1. #1
    Moderator chazus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    17,059

    Thumb button remapped?

    So, this is probably simple and stupid but I was hoping someone knew a quick fix before I actually research it.

    My thumb button on the mouse usually does things like Autorun, but more importantly its the 'back' button on my browser. It no longer does that. Nothing (to my knowledge) has changed recently. It now acts as the Menu button on the keyboard, and in games.

    Is there a windows interface thing that might change that? I dont use any macros.
    Gaming: Dual Intel Pentium III Coppermine @ 1400mhz + Blue Orb | Asus CUV266-D | GeForce 2 Ti + ZF700-Cu | 1024mb Crucial PC-133 | Whistler Build 2267
    Media: Dual Intel Drake Xeon @ 600mhz | Intel Marlinspike MS440GX | Matrox G440 | 1024mb Crucial PC-133 @ 166mhz | Windows 2000 Pro

    IT'S ALWAYS BEEN WANKERSHIM | Did you mean: Fhqwhgads
    "Three days on a tree. Hardly enough time for a prelude. When it came to visiting agony, the Romans were hobbyists." -Mab

  2. #2
    Depending on the brand of the mouse its possible an update to the mouse software changed the default binding for that button. Logitech/razer/etc. software can do that.

  3. #3
    Moderator chazus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    17,059
    I dont use any software, either, for what its worth. Its an anker mouse.
    Gaming: Dual Intel Pentium III Coppermine @ 1400mhz + Blue Orb | Asus CUV266-D | GeForce 2 Ti + ZF700-Cu | 1024mb Crucial PC-133 | Whistler Build 2267
    Media: Dual Intel Drake Xeon @ 600mhz | Intel Marlinspike MS440GX | Matrox G440 | 1024mb Crucial PC-133 @ 166mhz | Windows 2000 Pro

    IT'S ALWAYS BEEN WANKERSHIM | Did you mean: Fhqwhgads
    "Three days on a tree. Hardly enough time for a prelude. When it came to visiting agony, the Romans were hobbyists." -Mab

  4. #4
    The Lightbringer Twoddle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,712
    Could it be a changed browser option? Firefox has MouseButton.4th.enabled in about:config.

    Mouse event tester:
    https://www.onlinemictest.com/mouse-test/

    Side buttons didn't register in Firefox on that site but did in Edge and Chrome. You might be able to DDGo some others.

  5. #5
    Moderator chazus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    17,059
    Well, the strange part is I'm pretty sure it's Windows that changed it, because the functionality changed in all of my games as well, not just my browser.

    Ive uninstalled and reinstalled drivers so far.. Id rather not have to install a 3rd party program for something that has been a default for a decade.
    Gaming: Dual Intel Pentium III Coppermine @ 1400mhz + Blue Orb | Asus CUV266-D | GeForce 2 Ti + ZF700-Cu | 1024mb Crucial PC-133 | Whistler Build 2267
    Media: Dual Intel Drake Xeon @ 600mhz | Intel Marlinspike MS440GX | Matrox G440 | 1024mb Crucial PC-133 @ 166mhz | Windows 2000 Pro

    IT'S ALWAYS BEEN WANKERSHIM | Did you mean: Fhqwhgads
    "Three days on a tree. Hardly enough time for a prelude. When it came to visiting agony, the Romans were hobbyists." -Mab

  6. #6
    It looks like you have a thumb button problem.
    You can remap it with our app or visit your doctor for surgery, which is more permanent option but may be necessary if the issue doesn't resolve itself after one week without the use of the controller buttons on an Xbox One S Bundle (it should still work).

  7. #7
    I am Murloc! Asrialol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    5,484
    Quote Originally Posted by easycpstest View Post
    It looks like you have a thumb button problem.
    You can remap it with our app or visit your doctor for surgery, which is more permanent option but may be necessary if the issue doesn't resolve itself after one week without the use of the controller buttons on an Xbox One S Bundle (it should still work).
    Bots are getting weirder.
    Hi

  8. #8
    I'm not a bot man but my english are week

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by easycpstest View Post
    I'm not a bot man but my english are week
    How does surgery fix a broken piece of electronics?

  10. #10

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by easycpstest View Post
    It looks like you have a thumb button problem.
    You can remap it with our app or visit your doctor for surgery, which is more permanent option but may be necessary if the issue doesn't resolve itself after one week without the use of the controller buttons on an Xbox One S Bundle (it should still work).
    Top SMM Panel

    Thanks for letting us know about it,

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •