Beta Key Giveaway Week 3: Winners have been selected!

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst
1
2
3
4
5
LastLast
  1. #41
    You really shouldn't be going below 60fps at 1440p with a 1070. Do you have a slowish/older CPU, or are you scaling above 100%?

  2. #42
    Too big for most preferences, but it's all up to you in the end. If you dig it then go for it

  3. #43
    doubt ur 1060 will be able to handle it tbh ...not enough ram to deal with all the pixels.

    too big also if it's not ultra wide ....34" UW is the same height as a 27 inch ...the size of your screen is dependant not on your personal preference, but field of view and distance from screen. The advantage of UW is your horizontal view increases without the height (i have one and it's wonderful). U will need a beefy GPU. I cant run everything maxed out on a gta 1080. Ofc u'll have less pixel, but also a much weaker GPU

  4. #44
    Quote Originally Posted by scarecrowz View Post
    Yeah I bought Battlefront 2 when they disabled the pay to win. But the game has so many other issues its a travesty. Shame on me indeed. Playing with mates though.

    I have a 27 inch 1440p, 144hz IPS Gsync Monitor.

    GTX1080, i7 4790 at 4.1ghz and 16gb of DDR3 ram.

    WoW is insanely poorly optimized. You cannot max the game out. You said yourself you have the graphics set at 8. I also guarantee you don't have the highest anti aliasing or shadows on.

    It actually doesn't matter if you get a better system - this engine is so poorly made it can't utilize what you give it.

    I can max out any other BRAND new released game but I can't max out a 13 year old game. What does that tell you?
    Mines set to 8 because of the card and how old it is. I just meant our systems are seemingly on par when that shouldn't be the case, my friends have specs closer to and achieve higher. Can't remember the exact specs of this monitor, just it was brand new out 6 years ago and set me back the best bit of 400

    I will say none of us use shadows, but shadows has always been an issue in wow not just legion.

    Legit only managed to download the first 2gb so far, once I have up and running, I'll be more than happy to jump back in and report.

  5. #45
    Quote Originally Posted by scarecrowz View Post
    Eagerly awaiting this proof. Go to Suramar and take a screenshot of your settings. Advanced window too.

    Also sure you can run Destiny 2 whilst nothing is happening at 100+ FPS. But once the shit starts flying at 1440p I get 80-85.

    - - - Updated - - -



    Yeah I only have scale set at 150% at the moment. I could drop it down to 100% and would gain massive performance.

    If you read my original post though I get great frames in some places. It's just a travesty that you can't max it everywhere. The spell effects in this game are hilariously bad.

    Suramar and Valsharah are the biggest culprits.
    Keep waiting, then. I'll get to it when I can. To be honest, I don't really care if you believe me or not. It doesn't take a super computer to run WoW on Ultra at 1440, dude.

  6. #46
    Herald of the Titans RicardoZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Orange County, California
    Posts
    2,953
    I'm not sure you could really run it at 1440. Most people even with great setups can't max it out at an acceptable frame rate at 1080. I don't think 1440 is really worth it at this point, the hardware isn't ready for it unless you've got unlimited money, and even then 60 fps is out of the question for the most part.

  7. #47
    You have no clue what you're talking about.

  8. #48
    Herald of the Titans scarecrowz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,842
    Quote Originally Posted by Rotted View Post
    Mines set to 8 because of the card and how old it is. I just meant our systems are seemingly on par when that shouldn't be the case, my friends have specs closer to and achieve higher. Can't remember the exact specs of this monitor, just it was brand new out 6 years ago and set me back the best bit of 400

    I will say none of us use shadows, but shadows has always been an issue in wow not just legion.

    Legit only managed to download the first 2gb so far, once I have up and running, I'll be more than happy to jump back in and report.
    Sigh.

    Since I'm the only one who will post actual proof.

    CPU/GPU: https://imgur.com/a/XhGLp

    Graphics WoW: https://imgur.com/a/Y1yLS

    Advanced WoW: https://imgur.com/a/WWf42

    As you can see I don't even have everything maxed and I can't maintain 60FPS in Dalaran.

    Here is Suramar. By far the worst culprit: https://imgur.com/a/fU8MK

    You're all liars until proven otherwise. Holla'.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Enkrypt View Post
    Keep waiting, then. I'll get to it when I can. To be honest, I don't really care if you believe me or not. It doesn't take a super computer to run WoW on Ultra at 1440, dude.
    Liar. /10char

  9. #49
    Quote Originally Posted by shifu View Post
    I play on a 34" ultrawide 21:9 aspect ratio for WoW. Like others had mentioned FPS can and will be a problem. However i think BFA should fix all that.

    Personally I FUCKING LOVE IT. Especially love moving anything thats not critical button wise to the corners out of my FOV.
    Serious question. Why do you think BFA will fix it? Have they mentioned any FPS related fixes?

  10. #50
    Field Marshal Filfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Straya
    Posts
    79
    I ran a 27" for a number of years until yesterday when I picked up a 34" ultrawide (2560x1080).

    Height wise, it's around the same which is perfect. It's just super wide which I find awesome.

  11. #51
    The standard 16:9 27" resolution is 2560x1440, and the standard 21:9 ultrawide 34" resolution is 3440x1440. 2560x1080 at 34" is pretty unusual, although not unheard of, but it does less vertical resolution than a standard 27" monitor.

    No indication that BFA will fix WoW's CPU dependency, which is really where FPS problems originate. WoW doesn't stress GPUs very hard unless you load up on the scaling and run at much higher resolutions.

  12. #52
    Quote Originally Posted by scarecrowz View Post
    Sigh.

    Since I'm the only one who will post actual proof.

    CPU/GPU: https://imgur.com/a/XhGLp

    Graphics WoW: https://imgur.com/a/Y1yLS

    Advanced WoW: https://imgur.com/a/WWf42

    As you can see I don't even have everything maxed and I can't maintain 60FPS in Dalaran.

    Here is Suramar. By far the worst culprit: https://imgur.com/a/fU8MK

    You're all liars until proven otherwise. Holla'.

    - - - Updated - - -



    Liar. /10char
    Well, I was hoping you'd quote me back so I could give you a update. I finished installing last night, Ultra settings 78 fps in suramar, Once I got to the city they dropped to 50, turned off shadows and it went to 70. Dalaran was at 89 with shadows on surprisingly

    But dude seriously, all I've done so far is be friendly and point out on a obsolete machine we were getting the same FPS roughly, I only quoted you because with the specs you're running that shouldn't be happening. I never called you a liar and I even said I wasn't doubting you about what you said or the blue post existing. I purely replied trying to be helpful and pointing out you might have another issue somewhere else. And for that, I get sigh and dibble about being a liar?

    I'm not going to go ahead and post screenshots because I took you at facevalue and would have expected the same, either way if you believe me or not, it no skin off my nose and it doesn't change what my machine is running.

    Still, being called a liar for trying to help. Nice

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by scarecrowz View Post
    Sigh.

    Since I'm the only one who will post actual proof.

    CPU/GPU: https://imgur.com/a/XhGLp

    Graphics WoW: https://imgur.com/a/Y1yLS

    Advanced WoW: https://imgur.com/a/WWf42

    As you can see I don't even have everything maxed and I can't maintain 60FPS in Dalaran.

    Here is Suramar. By far the worst culprit: https://imgur.com/a/fU8MK

    You're all liars until proven otherwise. Holla'.

    - - - Updated - - -



    Liar. /10char
    Well, I was hoping you'd quote me back so I could give you a update. I finished installing last night, Ultra settings 78 fps in suramar, Once I got to the city they dropped to 50, turned off shadows and it went to 70. Dalaran was at 89 with shadows on surprisingly

    But dude seriously, all I've done so far is be friendly and point out on a obsolete machine we were getting the same FPS roughly, I only quoted you because with the specs you're running that shouldn't be happening. I never called you a liar and I even said I wasn't doubting you about what you said or the blue post existing. I purely replied trying to be helpful and pointing out you might have another issue somewhere else. And for that, I get sigh and dibble about being a liar?

