programdata% and press Enter.

    Find Battle.net folder and open it.

    There should be three folders: Agent, Client and Setup. Now, delete all of them, completely.

    Restart the launcher again.

    Mine was fixed with this way.

    Good luck.
    God Dahm Genius.. or well at-least you helped me, thanks

  14. #14
    Elemental Lord Spl4sh3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    8,403
    Didn't work for me, removed the Battle.Net folder in %appdata% and %programdata% and it's still stuck on updating setup files...unless its meant to take a half hour or longer.

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by Nelliell View Post
    Start Menu > Run

    Write %programdata% and press Enter.

    Find Battle.net folder and open it.

    There should be three folders: Agent, Client and Setup. Now, delete all of them, completely.

    Restart the launcher again.

    Mine was fixed with this way.

    Good luck.
    This worked for me as well! You are awesome!

  16. #16
    Quote Originally Posted by Nelliell View Post
    Start Menu > Run

    Write %programdata% and press Enter.

    Find Battle.net folder and open it.

    There should be three folders: Agent, Client and Setup. Now, delete all of them, completely.

    Restart the launcher again.

    Mine was fixed with this way.

    Good luck.
    You're a saint.
    Hide behind a little Bloodelf Paladin?!? Ridiculous! Make way for the Beef of Light! I will shield you, little ones, and should I fall, remember that I taste amazing with Mustard.

  17. #17
    Bloodsail Admiral Icebear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,135
    Quote Originally Posted by Firen View Post
    Happened to me several times and what helped me (on a Mac though) was… I deleted "World of Warcraft.app" and "World of Warcraft Beta Launcher.app" (just moved it to the trash bin), then opened the "World of Warcraft Beta Setup.app" file (which you use to download). That then said something like "something went wrong, please install again bla bla", then it closed, I recovered the two files from the trash bin, then opened World of Warcraft Beta Launcher.app and the normal Launcher window came up and downloaded again.

    :3

    Greetings
    Had the same issue, what I did is letting it stand the whole night. After that I quitted the program and opened it, and I got through because it had downloaded it all.

  18. #18
    Immortal rcshaggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    The Bottomless Grave
    Posts
    7,163
    My Beta updated fine and is there a chance that people can still get in no matter what or I'm too late?
    For the Horde!

  19. #19
    Quote Originally Posted by Nelliell View Post
    Start Menu > Run

    Write %programdata% and press Enter.

    Find Battle.net folder and open it.

    There should be three folders: Agent, Client and Setup. Now, delete all of them, completely.

    Restart the launcher again.

    Mine was fixed with this way.

    Good luck.
    Just wanted to say that worked like a champ. Thanks.

  20. #20
    I did this and it worked, but now it doesn't want to start installing. "Installing..... 0%" :/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •