Page 1 of 2
LastLast

Can anyone suggest upgrades for me?

I'm a major noob at computers. I'd appreciate if anyone can suggest upgrades for me or direct me to a guide I can use. My PC is a refurbished HP Compaq Elite 8300. I want to find upgrades that are compatible with what I have before I waste money only to find I can't use what I get or it destroys what I already have.

Thank you so much to anyone who can help!

General Information
    Processor: Intel Core i5-3570 CPU @ 3.40GHz
    Motherboard: HP 3396
    RAM: 8.00 GB (7.88GB usable)
    Graphics Card: Intel HD Graphics
    Power Supply: HP 240W
    Operating System: Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1
    WoW Settings: Graphics setting 1-3 (3 works fine in open world, however, I get frame rate lag even on 1 in some raid encounters)

Budget: $600-$1,000
    Resolution: Doesn't matter
    Games / Settings Desired: OK graphics & addons enabled without frame rate lag
    Any other intensive software or special things you do: Just WoW/Starcraft 2/some older games
    Parts that can be reused: All of the above if it gives the results I need
    Do you need an OS?: I'm fine with Windows 7
    Do you need peripherals (e.g. monitor, mouse, keyboard, speakers, etc)?: No

You dont need a new PC at all, you just need an actual GPU.

It looks like your case is slim, as long as you have an open PCI-E slot this should fit:
    https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16814137081

That would make turn your pc into an real gaming system as an i5 3570 absolutely quality gaming CPU still today.

IF there are multiple models of the HP elite 8300 and you have a normal sized tower, i suggest this card:
    http://pcpartpicker.com/product/mbRF...vcggtx1050t4pb
    Last edited by Fascinate; 2017-03-31 at 10:36 PM.

Deleted
    Be aware that your PSU appears limited to 240W. It'll need to be replaced to mount a GPU. Unfortunately, I'm not sure if it can be.

Quote Originally Posted by DarkXale View Post