10+ Year Old Account

WoW Subscription Modeling by Monthly Fee and by Expansion Cost / Frequency

There's been a lot of controversy about subscription costs, expansion costs and the frequency of expansion release cycles, so I thought I would do a little financial modeling (after all, my profession is a financial analyst)

Based on current subscription fees, and expected Expansion Release time frames, and heres what I came up with:

First here are the average monthly subscription models Blizzard offers in the US:

Monthly-----3 Months-----6 Months
    $14.99-------$13.99-------$12.99

Assuming Blizzard went to a 1 Year Expansion release cycle, we get the average monthly expansion cost (assuming expansions will cost $50)

$50 / 12 = $4.17 per month.

So the average monthly subscription cost including expansions using each of blizzard's monthly sub models would be:

$19.16-------$18.16-------$17.16

Assuming Blizzard went to a 1.5 Year Expansion release cycle, we get the average monthly expansion cost (assuming expansions will cost $50)

$50 / 18 = $2.78 per month.

So the average monthly subscription cost including expansions using each of Blizzard's monthly sub models would be:

$17.77-------$16.77-------$15.77

Assuming Blizzard continues the current Expansion release cycle of roughly 2 years, we get the average monthly expansion cost (assuming $50)

$50 / 24 = $2.08 per month.

So the average monthly subscription cost including expansions using each of Blizzard's monthly sub models would be:

$17.07-------$16.07-------$15.07

As you can see, it benefits Blizzard GREATLY to decrease the time between expansion cycles because they will be averaging $2.09 more per subscription, per month, if they release them one year apart.