    I'm not going to go ahead and post screenshots because I took you at facevalue and would have expected the same, either way if you believe me or not, it no skin off my nose and it doesn't change what my machine is running.

    Still, being called a liar for trying to help. Nice

  13. #53
    Quote Originally Posted by scarecrowz View Post
    Sigh.

    Since I'm the only one who will post actual proof.

    CPU/GPU: https://imgur.com/a/XhGLp

    Graphics WoW: https://imgur.com/a/Y1yLS

    Advanced WoW: https://imgur.com/a/WWf42

    As you can see I don't even have everything maxed and I can't maintain 60FPS in Dalaran.

    Here is Suramar. By far the worst culprit: https://imgur.com/a/fU8MK

    You're all liars until proven otherwise. Holla'.

    - - - Updated - - -



    Liar. /10char
    Sure thing, PC Police. I think we all know who's the one lying. You can't even play WoW beyond 60 FPS on your machine. XD That's some funny shit.

    I came here to say WoW looks and plays great on a 32" monitor and more often than not. I'm maintaining a high FPS (near or over 100 depending). I'm sorry your machine sucks and can't run WoW higher than 60FPS, but that's no reason to call everyone liars. You clearly don't know how WoW's engine works, or you're trolling. Frankly, neither would surprise me. You're just full o' salt.
    Last edited by Enkrypt; 2017-12-02 at 05:39 PM.

  14. #54
    Herald of the Titans scarecrowz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,842
    Quote Originally Posted by Enkrypt View Post
    Sure thing, PC Police. I think we all know who's the one lying. You can't even play WoW beyond 60 FPS on your machine. XD That's some funny shit.

    I came here to say WoW looks and plays great on a 32" monitor and more often than not. I'm maintaining a high FPS (near or over 100 depending). I'm sorry your machine sucks and can't run WoW higher than 60FPS, but that's no reason to call everyone liars. You clearly don't know how WoW's engine works, or you're trolling. Frankly, neither would surprise me. You're just full o' salt.
    You can't provide proof and just keep talking out of your ass.

    The fact of the matter is - you're NOT running WoW at max. You must have settings turned off to maintain that FPS. You constantly keep telling me I'm wrong. Yet I'm the only one willing to provide proof.

    I'm clearly the only one here who knows how poorly optimized WoWs engine is. In fact, most informed people do. WoW can't even utilize all cores in your CPU. It's a steaming pile of shit.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Schizoide View Post
    The standard 16:9 27" resolution is 2560x1440, and the standard 21:9 ultrawide 34" resolution is 3440x1440. 2560x1080 at 34" is pretty unusual, although not unheard of, but it does less vertical resolution than a standard 27" monitor.

    No indication that BFA will fix WoW's CPU dependency, which is really where FPS problems originate. WoW doesn't stress GPUs very hard unless you load up on the scaling and run at much higher resolutions.
    See. This guy gets it.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Rotted View Post
    Well, I was hoping you'd quote me back so I could give you a update. I finished installing last night, Ultra settings 78 fps in suramar, Once I got to the city they dropped to 50, turned off shadows and it went to 70. Dalaran was at 89 with shadows on surprisingly

    But dude seriously, all I've done so far is be friendly and point out on a obsolete machine we were getting the same FPS roughly, I only quoted you because with the specs you're running that shouldn't be happening. I never called you a liar and I even said I wasn't doubting you about what you said or the blue post existing. I purely replied trying to be helpful and pointing out you might have another issue somewhere else. And for that, I get sigh and dibble about being a liar?

    I'm not going to go ahead and post screenshots because I took you at facevalue and would have expected the same, either way if you believe me or not, it no skin off my nose and it doesn't change what my machine is running.

    Still, being called a liar for trying to help. Nice

    - - - Updated - - -



    Well, I was hoping you'd quote me back so I could give you a update. I finished installing last night, Ultra settings 78 fps in suramar, Once I got to the city they dropped to 50, turned off shadows and it went to 70. Dalaran was at 89 with shadows on surprisingly

    But dude seriously, all I've done so far is be friendly and point out on a obsolete machine we were getting the same FPS roughly, I only quoted you because with the specs you're running that shouldn't be happening. I never called you a liar and I even said I wasn't doubting you about what you said or the blue post existing. I purely replied trying to be helpful and pointing out you might have another issue somewhere else. And for that, I get sigh and dibble about being a liar?

