Page 1 of 23
... LastLast

My parents want me to move out

Hello guys,

My parents want me to move out of the house. I graduated from high school and I'm still not sure what I want to do next with my career. I am 18 and I don't have a job. My parents asked me to move out. They basically said you're 18, you're an adult, it's time for you to move out of the house. I was surprised and I'm not too sure what to do. Should I leave and stop talking to my parents? How can they just decide one day that they can throw me out like a piece of garbage? Any advice?

Tell them you'll move out when you have a stable job.

Tough spot to be for sure. Sadly once your 18 they can kick you out since you are no longer their responsibility. I' am 23 still live at home, I do have a job and some money saved up. If you can try and make an agreement with them, like say you will look for a job and start paying rent then start with that.

this happened to me, I deserved it, best decision they could have ever made.

I am now a successful father of 2 with a 6 figure income and I never looked back.

Embrace it, I'm sure they have their reasons.

I'm here to tell you, you will be fine, it will be rocky at first, you will be mad at them. I didn't talk to my parents for about 9 months.

Things eventually settle down. I was a jerk and made some really bad decisions that could have gotten them into a lot of trouble.

I'm assuming you live in the US.

If so, when you turn 18 you are a legal adult and any legal obligations your parents had to feed, clothe, and shelter you are now gone.

So yes, they can just throw you out -- it's not illegal, but perhaps heartless.