Laptop screen types

Hey guys,

Thinking about getting a new laptop for when I'm working in the field. I am a geologist so I work out in the bush. Often tenting it up but we have a generator for power etc. I have a stable working area and I won't be carrying it with me all day so I don't need a toughbook or anything like that.

What kind of screen do I need to be looking at to reduce glare from the sun to a minimum as I will be working outside 24/7. Am open to any suggestions including apple.

Cheers
    Quote from: Biged781 on May 03, 2010, 08:38:47 am
    You my friend are just short of the sense-of-humor softcap.

10+ Year Old Account
    whats your budget?

Deleted
    ips screen from asus works like a charm for that (dunno if they got a laptop with the right specifications for your needs beyond the screen part)
    we need some more things like screen size(also resolution), what programs to run and lets not forget a budget

you want a bright matte screen in that case. I think lenovo does some pretty sweet matte screens plus their thinkpads are durable.
    "Marketing is what you do when your product is no good."

Quote Originally Posted by Dindrielle View Post
    What kind of screen do I need to be looking at to reduce glare from the sun to a minimum as I will be working outside 24/7. Am open to any suggestions including apple.
    Well, you'd want to avoid Apple, they generally have glossy screens Look for something light and sturdy, with good battery life and a matte screen. I don't think that pure performace matters much to you, reliability and mobility is probably more important. Lenovo might have some interesting models, like the new ThinkPad X1 Carbon

Budget isn't a big issue, obviously not unlimited but I'll pay for what I need.

Will be a decent laptop as I build models in the field using drilling results (think similar to AutoCAD in terms of other hardware requirements).

So anything with an IPS screen should be along the right lines for me?