    I'm not going to go ahead and post screenshots because I took you at facevalue and would have expected the same, either way if you believe me or not, it no skin off my nose and it doesn't change what my machine is running.

    Still, being called a liar for trying to help. Nice
    You're not helping the original OP in any way though. You are providing false anectdotal evidence.

    You've been asked for proof multiple times and refuse to provide it based on a "high horse" mentality.

  15. #55
    In my opinion the gaming sweet spot right now is 27", 1440p 144hz gsync with a 1080ti

    But all that is way overkill if all you do is play wow.

  16. #56
    Mechagnome Echohunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Alabama, US
    Posts
    738
    It entirely depends on the aspect ratio. I would not recommend something that large at 16:9 at a normal viewing distance, but 21:9 or wider would be a good experience.

  17. #57
    1440p is too low of a resolution for a 32" monitor. It would look like shit. 27" is the max for 1440p.

    I've been playing WoW for 9 years on a 30" 1600p monitor, and would never go smaller.

  18. #58
    Banned Tennis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    You wish you lived here
    Posts
    11,772
    Quote Originally Posted by nanoneo View Post
    Or do you think this is just too big? Should there be any concerns of playing with a 32 inch in WoW or in general?

    4K won‘t work with my GTX1060 the way I want the game to be I think. I want beautiful scenes, high fps and stunning colors.

    So would you recommend me a 32” Monitor then?
    Way too huge dude. It's a computer screen not a TV.

    23 inch or so is good enough.

  19. #59
    Quote Originally Posted by scarecrowz View Post
    I'm sorry to burst your bubble man.

    I would wait for BfA to be released.

    Legion is the most poorly optimized expansion Blizzard has ever released.

    When 7.0 released myself and thousands of other players were reporting insanely poor FPS in Suramar, Valsharah and some dungeons/raids. It was acknowledged by a Blue in the official Tech Support forums and they said a fix was on the way for 7.1 but it never came.

    I have a 27 inch 1440p 144hz gsync monitor. i7 4.1Ghz 4790 CPU, GTX1080 graphics card, 16gb ram etc. It's a $2500+ AUD PC(just for the tower).

    I can't max out WoW in 1440p. It's not possible. You have to turn anti aliasing down or turn some of the sliders down to 7 or lower to even maintain 60FPS.

    Suramar is the worst culprit. 30FPS roughly.


    Really dissapointing to be honest. Meanwhile I'm running Battlefront 2 at 1440p at 80+ frames. That has ALOT more shit going on and its multiplayer too so there's no excuse.

    Apparently WoW can't utilize all the cores in your CPU. They really need to fix it for BfA.
    I don't think it's entirely World of Warcraft's fault. It's probably also the fault of hardware manufacturers not optimizing certain hardware configurations properly with their drivers. I'm rocking a 27" 4K monitor, and I play my game with almost everything maxed out at 4K, and I never dip below 30 fps, and that's a worst case scenario. I'm running an old GTX 980, i7 3770k Overclocked just enough to hit 4GHz, and 16 GB of RAM.

    Sidenote, I'm pretty sure my display is only 60MHz refresh rate.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Tennis View Post
    Way too huge dude. It's a computer screen not a TV.

    23 inch or so is good enough.
    I'd argue it depends on what else they use their computer for. I'm a hobbiest music producer and let me tell you, 27" is not nearly big enough for all the shit on my screen when I'm making my music.
    Quote Originally Posted by Novakhoro View Post
    I recommend shoulder surgery immediately... there's no way you didn't fuck it up with how hard you just reached.

  20. #60
    It depend on your desk.

    you need to sit at lease 0.7-1.0 meter away to make it feel comfortable (from your eye to monitor)

    I have 32" curve monitor + corner desk and it is amazing. (all those dps meter, buff and raid frame addon take up too much space on smaller monitor)


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •